LG Chocolate Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG Chocolate has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 127 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

Thanks, Diane, ON. Nov4,08 (No USB for Photo Upload)

Reviewed on Tuesday May 19, 2009 by , ON
Hi Diane:
I really appreciate your sharing this information with everyone. I was getting really frustrated trying to get the USB Cable to work. I am sure I should simply have read the manual, however.
The problem with the phone is that it's too sensitive. The problem designer's probably didn't consider was winter, and not being able to use it with your gloves on.
Several other problems, but it's served me well.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday April 27, 2009 by , London, Ont.
Very sad I signed a contract for this phone. I actually don't mind having to buy my music through Bell, what really irritates me is the battery falling off every time I pick the phone up and losing a call because it's loose [the battery]. It really takes away from the appearance of the phone when it is wrapped in tape not to mention interferes with the functionality of it.
1 Star out of 5

The Worst phone Ever!!

Reviewed on Sunday April 19, 2009 by , Mississauga
This phone is the worst I have ever used. I got it in August 2007, and only in the first year I had it repaired twice. Just after the warranty expired in the 2nd year, it broke again. There seems to be a problem with the phone shutting off by itself. I was told it had to do with how the battery is attached to the phone, a weak link. I have few friend who used and dumped it in the garbage after few months. If you get this phone from Bell Mobility with 3 year contract, Very Bad Luck to You! You Are Doomed!! While they know all the problems attached with this phone, they are not willing to admit that they know about them.
1 Star out of 5

Bell LG Chocolate

Reviewed on Sunday February 15, 2009 by , Oshawa, ON
I have had so many problems with this cellphone. It would randomnly turn off and back on again by iteself, even when I was in the middle of talking on the phone. The battery becomes so loose that I ended up having to tape my battery into the phone, as did 4 other people I know that has this phone. And all of a sudden the battery charger has stopped working! It is the worst phone I've ever had :(
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 31, 2009 by , florida
somone said that they needed to know how to upload music to the micro sd chip...

all i have to do is put the chip into my computer and when it pulls it up click on the file that says my music. once that pulls up all i have to do is drag the music from limewire to the file and it works just fine.
1 Star out of 5

Chocolate flip MP3 SUCKS

Reviewed on Thursday January 29, 2009 by , Timmins
It shouldn't be hard to upload music onto a MP3 player phone... but oh no it is!!!!! The LG chocolate flip 8600 phone provides you with a usb stick and the micro SD card, which I've put music on from my computer. Now I can't upload it onto my phone, how dumb is that. Nothing in the user guide to help either and I've searched online for an hour and all I've found are all these complaints. YEY! If anyone knows how to upload music FROM COMPUTER TO MICRO SD CARD TO PHONE please post your responce.
5 Stars out of 5

i like this phone

Reviewed on Tuesday January 6, 2009 by , new waverly tx
i really like this phone alot...........
4 Stars out of 5

the camera

Reviewed on Wednesday December 24, 2008 by , london
wel really the phone is bare great but the camera is stop working gone all burly and red things are green and pink things are green don't no what happened but need help to it fix up plz
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 4, 2008 by , ON
Ok I got my LG800 Chocolate free from Bell as a credit for signing up for three years contract. I see alot of you don't like this phone well I just really wanted it for emerg uses only with my kids so they can call me anywhere. I had no probs.

OK for the photo uploads I see you are all asking about. I too thought the USB was for that but ITS NOT!
The pictures on your cell right? Well in options click on UPLOAD and then onto the MY UPLOADS then click OK.

It sends it to the site at mypictures.bell.ca... NOW all you do is click on first time user and set up an account. Its your cell number and a password.

All your pics are now stored in there. but if you take pix you make sure you click upload it doesn't do it automatically.

Now for the music.. you go bell.ca/getmusic and you need to do the same as above for first time users. They text you a password to use.
the Music you download in the music store should be there.
Once you click on download icon the orange button, you cannot re-download. Once saved in your folder you created for your downloads dble click and Windows media player will open and you will get a popup saying they are goin to groovemobile to get the rights to download this song. After that is done that popup will not show up again for that song. You need to do this for each song.
I burned a CD for back up of the songs in that folder cuz if you lose it, you lose it for good or you will have to re-download the song again..
I hope this helps I know its lengthy but its easier to see steps explained.
Hope I helped most of the users of this cool cell phone.

You can also access both these futures in BELL.CA in MY BELL PAGE.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday October 25, 2008 by , Canada
I Just got the chocolate maybe 1 or 2 months ago( cherry) It's great! Except there's no speakerphone. It does everything a phone should do. It's not like it's gonna be a fantastic little phone that has alot of memory and camera perfect. It's a phone! Except how do you put music on it?
1 Star out of 5

phone sucks

Reviewed on Friday October 24, 2008 by , nb
ok get this i bought this phone about mid july and now the god damn thing shuts itself of and on again every 2 minutes or when i slide it down im not one to complaine all that much either
1 Star out of 5

Bad Chocolate

Reviewed on Saturday October 18, 2008 by , Ontario
My LG has been trouble since the word go. Smart styling and neat controls however within a month the screen cracked inside with no abuse.

Reception and transmission of sound has always been poor. This phone is not for the hearing challenged.

Battery life is pathetic. I'm counting the days till the end of contract
4 Stars out of 5

I don't get it!

Reviewed on Sunday September 7, 2008 by , Vancouver
I'm overall rather okay with my phone! I understand that I can't do certain things, but it's a phone.. what am I really trying to expect here?! Some multi-functional tool that I got free when I signed the contract? Nope!!

However! I'm trying to put music on it! And that's all I ask for! I can't seem to put anything on it because apparently my phone is NEVER detected by my computer. This is driving me nuts! I've done everything! Downloaded all the drivers and downloaded that Bell's music backup thingy, and turned on the media storage at the right moments... but other than that, IT'S NOT DETECTING IT STILL.

Someone please tell me how to for sure fix this problem!!!!

Thank you~~~ >_<
1 Star out of 5

piece of C***!!!

Reviewed on Thursday August 14, 2008 by , california
so my Pink chocolate's screen has gone completely white and I cant see a damn thing on it I can receive calls on it but like I said I cant see a damn thing and this is my second phone in the last 6 months it is the worst phone ever. if anyone knows how to fix the white screen please let me know I really dont want to have to go through the insurance and get a new one.
1 Star out of 5

this phone really sucks!!

Reviewed on Thursday August 7, 2008 by , calgary
i tryed putting music from my computer, when i hook up th USB cord it doesnt work, i cant even text message to my friends , then sometimes i just charged the battery of my cellphone, my phone says power down or battery low...
some of my friends have these phones we all have the same problems in our cellphones

just like these:
can't text.
cant download music
Usb doesnt work
1 Star out of 5

Not happy @ all!

Reviewed on Thursday July 24, 2008 by , Canada
I have had this phone for almost 3 months.. and it is the crappiest phone EVER!!! you cant close the phone when you text someone like some other phones so you have to leave it open and HALF the time it doesnt even send because of some stupid thing that doesnt allow it to send. then whenever you do finally recieve a text when you open the phone to read it if you press the "talk" button it automatically calls that person. you can barely hear the other person on the other line when talking to someone. i wish i woulda read these reviews before i went out and bought it. lets hope *cross fingers* i can get a new one! DO NOT GET THIS PHONE!!!
1 Star out of 5

Help with music transfer

Reviewed on Sunday July 20, 2008 by , Toronto
I bought this phone and ive had a problem for almost a year now. Every time i hook up the USB to the computer and try to get music from my pc, my lg 800 phone says "battery low" or it will power down. I've had the phone replaced and a new battery put into it but I am still having this problem. Help?
4 Stars out of 5

really like the phone

Reviewed on Monday July 14, 2008 by , Oshawa
i've had no troubles really, yea you have the odd thing to fix here and there but its no different than any other phone

had a bit of trouble uploading music until i found this site, other than that its a basic phone in my opinion.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday July 8, 2008 by , Canada
This is probably the worst cell phone i have ever owned stupidly enough i bought it because it looks cute and i liked the idea of a slider phone. No one can hear you unless there is absolutely no background noise everyone i talk to on it complains they have no idea what im saying not to mention i can barely hear people HUGE volume issues and i dont have a hearing problem. It constantly goes onto the internet when inside my purse therefore increases the cost. this is not just me its 3 people in my family that have the exact same issues. Bell offers to "repair" the phone yet that does nothing the phone isnt broken it just sucks. The speaker for talking into is very poorly placed.
4 Stars out of 5

Some truths and lies

Reviewed on Monday July 7, 2008 by , Ontario, Canada



Or google the file "KG800_UK.zip"



[STEP 1-2(TRUE - but totally unnecessary) if you use bitpim you can put music onto your phone with it, no need for the Bell program. Also, you can use a bluetooth connection from your phone to your pc to get pictures and music on to and off the phone (if you don't have the supplied usb cable). Besides, people will probably have trouble installing the drivers for the kg800.]


