Motorola V220 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola V220 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 68 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

Suckiest phone ever!

Reviewed on Tuesday September 18, 2007 by , Toronto
So the motorola V220 was my first cell phone. I still have it and in December it will be 3 years since I got it. When I first got it, I loved it. Now, I wanna break it into little pieces. I know I'm basically repeating what everyone else mentioned in their complaints, but hey, I wanna rant about this phone too. The reception sucks, the phone cuts off in the middle of calls and stays off, or it freezes up for a good 5 minutes. On top of that, my camera isn't working at all anymore, I press the camera option and the screen turns black and resumes to the main screen. I've been putting it to charge and it won't even charge properly anymore, so now my phone always says, "low battery" which is really annoying. Oh yeah and it does that thing, when u plug it into charge, it puts the phone on loud, like if I want the phone to be "loud" I can change it myself. I just want a new phone and fast, and my second phone, or any of my future phones for that matter, will not be a Motorola!!
3 Stars out of 5

mp3 music?

Reviewed on Thursday November 10, 2005 by , canada
i have this phone... had it for almost a year... no problems at all.. i was wondering though how i can use mp3s and put them in my phone
2 Stars out of 5

A Piece of Junk!

Reviewed on Wednesday November 9, 2005 by , Oakville
This is my 3rd Motorola phone they have all had major software problems and this one is no exception. I purchased this phone in Nov/04 and it worked well for the first 6 months aside from the speaker phone that buzzes, and the on again off again reception... those things were never up to par. However, over the last 6 months the phone has been freezing up in the middle of text messaging and most recently it freezes in the middle of calls which means that you cannot end the call or turn the phone off for that matter.

Total hassle through Rogers to get the phone upgraded... luckily I'm still within the 1 year factory warranty period. By the way I also had the opportunity to test a Motorola V551 for the last 2 weeks... another piece of junk! Drops calls every 2 mins. I guess I never learn my lesson because recently I ordered another Motorola product the Razr. I'm waiting to get this one. Call me an eternal optimist, but a phone in this price range has to be worth it's salt right?
2 Stars out of 5

The V220 Sucks

Reviewed on Thursday October 20, 2005 by , Burlington, Ontario
I have had the Motorola V220 since December 2004 and it worked fine for the first few months. However since the summer of 2005 it has been dropping calls or when people try to call me the line goes instantly busy and then shuts off. I took it into Rogers in September and it took a month for them to fix it or so they claim! I have it back and it is still doing the same thing. Rogers will not provide me a new phone unless I am willing to pay a significant amount of money which is not right!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday September 28, 2005 by , toronto
I'll some it up with one word..... GARBAGE!!!

Too many problems to list. I just upgraded to a "razr" after 10 mths of problems, hope I made the right decision.
3 Stars out of 5

I could have chosen better....

Reviewed on Monday September 26, 2005 by , IL
Things I don't like about this phone:

No date display on home screen

Screen a little too small

Incoming text msg and voice mail indicators are so short, I can't even hear it.

Camera phone quality seriously sucks.

A light for the camera would help.

Ring tone changes when you plug it in to charge. I don't always know my phone is ringing because I don't recognize - or hear - the ring tone. I've tried to change it but it always defaults to this tone everytime I plug it in. What the heck is THAT for????


Recently, my battery has been draining rather quickly - whether I use the phone or not. I used to have to charge it every 4 days or so. Now I'm charging it every other day, it seems. Also, I've had my phone turn off by itself while it's charging. Not sure why.

Reception is pretty bad - although I can blame my provider for that one. Lots of dropped calls too. And in order to hear someone on the other line, you have to position the phone specifically on your ear. Kind of annoying.

Not extremely happy with this phone. My V60i wasn't as flashy as this one, but it sure did the job. I'd take that phone back anyday!

