Motorola C333 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola C333 has an average user review score of 1 Star out of 5 based on 35 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Fast Replacement from Rogers

Reviewed on Thursday July 8, 2004 by , Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
I called Rogers on Tuesday July 6 just to see what my options were to replace this horrible phone. I wasn't sure if I was elegible for an upgrade, since I've owned my phone for only a year. They didn't ask any questions, just sent me a motorola c370. All I had to do was agree to a 2 year contract, which for me wasn't a problem, since I've been a customer since 1996. I got the new phone today, July 8. So, anyone who's having problems with the c333, just call Rogers. No hassle, just a new phone sent quickly that hopefully works properly.
2 Stars out of 5

everything is wrong with this phone

Reviewed on Monday June 14, 2004 by , toronto, ontario
The battery life sucks: less than a day on a full charge.
The reception is garbage, especially with low battery.
The earpiece volume is toooo low, even on the highest setting.
The ringer volume is way tooo low, even on the highest setting.
The operating software is very easy and user friendly. This i like.
But as you can see, the cons outweigh the pros.
1 Star out of 5

Don't even think about it!

Reviewed on Thursday May 27, 2004 by , Toronto Ont.
Bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad, bad phone. Go to your room!
1 Star out of 5

C333 stories.

Reviewed on Friday April 23, 2004 by , Ottawa, Ontario
I cannot help but wonder at the people who blame the service provider for a hardware issue. If you purchased your TV at Rogers Cable store because we had some Sony's and a Panasonic on display, would you call them because the TV was having problems? Yes, you can return a product to a store if it doesnt work, within their return limit - regardless of the problems no company will just give out a new phone. Rogers does not stock any parts for these phones, they dont warranty them and cannot magically fix them. I have dealt with a large number of people who say "Telus will just hand me a new phone if mine doesnt work" or "Bell doesnt tell me to go talk to Motorola" Which is just simply a load. Yes, the phone has issues, and quite bluntly it sucks. Nobody put a gun to your head and forced you to get that phone. Nobody told you to buy a phone you knew nothing about because it's small and cute and shiny. Think of it as a life lesson like buying a car without looking around because it "Looks good and the dealer said it was good" and then finding out it's a lemon. You wouldnt do that. I suppose the other thing is, if you truly expected a $0 phone to be perfect (yes, better then this should have been expected) I have a bridge to sell.
1 Star out of 5

What can really be done!

Reviewed on Friday April 9, 2004 by , Mississauga

I truly understand all your frustration with this phone. I worked in Mississauga for Motorola and want to take a moment to explain something to everyone. First of Beulah the Rogers Customer Care agent, all the Motorola agents are very knowledgably with what can be done with the C333 by speaking to a Manager will accomplish nothing.

I would like to address some questions commonly asked.
Why can’t you change my model of phone? First off due to contract restriction by the carriers Motorola cannot cell phones in Canada (That’s why you can not by them direct) if you want a different model phone you MUST go to the carriers.

Why isn’t Motorola fixing this problem? This really has a 2 part answer First It was found that the battery’s are fine in the phones however there is a software issue that incorrectly read the battery life in would indicate the battery was low. Not that all of them did not have a battery problem however by exchanging the units has corrected over 99% of these issue’s. Second, Motorola has been working with Rogers since early December on a replacement process to actually change the phone, Rogers has been slow to act on this option. So Motorola continues to do what it is obligated to do. It stands 100% behind the warrantee of the phone. No one even at the higher levels will bend that warrantee. If you don’t know what your warrantee is you should it can be found here:

How do I finally do something about my phone? You only have 2 options
1. Go back to Motorola if you are with in just a couple weeks and they can send you out another phone, past 2 weeks you would need to send it in for repair.
2. Go to Rogers and purchase another phone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday April 4, 2004 by , Toronto, Canada
First off, I would like to thank motorola for allowing me to see what kind of people they really are. This is the worst cell phone I have seen in my life and will be the last I own from Motorola. I've tried too many times to try and tell Motorola to live up to their customers, but they have failed. Everyone I know who's owned this phone at one point or another have been disappointed. The battery just continues to drain. As I look at the phone right now it displays the familar "Low Battery" and reminds you that it needs a charge with an annoying beep. Motorola has given me another phone, but again the C333 does not work the way it should. This phone isn't even good enough to throw outside your window! I will continue to fight to get another phone from Motorola or talk to Rogers, my provider. No company has yet to own up to this phone, so I am trying to contact television stations, newspapers, magazines...etc, to let as many people know about how terrible this phone really is. I also encourage anyone else who has gone through my situation to do the same! Now, go on and read how many other people are going through the same situation as I am.
1 Star out of 5

can't believe this product is on the market

Reviewed on Tuesday March 30, 2004 by , toronto
I stumbled upon these reviews only after having FOUGHT with Rogers Wireless for almost a year to get them to do something (anything!) about this peice of junk, and you know what? I WORK for Rogers!!!!! They are sending me another model, but the very SECOND my contract is up, I am GONE. If they don't want to take care of their customers, I'll find someone who will - Bell, Telus, Fido I don't care anyone but Rogers - THEY DON'T BACK WHAT THEY SELL, THEY DIDN'T EVEN TRY. Every negative review I read here is accurate and I went through ALL of the same runarounds. Expect to do the same if you foolishly purchase this phone, particulalry from Rogers.

2 Stars out of 5

What Cell Phone??

Reviewed on Thursday March 25, 2004 by , Windsor
I bought the Motorola C333 phone about a year ago, i've had motorola replace it 3 times!!! The phone is a piece of junk that i wouldn't advise anyone to buy, yes it looks nice wearing it on your belt but the phone doesn't work!! The battery dies constantly! And Rogers is a whole different story, when this stupid contract is up, i'm definitely going with Telus, though they charge a little more for their services, they actually w0rk!!!!
1 Star out of 5

Please understand

Reviewed on Sunday March 14, 2004 by , St. john's, NL
Yes I agree this phone is a piece of junk. I work for rogers customer care. I can not count how many calls in the run of a week I recieve complaining about this phone. If you are having problems with the battery life TURN OFF THE BATTERY SAVER. Also people need to understand rogers just sells the phone. Rogers does not make the phones. Rogers will take the phone back if it is within its first 30 minutes of usage or 30 days. We custmoer service agents can not give people what we do not have to give. Trust me we DO understand the phone is crap, we call it the c triple crap. But people need to stop calling to customer service and getting mad at us, Rogers has the largest phone list available just because that phone was free if you signed up does not mean that was the phone you had to get. People should not be getting a phone because it is the cutest and shinny. If you need to complain about the phone call motorola and speak to a manager!!!
1 Star out of 5

Horrendous piece of JUNK!!!

Reviewed on Thursday March 4, 2004 by , Toronto, Canada
Dear friends,

I had bought this phone last year on a 2-year plan from Rogers AT&T.

I already had a phone (a verrry old Nokia) but I wanted a new one so I decided to go with the Motorola C333.****now I SOOOOOOO wish I could somehow reactivate my (decade) old phone and use it instead of this silver piece of trash!!!
******trust me this is the bigggest piece of junk that I have ever paid for - I have changed the phone 9 times (Rogers OvertheCounter) since I bought it. It still gives me every single problem you can imagine****I am so happy to have found this page, because now I know that I am not possessed it is the the goddamn model.****BATTERY LIFE on my phone (I'm not lying) is 5 SECONDS on a FULL damn charge.***that doesn't half as much piss me off as the SERVICE that the people who sell this gave me.

I call Rogers (like 20 timeS), finally they tell me to call Motorola cuz they got nothing to do with it. I call Motorola, they tell me to talk to the people who sold me the phone thru Rogers (tricell communications). I talk to tricell they tell me to call Rogers.. its a frigging BEAURACRACY!!! They know this is the biggest FAILURE product after the Ford Pinto. They've recalled cars in the millions,
rogers or motorola don't even want to exchange these garbage phones. Their service is horrendous. I hope the good people at WirelessWave have a working intellect, and are smart enough to come up with some sort of strategy to CATER to the tens of thousands of dissatisfied Rogers customers.