(TRUE - but you have to enable the file system first... go to "VIEW>View Filesystem". One should also note... messing with the phones file system could possibly render your phone inoperable... use bitpim with causion.)
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday July 5, 2008 by , florida
my screen is broken on my lg chocolate can anyone give me a step by step on how to put the pics on to my micro scandisk? the customer support and user guide are useless.thanks!
5 Stars out of 5

This phone rocks!

Reviewed on Saturday July 5, 2008 by , Newport, California
I don't understand what everybody is saying! I love this phone! My daddy got it for me for my 16th birthday (I have the pink one) and it is ah-dorable! Also, it is like sooooo much fun to just slide up and down, up and down.... ahhh, i could do it forever! I have had NOO problems with this phone. My daddy downloaded all my music from iTunes and it worked great! Good luck! if you have ANY questions i'll ask my daddy!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 27, 2008 by , Canada



Or google the file "KG800_UK.zip"






3 Stars out of 5

Phone sucks...however

Reviewed on Monday June 23, 2008 by , Ontario, Canada
My daughter and wifes phone (I have a Samsung). Buttons way too sensitive. However, getting pics, music, videos (movies or music), and animated screensavers on to, and from, the phone are easy. Bitpim 1.0.4 is your best friend for that stuff. Also for the pics and music, if I remember correctly, you can use a bluetooth connection from your phone to your pc (if pc is bluetooth capable). I would never get this phone myself, but if you want to do the things I mentioned earlier, get Bitpim and do a little web research (I did).
5 Stars out of 5

It's not too bad!

Reviewed on Thursday June 19, 2008 by , BC
I'll admit to the chocolate phone's faults, of course! I haven't ever had good reception anywhere besides for rural downtown areas, and I SO OFTEN find it hard to hear whoever's on the other end!
I haven't seemed to have any traumatic experiences with it freezing or breaking or even scratching too easily. It is inconvenient that the main screen is right on the front, but I just take extra care! I've had it for 10 months now, and it's still in great condition! I try not to drop it, because that's not good for ANY phone, obviously!
A lot of people seem to have concern with the music factor!
Well I came onto this site, followed a few links and was playing music on my phone in no time!

Here's what I did:
1) Go to http://rollingphones.ca/manuals/cell/lg/lg_chocolate_800.pdf
that's the entire user manual, and apart from downloading the music, it taught me a lot of cool tricks I never knew about my phone until now!
On page 51 it'll explain at the bottom how to connect your USB cord to phone & computer properly.

Then I went to http://www.bell.ca/support/PrsCSrvWls_Ftrs_MusicTransfer.page?ADV=musictransfer
from there click on the link that says Install the Music Backup application.
This will take you through a series of installations through which you'll probably have to click "Next", "I Agree" and "Finish" multiple times. But it should be pretty straight forward.
NOTE: When I tried downloading this application, windows STRONGLY advised me against it, saying it hadn't passed some logo inspection. I had no concern with this, because I decided that it was definitely NOT a virus. (Downloading onto my phone with success further proved this.)
So if you have some concern that the program might harm YOUR computer, well, it's up to you!

After the first initial download, you might get things popping up on your task bar saying, "Searching for devices" and "Found new hardware"; this is all good!
It will download a whole bunch of things in order to connect your phone properly.

If you can get through the download easily, all you have to do is open up the program to get started! It should bring you right to a page that will at first search for your phone (hopefully it connected properly to your PC!) and then you just have to click the "Add to Phone" button on the right hand pannel and find your media!

If you're using limewire to download music, your media is probably stored under the "Shared" folder. That's what it is for me, at least. So search for that and you should be on your way!

Then, once you've downloaded all that you want (I can't remember the specifications of media storage limits, but I trust that you'll find out!) then you can unplug your USB cord from the computer or phone (or both...)

To find your newly downloaded music, go to the Media Player under the made menu, then go to Media Player from there again and you should have a list of all your songs under "Music"

Hopefully this was helpful to some of you! The chocolate phone really isn't all THAT bad. Just take good care of it!

Good luck to you all!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday June 19, 2008 by , Saskatchewan
I bought this phone on the 31st of May 2008 and I can't receive text msgs from South Africa, can't load music/ Photos frop PC, I've tried the Bell.ca crap, doesn work. i regret buying this phone, I cant even get on Mxit.
1 Star out of 5

worst thing of my life

Reviewed on Tuesday June 10, 2008 by , saskatoon
Okay, so this hot little black square that gets you noticed everywhere is a piece of junk. The slider was loose like in a month, and you prolly shouldn't even think of buying this phone unless you never go outside, in public, or near any hard surface. Or you have like super grip. It breaks so easy, worst money i've spent. now i know...
1 Star out of 5

This phone sucks

Reviewed on Saturday June 7, 2008 by , smith falls ontario
do NOT buy this phone it really suck it is a hunk of junk i am telling u do not buy it IT SUCK SO NEVER BUY IT
3 Stars out of 5

Whaat ????

Reviewed on Saturday June 7, 2008 by , Canada
This is an okaay phone , but how do i get the pictures from my phone to the computer !?!?!?!? there is noo memory card , and i could not find a waay to transfer the pictures by using the USB cord . HEELPP ? PLEAAASSEE !!
1 Star out of 5

This phone really really sucks

Reviewed on Thursday June 5, 2008 by , new brunswick
I purchased this phone in September of last year on a three year contract. I was really interested in it at first and really liked the looks of it. About three months after I got it I started having problems like not being able to hear the caller and the screen goes all crazy if you barely touch it. I wanted to change it to another one and was told by the (service provider) that i could only get it fixed. Well today I sat on it my accident and it cracked the screen on the inside. I took it down to be looked at and was told it would cost me 200 - 300 dollars to get it fixed and of course i was not willing to pay that for a phone i did not like. I am still under contract so i am not eligiable for an up grade, so i had to go and get my old phone and get it activated. I was told by the service provider person I was dealing with was that they would not recommend this phone and if someone wanted it they would send them to another peron to get it. It seems there are more bad reviews then good reviews for this phone. WORST MISTAKE I EVER MADE GETTING THIS PHONE.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday May 28, 2008 by , Brockville, Ontario
So bad...they don't even want it back. Aside from the difficulties with mp3's and pictures, these phones break so easily that the phone companies won't give you an upgrade even though you are locked in to a contract and have 10 months left on the warranty. My phone shuts off when you slide it open - makes it kind of hard to answer a call! It turns off whenever it feels like it, and to turn it back on, I have to have it plugged in to the charger. The battery is crap, the ring tones default to an old downloaded one on a regular basis....I could go on. For the fee of a rental ($35) I can send it away to have them tell me it is no good and charge me for the shipping. No thanks! Between the phone and Bell Mobility...I would not give either my money again!
1 Star out of 5

disapponted in the chocolate

Reviewed on Monday May 12, 2008 by , nl
I bought my phone last September and am very disappointed in it. I cannot hear the phone ring, or hear the person on the other line.The tone is very low.I have missed several important calls. I am in a contract and tried to exchange it within weeks to no avail.I would not suggest this phone to anyone.
2 Stars out of 5

Turning Songs into Ringtones

Reviewed on Monday May 5, 2008 by , Cyberspace
Okay, all you are having trouble with this so i thought i would let you in on my secret. All they did to stop you from adding ringtones is they hid the folder. so when you connect your chocolate and the "my media" folder opens, open up the folder. from there you should have a few folders, something like "photos, other, video, music" or something like that. right click just on the background of the folder you are currently in and click properties. Then check off the "hidden" box and apply and press okay. All the boxes will dissapear. From there, right click again on the background and go to properties. Now uncheck the Hidden button, and press okay. All folders will now be viewable, including the "Ringtunes" folder. From there, edit songs or do whatever you want on your computer, and just drag the music into that folder and there you go.
4 Stars out of 5

I love it, but i hate it

Reviewed on Sunday April 20, 2008 by , Ontario Canada
I got this phone over a year ago on my b'day, and I've only had very few problems.