Oh - those of you who are questioning how to transfer pictures to your PC - don't buy all those cables! Just email it to yourself! If you can send a text message, you can send pictures.
5 Stars out of 5

Dam p***ed off

Reviewed on Sunday September 18, 2005 by , Oshawa
I have had my v220 since Sept 15/04 and It really is dissappointing. I had one phone replaced (with a huge fight to get it-straight from Motorola) The screen goes black and the phone shuts off in the middle of calls. I took one of my phones in for repairs and someone else was there having the same problem with thier phone and was sending them in for a second time as well. It took 8 1/2 weeks for Motorola to return the phone just to say they found nothing wrong with it (two times).
It is still shuting itself off and my daughter is p***ed (shes 19 and I bought that one for her). I definitely would not recomend this phone to ANYONE. My "NEW" phone has a password in it that no one seems to know how to find it out and I have a lot of space being used up by some stupid winking pics that came with the phone and a video of the motorola guy "which sucks" I want this stuff out of my phone pronto and I couldn't even find the free hardware in the online to take it out. They sell you a phone stating that you can do all sorts of things with it but THERE IS NO ROOM " I WANT MY MONEY BACK SO I CAN BUY A NEW PHONE !!!
5 Stars out of 5

i love it

Reviewed on Friday August 19, 2005 by , sooke B.C.
my family got the family plan and five v220 phones...we all have no problems and have had it for over 5 months...the v22o is a good choice the one thing u can do is if ur having troubles update the software (my sister works @ west and knows like everyhing haha) but update ur software and the blacking out should stop for that problem...the speaker phone i have no idea why u have to use speaker phone and the speaker phone that makes it unclear again pdate the software on the phone i love this phone it has everything i need
4 Stars out of 5

Gud fone

Reviewed on Thursday August 4, 2005 by , Montreal, Quebec
i got mine as a refurbished fone from Rogers cz i had to give my previous phone which was Nokia 3220 to my bro.. so far V220 is working great besides thE dull camera graphics and doesnt work in the elavator while NOKIA did.
the thing that make me chose this fone was its easy to used synchronization from PHONE---PC or vice versa. i can just plugg it in to a usb port using a data cable taht i got with my LOGITECH camera and it works perfect..

overall this is a gud phone for mr as i can say lol
2 Stars out of 5

There are probably better phones out there

Reviewed on Friday July 15, 2005 by , Calgary AB
The only good thing I can say about this phone is that I dropped it down the stairs once, and aside from a loose fitting battery cover, it seemed to survive the fall pretty well.

I was greatly disappointed with the quality of the camera, and the menus are somewhat confusing, and could of have been constructed better.

Playing games on the phone cramped up my fingers so much, I don't usually even try to even more.

It definetly needs more memory.
1 Star out of 5

V220 Sucks ***

Reviewed on Tuesday June 28, 2005 by , Canada
I wish I could return my v220 I will never recommend it you can hardly hear the other person on the other end it is really really low end. I prefer the Moto v551
1 Star out of 5

Would Not Recommend

Reviewed on Monday June 27, 2005 by , Toronto, Ontario
I'll be honest, I absolutely loved this phone when I first purchased it. It was small, sleek and just looked very pretty. The one thing that I really liked about it was the small screen (I don't like big screens on cell phones). Then, one of my friends had a problem with her would ONLY work on speaker phone. Then, another one of my friends had the same problem and had it fixed but then the camera wouldn't work. She would try to use the camera but it would go back to the home screen on it's own. Then, I started having the same problem on my would only work on speaker, oh, but I forgot to mention before that, the screen on the phone would go blank, until I put the phone on charge for a little bit, so finally I just gave up on the phone and purchased a Motorola V635. Mind you, I have only had this phone for about 3 weeks...keeping my fingers crossed on this! I absolutely love the camera on the V635...maybe I was just used to the crappy quality pictures that the V220 took.

Oh, and I forgot to mention that a girl that I work with had the exact same problems with her V220!

1 Star out of 5

Phone shuts down in middle of calls

Reviewed on Sunday June 26, 2005 by , Wisconsin
I have had my v220 since Dec. The screen goes black and the phone shuts off in the middle of calls. I took it in for repairs and someone else was there having the same problem with 2 of them and was sending them in for a second time. It took 6 weeks for Motorola to return the phone just to say they found nothing wrong with it.
It is still shuting itself off. I definitely would not recomend this phone.
3 Stars out of 5

