Motorola T720g Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola T720g has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 20 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

T720 = Problems.

Reviewed on Saturday January 15, 2005 by , Montreal
I'm a Rogers Wireless agent from Quebec, Cananda. The following message is just to alert you from this phone. If you can see how much of V220 and T720 we have in reparations. We have about 5 motorola against 1 nokia, 8 motorola against 1 samsung. This is a cute phone but after a couple of months, the sound's going so bad... the screen lost its brightness and take care beacause in general it's so fragile. But it's a fun phone but with a lot of problems.
1 Star out of 5

I want a different phone!

Reviewed on Tuesday December 21, 2004 by , Ottawa, ON
I have had this phone since May 2004. It has already been sent away for repairs twice! The first time it was to replace the interior screen, exterior screen, and earpiece and the microphone. The second time it was to replace the exterior screen. It has to go back again because the interior screen keeps turning off and I cannot see what should be displayed. The general computations of this phone mess up and do things that shouldn't be happening. The phone drops calls frequently and reception is poor. The construction of this phone is very poor. It creaks whenever I talk on the phone which the other person can hear. I do not recommend this phone
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone! Great reception.

Reviewed on Monday December 13, 2004 by , Hamilton, on
This phone has great reception, even in the mall, the basement of your home, and in places where reception is harder to get. The battery life on it is also very good, lasts about a week before re-charging. One complaint would be the volume level isn't high enough, and the screen is cheaper and lower quailty colors than most phones. That is insignificant, it gets good reception, and good battery life.
4 Stars out of 5

Just ordered it

Reviewed on Thursday November 18, 2004 by , Haimlton, On Canada
my friend had this phone for 8 months now, said reception is great, he only lost reception in the basement, battery life is good to, up to 5 hours, and standby is 7 days, that figure is incorrect in the specs page. I give the phone a 4/5, they could of added the 65k color screen, possibly a better battery, alarm, voice memo, mp3 player, and other nifty utilities.
1 Star out of 5

Poor signal--don't buy this one

Reviewed on Thursday November 11, 2004 by , Kingston, Ontario
This phone drops calls constantly. Our family bought 3 and locked in to a 2-year family plan, and the poor signal quality has become a running joke among our friends and family...need to borrow a cell? Don't use mine--it's totally undependable. I absolutely discourage anybody from even considering it. Regardless of what others' reviews say about the neat features...if the signal is no good, the phone's useless.
3 Stars out of 5

Far from perfect, but not that bad...

Reviewed on Thursday September 2, 2004 by , Laval, Quebec
The T720 has been a best-seller for several months in our store, since it was the first clamshell with a colour screen. Since then, a lot of newer and better models have been released (V300-V600, X426), so I don't think I'm the only one who is hoping this model will be put to rest.

Pros : The colour screen is nice, even if its only 4096 colours, the contrast in darker areas is impressive (but in direct sunlight, the screen becomes very dark). The external screen is a good addition (I still don't understand why Samsung has not copied this on the X426). Also, the RF reception is pretty good, at least on the second generation (IMEI starting with 010310). Lastly, the 2 years warranty offered by Motorola is a nice bonus.

Cons : First thing first, this model takes an eternity to turn on!!! At the very least, it takes 30 seconds to pass through that stupid animation. The build quality leaves a lot to desire, the flip cover always creaks when you open it. The user interface does some weird things sometimes, like freezing and restarting for no apparent reasons. The vibration is very weak, you have to carry it in you underwear to feel it! The polyphonic ringtones are so-so, there's a lot of distortion.

In conclusion, this phone has had his hour of glory, but I think now would be the perfect time to stand aside (but right now, you can get it for almost nothing on a 3-years plan!).
1 Star out of 5

D'la merde s'taffire là ... pffffff :-(

Reviewed on Monday August 9, 2004 by , Québec
J'ai passé d'un nokia 3360 a un motorola et je peux dire que je déteste les produits motorola...

1- Le vendeur chez Rogers m'a promis que j'étais pour avoir une meilleure réception ... --PAS VRAI ----

2 - Le téléphone n'est PAS robuste il brise a rien .. mon nokia je l'ai échapper au moins 35 fois pis jamais rien ne s'est produit a part que le boitier s'ouvrait sans se briser.

3- L'interférence est forte ... j'avais pas trop de problèmes avec ca avant .. mais la meme mon ordinateur capote quand mon téléphone se met a sonner.. Imaginez les cellules de mon cerveau !!

4- Je manque beaucoup d'appel pcq j'entend pas la sonnerie
5- Configuration du téléphone est longue "celle par défaut est pas conseillée"

over all
j'ai hate de retourner avec NOKIA un produit de confiance et durable... Les vendeurs chez Rogers y'en passe des vites .. Malgré la panoplie de questions que j'ai poser j'ai pas le résultat souhaité.

2 Stars out of 5

pros & cons

Reviewed on Tuesday July 13, 2004 by , Vancouver, BC
Overall this phone is not bad.
-(i use text messaging alot) easy,soft keys=hence, easier to press the buttons, whereas some other phones are "hard" keys.
-Quicker=I press the "5" button quickly 3 times & the phone is very quick to give me the corresponding letter immediately, whereas some other phones take much much longer.
-ringing tones aren't that bad. variety. though yes, I agree that sometimes, you can't hear the tones even if they're set to "loud." Moreover, sometimes when you're in a really loud place (like a club), you absolutely can't hear what in the world the other person is saying to you in the receiving end.
-menu items: very easy to manoeuver around. easily able to get accustomed to using the phone.