1. I think when they made this phone, they didnt think about the people that lived by the cold & the snow!! Because, the one day when i was standing out in the cold during recess, my batery indicator was going insane, One second i looked at it, it was full the next it was dead, then all of a sudden it shut off, I pressed the power button and, it started up fine, with a medium battery level!?! I went in the school slid it up by my locker and IT HAD A FULL BATTERY!!!

2. And then When I went to the store (Still cold outside) I noticed when i was sliding it up and down the screen was getting little bubbles in it, but only when i was sliding it!?!

3. When I go to take a picture the thing gets so laggy that when you take a picture all you see is your friends face smeared accross the screen!!

4. You cant use it in the heat or anywhere with moisture because the touch pad ends up in a fingerprint nightmare!! I am constantly wipeing it off. And you don't wanna get me started on the gouges all over it, just from people having dirt on there fingers, they scratch the **** out of it!

6. Completely lacking in the custumization when it comes to your ring tone. Like i really wanna pay $3.00/min to go on the web and then pay more for a ringtone, thats just going to get annoying and boring after a couple months.

I have to say I like this phone but they should have worked the bugs out before they released it!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday April 16, 2008 by , California
This phone is the worst phone ever. So many problems with it, I don't even know where to start:
The number one problem is accidental touch key problems. It calls random people, sends text messages before I'm done, and sometimes doesn't even work.
Second, my friend has a black chocolate (I have the mint), and one day it turned off and when he tried to turn it on it was a complete white screen. This happened to my mom the first day she got it as well.
Also, the battery doesn't last at all. It did when I first got it, but after a year, it died very quickly.
It also cracks too easily and my phone is completely chipped in one corner, and it annoys me because it's incredibly ugly.
1 Star out of 5

Lg Chocolate Sucks

Reviewed on Tuesday April 15, 2008 by , toronto
I only had it two month gone to repair all ready.This lg sucks I had lg before it was good but this one sucks.
Not happy at all.
5 Stars out of 5

Music Transfer From PC to Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday April 8, 2008 by , Ontario
Okay so I have read all of these complaints and I was about to write a complaint as well until I came across this website that DOES let you transfer music from your PC to your LG Chocolate.
This is the website http://rollingphones.ca/cell/instructions/lg800/lg800_music_backup.html
This website actually does work...just make sure to follow the instructions to a tee..if you do not it wont work..follow what it says and i am positive that it will work..GOOD LUCK LG USERS!
1 Star out of 5

what a loser

Reviewed on Tuesday April 8, 2008 by , vancouver
Indeed, [service provider] has locked so many to this LG Chocolate 800. This morning, I just completed to download the "backup music application" from the wbesite and also successfully transfered a few short songs into my cell, then realized I can't make them into my personal ringtone???? With my friend's help finding: BitPim, but it doesn't support LG Chocolate 800TM model.....anyone with luck to hack into that restriction?? please share!!!! appreciate
1 Star out of 5

Piece of Crap!!!

Reviewed on Tuesday April 1, 2008 by , Ontario
I bought this phone not even a year ago, last May, and it is the biggest piece of crap ever!!! The battery is already fried, it won't last any longer than a day, less if I use it more... Most of the time my phone doesn't even ring, then my phone will beep and I will have a voicemail, I've had many friends say that they call and it keeps ringing and ringing and I never receive these missed calls? The reception is terrible!! if the lights go off on the censor menu, you have to press a button on the keys in order to backspace or press ok!!! The battery is very loose and have had it fall off very easily, even if dropped off my bed onto the carpet! The first weekend I had it which was last may 24 weekend i brought it to the cottage with me and it was it was frozen the entire time! not to mention the screen went on me and when i brought it in after the weekend (which i didnt have a cellphone the entire weekend due to this) they said they would send it away and when it came back, i had to pay 125$! to get it back, and they didnt even fix the scratches on the front screen.. i figured warranty would have covered it but they did it without consulting me, and i had just paid 300$ for the phone, so in a month i spent 425$ on b.c... I can't get my pictures onto my computer not that i would even want to as you have to hold the phone completely still for 3 minutes and the people have to stay still completely for 3 minutes in order to get an even half decent picture! if you are wearing mitts, you cant use the touch screen, it has to be your actual finger to use the censors... man i could go on and on, i can hardly ever hear anyone when they talk to me cos the quality of this phone is very low, i would not reccommend this to anyone unless you are only planning on having it for a short period of time! I thought it would be a nice phone as it's slide and sleek but all in all its a piece of crap that scratches easily and is not reliable at all!
5 Stars out of 5

lg chocolate

Reviewed on Tuesday March 18, 2008 by , wasaga beach
i just got mine not to long ago it was free so no worries and umm i figured how to put music on it im taking good care of it and it works find till now the sound is good everything is fine!
1 Star out of 5

**** sucks !

Reviewed on Monday March 17, 2008 by , London ontario
I am so anrgy and disappointed with [service provider] and their products.I went on a 3 year plan and recived 2 lg 800 chocolate phones what a flimsy peice of crap.Its a very limited phone when used through [service provider] comes with no cd also cant download any songs on my phone called tech support they told me that they would call back in a few days .Called today was advisd even though I have had my phones less than a month I was stuck with them,Spoke with a supervisor was told it would cost me 800 dollars to get out of my three year contract.Even though its a sexy little phone the negatives out weigh the looks of the phone its battery life is so bad the reception is also very poor.I cannot stress enough do not get this phone!!!!
Also was told by the supervisor that they get very few calls about this brand of phones ect but from what I see in this forum Im not the only one with these type of issues. Thanks everyone glad to know Im not overrecating lol
1 Star out of 5

Do NOT buy this phone!

Reviewed on Sunday March 16, 2008 by , Canada
Honestly, save your money, this phone is ****! I've had mine for 7 months; the battery has popped off the back, and it is not held together with tape and stickers.
AND to top it all off; recently, it won't charge!!
It is running on very little battery right now, I hook it up to the charger, and nothing works!
It doesn't do anything! GR!!!
This phone also gets terrible service, and you have to hold it impossibly still to get a decent picture!
It won't let me put music on it, and the screen gets scratched very easily!
Overly, terrible phone. Do not buy it,

2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 14, 2008 by , Ontario
For those saying the bell.ca/musictransfer site wont work, its more than likely because of the browser your using. When I use firefox, it doesn't work, but for internet explorer it does.
1 Star out of 5

Terrible Phone

Reviewed on Friday March 14, 2008 by , Nova Scotia, Canada
When I seen the chocolate phone I loved it. I wanted it for months and months, after I got it I loved it as well. The first few weeks were pretty good the only complaints I had was the volume when talking to someone(really low). But it seemed that every week the phone kept having more and more problems - started shutting itself off, and now the screen went all weird and you cant see nothing..
For the price that they want for this phone they really should make the quality a little bit better...
Now I need to get a new phone because what is the point of having this phone that I cant see nothing on!!
Wouldnt recommend this phone to anyone --- its not worth it....
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 14, 2008 by , canada
some please help me my music back up wont work and im sick of paying 3.50 a song for them all to just get deleted
3 Stars out of 5

Help not a review

Reviewed on Sunday March 9, 2008 by , vancouver
I have the chocolate and I can transfer videos by blue tooth to my Mac Notebook but they do not play. Has anyone any ideas?