V220 and Software

Reviewed on Saturday June 25, 2005 by , Fredericton N.B.
My V220 works fine I have had it almost 3 months now and have no problems. The only thing I don't like is that you can't delete the files that came with the phone I don't like the ring tones and can't delete them to save space on my phone. Some people are wondering what software to use to transfer your pictures from phone to pc, well I use Mobile Phone Tools. You can download this software free and it doesn't cost money to use it. I bought a data cable from ebay for $2.00can. Rogers sells them for $40.00can. The name of my data cable is "mini usb" WORKS GREAT! BUT....My mom got one the same day and time as me and her screen goes black for a long time and when her phone is about to ring the T.V goes static and the cordless phone goes all staticy too. I think some are good and alot are duds by the sound of it.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 24, 2005 by , Toronto,Ontario
Hey! I just recently bought a motorola V200 and i have really engoyed it! Other than the not so good camera quality and the small screen, you will have a blast with this phone!This phone is popular! So that means it must be good right? RIGHT! If you are planing on getting a phone, you should try the motorola V200!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 24, 2005 by , Toronto
I bought this phone in JAN 2005, My daughter received this phone in Dec 04, both phones are doing the same thing, black screen, shuts down in the middle of conversations, every person we know friends of my daughter has the same problem. I would'nt recommend this phone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday June 21, 2005 by , Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Got this phone on 12/27/04 as an upgrade from Cingular Wireless. Phone worked pretty well for about 3 months, just alot of static. Then the phone wouldn't power on, even though the battery was fully charged. Had to wait for a replacement phone to be shipped, which took 5 days. I was sent a refurbished phone. This phone was ok for another couple of months. Then, the phone would start redailing the last number I called. The only way to stop it was to turn the phone off. I just received another refurbished replacement. Have had the phone 3 days. This one puts whoever I'm talking to on hold then starts redialing their number. Apparently there's no 3 strike rule with Cingular. I'm either stuck with this phone for the next year and a half, or have to pay for an upgrade. Based on my experiences, I wish there was a "no star" rating.
4 Stars out of 5

No problems (knock on wood)

Reviewed on Monday June 20, 2005 by , Canada
We have Five children under the age of 7 and they have dropped juggled and gubered our two v220's and they have stood up way beyond other phones we have had. Thankfully we have had none of the other problems and hopefully do not. We have had them for 3 months. The only negative feedback is the difficulty in obtaining software to tranfer pics to pc. I have been transferred so many times to different departments it is frustrating and Rogers really needs to review there attention to customer needs.
Have a good one
2 Stars out of 5

an okay phone

Reviewed on Wednesday June 15, 2005 by , Mississauga Ontairo
It has been 4 months that I have had this phone it is an okay phone but what I don't like about it is that there is no service in half the places I had service with my Nokia 2220. I was up north and it did not work up there and my old phone worked just fine. When I had to use my phone I could not because I did not have any service. I am very disapointed with this phone I thought Motorola phones where good I gusse that was just the really old one. Two of my Friends have the Samsaung X426 and they have had no problems with it if you don't really need the camera i would recommed the Samsaung. The only reason I chose this phone was because you could see who is calling without having to open the phone up. My phone has been dropped 3 or 4 time and I find it works better now than it ever has. Also the attena does not seem to work very good anymore before there was service in my basment but now there is not so now I need to buy a new attena until I get the money to buy another phone I have to stick to this one.
5 Stars out of 5

S**T HOT!!!

Reviewed on Monday June 6, 2005 by , Montreal
I have had this phone for 8 months and I haven't had a single problem with it! Viva la V220!!!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday June 4, 2005 by , vancouver
ok, so i did get this phone for free, fine, however, im stuck with it for 3 YEARS!!! and i want to be happy with it, and not have to deal with problems, and the moto V220 HAS PROBLEMS! the first one, i have already taken back because randomly the camera screen went all crazy with colours all the time, and my brand new replacement now wont let me read any of my text messages that im recieving, i have to go back again and get a new phone and Ive only had both of them for less than 2 weeks, its not fun having to replace it all teh time and i suggest that you avoid the trouble im going though.
4 Stars out of 5

V220 - Goodaayyy !

Reviewed on Friday May 27, 2005 by , Toronto,
V220 is a great phone as it serves the purpose. The display and camera is not all that great but its there. The phone is very compact and GSM. It serves its purpose, it has no major problems. Its not a toy so if you treat it nice, it will treat you nice !
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday May 18, 2005 by , Canada
Where to start? I got this phone back in february along with my mom and my brother who also got the same models, we thought they were really nifty, packed with fun features and whatnot...but no feature this phone could POSSIBLY offer outweighs or even balances out all of the CRAP that's come with it.

My screen went first, turning black for hours at a time and rendering my phone completely useless, we talked with Rogers only to put up with their ****** customer service and a promise that if we take it in, the phone will be fixed. Heh, about that...

