BlackBerry 8830 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The BlackBerry 8830 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 9 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Non satisfaction

Reviewed on Thursday October 20, 2011 by , Benin
Salut cher clientel, moi mon appareil n'a pas la langue francaise, on arrive pas a telecharger des logiciels car sur l'internet le truc dit que mon appareil ne peut pas t
2 Stars out of 5

Ups & Downs

Reviewed on Wednesday November 4, 2009 by , Phoenix, AZ
I have had my World ED. for 2 years now. When it works, its a great phone that I feel is very easy to use. My wife disagrees. I love the keyboard vs. some of the touch screen phones I have used. It gets great receptions every were I have been across the USA. The BB App. world haves been a wonderful new addition.

On the flip side, every few months the phone begins to start locking up and deleting emails, text, & phone calls. It starts slowly but after about a week the phone is worthless. If a call comes in I can see the contact info while the phone is ringing but as soon as it stops all evidence of the call is wiped from its memory. I was told the first time this happened that it was a memory problem and that I needed a memory card to prevent this from happening. I picked one up that day. With in 2 months I was not only loosing all contact with the outside world but my list of contacts was starting to disappear. I was lucky that I had written most of my friends and families phone #'s down. The techs updated some software & told me the problem was solved. I had the phone I loved back for a few more months. Long story short after a number of trips back to the showroom to deal with techs that over and over say they have fixed the problem, which they even gave me a new Phone at one point, I am still having the same problem. My contract will be over in a month and I am very much looking forward to getting a different phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Easy Peasy!

Reviewed on Thursday May 21, 2009 by , London, Ontario Canada
Intuitive - 'easy to use' - great functionability - does
everything that is expected of a work device - if your looking for entertainment device - buy yourself an ipod
or mega digital camera - this is a work horse not a toy!

3 Stars out of 5

callers voices fade out!

Reviewed on Friday February 22, 2008 by , toronto
I generally love my crackberry, emailing and surfing I have no troubles. However I have found that in the two months I have owned it, I regularly find voices of people I am talking to become too quiet to hear. It happens when I am talking to others on land lines, and cell lines. If they raise their voices sharply, yell, or blow into the phone it kicks right back in. Has anyone else had this problem?
5 Stars out of 5

no good

Reviewed on Sunday February 17, 2008 by , saskatoon
i find that it freezes up on me when i am doing blackberry work. i love it in the garbage but sasktel is to cheap to give me a new one. i get no service with it. the buttons stick. i hate it. but other than that i love it.
3 Stars out of 5

Great phone, BUT!

Reviewed on Sunday February 10, 2008 by , Thompson Manitoba
I find the BlackBerry 8830 World Edition phone to be a generally excellent phone. The problems I have encountered have to deal with the card installed to turn the phone into a world edition. Every 2 - 3 months I loose the ability to use the phone. It locks up on me completely. At this time I have to remove the battery and reinstall it to reset the phone, type in my password and allow the phone to reconnect to my service. I am good then for another 2-3 months. My dealer informs me that the problem with the phone. I also loose my email at this time. What a pain to get it set back up.
With all the additional features on the phone, it can make life a little easier, but when getting your email is important, it seems to be lacking for me.
5 Stars out of 5

8830 - Great new Design and Functionality

Reviewed on Wednesday September 12, 2007 by , London, ON
Over the last month, the 8830 has worked very well for me. The only problem I have had was the same as above, where sometimes not receive calls. By taking out the sim card, the problem appears to be solved.
The gps nav available through Telenav works very well. It is a convenient feature to have when driving (even though it says not to use when driving..).
The trackball and keyboard took some getting used to compared to the 8703, but over this perioud of time I would not go back to the scroll wheel. Reception has been great, as with any RIM product I have had.
Overall I am very pleased!
3 Stars out of 5

Phone not found on network

Reviewed on Wednesday August 22, 2007 by , Montreal
Has anyone had this problem with their 8830 phone? It seems that the only way to get the phone back once this happens is to remove the battery.
You call the phone (did it from my land line to try it) and you hear it ring from the land line phone, but the unit does not receive the call. Eventually you end up in the vmail inbox and the 8830 never registers the missed call.
The only common denominator I can see when this happened to me (3 occasions in one week) was that on those 3 days I had received a text message from a Rogers subscriber. I have received text messages from someone on the Mobility network on a different day and that did not cause this problem. Coincidence?
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday June 11, 2007 by , toronto
this phone had everything i needed from emails to small office projects access to the internet.