2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday March 6, 2008 by , darthmouth
can you put photo's on the LG chocolate?how?
2 Stars out of 5

lg chocolate

Reviewed on Sunday February 17, 2008 by , nova scotia
i just got this phone about two weeks ago and every since i've been trying to download music to it, when i go to the bell.ca/musictransfer site it says the page no longer exists what do i do?
1 Star out of 5

lg chocolate

Reviewed on Monday February 11, 2008 by , montreal
this phone is terrible. after following every bit of advice and every single thing every one has said on this post i've still not been able to upload music onto this phone. i've even taken this site to some of the bell guys at a few stores and such and they've tried with out any success to upload music AND to download my pictures onto any computer STEER CLEAR OF THIS PHONE. it's not cool and it sucks over all it's too expensive for what it is. i'm just gonna get myself an HTC. touch i suggest every one else get some thing other then this piece of ****
1 Star out of 5

cant get any muisc

Reviewed on Sunday February 10, 2008 by , ajax
HI i cand get any music to my phone even music back up want works on it whats the point of selling this cell like all most $5oodollars wast of money making ppl ful why i have tried like for a mont it want work iam trying to return this phone back LG800
1 Star out of 5

nice to look at, horrid to have

Reviewed on Tuesday February 5, 2008 by , Estevan, SK
so i got a chocolate in october of 07, and i had it for about two weeks when i started not recieveing phone calls, a voice mail would just pop up, so i took it back to the store i got it from and they sent it away. It was gone for a month and when i got it back they said they gave me a brand new one and the one i got was all scratched up. Oh well i just said whatever and dealt with it.
So about a month ago i ended a phone call and shut my screen and the battery popped off, so every time i closed my phone the battery fell out. So about three weeks ago i took the phone back in and they said they would send it away again. i just called them and they said they were proably just going to give me a another new chocolate. so i have had this phone for 4 months and actually only had one for about two because it has been sent away so much. So all together in 4 months i will have had three new chocolate phones. my personal opion on this phone is, You should not get it. the reception is bad, you have to hold the phone prfectly still when you take pics, and the battery will eventually fall off.
4 Stars out of 5

How to fix music problem!

Reviewed on Friday February 1, 2008 by , noneofyourbusiness
you have to go to the LG website and download something for i forget where to go on the site but thats how you fix the problem
2 Stars out of 5

Works with Linux :-)

Reviewed on Sunday January 27, 2008 by , St Johns
I have Fedora 8. Enabled bluetooth on my laptop and the cell and works fine for transfers. Moved music, video and pics from my laptop without any problems. However, it is sad that I cannot set an mp3 as a ring tone.
3 Stars out of 5

LG Chocolate Camera Phone

Reviewed on Thursday January 24, 2008 by , Ottawa Canada
This phone is very slick and easy to carry around, but the reception isn't always great. The camera takes great photos and video works well, but when you connect the USB port into the computer nothing happens???

The other thing to is the buttons only work when they are lit up. If you don't press a button within 10 seconds, the light dims out and you have to reset the lights before you can do anything else.
2 Stars out of 5

LG 800

Reviewed on Tuesday January 22, 2008 by , Ontario
I've tried many times installing the Music Backup program from Bell. Every time I try to even plug my Chocolate into the computer, my phone says "Powering down now, please recharge" when its at full battery! The computer says the USB is not recognized and my phone powers down. I've sent my phone away already once under my extended warranty, and the only thing they did was delete all my pictures which I cannot get back, deleted all my music at $3.50 a song (I had about 17 songs), all my ringtones, games, you name it. When I got my phone back from Bell, they didn't even re-program my number back into my phone, so there goes another week without a phone. I finally took it back AGAIN and they re-programmed it, but I still have to purchase all my stuff back, and I complained highly about how I will have to pay for ALL the internet service charges again, since I do not get internet free on my plan. They told me I would be credited for this...
Today, after looking on this website to see if anyone had any suggestions about this Music Backup Program, since I have already tried plugging in my cell phone to the computer and the SAME problem is happening from before I sent my phone away.
The LG800 to me is garbage. They probably didn't even test out the phone to make sure that everything worked on it and that it was all okay for a consumer to download and use. I'm not impressed at all with this phone and to me it was a complete waste of a purchase. I am going to take it back once more and tell them that they didn't even install new hardware or anything to my phone. And I won't leave until they give me a different phone.
To anyone who's looking to buy a LG800 Chocolate, I wouldn't recommend it. Yeah its pretty and it slides, but its really not worth the hassle to send back every five weeks.
Buy something else people.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 12, 2008 by , toronto
kay well i got the LG 800 Chocolate phone and i want to put music on it i've been using the bell music back up application to do it but my computer can never find the phone if anyone knows what to do to make it work please let me know thnx <3
2 Stars out of 5

Love it..but

Reviewed on Thursday January 10, 2008 by , Moncton
I really do like this phone but I have know idea how to get my pictures from my phone to my comp. or how to get music on my phone. When I plug the USB cable in nothing happens. Help!! What can I do?
2 Stars out of 5

okay-ish phone.

Reviewed on Thursday January 10, 2008 by , Vancouver
I bought this phone 3 months ago from [service provider]. Cost me $350, but figured I'd treat myself. Worked well, I was super happy with it... until three days ago, when I opened it only to find the screen was fractured. I didn't drop it, step on it, drop it in water, throw it... ANYTHING! So I brought it in, and was told that the manufacturer's warranty wouldn't cover it. IT WOULDN'T COVER MY BROKEN SCREEN! When I bought this phone, I specifically asked if I could upgrade my warranty or anything, and he said, "Naaah, but the warranty should cover everything besides water damage." And I'm locked in my plan, so now I have to buy myself another phone...
Granted, it's pretty and nice to own... but it's cost me an arm and a leg. Get something more reliable.
2 Stars out of 5

Promises with Hooks - need email account ...

Reviewed on Sunday January 6, 2008 by , St-Jean-sur-Richelieu
I was sold on upload/download features for Pics/Vids ... music not so much...

I use a CARD service from Bell Mobility ... Canada

The franchise store told me 1 month after I purchased the phone with these features that I NEEDED an Email account at $10/month which will be deducted from my Mobility card ... so instead of $25 / month in addtion to my regular Videotron phone it's at least $35+++/month.

If it is not included do not mention it or provide the buyer with the Caveat.

The LG otherwise is good, not more. The BOOKLET instructions are not very comprehensive and I had to look elsewhere; i.e., the Internet. So when I buy a cell phone do I also need to buy a Computer, ISP provider ... etc.
This is not a phone it's in the price range of a Ferrari.

ADVICE - buy from COMPETENT and TRUSTED suppliers if you can find them or you WILL be sold a pile of goods that are not stand alone
5 Stars out of 5

Got it working!

Reviewed on Saturday January 5, 2008 by , Toronto
Hey everyone I actually got it based on Vic's method, however I discovered a few things . The first time I tried without even finding this thread, and I was using Vista so no go. Then I tried doing it exactly as bell explains but on my XP Media Center Edition PC which would not work wouldnt detect the phone.

I just did it on my XP Pro work laptop and it worked perfectly. I did it a bit differen though so not sure if it's Media Centre the problem, or just that I installed it wrong the first time and screwed it up. Basically I did Vic's method:

1) Plug in the USB, go to tools media storage, and click YES.

2) The computer pops up new hardware found, click cancel. It will say error occured installing.

3) www.bell.ca/musictransfer and download the program. Install the program. When it's done, it gets to that final stages yellow screen. On my system, it then popped up again saying new hardware found, so I did the steps saying no don't search online, and install recommended drivers. Did that for the 3 options, clicked next and launch program, and it works fine now.

If it doesn't pop up that window, you can do as Vic said, click the new hardware found icon on the taskbar and it should.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 5, 2008 by , Canada
I LOVE THE PHONE its really easy to get music on your phone... even if you have vista... but.... this is driving me insane!!!! HOW DO YOU GET PICS OFF YOUR PHONE AND ONTO YOUR PC!??!!??!?!?!??! or do you have to have bluetooth for that?
3 Stars out of 5

Website doesnt exist

Reviewed on Friday January 4, 2008 by , Pei
Does anyone have a website i can use to download this music transfer... When i use the one below ... www.bell.ca/musictransfer it says it doesnt exisit anymore, can anyone please help me, ill go crazy soon if i can't figure this out.
5 Stars out of 5

Music Application is Garbage!

