Alcatel OneTouch A392A Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Alcatel OneTouch A392A has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 33 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

You're on your own

Reviewed on Tuesday August 9, 2016 by , British Columbia, Canada
Just wanted a digital flip phone to replace my analog which will loss it's service at years end. The miniature manual is a joke! Wanted to change the ring tone and had to find my answer at this site. Thanks.
5 Stars out of 5

Nice general prpose cell phone

Reviewed on Saturday July 2, 2016 by , Philadelphia, PA
I recently got a free upgrade from Consumer Cellular to the Alcatel A392A. Previous phone was Motorol WX345 from Consumer Cellular. I'm very happy with this new phone which is a definite improvement over my previous phone. The manual didn't show how to setup Speed Dial but I found out how to do it with a search using the Alcatel 510A user guide and it's very easy to do. I just use the phone for making and receiving calls. Battery life is good and by adjusting certain settings such as Backlight and Brightness levels as well as a few others you can extend battery level for longer periods. Over all I think this is a decent and attractive phone and I'm very pleased with it as well as my service provider.
0 Stars out of 5

Bad batteries

Reviewed on Friday May 27, 2016 by , Waynesboro PA
Just purchased 2 of these phones and neither one hold a charge. We only use the phones for very brief telephone calls. Can be fully charged and without using the phone for any reason, the battery is down to 2 bars in 2 days. A rep. at the provider where purchased said "this is good"!! Also notice the covers have a "wiggle" to them. Should have researched more thoroughly.
4 Stars out of 5

Nice Looking

Reviewed on Saturday April 9, 2016 by , Canada
This is a very attractive little phone. My last flip phone was a Motorola Razor and the build quality of my Razor was quite superior to this phone, but I'm sure the Razor also cost a lot more. Having said that I have to say that this phone feels a little "creaky" when you open it, and the battery cover on the one I received does not feel like it is attached very well. I have tried reseating it, but the corner by the headphone connection just slightly separates from the rest of the phone when you open and close it. I'm talking about a millimetre here, but nevertheless it should not move at all so that speaks to build quality, however, the back does stay on and does not seem like it's going to fall off any time soon.
The buttons look and feel pretty cheap, but I paid $40 for this unlocked 711 phone so the build quality and dollar store buttons are features I can live with (that dam back cover irks me though).
User unfriendly? I can see that being an issue for a lot of people, but not for a geek like me. It's a little different in it's menu wording and feature access but it can be figured out.
Bottom line...I like it even with it's quirks. I will give it a 4 because it's so cheap and it works quite well, but it really deserves a 3.5 because of the battery cover glitch.

4 Stars out of 5

Not bad

Reviewed on Friday April 8, 2016 by , ontario
Great little phone if all you need is basics. Took awhile to learn features but after that great. Easily transfer my pictures to and from SD card via my computer. Takes ok pictures for an entry level phone. Compact size easily fits in any pocket. Good price too. Can listen to music on my lunch.
5 Stars out of 5

Love it.

Reviewed on Thursday February 25, 2016 by , Arrowwood
I love this little phone. My life doesn't revolve around a cell phone and this one does everything I would need. I can access the web, text, take pictures, etc. Easy to navigate. I found the smartphones too big in size, with features I would never use and the iphones way too expensive. Perfect Telus... thank you.
5 Stars out of 5

10.. am 23 Feb 2016

Reviewed on Tuesday February 23, 2016 by , Ontario
I have read the previous reviews and feel compelled to defend this phone. If it is your first cell phone you might have difficulty navigating the menus; but that is true of any first cell phone. It also depends on what you are expecting form your phone. If you want to use it for a lot of music etc. or regular texting its probably not the best choice so this type of phone deosnt really deserve a bad review you expect it to be able to do all of the things that the more expensive user friendly phones are capable of. But if you want to use it to replace a landline, a temporary phone for a guest, or just for live talking it is perfect and easy to use for this purpose. We are using it to replace a landline and are very happy. I am giving it 5 stars because it suits the purpose that I purchased it for.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday February 17, 2016 by , canada
Could have got a new i type phone but I am an old fogy and am happy with a flip. It is a lot bigger than my last flip phone and changing the ring tone is a bit of an excursion. You caN FIND DIRECTIONS ON LINE OR go back to the store. I might review again after i use it a few weeks.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday February 7, 2016 by , Roberts Creek
As a simple phone, it is barely adequate. If you use any of the 'advanced' features, such as the camera or Bluetooth, you're all on your own.