When I got my phone back it was trashed! I sent it in Mint condition and got it back with scratches and scrapemarks all on the faceplate, and if that wasn't bad enough, the black screen returned THE SAME DAY. So back to Rogers we went, and they decided to send me a 'refurbished phone.'

Well Rogers, I just got your 'refurbished phone' today, and know what? The sound doens't work. Oh, the volume is up plenty, and all of the things partaining to the sound is fine, but if I call someone I can't hear them speak, I don't even get to hear a ring. Just silence.

Please, save yourself the trouble, Do NOT buy this phone. If there was a negative star rating system I'd tick the highest. It's not worth the time, or the trouble, and what's worse is that you're sucked into a contract that in order to get out of you have to pay an EXTRA $200. *shakes head*
1 Star out of 5

don't go there

Reviewed on Wednesday May 18, 2005 by , chester, uk
I'm fed up with the problems with this phone. I've had it about 2 months and the camera feature has stopped working entirely. I recently stored some of my contacts to the "phone" option rather than the "SIM" one so that i could have voice dialling and picture ID. Low and behold, when i later tried to change the colour style, just a blurred screen came up. I even rang up Virgin, but they blamed the supplier and said they didn't know what had happened! Now i know that if i want to change colour i can't have picture ID. Oh, and the camera doesn't work any more. Unless that's going to change.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday May 16, 2005 by , ontario
I would like to add the phone isn't too bad, but what software do you use or can find to transfer photos from the v220 to pc without having to be charged for data & transfer.,Someone PLEASE post a link...
2 Stars out of 5

Motorola drops it again...

Reviewed on Thursday May 12, 2005 by , Montreal, Quebec
This phone is the latest entry-level clamshell phone from Motorola (and a good replacement for the T720G). We've sold a lot of this model, and as of now, its not that bad, though we do have a couple of issues with it.

Pros : A nice little phone with a lot of features for the price. Camera, speakerphone, quad-band, all of this for a phone under 50$ (on a 3-years contract). It's light-weight, pretty and with an external caller ID (something the X426 seriously lacks).

Cons : The screen quality is atrocious, the colours are dull and don't try to use it outside on a sunny day. This causes the camera to be almost useless, since every movement makes the screen nothing but a blur. The build quality is also mediocre at best. The casing feels very cheap, and I doubt it would survive even the smallest drop.

If you want a small, relaible phone, and you don't care about the camera and you use it only in North America, skip this phone and go for the Samsung X426. Its a lot more reliable. If you do need those features, invest a little more money and get yourself a V300 or a V551. You'll thank me for that latter!
1 Star out of 5

There was nothing about this phone I liked.

Reviewed on Wednesday May 11, 2005 by , Greenwich, CT
I had been quite happy with my Motorola v60, but managed to shatter it. I needed a replacement phone in a hurry and didn't do any research, but figured that the Motorola brand would deliver the same quality of my other phone. As a result I ended up with this phone for about 48 hours. The screen is impossible to read in daylight hours. The wheel and various numbers on the keypad simply refused to work at random. And, it really does feel cheap to the touch. I suppose the price is fair, but the phone was so irritating that I don't think it's worthwhile even if free.
5 Stars out of 5

Its Ok

Reviewed on Sunday May 8, 2005 by , Whitby Onatrio
2 Stars out of 5

piece of junk

Reviewed on Monday May 2, 2005 by , Louisville, Ky
ive had my V220 phone for about 4 months and it was an awesome phone until recently. The camera has completely stopped working! When i push camera it goes to a black screen and switches back to the main screen in about 2 seconds. For anybody wanting a camera phone that works for a couple of months i highly reccomend this phone. For anyone who is normal do not buy this phone, PLEASE!!!
1 Star out of 5

Nothing but trouble

Reviewed on Monday May 2, 2005 by , Chicago metro area
I got one of these in January, and within ten days it had completely stopped working. Got a replacement, and after about 3 months the display on the replacement phone went out. What junk! I wish I could return to a more reliable -if less high-tech - phone. This thing has been a time-drain. Don't waste your time and money on this phone.
1 Star out of 5