Reviewed on Friday January 4, 2008 by , Toronto
This is so frustrating. I bought this phone yesterday, I have Solo Mobile. Everything works great, except the Music backup application. On Solo's site it says click here to download the music app. You do that, and it goes to a log in screen for Bell's Music store. You log in, and it says there's 0 music to download or backup.

I went to the link provided below and downloaded myself from Bell. No matter what I try nothing works. I've done Vic's method and no go.

I've tried EVERYTHING, all I get is that stupid stupid screen saying no phone detected. Even though device manager sees it no problem. I've done it on two computers too which is the stupid part and both of them do the same thing which makes no sense.

Going to try again after but not sure what I'm doing wrong. The first time I installed, I did it exactly like the Bell guide explains step by step. It's not a huge deal since I really don't know if I'll use music on it since I've had mp3 phones before and never have, but none of them came with the headphones so I'm thinking I might actually use it since this one does.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 4, 2008 by , Nova scotia
Uhm kay. how do you take you're Pic's off you're phone? and put them on you're computer i hook the cable up to it that came with it and nothing happen's? can u help me.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 3, 2008 by , stl
I just got this fone a week ago..I LOVE IT its the best phone ive EVER had BUT... there are a couple of things i DONT like about it...

1.I CANT GET MUSIC ONTO MY PHONE!!! Ive tried 1 million times!! I cant find the hardware drive on my computer anywhere!! And when i try to put it in sync mode to connect it is says: FAILURE TO CONNNECT!! I t really ****es me of...

2. I would really like to tranfer files from my computer to my phone...why cant I do that..? And itd be nice to get pictures off my phone..i mean, who feels like paying 25 cents just to get a pic off ur fone when u can do it 4 free with ur fone??BUT MY FONE WONT CNNECT!!

I love this fone, but im disapointed in it..
1 Star out of 5

i can't connect my phone 2 my PC

Reviewed on Thursday January 3, 2008 by , calgary
when I connect my phone 2 my PC with the USB nothing happens, like nothing at all, i'm thinking of getting it changed cause this phone doesn't evenm have a memory stick which would make this uploading business WAY easier. well anyway i also didn't get a CD 2 intall the software in my PC,
1 Star out of 5

I've had this phone 3 times....

Reviewed on Wednesday January 2, 2008 by , Washington State
I hate this phone. The first time I got this phone I had it for about 3 months before it just flat out stopped working, no water damage, nothing. By then my battery life was already down to a charge of around 14 hours. My provider gave me a refurbished phone with my old battery, and that phone got water damage (I live in Seattle) just from a few drops of water every now and then. I basically got the white screen and had to pay to get yet another chocolate, which I had for around 3 months, and I got yet another white screen without getting water damage. My provider gave me a brand new chocolate and that one again got water damage because I live in a rainy *** state. I get other problems before the phone completely craps out, like random spaz attacks with the touch buttons (I've tried all of the settings) and the phone just completely restarting itself. I'm SO incredibly glad that my plan is up in March and I can get a brand new phone, because this one has made my life a living hell. The phone would be awesome if they'd fix some of it's problems. And maybe make a nice cover for it.
2 Stars out of 5

POS phone

Reviewed on Tuesday January 1, 2008 by , British Columbia
im wishing i knew about this page before i bought this phone a few days ago... the whole music thing is my problem as well. cant get the music onto the phone... so really its a fat rip off cause you have to download it.. MINH if you could please let me know in detail how to get the songs.. or cheat the system like you say that would rock its really frusterating and i would like to know before i throw the phone out the window (or return it) thanks
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday December 31, 2007 by , canada
I have gotten the LG 800 Chocolate phone and I've been trying to put music and pictures onto my phone from my PC but it doesn't work. I have my phone running off of SaskTel so if anyone can help me, please.
2 Stars out of 5

LG chocolate

Reviewed on Saturday December 29, 2007 by , Nova Scotia
i had this phone for about 3 weeks and i could barely hear when i was talking. I did like the touch screen though. The other thing i didn't like about this phone was the side on the back got scratched a lot. The other bad thing about this phone was the camera. It was very bad.
1 Star out of 5

No PCSync software

Reviewed on Saturday December 22, 2007 by , Montreal
I got a question for Adrain from Regina. You mentioned that you are using BITPIM. I tried it but my phone model "LG LG800" is not supported or listed anywhere in the program.

My question for you is;

What phone model are you using in BITPIM ?

Also are you with Bell Mobility or Rogers ?

After much research on the net, I figured out that all of us with Bell Mobility are getting screwed out of the flexibility of connecting our LG800 to our PC for the "Media Mass Storage" option of our phone. Our phone is NOT recongnized by our computer as a removeable storage device, nor does Bell Mobility give you a CD with any king of software when you buy the phone. Unlike with Rogers, or the KT800 in the States, or the KG800 in Europe. The software Bell Mobility gives you (you have to download it from their website) only allows you to transfer/backup music files to your phone, and thats it's limitations, nothing else, no Pictures, no Wallpapers, zip. If you want to do these kinds of transfers, you must do them over the internet and of course, you then get billed for expensive use of the 1X navigation. Bell Mobility have us suckered in to pay $$$.

Our LG800 has great potential, but Bell Mobility restricted much of this and screwed us over royally :-(

Again, Adrian, please let me know which setting you are using in BITPIM. I want to be able to use my phone and it's options as they were intended to be used.


Another frustrated "Bell Mobility" LG800 user.
5 Stars out of 5

Decent Phone

Reviewed on Saturday December 15, 2007 by , Regina, SK
I've figured out how to put anything on the phone from pc to phone and phone to pc. music, pics, videos, anything. I dont feel like typing up a how to, but basically bitpim is your best friend. As for ringtones, thats easy too. Download a ringtone, then find out where it goes on your phone by looking through bitpim, look for a folder called brew/ams or something. But thats how i made my custom ringtones. You'll need a mp3 to m4a converter, you will see that the ringtone you downloaded is an m4a file. Anyway this is the nicest phone ive seen. quality is better if you know how to use it. Don't listen to LG or the store you bought it from, you can hack the phone like i did and it takes 2 minutes.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday December 15, 2007 by , Montreal
I have a big problem, I really want to know how bluetooth on the LG phone works. I can connect with others but can't send any files or receives any. When someone sends me something, even if on my friend's phone it says that sending was successfull, I can't find where the files is on my phone.
Also is anyone know how to find a program for my PC to be able to transfer any files from my PC to my phone ??
Thanks for your help.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday December 15, 2007 by , toronto ontario
Vic is the man
3 Stars out of 5

Windows Vista

Reviewed on Friday December 7, 2007 by , Ottawa

Would anyone know if using Windows Vista is a problem for USB connection especially when using the [service provider]'s Music Backup Application software?


4 Stars out of 5

LG800 Chocolate Phone

Reviewed on Friday December 7, 2007 by , Ottawa
I just bought an LG Chocolate Phone, everything works great except for getting the music into it. I plugged it into the PC and was recognized as a new device then Windows (Vista) searches the internet, downloads and installs the necessary driver for it automatically. After all that, nothing else happens, on the device manager, it was recognized as an LG device but then on the drive list, it is not there but other USB devices are.

Any ideas on how to transfer files/music to this phone?

Thanks in advance!

3 Stars out of 5

I got Chocolate but i need Software or backup

Reviewed on Thursday November 29, 2007 by , canada
I got the chocolate... I plugged the phone via USB... but It doesn't read it... i mean the drive is installed ... but nothing happen afterward... now I'm trying to get the Music Backup... where I download that?
4 Stars out of 5

One Question

Reviewed on Thursday November 29, 2007 by , Ephrata,PA
The phone does everything i want except one thing. I figured out how to put music on and everything, but cant i use the music i put on as a ringtone, every phone i have had before has been able to do this for me. Can anyone help me here
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday November 25, 2007 by , Toronto
if some buddy disconnects an lg non chip phone can it be used again ????
3 Stars out of 5

Can you set downloaded songs as ringtones?