*****this phone should be called the Motorola 666 cuz its a devil of a phone and the people who sell them are no less. *****please forgive me if I have offended anyone, except the makers of this literally sick phone.
1 Star out of 5

Motorola C333 = garbage

Reviewed on Saturday February 21, 2004 by , Toronto
I purchased a C333 last year from Rogers and began to have problems the first day. They initially replaced the phone with little hesitation. After the first month with the replacement the problems began again, yet this time Rogers became a nightmare to deal with. I could not believe the BS they gave me. They finally replaced the phone, and again the same problems. Finally I went out and purchased a Nokia phone - which up to now has given me no problems. Its funny how easy Rogers will take your money, but when they have to provide some sort of service all you do is get the run-around. I heard other Cellular providers are much better to deal with than Rogers.
1 Star out of 5

replacement phone still not good

Reviewed on Wednesday February 18, 2004 by , edmonton
Bought the C333 for my Son. He said it had poor reception and the battery would not hold a charge. We sent it back to Motorola for the upgrade. Still is not good. If we had known about the Comparecellular web site we could have saved grief and money. It makes me very upset that Rogers knows there is a problem with this phone and they are not doing any thing to help us out. We should all mail these phones right to Roger's Head Office.
1 Star out of 5

Motorola bad, Rogers Worse!

Reviewed on Wednesday February 4, 2004 by , Toronto
I have 2 C333's that I purchased with Rogers at the beginning of last year. Immediately I started having problems, and when I took the phones back to Rogers, they informed me that they couldn't help me. Mind you that I'd had the phones for about 3 weeks, so at the least I was expecting was replacement of the phones. I have had a long bout with both Motorola and Rogers over these phones, but my main concern is all of these Rogers employees bashing the phone, but if you look on their website,, they still have that phone available for sale!
One Motorola supervisor that I spoke with ensured me that they had exchanged over 12,000 of these phones with "new" meaning refurbished phones, and that there was no end in sight.
I cannot fault Motorola for their warranty policy, but the thing that really irks me is that they are unwilling to actually SOLVE the issue.
Do us all a favor......Rogers, stop selling these defective phones!!!! And Motorola, recall these poor examples of your product and maintain your reputation in a finicky market that has a VERY long memory.
1 Star out of 5

my first cell phone: the motorola c333

Reviewed on Tuesday February 3, 2004 by , richmond
I have heard through other people how convenient having cellular phone service is supposed to be. Supposedly, with most cell phones, when people call there is this sound, almost like a ring, to let you know that someone wants to talk to you. Also, I heard that once you take the call you're supposed to hear what the other person is saying to you, but that really seems too good to be true. I can only imagine what being able to get through the first phone call of the day without my low battery signal going off so loud that people across the street turn and look at me, or without my coworkers making fun of me for not charging up my phone, when the fact of the matter is that every night my phone charges while I sleep, it's just not my fault that it's a piece of junk.
2 Stars out of 5

It is bad!

Reviewed on Friday January 30, 2004 by , Vancouver, BC
This cell phone just got the case. Looks tiny and cute, but...
The battery life is so bad... I have to talk on the phone with the AC power on. As I am using the AC power, the phone gets heated up. So I used a handsfree to prevent damages to my brain (otherwise my brain will be cooked!). But then the handsfree did not work so well also. I went back to the store to exchange another one after 3 months. Though I got another handsfree, it didn't work after 4 months!!! Again!
Oh... there are more problems with this cell phone. I still have more than a year to go with it, as I have signed a contract with Rogers. i don't know what to do with it. I don't have another cell phone to continue the contract with Rogers.
Trust me, this cell phone does not last long!
4 Stars out of 5

It's not that bad!!