Nothing Good to Say

Reviewed on Monday April 25, 2005 by , Washington, DC
This phone was the biggest waste of my money and time and has cause so much frustration and heartache! The phone will freeze up for no reason. Lose signal while I am sitting still and drop calls after 10-15 minutes about 90% of the time! I have never been more frustrated or hate a phone more than this one.
5 Stars out of 5

a great phone

Reviewed on Friday April 1, 2005 by , hamilton,ontario,canada
hi i have this motorola v220 it is a great phone,excellent reception, excellent every thing, get this phone if u want a good one!
3 Stars out of 5

Want more features

Reviewed on Sunday March 27, 2005 by , England
When I first got the Motorola V220 I thought nice looking compact phone, suppose to be one of the latest Motorola Phone yet it didn't have video record, and i was abit bummed out. I wanted to find voice record and I heard it didn't have that either! Eventually I found out it did and I found the voice key but i couldn't find where it was stored after I had recorded.

Yes I do like this phone but i think there could have been more features!!!
3 Stars out of 5

Absolutely Terrible...and poor customer service!

Reviewed on Thursday March 24, 2005 by , Austin, TX
Two days after I purchased the Motorola V220, the screen went out. I did not drop my phone, crush it, or sit on it... it was simply sitting next to me untouched. Next time I opened it, the screen was a mess of colors. When I tried to get someone to assist me, they insist that it is physical damage and is not covered under warranty or insurance! I thought it was just my bad luck, but I ran into a friend of who had the EXACT same issue. Apparently this phone cannot stand the heat of a February day in Mexico (where I was at the time), nor in Texas (where my friend was). I am convinced that it was the heat that broke the phone. If a cell phone can't take the heat of a February day in Texas, then it is of absolutely no use to me. It certainly won't make it through August! Do not purchase this phone if you live in a warm climate!!!
1 Star out of 5

update 2

Reviewed on Wednesday March 23, 2005 by , Mississauga Ontairo
I am just writing to warn all these people who are reading this to stay away from this phone!!!
I have had this phone for just a bit over a month and I have to take it in for warntey service. so this phone is not worth you spending your money on. What happend was I got a text message and i was reading it and it was frozen I could not even turn it off and then the screen went blank and when finally got it back on it was fine that was not the first time the screen went blank. I am very mad that I got this phone I should of just stayed with my old phone
2 Stars out of 5

Motorola V220 Camera Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday March 23, 2005 by , Gadsden, Alabama
I have had my phone for several weeks now, and I agree with some of the complaints. My camera has went blank, I have bad interfers with my speaker phone, and the vibration; I can not feel.
3 Stars out of 5

Problems with camera

Reviewed on Sunday March 20, 2005 by , Nebraska
My wife and I recently upgraded our cell phones to two Motorola V220 camera phones. For the past two months my phone has worked great, no problems. However, her camera option has stopped working. When she'd select the camera, only a black screen with just the option of "back" appeared. A few days later, the camera was working again. Then, about a week later it stopped. I've tried removing and reinstalling the battery, letting the battery drain all the way before recharging, but nothing works.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday March 19, 2005 by , Mississauga Ontairo
I have had this phone for a month now and so far it is still okay. The only problem I have had so far was 3 times the screen went blank. There is one thing that makes me mad is that the platice cover for the camera connection broke off and I went to Rogers to see if they could do anything for me but they said it is not covered under warenty. Also if the attena breaks off the people who have the phone has to pay for the new one.

So really what does the warenty cover?????? I spent $39.99 plus tax on the warenty for the whole 3 yrs I have the phone I am thinking that there was really no point of buying it because it seem that it does cover much!!!! I found out how much it would cost to get a new attena if mine breaks I was told it would cost around $25.
What would be the point of buying a new one if it breaks off a second time? Why i say this is because if you have to buy one 2 times it is almost the same price as the phone. So if you are thinking about buying this phone I think you would be better off getting a different phone.
2 Stars out of 5

Not Worth The Problems and Hassles

Reviewed on Wednesday March 9, 2005 by , Sacramento, CA
I've had the V220 since Dec. '04. We had to exchange it within the 30 days because it died. No one could get it to turn back on. Fluke? We're still undecided.