Reviewed on Saturday November 24, 2007 by , Canada
Hey folks

I downloaded music backup and somehow managed to get a few songs in my lg 800...but how do i set those songs as ringtones?? doesnt this phone do anything properly??
its so USER-UNFRIENDLY...can anyone help me please?
5 Stars out of 5

Awesome phone, deep **** carrier...

Reviewed on Saturday November 24, 2007 by , Canada
I paid about 400$ for this awesome LG chocolate phone and once properly configured it's an awesome phone!!! I read about you guys complaining about the touch screen and I suggest you read the user's manual and learn on how to configure the touchscreen options (especially the key guard feature).

BUT! my problem is [service provider]. Those SOBs somehow locked the phone so that it's impossible to simply connect it to a PC and transfer files... Long story short, the tech told me the only way to, for exemple, transfer pictures, is to send them by eMail with the phone... So I told him that it will cost me an arm and a leg and he basically said ''yea I know, that's why it is made that way for [service provider]''

So, ending: I sold it and bought the one from [service provider] and I LOVE IT!
3 Stars out of 5

LG Chocolate

Reviewed on Thursday November 22, 2007 by , Saskatchewan
I tried what Vic from Montreal siad and went to the bell site. (clicked on link and went directly to site too) and the Music transfer program no longer exsists there. I dont know what else to do! I am so frustrated with trying to get music onto the phone. Plus to top my night off my laptop isnt recognizing the phone either. Any ideas?
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2007 by , Whitby
ok so like most people i had trouble with the music backup application. but it works. most people will plug it in and it will say that a driver has been recognized and that u need to install hardware. go through with this thing like 3 times or something like keep clicking install and eventually it will say that it is installed and ready to use. when this happens, on ur phone, go to tools and go to the bottom and it says media storage. click it and it should then recognize being plugged into your computer. all you have to do from here is then find the music in the Add to Phone tab and then go to where ur music is and LET IT FLY! so yea umm the upload time is a little slow but hey it works doesnt it? i mean i got so pissed off for so long because i couldnt get it right! but it just takes time and its worth it so take this advice and follow it if u want music on that phone!

LG Chocolate paying customer
4 Stars out of 5

lg 800 chocolate. bell

Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2007 by , canada
hello all.. well i have had this phone for 2 days yes i know only 2 days.. to me this phone is not bad. a big upgrade from my samsung a660. well i finally got the software to work for putting mp3's. Well I usually keep my phones in good condition so i'm sure nothing will go wrong with this phone. reception is good made a couple of phone calls, and have 4 bars most of the time that i noticed. ringer loudness is decent.camera is decent, make sure u take off the plastic film over lens. sensitive keys.. but you'll get use to it, hold it with one hand a press keys directly like a pda. plus the phone is free on a 3 yr plan. if you like alot of walpapers and ringtones i recommend to get the unlimited browser which i think is 7 bucks a month, use it for a couple of monthes get what you want and cancel. So i don't know why people don't like the phone, i like it so far and i recommend it.
4 Stars out of 5

Music download LG800 works

Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2007 by , Bonnyville, Alberta
Thanks Vic, Montreal, you are great,music mp3s work! download instructions from Vic, Montreal in October 2007. Follow his instructions and go to Bell site to download music file required. Worked first time for me and I now have music files from my computer on phone! The 3 phones so far are okay, it sometimes has problems with the volume on some calls (hard to hear), but a huge improvement from our telus motorolas (threw out all three, had for 2 painful years) we now have great coverage (Northern Alberta/Saskatchewan) with reception and no lost calls thru Bell with LGs.
1 Star out of 5

its sliding junk..

Reviewed on Monday November 19, 2007 by , regina
officially the worst phone ever. the battery falls off when i close it or open it, and my carrier says they most likely will not honour my warranty claim and i will have to pay to fix this phone myself. i really dont see the point in fixing it as there is alot more things with the phone that i dislike. such as the "oh so cool" seeming touch screen. it goes crazzy when you go to push something and you end up on some random menu. the volume is always very low when i answer the phone, and i always have to turn the music down and close windows/turn off heat to hear anyone while in a vehicle. i have had my phone for 6 months and have not been able to get music on to it yet. again, dont buy this phone./
2 Stars out of 5

It sucks

Reviewed on Monday November 19, 2007 by , Toronto
The phone sucks.
u can't but rintones when ur friends send it to by bluetooth it goes straight to ur mp3 player it sucks the camera sucks everything about hat phone sucks !!!
1 Star out of 5

Bell admits music problem...

Reviewed on Saturday November 17, 2007 by , Belleville, ON
I have been able to upload tons of music to my Chocolate then one day I received an error message saying 'My phone was dissrupted'. I called tech support and we uninstalled/reinstalled the program (several times) all to no avail. Then they told me there is a problem with the Music Application that they have been working on since June! Now I am stuck in a 3 year contract with a phone that I can't get my music onto...their solution? To pay $15 a month for their music...why do that when I have music on my computer waiting to go on my phone - for free! Oh...and now the battery won't stay on. What a piece of crap. ARGGG!!!
2 Stars out of 5

Crappy fisher price phone

Reviewed on Saturday November 17, 2007 by , sherbrooke
im working for bell mobility, i bought this phone a few months ago... its the crappiest phone ever..... Useless (cant transfer on my computer) crappy 1.3 MP camera, 150 MB of memory, yeah no SD card, not too good reception (volume too low all the time)... and the most ridiculous thing is not compatible with VISTA, GG LG, probly my first and last phone from u guys LG crap team.
1 Star out of 5

LG chocalte= dla marde

Reviewed on Saturday November 17, 2007 by , Sherbrooke
le Lg 800 chocolate c vraiment dla marde.... une grosse compagnie comme lg SONT PO CAPABLE DE CREER UN DRIVER pour le port usb du cellulaire pour qui fonctionne sur win VISTA... calvaire jsuis sur le bord de le garacher sur le mur... BRAVO LG pour navoir pas penser a VISTA....
5 Stars out of 5

Please help me with my putting music on my phone

Reviewed on Saturday November 17, 2007 by , Nova Scotia
I have just bought the cell phone, and for some dum mistake i told my sister she coukd have my i pod whe i het music on my cell. But i have been having trouble with it. I tried the music backup application 3 times and it didn't work.... i tried the " my computer , remveabel disk " and that didn't work either. does anyone know anyother suggestions to try.

PS( not aloud to download off phone.... does it cost to go he music store at aliant.com)
1 Star out of 5

can't hear it

Reviewed on Friday November 9, 2007 by , Ottawa
The phone looks great however, I can not hear it nor feel it vibrate unless it is in my hands. I have gone to 2 of their locations they keep telling me this is it. Looks are cool and funky but that is about it.
2 Stars out of 5

Phone is useless if you have vista

Reviewed on Tuesday November 6, 2007 by , Ontario
The phone is great if all you want is just a phone. Until it is compatible with vista it doesn't do much for me. Does anyone know if this problem is fixed yet.
3 Stars out of 5

I Dont Get it?

Reviewed on Sunday November 4, 2007 by , Toronto
I just tried for 3 hours to get some music on my "chocolate" phone and to no avail. This sucks. I downloaded the back up option but have yet to have come up with a solution on how to get my actual files onto my phone. Not only that but i have attempted to follow the instruction that some of you wonderful people have left...seeing the manual that came with this phone is most unhelpful. And when it come to using this phone as a flash drive it didnt work for me at all, in fact it didnt reconize my phone as being hooked up to the usb drive nor the usb drive being in use at all. So if anyone has a simpler solution that would be much appreciated, cuz i mean there is a reason i bought a phone that works as an mp3 player, and i wasnt planning on paying a billion dollars on downloading music via browser...so if anyone has some advice i'm all ears!! thanks!
1 Star out of 5

not sweet

Reviewed on Saturday October 27, 2007 by , Sault ste marie
I had pick up the Choclate phone on a 3 year contart and as soon as I started to use it I had problem with the speaker I can hardly hear who I'm trying talk to and it's the same on the other end Ive taken my phone in 2 or 3 times to get the phone checked out and they keep giveing me the run around everytime
1 Star out of 5

Really Really Bad

Reviewed on Sunday October 21, 2007 by , Canada
The camera is completely useless because there's no way to transfer them to a computer. So that takes care of the "camera" part of the camera phone.