-reception isn't very good depending on where you are. Elevators (no reception), inside departments stores (not so good reception, unless you're near a window), basement of a house (almost no reception)
-when i bought the phone, in the summer of 2002, the salesperson told me there might be a chance that the "flipping" motion of the phone could be a problem (prone to break where you flip the phone--the middle part); however, i have had absolutely NO problems with that. HOWEVER, my friend had put my phone in his khaki pants side pocket, & "boom" i can't see my screen anymore. Apparently, if you put pressure on the phone (while it is in a closed state), you crack the screen of the phone(>.<)It was about 1 month before it was fixed & returned to me.
-and yet again, another problem, just yesterday, i was texting away as usual, and now my "end" button doesn't work. i can receive calls, i can receive & send txt msgs, i can make calls but i can't end the call with the "end" button. I couldn't even turn the phone off(>.<)

Overall the phone is not that bad. I've used Nokia, Sony Ericcson, some other ones, but this was my first time buying a motorola cellphone. One of my friends had mentioned that it's very sturdy; you can drop it so many times & the phone would be fine. (yup, i agree, but then, every other problem seemed to come up for this phone) The Nokia cellphones & the Sony Ericsson cellphones were very very good. I absolutely had no problems with them. But my goodness, i don't think i'll every buy another motorola cellphone again.
4 Stars out of 5

good phone but not perfect

Reviewed on Monday July 5, 2004 by , montreal
I have this phone since 6 mths now and I can say I like it. here are the good things:

1. very good reception as its working with gsm 850
2. nice screen on top of flip
3. very easy to write text messages with special writing option
4. moto gp game that come with the phone is good
5. easy to dial when driving...
6. small enough to fit in my pocket
7. many ring tunes (more than 60)
8. nice screen saver
9. guarantee 2 yrs by motorola

here are the bad things:

1. Vibration is not enough strong and so is the ring tunes
2. colour screen is poor (only 3000 colours compare to v300 with 65 000 colours)
3. speaker not enough loud when speaking to someone else.
4.battery life is about 4-5 days 7 if your lucky
5.easy to broke especially charger connexion

Overall, it's a very good phone, but if you want a colour screen choose another one, if you want to make sure you dont missed a call select option sound/vibrate because the speakers are not good. But if you need a phone with good reception that will last your 2 years contract, this one is the best of all.
4 Stars out of 5

A good phone

Reviewed on Sunday June 20, 2004 by , Toronto
This phone is good, I didn't encounter any difficulties with speaker either, like some people here claimed. The reception is much better than my previous Fido's Sony Ericsson T-3000. It looks great and works well. No complaints so far.
4 Stars out of 5

good phone

Reviewed on Thursday May 20, 2004 by , Brampton, ON
I bought this phone a few months ago, and I love it.

I think the phone's volume could be higher, as it's hard to hear who you're talking to if you're somewhere noisy.

Besides that, it's pretty good. I like it much better than my old Audiovox from Telus.
5 Stars out of 5

An all around great phone

Reviewed on Tuesday March 2, 2004 by , medicine hat alberta
I purchased my phone 2 months ago and love it. It has a great selection of menu features and incredible signal strength, with altering just a few settings i can get coverage where no one else can. The sleek styling of this phone impresses most who i've shown it to and it is avaliable at a cost that most anyone can afford. You are deffinetly buying a great phone that will last for many years and never let you down.
4 Stars out of 5

Not Bad

Reviewed on Monday February 9, 2004 by , Toronto
This phone is pretty good. The only thing I don't like is that the ringer speaker is not that loud and sometimes I miss calls. The vibrator is not that strong either. Sometimes, I can't feel it vibrating in my pocket.
5 Stars out of 5

So far, So good

Reviewed on Wednesday February 4, 2004 by , trenton, on
This phone has been the best phone I have had after 10 years of cellular services. I have tried an assortment of phones, but for the area it provides the most reliable service. It works throughout Prince Edward County which was unheard of for me before this phone.
2 Stars out of 5

Don't do it!

Reviewed on Monday February 2, 2004 by , Richmond Hill, Ontario
If you are considering signing up for any Rogers/ATT plan that includes this phone...SAVE YOUR MONEY! This GSM service is disgusting, I have never been so unhappy with a service in my life. On average I will drop a call as many as 4 times in one conversation, signal strength is sporatic from Newmarket down into Toronto! Don't Do It!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday January 28, 2004 by , BC
This phone is junk. I get no signal most places I go. I don't even get signal in my own house half of the time. I wouldn't recommend anyone get this phone. I am hoping I can return it for something of better quality.
1 Star out of 5

Horrible Reception

Reviewed on Wednesday January 21, 2004 by , Toronto
I had this phone for about a week before I returned it to Rogers.

I live in Brampton and the reception was lousy. The rings were not nearly loud enough. The Vibrate/Ring combo was annoying because it would vibrate for 2 rings before it would ring. I missed 4 out of 5 calls.

I had the Siemens s40 prior to this...and that is a much superiour phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Motorola T720G

Reviewed on Friday December 12, 2003 by , Spruce Grove
Overall, a very nice phone for the price requested. The manual leaves something to be desired. The phone is very easy to use with a very clear display and can be totally customized.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone

Reviewed on Wednesday December 10, 2003 by , Victoria, B.C.
Easy to use phone with clear display and simple menu system for all functions. Only downside is it takes about 30 seconds to boot up.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday November 15, 2003 by , ottawa
solid phone, the speaker could be louder