Problems I've experienced are much like those of other candid problem-reporting reviewers. The sounds are "dull" and the vibe is even more dull. There's a humming noise when the speaker phone is in use that both parties can hear. I find that even though I'm in a full bar zone, the transmission goes in and out even if I'm sitting perfectly still and am calling a regular landline (this never happened with the inferior phone this one replaced). The photo quality is bad, but I find most cell phones that have photo capabilities are pretty bad anyway (my husband has a different make/model and the photos are just as poor). They're too small and become grainy when offloaded onto the PC. The most disconcerting aspect is that I just went through a similar problem to that I experienced in December. The phone went dead even though it had been fully charged the previous day. I couldn't even get it to turn back on. When I plugged in the charger, it said "charging" but I couldn't get it to do anything more. I let it charge for 2 hours and then turned it on. It's presently reporting a full battery and is functioning. For how long is another question entirely and I will post an addendum to this review if it continues to have problems.

Given the other reviews, I would avoid this make/model. If a camera phone is something important to you, consider a good digital camera instead because I haven't seen one single camera phone that's worth the money given the poor quality of photos.
3 Stars out of 5

Don't drop it!

Reviewed on Tuesday March 8, 2005 by , Southern IL
I dropped my V220 a very short distance and had major problems with the display and camera for weeks until the display went out completely. Then I dropped it again and worked perfectly for weeks. Now every time it gets knocked around a little bit, the display goes out and I have to remove and reinstall the battery, and if that doesn't work, I have to hit a couple times until the outer clock display returns and then power it off and on.
Also, I greatly dislike how easy it is to access the internet with this phone with menu items such as "shop ringtones." Never let your kids handle your phone without proper instruction and a stern lecture on the cost of data transfer.
Other than that, the overall performance of the phone is perfectly adequate.
4 Stars out of 5

v220 is good

Reviewed on Tuesday March 8, 2005 by , toronto
i dont know why you guys are all complaning. ive had the v220 for a few weeks now and NO complaints. reception is fine ont he fone. camera pix are not that clear but assume they will be once uploaded on pc, but its a phone, cant expect camera to be top quality. i had all my cell fones interfere with other electroncs, ie radio and it will always happen
but overall, v220 is a GOOD fone, no complaints its got good features and i love it. nokia is still the best. motorola is 2nd. i alwas had a nokia fone, and this is my first motorola.lets see where it takes me.
3 Stars out of 5

an okay phone

Reviewed on Monday March 7, 2005 by , Mississauga Ontairo
I have had my phone for 2 weeks now and already i see that the screen is not as bright as it use to be when I first got it. Also I find that the battery does not last very long I use to have the Nokia 2220 and the battery lasted me 1 week and that is the only thing I miss about my old phone. Really I think that people might be better off to get the other Motorola camera phone if you are going to use it for business.
3 Stars out of 5

Voice Dialing

Reviewed on Monday March 7, 2005 by , Ottawa, Ontaio
Just got the phone, and am trying to find out how many phone entries can be associated with voice dialing. I have done 5 so far and it seems to be the limit.

Does anyone else have info on the limitation of the number of voice activated dialing entries?
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday February 26, 2005 by , Montreal
Remember the C333 well meet his brother...DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE...Invest a little money and buy a v300 or v551 trust me better be safe then sorry, after all a 3 year contract is a long time to spend with a bad phone right?!...Issues with the phone, stops working, keypad frozen, condensation in phone(not covered by warranty), display and screen blank. But on the positive's a quad band! who cares! you only need two anyway.
4 Stars out of 5

Pretty Good Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday February 23, 2005 by , Mississauga Ontairo
well first of all the screen is very hard to see outside and the camera is not as good as the other phones out there. Also the speaker phone is not very good I have had my phone for not even a week yet and I think it is not bad. In my opinion I think that if you don't want to spend alot of money then this phone would be good for you. I have voicemail and I like to have it on the Vibrate and Ring mode but sometimes I miss the call because it does not ring enough times. Also I can Not get screen Savers up. So if any one can help then that will be great.
2 Stars out of 5

Interference with the V220

Reviewed on Monday February 21, 2005 by , Los Altos Hills, CA
I'm experiencing lots of noise interference when I use my V220 around other electronic equipment such as my land line desk phone and radio. I've never had this problem with other cell phones. Has anyone else had this problem?
3 Stars out of 5

V220 camera phone problems

Reviewed on Sunday February 6, 2005 by , Indiana
I have read others reviews and agree with some of them. I am always hitting the little buttons on the side and turning down the volume. I can hardly hear it now as it is when it rings. Nice phone, vibrate and rings not loud enough. Can't find software to download pics from camera phone. Does anyone know what software needed to download to PC or where one can find free ringtones?