Transferring music is possible, but the application is rather cumbersome to use and is poorly designed. It's also pretty slow. It can't read Chinese or anything so that's another down side.

The ring tones are horrible. There's no way to get your own music as ring tones, or at least not that I know of and I've been searching for like weeks. You're forced to download the ring tones which obviously has a restricted number of ring tones to download and at a high price. The preloaded ring tones are pretty bad.

So if you wanted a phone only for calling and receiving calls, this phone is fine. Otherwise, this is one of the worst phones you can possible buy. It's a waste of money. I got scammed and I don't want the same thing to happen to anyone else.
1 Star out of 5

music backup

Reviewed on Saturday October 20, 2007 by , Ottawa
This thing just won't install in my pc for me, the program just keeps stating;

Music Backup is unable to detect a mobile phone connected to your computer. Please connect your phone, wait for any drivers to load, and then click the "Retry" button.

If your phone is already physically connected to your computer, it appears to be in a state that prevents it from being discovered by the computer. Please ensure that it is powered on, flipped open, and in standby mode (the display when you haven't made any selections).

If the phone is already powered on, check its main screen for any messages indicating why the computer is unable to connect with the phone. If your phone is displaying a menu giving you choices such as "PictBidge" or "Modem|Standby", select the "Modem|Standby" choice.

Wait about 10 seconds for your phone to connect, and then click the "Retry" button.

After all this, if Music Backup is still unable to detect your phone, please disconnect the phone, power it off, exit this application by clicking the "Exit" button, power the phone back on, connect it to your computer (in a *different* USB port if available), wait 10 seconds, and start this application again.
1 Star out of 5

LG Chocolate 800

Reviewed on Saturday October 20, 2007 by , Canada
The Chocolate is the worst phone that I could possibly have chosen. I got it because the t.v. ad sucked me in and it seemed to be a great phone in theory. Was I wrong!! The touch pad goes absoloutely haywire at times and pans through the entire menu, without being touched, and cannot be stopped. The battery will not stay in place and when the phone is either opened or closed, the battery falls off. The battery also falls off when being held for non-bluetooth calls (not convenient at all). It is very difficult to link to Motorola Bluetooth headsets and needs re-linking frequently, if you can get it to link at all. Basically, I am very bitter about the thing because I am stuck in a 3-year contract with this nasty little phone and am only 6 months into the contract. What a crappy product!!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday October 19, 2007 by , montreal
TO DOWNLOAD MUSIC in the LG 800: here it is guys i read all these peoples advise and it still didnt work for me untill i finally figured it out on my own . your all in luck because for one i know how to explain it better then these guys . Here it is in steps

step 1 : plug in your USB

step 2 : in your LG 800 phone click on menu then go to tools then media storage and then click on YES . (this lets your phone recognize that it is connected to a USB)

Step 3: go to www.bell.ca/musictransfer and download the program (if you already have downloaded it please delete the program and move to step 1 dont be stubborn and a know it all just do it )

step 4: install the program and go through the whole download

step 5 : turn on the program and your rolling BUT WAIT !!! what if the program doesnt recognize it still ??? the same thing happened to me all you got to do is take a look at the little icons at the bottom right of your tool bar ( where the clock is on your computer) click on that little icon thats supposed to be your phone (where it says new hardware ) click on it then it should download something else click next till it is done when it is finished do click on that icon again it should download something else (you might have to do it 4 times before it actually recognizes the phone) and thats all there is too it
3 Stars out of 5

how to put music on ur lg chocolate phone

Reviewed on Tuesday October 9, 2007 by , whitby
i got my chocolate phone about a little less than a year ago.. its broken twice and i hate it...

as for putting music on your phone

i had the same problem at first.. couldnt really figure out how to put music on with any of the software installed with the little cd i was given...

what i learnt (thru some trial and error) is that the chocolate phone works much like a flash drive (or a floppy if u have never used a flash drive). you plug in the usb wire to your phone and to the computer.. your phone will prompt u not to remove the cord untill told to ...or sumtin liek that. Once you have done that go to "my computer". Look at all the drives... there should be one that says something along the lines of "removable disk" or "removable drive" or "lg chocolate phone" (its been so long since ive done a transfer). open it up and you should see 3 folders, one for music.. jsut drag and drop your music files in there and everyhting should work fine.

*Plus as a bounus... you can also make new folders in your lg phone and use it as your own 2gig flash drive... its really good for moving around movies.
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone but ..

Reviewed on Saturday October 6, 2007 by , earth
I love the phone. Looks great. Good reception. But i don't know how to set my mp3 songs as ring tones! Even when i get ring tones from my friends via bluetooth, the file goes to my mp3 folder and not my ringer folder.
4 Stars out of 5

Solutions With Mac

Reviewed on Sunday September 30, 2007 by , Canada
Someone below asked for help moving files to the phone from an apple computer, and it is quite easy if your mac has bluetooth.
If so, you first turn on the bluetooth on both devices, and then pair them by typing in any string of numbers and then entering the same numbers on the phone. Then use the bluetooth icon in the system bar and go to browse device. This might take a few tries, because it's a little fiddly, but it works well once you know the system.
I really like my phone, but If I did not have a Mac with bluetooth, it would be very limited. I have no problems with the touch pad and the screen has a very high resolution.
1 Star out of 5

If my phone says I can upload music onto it then why...

Reviewed on Thursday September 27, 2007 by , Halifax, NS
I went to the help option in my music folder ; and they said you can upload them through a usb like a MP3 Player and i did that nothing came up. so im guessing i need a chip or somthing so i can add music. there isnt a spot to put it. this phone is a rip off. im so angry.
5 Stars out of 5

File Transfer

Reviewed on Saturday September 15, 2007 by , Canada
I've had no trouble at all with uploading music or transferring files. I have a new phone and got both these features up and running within 10 minutes. Here's how I managed it :

1. download the music transfer software from www.bell.com/musictransfer (to my knowledge it doesn't work with VISTA)
2. Install the software without having your phone connected to USB and IMPORTANTLY follow exactly the step by step instructions written by BELL after installation is complete. The instructions look very similar to an end-user agreement, so possibly many people just click this away without reading it.
3. The phone should now be connected and capable of receiving music files [ONLY] via this software.

4. To transfer pics/screensavers, you must use Bluetooth. Pair the handset with your PC Bluetooth Software
5. Go to MENU > SETTINGS > BLUETOOTH and turn Bluetooth on also making it visible.
6. Change the EXCHANGE FOLDERS to Pictures (if you send files to the wrong folders you will gat an incompatible format error).
7. Each PC will be different, but on mine I just write click on a picture, choose SEND TO and then BLUETOOTH DEVICE. It will then send it directly to the phone. As a tip, the screen resolution is 240px wide and 320px high, so if you have a chance, resize images beforehand to fit.

You can actually send music via Bluetooth instead of the USB cable by going to MENU > SETTINGS > BLUETOOTH > EXCHANGE FOLDERS and changing the folder to MEDIA.
This is much simpler than fiddling around with the USB cable and drivers, although the cable, drivers and software is good because of the backup feature.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday September 13, 2007 by , oshawa
I bought the new LG Chocolate because i heard great things and it is a very cute phone, but it it turns out that its look are all its good for. The touch screen is extremely sensitive to a point that when speaking on the phone a brush of your cheek will load menus and run the internet without your knowing. I could never get my voice mail because the key pad would register a number NUMEROUS times and the battery life at max would last a day maybe 2. All my other phones lasted a week. Even with my one year warrenty LG refused to help because I didn't report my issuse within 30 days......I have cancelled the phone and will NEVER buy another LG product
4 Stars out of 5

Troubles with Vista

Reviewed on Tuesday September 4, 2007 by , Saskatoon
Has anybody actually got this phone to work with Vista yet? If so, please tell me how. :( Other than that the phone is good.
1 Star out of 5

i know how to put music in your lg chocolate

Reviewed on Monday September 3, 2007 by , canada

go there and just read and follow its realy simple

and at the end of the instalation a window opens and you got to click on next
only but before you do read what it says
thats the key to continue your instalation
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday September 2, 2007 by , NL
Phone works fine & looks nice.
I didn't know the media player would go straight to the internet or that it was even using the browser which made my bill go up a hundred bucks or so .. opps

Really, really too bad this whole transfer thing is so confusing.
3 Stars out of 5

music problem

Reviewed on Monday August 27, 2007 by , new brunswick
Seems like a lot of people are having troubles with the music transfer, as am i. The music back up does work on my computer. I'm getting the same problems with one of the drivers, my computer or windows does not recognize the last driver and comes up as unknown. I've tried numerous times but still nothing. Does anybody know if there is a real solution to this and would it work on a MAC?? Help would be appreciated.