Phone will sync with the car, so that's a plus.

Emailing a photo (the only way to get it off the phone) fails if you've anything larger than the smallest size. This effectively makes the 2MP worthless, unless you plan to eternally view the pix on the phone.

If you don't like the loud double-beep when it finally achieves full charge, too bad, the option to turn that helpful hint off is unavailable.

Blueetooth to a computer fails miserably. You will never be able to share files via Bluetooth.

Removing the back to get at the (non-existing) MicroSD card is way harder than it should be.

The phone survived a trip to Australia and NZ and made and received calls. If that is what you want, have at 'er. Otherwise, the rest of the "features" are worthless. It also fits in the snug jeans pocket if you have to carry it 24/7 like I do.

4 Stars out of 5

good basic phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 13, 2016 by , ontario
I like for a basic flip phone. Just what I wanted, no bells and whistles than are never used. There are lots of options for ringtones etc. Just have to customize under profiles. Good basic phone.
3 Stars out of 5

You can change the Ringtone

Reviewed on Thursday January 7, 2016 by , Ontario
For the person wanting to change the ring tone, it's under phone settings somewhere. It's not easy to find, but you can also increase the volume beyond the slider on the side. I bought the phone for a home phone for my 90-year-old mother when we scrapped our overpriced Rogers home phone. You have to go into settings, then profiles, then whatever one you're using just click on Options and then Customize.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday December 26, 2015 by , Montreal
Pour ceux qui ont évalué le cell. a392a ex. 0/5 1/5..
ce dernier est un tel. `qui fait la job très bien`
ce n'est pas un i phone bien sûr, mais il y a des gens
pour qui il est très utile.
1 Star out of 5

Poor design

Reviewed on Friday December 11, 2015 by , Parksville, BC
Ok for basic features, but operation is really counterintuitive and badly designed. Even simple tasks require the manual, since stuff is buried in weird menus.

Give this one a pass.
1 Star out of 5

There are far better phones

Reviewed on Wednesday October 7, 2015 by , Calagary
Bought this phone for use on Seven Eleven. Its sole purpose is for emergencies and using whilst at Canadian airports as I visit Canada often,from the UK. As others have said. The manual is an insult as it needs a magnifying glass. I only intend to use it as a phone ,so good luck to those that wish to do more complicated things. I have been trying to find out if their is "Ring tone " option. So far no luck.It seems that there are no options. I wanted a phone to use in the simplest form. This phone manages to complicate its very limited menu . There are far better phones out there. Avoid this one.
1 Star out of 5

Cannot figure this phone out

Reviewed on Monday October 5, 2015 by , Rimbey Alberta
I have reread all the directions and no where does it tells me how to record a message for someone to leave me a message also on my old LG phone once I put someone's name in the message I did not have to keep writing it over and over when I send a text message. I am sure not happy with this phone and I am wondering if I can get a refund as I have had it for a month now and just cannot figure it out and the directions are not help and I looked on line they are the same just larger print. I purchased it at Rimbey TV and they did not know how to operate it either. PLEASE HELP ME OUT HERE
1 Star out of 5

battery life

Reviewed on Thursday October 1, 2015 by , canada
worst battery life of any phone i ever owned (about 35 hours on standby)
0 Stars out of 5

what a piece of crap

Reviewed on Tuesday September 15, 2015 by , wainwright, alberta
Purchased the A393A alcatel in April 2015, to replace the one
telus sent free of charge only to find it was a PIECE of CRAP
like the first one. I had a CDM 9000 Audiovox tri modal, a
fabulous phone that I could use. This damn thing I have NO idea ho how to use all the junk on it, and the Manual Huh, what manual.
The print is so small one needs a microscope to read it. Further
it has little to nothing for operating instructions. For God's sake
Telus get us a phone that has NO/ZERO junk. All I want is to be able to makle a call, talk and then end the call. Is that to difficult to iunderstand ? No camera, no browser, no texting, no email,
no messaging, and all the other crap, Thanking you in advance,
perhaps you will listen to the people who are paying your salaries.