Reviewed on Friday January 23, 2004 by , Brazil
I have bought one three months ago and have few to complain. It has a long life battery and a short time recharge. It's been working fine for me and maybe some of my counterparts have actually set it up wrongly. Some problems can happen: if you try to do more than one operation such as closing a call and quickly try to access the phone list. This action will probably scramble the C333 and switch it off alone. Also, if you switch it off, let's say for a flying travel, it may be switched on in the middle of taking off just because you pressed the bottom on accidentaly (in your pocket at moment you sit). It has happened to me.
1 Star out of 5

I work for rogers

Reviewed on Saturday January 10, 2004 by , Montreal
I work for rogers at&t customer service, if someone offers you that phone as a gift take it because next time you go to the lake and want to impress your friends, use it to get great skips on the water, better than a rock, believe me I did 5 skips!
1 Star out of 5

Worst Phone Yet!

Reviewed on Thursday January 8, 2004 by , Halifax
Since I purchased this phone I have had nothing but problems. I get voice mail without ever hearing the phone ring, reception is ok at best and battery has none...I have to charge it every day. I am getting a c370 as a replacement..hopefully this one works better...I will be reviewing that one when I get it! :)
1 Star out of 5

We tried to run it over with a mini van

Reviewed on Monday January 5, 2004 by , montreal
This phone is so bad. I had to bring mine to be fixed. Before I had it fixed, the battery lasted all of 5 whole minutes. I would often get voicemails without hearing a ring even though people were trying to call me. The phone turned on and off on it's own, the screen froze often, call waiting would never seem to be able to go back and forth, I could keep going. The guy at the shop I brought it to be fixed told me everything about it was defective, and he replaced almost every single part.
1 Star out of 5

C333 = silver piece of junk

Reviewed on Saturday December 6, 2003 by , Alberta , Canada
This phones battery life is nil and on my phone specifically its display is only intermittent. I had this phone replaced twice within 1 week! because of its defective display. Now im being sent a C370 hopefully as a reimbursment for my months of deplorable service. Worst of all I had to pay for my service while my cell was not working for 2 weeks!!. Take heed to the warnings about this phone. Avoid it...dont make eye contact with it...and if you happen to have touched it, WASH YOUR HANDS!!!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday November 23, 2003 by , Montréal
J'ai présentement en main mon 3e C333... et il est pire que le 2e qui était pire que le 1er que j'ai eu à l'origine!!! N'ACHETEZ PAS CET APPAREIL!!! Motorola ne veut rien entendre et fait la sourde d'oreille à nos plaintes... Envoyez leur des Mails!!! Téléphonez leur...à tout les jours si il le faut (et si vous avez le temps...) et alors là il nous prendront au sérieux et nous offriront une solution intélligente à notre problème...
1 Star out of 5

Stay away from this phone!!

Reviewed on Sunday November 16, 2003 by , Halifax Nova Scotia
This was my first wireless phone and it has been very disappointing. I am on my third phone in less than one year.
There is no battery life. I cannot depend on this phone at all. Stay away from this phone!!
1 Star out of 5

Beware of Recycled Trash!!!

Reviewed on Saturday November 15, 2003 by , Vancouver
Rogers has a new deal: $0 with new activation! From the website:
"Compact, easy to use, loaded with features and affordable -the Refurbished Motorola C333 phone combines simplicity and fun to create a device that is as individual as you are."
I guess they have a huge supply of units to "refurbish" by all the people returning it. It's such a shame because it's such a nice looking phone. Was this the "mystery lemon cell phone" described by Vancouver consumer reporter Chris Olsen? From his recent news story:
(Al says, “We started seeing all these reviews coming through for one particular phone, it was just a dog, people just had big problems with it and I was talking to some of the dealers and they said, ‘Oh yah, we don’t even promote that phone any more.’ So, its interesting people will tell you what they think if given a chance and the message comes through very clearly.”)