3 Stars out of 5

music transfer

Reviewed on Thursday August 23, 2007 by , new hamburg,ontario
ok so after reading these i realized i have the same problem with my lg chocolate and after talking to a rep for bell for two and a half hours he realized its not the music back up file that isn't working its the softwear in either the phone or computer...so to all these people who are having problems with the music transfer isn't not that yes it says it can not find your phone but thats because the phone was not installed right due to softwear problems...call you bell person and tell them this...and to check to see if thats the problem plug your phone in got to the start menu and right click on my computer the go to properties..once there go to hardware and click on device manger it should say other devices and click on that and it should say unknow device and thats your phone...if it says this then its the softwear not the download thats wrong with yours...i realized this after about 3 hours lol hope this helped a bit and when i call back and figure out how to fix it i will post it and hopefully it will help people but if someone already knows how to fix the softwear in the phone or computer not the download then can you please explain
2 Stars out of 5

Vista Compatibility

Reviewed on Tuesday August 14, 2007 by , Gatineau
Haven't had that many phones yet, I like this one very much.

Only thing that might make me return it is that there are no compatible USB Drivers available for Windows Vista. So this means I cannot use the supplied USB cable to transfer files PC to Mobile/Mobile to PC.

Too bad...

I have yet to test Bluetooth and see if it works that way in Vista.
1 Star out of 5

Hating this phone so far

Reviewed on Sunday August 12, 2007 by , Mississauga
so far i could only put music to this phone, other than that i couldn't even put pictures
3 Stars out of 5

Not for power user...

Reviewed on Thursday August 2, 2007 by , Montreal
Je suis assez power user sur la technologie. J'ai acheté un LG Chocolate, et pendant le premier 24h en ma possession, il a rebooté tout seul 2 fois, dont une fois lorsque j'écrivais un SMS.

De plus, la qualité du microphone et de l'écouteur sont assez médiocre. Le volume sonore n'était pas très bon, surtout quand je me trouvais dans une situation où il y avait des bruits (en marchant sur une rue par exemple) et les gens que j'appelais se plaignaient de ne pas bien m'entendre.

J'ai rapporter l'appareil et on me l'a échanger pour un Samsung, très grosse différence.

Par contre, un ami a acheté le Chocolate un peu avant moi et il n'a aucun problème avec. Je soupsonne que certains lots sont à problème.

Pourtant l'appareil est vraiment intéressant.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday July 20, 2007 by , edmonton
I had issues downloading music onto my phone. The only Os that worked was windows XP, Vista doesn't work. Go to service provider site and download the music transfer tool.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday July 16, 2007 by , canada
how do i get pictures off of my phone onto the computer....theres really no point in using it if your just gonna have to delete the pictures later because you have no more room left?!!?! it doesnt make sense.
4 Stars out of 5

great phone but getting frustrated

Reviewed on Thursday July 12, 2007 by , ontario
I love my new chocolate phone but still cannot get the music backup to work. I've contacted [service provider] and they have started a ticket because the agent couldn't help me either. I've tried getting it to work as many ways as I could think of but it either doesn't want to install the drivers, looks for a driver that doesn't exist and if that all works then it won't recognize my phone when it is connected.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 22, 2007 by , Canada
How do i transfer my pictures to my computer? ive been looking for something to download but i cant seem to find anything...or do i even need something for it?
4 Stars out of 5

Logiciel pour musique / Sofware for music

Reviewed on Friday June 22, 2007 by , Gatineau
I had to contact Bell Mobility to install the software and the drivers. You need to download the software from bell's web site. Then read carefully the instructions (in the pop up window) At the end, I had to call Bell mobility for the second time and the agent was very helpful. It now works fine.

J'ai du contacté Bell Mobilité pour l'installation du logiciel, qui a du être téléchargé du site web de Bell. Il est important de bien lire les instructions qui apparaitront dans une fenêtre (pop up). J'ai du quand même rappeler Bell à la fin, et l'agent m'a bien aidé. Tout fonctionne maintenant.
3 Stars out of 5

je suis satisfait

Reviewed on Friday June 1, 2007 by , gaspesie
bon appareil a tous piont de vue. toute ce qu ils marche bien et sans aucun probleme.

le logiciel marche très bien pour musique et video mp4a

sujection pour les models de generation future

avoir plus de place pour la memoire interne 150mo ces peut pour les videos et musiques.

et avoir possibilité de faire backup de contact.
et pouvoir placer en open source des jeux.
sans toujours payer le temps internet passer
par la connection modem de ordinateur .
3 Stars out of 5

problem solved

Reviewed on Friday June 1, 2007 by , toronto
I had problems as well but this is what i did and mine works now.
1. delete the music backup (and the LG programs associated with it) that you already have installed
2. connect your chocolate with the usb cord, as well as on the tools menu under media storage
3. now install your software that you got from the bell site while the phone is connected
4 if your phone is connected to the computer before you install the software, it recognizes it as it is installing.

I have fooled with it trying to install it in different orders or different ways and this is the method that finally solved my problem!!
I hope it works for you as well.
3 Stars out of 5

repeated problem

Reviewed on Saturday May 26, 2007 by , saint john n.b
every site i check, every computer i try, no matter what i do there is no way to connect your chocolate lg 800 phone to your pc, it is rediculous, everyone seems to be having the same problem, if anyone can prove me wrong please do and leave your proof..... other than that the phone is great
3 Stars out of 5

Music Help!

Reviewed on Saturday May 19, 2007 by , Toronto
Im furious right now because i bought this phone for its looks and for its music features... but it wont work! I downloaded the phone music application, turned on the media storage setting on my phone AND downloaded the driver. But still it doesnt work :(

Please help!
3 Stars out of 5

music transfer

Reviewed on Wednesday May 16, 2007 by , Montreal
If you got your LG Chocolate from Bell the only way to transfer music to it is with the software available from the Bell site. - www.bell.ca/musictransfer -

I tried installing it on Vista but didn't follow the instructions properly, gave up on Vista, rebooted in XP and had no problems transfering music to the phone. However, this software is only good for music transfers -- which means ringtones ,wallpapers, videos, pictures... and everything else is still untransferable.

Review: great phone but for some reason Bell and Verizon felt it necessary to lock all of its features in order to force people into paying to download media content.
3 Stars out of 5

music back up

Reviewed on Tuesday May 15, 2007 by , Canada
I've had my Lg chocolate phone for over a month now and its driving me nuts cuase i can't get songs onto it. the Music back up download wont work and its not my computer because i have a new dell computer with windows vista! can anyone help?
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday May 11, 2007 by , markham
I was having the same problem. After I downloaded the Music Backup Application from www.bell.ca/musictransfer I was unable to get it to recognize that the phone was hooked up via USB. It kept telling me that the phone was not connected.
The answer was right under my nose:
On your LG800 phone go to “Tools” menu select “Media Storage” item and choose “Yes.
You simply have to tell the phone that it's connected!
After that it should be smooth sailing!
5 Stars out of 5

I love it.=)

Reviewed on Friday May 11, 2007 by , Thornhill
It's a really nice phone and its also handy in many ways.The only negative thing i would say it freezes up at times but no big deal=)
5 Stars out of 5

Music Backup

Reviewed on Sunday April 29, 2007 by , Canada
IM having trouble with my new Bell LG m800 Chocolate Phone when downloading the music backup download. when I install it, nothing works. It doesnt detect my phone even when the USB is plugged in. And at the end of the installion, there is an unknown software that needs to be installed but wont install. If anyone has had the same problem with there phone, Please help me out, its killing me!