3 Stars out of 5

decent for what it is

Reviewed on Wednesday July 29, 2015 by , canada
There's a lot of hate in these reviews but it hasn't been my experience so far. Thought not quite intuitive, i found the controls relatively easy to figure out and have yet to have major problems. The call quality could be better and it doesn't have a lot going for it, especially in the bells and whistles dept.
With that said, for a basic, cheap phone intended for voice communications and little else, it does get the job done. You won't compose the next great novel on it or browse the web at lightning speed, but for a basic "keep in touch" phone or emergency situation insurance it works.
0 Stars out of 5

Pile of junk

Reviewed on Thursday June 18, 2015 by , Gibsons, BC
Had this phone for over a year now. It's unbelievably bad. It's not just 'user unfriendly,' it's outright hostile. Most difficult to navigate. Adding insult to injury, the manual is crap. Nothing about how to set up speed dial, had to research this on Google, some other user figured it out. To this day I don't know how to redial a number I just dialed...
4 Stars out of 5

It does the job

Reviewed on Thursday May 28, 2015 by , Canada
You do not need internet, email, text messaging or all the other crap on a phone? You want to do voice calls only and nothing else? You want a cheap,small and compact phone? You found the phone you need.
Of course, it has internet, email, text messaging but this phone is not made for it, it is made for voice calls only.
Who ever complains the phone has no speed dial, you can not select ringtones for different contacts, you can not transfer ringtones or other files (pictures or videos for example) from your computer to this phone (and back), do not listen to this guys because they did not read the manual otherwise they could do it, all these things the phone can do, I COULD DO IT without any problems!
I like this phone, it does what I expect from it.
The only complaint I have: The battery (Lithium 850 mAh) is to small, but for only 5 bucks I bought one with 1000 mAh and that one is more then big enough.
I recommend this phone for people who want to do voice calls ONLY, but that fast and efficient.
0 Stars out of 5

A392a is crap

Reviewed on Friday May 22, 2015 by , St jerome qc
I never saw such a crappi phone. Fisherprice could do better then this any day. Its a waste of money. DO not buy this device !!
Warning !! Bad investment . The device breakes to easely .
My wife has this phone its not worth crap. All was fine for the first six months then the clam shell headset speaker went dead for no reason. Stil under waranty. I am returning it to alcatel with a huge note wich reads go back to the drawing board. They are not what they are claimed to be. Their junk.

1 Star out of 5

Cell phone to be avoided.

Reviewed on Sunday March 29, 2015 by , Quebec.
Definitely, the worst phone I have ever had. The menu is not as user friendly as the other phones (please compare and you will see what I mean). The menu content and terms used are not easily understood thus rendering it more difficult to make changes to the settings even to the ringtones. The menu icons are abstruse in comparison to other cell phone icons/ MAIN PROBLEM; The buttons are depressed into the surface, are spaced too close to each other, lesser touch feedback to fingers to indicate registration, thus making errors in number registration much more frequent. The front screen on the flip top is too small and can only display very small symbols and a clock unlike the other phones which can display bigger and clearer icons and a more aesthetic screen image. The speaker is far inferior in sound clarity as most phones. I can go on and on. I advise you to compare with other phones before purchasing any cell phones Badly designed in many aspects ....period. To be avoided. ZtE, Kyocera and many others are far better...
5 Stars out of 5

Best Value

Reviewed on Tuesday March 10, 2015 by , Sudbury
A basic phone for TALKING to someone. Mind you, the keys are a bit weird, the greeting chord when you boot it or shut it down is a tad "in your face", but HEY! For a few $$$ more, you can get a full-featured iPhone and pay some serious coin to maintain it. At around $60, you can't go too wrong -and if you lose it or drop it into a bog someday, so what? Just buy another one! There you go!
4 Stars out of 5

nice basic phone

Reviewed on Monday December 15, 2014 by , Vancouver, Canada
bought this phone as an emergency unit for my wife, works just fine, very basic and that is what you expect for $70...
4 Stars out of 5

It's a very basic cell phone, not an iPhone.

