LG 8100 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 8100 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Don't buy the lg 8100

Reviewed on Saturday February 7, 2009 by , California
I got this phone about about a year ago and wasn't happy when i first got it. I wanted a different phone but the verizon guy just kept on pushing it, so i bought it. I thought the phone was O.K. until one day the screen went white while I was texting. I plugged it into the charger and it started working again so I thought it was just a little fluke, until an hour laterv the screen went white. Now I can't have this phone off the charger for more then 3 hours or turn it off without the screen going white. my warrenty already expired so i am stuck with this cruddy phone. I would suggest to not get this phone because of all of the bugs that it has.
1 Star out of 5

LG smears it's own reputation

Reviewed on Tuesday July 8, 2008 by , Airdrie, AB
My old phone was the LG 4600, which was a tank! It went through the washing machine, out car windows, out of the pocket on the motorcycle on the highway...and STILL WORKED. I thought the integrity would carry across the brand but WHOA NOT EVEN CLOSE.

My new LG 8100 worked quite well for a while...then it began to require frequent power cycles for 'updates.' Pretty soon it was power cycling on it's own, mid-text and online browsing session primarily. Eventually got stuck in a perpetual loop, turning off again as it restarted.

Sent in for service where I purchased it, waited a month and found a better service centre, and the first Telus dealer STILL HAD NOT SENT THE PHONE OUT!!!

I have had mine in for service twice now, still dealing with power cycling on its own, but so long as it still makes calls and texts and takes pics, I'm holding out for the end of contract. New service provider and data phone here I come!!
3 Stars out of 5

Messaging Ringtones?

Reviewed on Sunday August 26, 2007 by , Alberta
I have a few ringtones that I have downloaded from [service provider], but my LG 8100 phone only lets me set downloaded ringtones for voice calls. When trying to set my messaging ringtone, there is no option to use "downloaded" tones. I know that most other phones do this, but the LG 8100 doesn't seem to. If anyone has any suggestions or can help, please
5 Stars out of 5

Best Phone EVER!

Reviewed on Sunday July 15, 2007 by , toronto, ontario
I don't know what you people are talking about, this phone is amazing! I've had it for almost a year now, and I've have not one problem. Maybe you guys like don't take care of your phone? It's a great phone!
1 Star out of 5

good phone, horrible reliability

Reviewed on Tuesday May 8, 2007 by , ontario, canada
I've had the exact same problem with others. Almost right after I got it, the phone began to reboot randomly. Eventually it broke down twice on me in a span of four months and then the camera wasn't working after being fixed for the second time. Telus asked me to sign up a new three contract if I want a new phone at the discounted 3 year contract price and since i was only four months into the contract I signed up for the new one and got the Samsung A720.

Both phones have almost same features and both have great(for a cellphone) external speakers, but the A720 is much better built and don't have such notorious reliability problem so far. (The A720 is pretty much the same phone as the A950, but in a prettier tougher casing)

It is too bad because I actually preferred the LG's way of text messaging and the LCD is slightly bigger. However I just didn't want to keep having to replace it over and over.
1 Star out of 5

Nothing But Trouble.

Reviewed on Monday April 9, 2007 by , Stratford, ONT
I had this phone for almost a year.
We had to send it back 3 times for repair.
and I even got a brand new one, the first time i sent it back.
My boyfriend had continuous problems with his aswell.
We've NOW switched phones, to the samsung a720 and its wonderful.
We've never had a problem with that phone.
but the LG was all problems. I would NOT get this phone.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday March 21, 2007 by , Alberta
At first, I loved this phone. Then.... I had problems after 32 days, all of a sudden my phone went into Roam mode and all of my contacts deleted! Turned the phone off, then on again and still no contacts. Tried to store contacts and would not work. Telus would not help me out, as I was 2 days over the replacement warranty, even though I have had over 10 years of contracts and $300+month bills. Had to send it away for service and still waiting for the phone back. I know 2 other people who had this same problem.

Beware and back up your contacts!
1 Star out of 5

LG 8100 give me nightmares!

Reviewed on Friday November 3, 2006 by , Oshawa
I bought this phone in March of 2006... the thing would shut itself off and then back on in the middle of texting at least once a day.. then it started doing it during phone calls.. then one day it just stayed on the telus logo screen all together..

The wonderful people at Telus sent it to be repaired.. it couldn't be fixed so they sent me a new one (5 downloaded ringtones, 2 images and all my contact gone) Telus refused to reimburse me for the money lost on ringtones and images.

Phone #2.. works fine.. i buy 2 ringtones.. shortly after the same problem begins to occur.. then one say the ringtones stop working properly. those wonderful telus people reset my phone and it works again.. for a week.. before EVERYTHING in the phone (contacts, ringtones.. EVERYTHING) dissapears completely and the phone doesn't even let me dial out. Telus sends it out for repairs.. they can't fix it and send me a new one...

Phone #3.. 8 months and 3 phones later.. phone number 3 is showing the SAME glitches as the first 2.. Telus swears they have never heard of any problems with this model of phone.. even though the 2 times previous i was at the store the majority of phones in the repair box are lg8100's

After much arguing with Customer loyalty, i am told if this phone breaks they will release me from my contract and i can sign up for a new one to purchase a discounted phone...
5 Stars out of 5

excellent phone

Reviewed on Tuesday September 12, 2006 by , brantford, ontario
I love this phone the camera is great the camcorder feature is also good. The speaker and volume is great even is the nosiest places i can still hear the phone ring. The reception is also great. The phone feels great when you hold it against your face. I would suggest this phone to anybody.
4 Stars out of 5

Good Phone to some extend

Reviewed on Wednesday August 30, 2006 by , o
This is a good phone to some extend. it has its pro and cons. Some of the pros to this phone is the MP3 player, Mobile TV,Mobile Radio, camera, external controls for mp3 on the external of the phone. Another nice part is the external speakers on the phone that give you good crisp sound to some level. Some of the poor features on the phone is on the factory head set where it connects into the phone that connection will come lose after the first month cause that is what happened to mine. Telus refused to replace it and said it was physical damage to the bottem end piece. Another bad design is the Mini SD door that keeps the card safe from any damage will also break off if u r not careful with it and telus refused to replace it. There are some features that i miss of the phone which is the vibrating and playing the ringtone at the same time. Another one is being to be able change the ringtone and the text message to a custom ringtone from the sounds folder or the ringtone. Or on the text message on the phone to a ringtone or a voice memo on the phone. The last problem that i had with the phone is the Two piece case that the telus store sold me is that when u take the top cover that protects the screen and the external display of the phone piece that protects the key pad rubs against the screen causing it to have an annoying line on the side of the screen.

But i think after u get around the problems it is a Good Phone to Some extend.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday June 7, 2006 by , Surrey
I have had nothing but problems with this phone. From the video not working, orange and pink splothes on the scene, from my screne going completely white and TELUS is not willing to fix the problem even though I bought the extended warranty. The phone is only a month old. BUYERS BEWARE!!
1 Star out of 5

high tech

Reviewed on Sunday April 9, 2006 by , vancouver
this phone does not have a vibrating alert(or at least the telus version). it either vibrates or rings. besides some features are missing, i made a comparison between verizon's and telus'.
im glad i checked out the user guides and asked the telus dealers before buying this phone....

i thought as new ophones come out, features r added AND NOT disappearing!!