1 Star out of 5

Garbage Phone

Reviewed on Saturday November 15, 2003 by , Montreal
Its a shame that anyone ahs to use this phone, and in montreal, everyone has it, no one is happy, and if they are, it's probably their first phone so they have nothing to compare the quality to. IF they are giving it to you for free, just say not, and take either a nokia or better a siemens c56, its a very good phone and has built in speaker phone.
1 Star out of 5

Better used as a paperweight

Reviewed on Wednesday November 12, 2003 by , Surrey, BC
Never ever in our eight years of using cellular phones have we come across a bigger piece of garbage....and a bigger waste of money. No standby time, poor reception and short battery life. Unfortunately we still have over a year on the plan. Only hearing recently about the multitude of we will go back to Nokia or possibly Sony. DO NOT BY ANY MEANS GET THIS PHONE!!! Where are the negative signs....could use them for rating this phone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 4, 2003 by , Edmonton , Alberta
Worst phone I have ever owned. The chime, when turning on or off, is offensive, the phone turns itself on as the keys are not recessed and the reception is limited at best. How frustrating to have a fully charged phone and have to borrow another because the call drops off inside the foyer of a building! Motorola should look at compensation for owners!
1 Star out of 5

$0 is too much!

Reviewed on Monday October 20, 2003 by , Vancouver
You'd pretty much have to change this phone as often as you change your underwear to get anything out of it. The worst thing is the battery. It runs dry about half way through the day. After a few text messages, some of the buttons start acting up. The ringer volume is also very low. Basically, stay away from this phone and spend an extra 25 bucks for a nokia or something like that.
1 Star out of 5

Motorola Sucks

Reviewed on Tuesday October 14, 2003 by , Ottawa
This phone sucks in all aspects. The battery life is screwed up, and I was charged $15 from rogers to get an over the counter exchange from motorola. This is the first time I have been charged for a replacement of a phone under warranty. Also the exchanged phone is in the same line of battery life, I think motorola should think of redesigning or recalling the Motorola C333 phones, and if rogers is reading this message they should stop using motorola's C333.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday September 26, 2003 by , Hamilton
WARNING:DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE! This phone has caused headaches for me since day 1. It was nice of Motorola to give me a new phone when I initially had problems, but the second phone was worse! Rogers pitied us and gave us a completely different phone...In the meantime, I have found a good use for it: my 2 year old nephew has a nice shiny silver toy!
1 Star out of 5

Not much better than a cheap FRS radio!

Reviewed on Wednesday September 17, 2003 by , Toronto
This is the worst phone I have ever used. It has been replaced once because of short battery life and poor signal. If you don't mind paying for air time and not actually hearing the person on the other end, it's a great deal at $0. Only accept this phone if Rogers will give you two years of free air time! If Motorola truly is a great company, they should recall all C333 phones and work out a deal with Rogers to allow customers to up out of the two year commitment that came with the phone.
Be smart and stay away from Motorola C333!!!
PS. If there was an option to select less than one star, I would have selected it.
4 Stars out of 5

not bad

Reviewed on Friday September 12, 2003 by , alberta
I lost my phone and had to get a replacement. The phone was cheap and so far has great battery life and better reception than the V60 I lost that was way more money.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday September 10, 2003 by , Halifax
Everyone says it is the worst phone....
But with the new firmware the phone is a bit better.
1 Star out of 5

Have to pay to get rid of it

Reviewed on Thursday August 28, 2003 by , Alberta Canada
Yes, it's the worst phone ever. I got 3 on a family plan, and all of them have died - have to pay each time for a replacement - and still the replacement does the same thing. I'm going to have to pay to get out of these phones and back into a reliable Nokia.
1 Star out of 5

it sucks - do not buy

Reviewed on Monday August 18, 2003 by , toronto
I got my phone free last christmas with a promotion. Looking back I should have never taken it. I use the phone one time and per call the battery goes down. I had the phone repaired twice already. The frequency is awful. I am in my own house and I cannot talk. I have to stand outside. Please if you are considering buying a phone, please buy one with an antenna.

1 Star out of 5

Worst Phone Ever

Reviewed on Sunday August 17, 2003 by , Toronto
Don't ever buy this phone. No worder it was free because
Rogers knows it is a terrible phone that doesn't even work inside a house. No battery life whatsoever. Call drops all the time. Avoid this phone like the plague.