Reviewed on Wednesday December 10, 2014 by , Quebec
All those complaining about the features of this phone should buy an expensive smartphone and be done with it. What do you expect for such a low price ? I bought this to make and receive phone calls, you know actually talking to someone ? And it does that.
Forget about playing games, and texting, and emailing, and playing videos or music, taking pictures and recording crappy videos. It's no good for that. It's a utilitarian cell phone.

For those complaining about battery life, lower the brightness, stop Bluetooth, don't run any apps, and put the backlight timer on the shortest time. Also, shut down the phone when not expecting calls. You CAN choose different ring tones if you take the time to set it. I've set mine to a classic phone ring.

I found this cell phone relatively easy to understand and navigate through (maybe I'm a nerd?). You CAN change the background pic. The only weak point so far is the poor sound quality of the speaker for hands-free calls. If you want a tablet to distract you and entertain you, then get a smartphone. This is a cell phone and not much more.
0 Stars out of 5

Worst Phone EVER!

Reviewed on Wednesday September 10, 2014 by , Noneofyourbusiness
I've been using cell phones and smart phones since the 90's and I got to tell you, this thing is the worst phone in mobile communications I have ever seen, THE 1930'S HUNGARIAN FIELD RADIO I HAVE WORKS BETTER THAN THIS P.O.S. You cannot make a proper playlist at all, the I.M functions are beyond stupid. HELL! I had one of the first HTC smart phones released and everyone said it is the most user unfriendly phone around, THIS THING MAKES THE HTC LOOK LIKE EINSTEIN!
1 Star out of 5

Stay Away From This Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday August 27, 2014 by , Canada
There seems to be no way to add music to this phone easily. When I plug it into my computer it shows up under devices but I cannot open it to add music files. It should show up under my computer and I should be able to drag ♫ files to the music folder but there is no way to do that. It tells me I can record a song and add it. Really? Give me a break. Help.
3 Stars out of 5

its ok, very few problems

Reviewed on Tuesday August 26, 2014 by , canada
battery life is ok, gotta charge it every three days or so, but id expect that. i like being able to click send on a text and just flip it shut and it still sends it anyway instead of discontinuing like lg and samsung do, it would be nice if i could change the ringtone for receiving a text, but changing the call ringtone was easy. with samsung, it was F***ing impossible to stop my call ringtone from also becoming my text ringtone, and i couldnt set a different ringtone for every person. everything else works great for me with this phone.
0 Stars out of 5

Not a good phone!!

Reviewed on Sunday July 6, 2014 by , Edmonton AB
I have had this phone for just a short time. And it is NOT good!! No battery life, Hard to scroll down,, Messaging that takes more time,,, No ring tones.. Yes I think an LG, or Samsung are much better!! Alcatel?? Stay away from this product.....
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday July 2, 2014 by , montréal
on peut pas la changer la sonnerie et franchement la petite musique se confond avec les bruit de la télé. musique meme les jouet des enfants on doit deviner si le cell. sonne.
1 Star out of 5

Stay away from it

Reviewed on Friday June 27, 2014 by , Gibsons
A previous reviewer complained about this phone not having speed dial. It took me two weeks to figure out that it actually does have one. If you find your way to the ‘keypad’ menu, then you can assign contacts to the keypad, after that holding down the number long enough will dial the contact. This phone is the most user hostile that I have ever come across. It has all this internet crap, email, browser, etc., that no one in their right mind would ever use on a screen that size. For that I have my iPod touch and iPad mini. Whatever happened to the idea of just a plain, old, simple cell phone to make calls? The ones they sell in ‘third world’ markets?
1 Star out of 5

Not impressed

Reviewed on Friday June 13, 2014 by , Alberta
Not a good phone no one touch speed dial option the front screen sucks for size and options can't see with glasses will not recommend at all and will be returning it to the store bad phone
1 Star out of 5

not so good

Reviewed on Friday June 6, 2014 by , Toronto
The a392a is not so good. Key pad is awkward and keys are not responsive, they need direct and firm tap. Same with stop key - it takes extra time and focus to engage it. There is no feature to allow change of clam shell cover window display which has a tiny font and the digital time is not legible without glasses or young eyes - one must open the phone to see the time; will not hold a charge over 48 hours; inside window display cannot be turned to flat, no image background (sucking juice from batteries. The menu logos are not intuitive; the back space key is not in the normal location. It is a low end phone but it sucks compared to even the most basic LG or Samsung.