3 Stars out of 5

Ring Vibrate and Volume

Reviewed on Thursday January 27, 2005 by , Toronto
Although I like most of the features on the Motorola V220, I am really disappointed with the Ring, Vibrate and Volume buttons on the exterior left side of the phone. You can't seem to lock them and they are easily depressed when in a pocket. I use the Ring/Vibrate option, so if the Up or Down button is pressed and then the Select button, the phone goes to its Silent option. This happens almost everyday and I miss calls because of it. Why you can't lock these buttons, I don't know.
3 Stars out of 5

Moto V220

Reviewed on Saturday January 22, 2005 by , crystal lake, illinois
Ive had this phone for a couple months.

good signal
picture phone
small, flip phone
looks cool
sim card

small screen
picture quality not as good as other motos
sound quality not as good as other motos

In my opinon, this is a beginner phone. Maybe a teen who just got their first new cell phone, or for a parent that isnt into business. It doesnt look as cool as other motorola phones and the screen is so small when you compare it to other flip up phones. The camera is as clear, and when you soom in, the picture just gets more unclear. The themes on it are kinda boring when you compare it to the v650 and all the others. When you look at where the screen is you can see that they had enough room to make it a lot bigger.
2 Stars out of 5

A lot of repairs....

Reviewed on Saturday January 15, 2005 by , Montreal
I'm a Rogers Wireless agent from Quebec, Cananda. The following message is just to alert you from this phone. If you can see how much of V220 and T720 we have in reparations. We have about 5 motorola against 1 nokia, 8 motorola against 1 samsung. This is a cute phone but after a couple of months, the sound's going so bad... the screen lost its brightness and take care beacause in general it's so fragile. But it's a fun phone but with a lot of problems.
1 Star out of 5

V220 Speaker

Reviewed on Friday January 14, 2005 by , CA
The V220 is an absolute piece of junk. When using the speaker option........ there is some sort of buzzing sound or interfence that both parties can hear.

This is the fourth return for me, so I think something is wrong with the design of the phone.
4 Stars out of 5

V220 ok

Reviewed on Monday January 3, 2005 by , Calgary
Had this phone for a little over a week now. Got two units for free with a 3 year family plan with rogers. This is the first new set Ive had since my old nokias with my bell and fido contracts. This phone is vastly superour to the previous nokias ive owned in terms of features and appearance. However I only time will tell if it can match the durability of the nokia's. While there are many complaints out there regurading this phone the only ones i can think of are those ive listed below. As for the pc interface issue, I have simply purchased my own after market usb cable and searched forums online and learned where to download free software and how to install and use it. I can now transfer pictures, videos, mp3s too and from my phone, syncronize my phone book and calander with outlook. I can even download hunderds of games for this phone, and I can do it all for free. If anyone else is intrested in this then i encourage them to simply do a little reasearch on line, and buy the proper usb cable.

Cam, voice dialing, mp3 ring tones, video clip playback, pc usb interface, java games, small size, speaker phone, price/value.

Cons: Small dim display, weak looking/feeling plastic construction, lack of sufficent internal memory, pc interface software not free.
4 Stars out of 5

Picture ID

Reviewed on Tuesday December 28, 2004 by , Ottawa
For those of you that can't get a picture up for an entry remember to save the information in the Phone not on the SIM chip as mentioned by Ron. ALSO, when you get a black screen and wonder why it doesen't work, you are one step away from success - JUST SCROLL DOWN AND YOU WILL SEE YOUR PICTURE FILES - a silly frustating little adventure which I thought I would share with all you other technologically challenged people out there :-) A good little phone at a great price!
3 Stars out of 5

Problem with Phonebook!

Reviewed on Saturday December 25, 2004 by , Washington DC
I got the v220 for christmas and am expierencing a problem with the phonebook entries. I am not able to list two numbers under one name. I follow the logical steps, the ones in the instruction manual.. but if i enter both a home AND cell number for "andrew".. it appears in the book as Adam, Andrew, Andrew, Aston.. I KNOW this can be fixed, but how?

its a fine phone aside from this!, please help me out.
4 Stars out of 5

Voice Name

Reviewed on Wednesday December 15, 2004 by , london
I dont understand how to use this at all. What exactly is the talk key, and what do u do for this to work?
4 Stars out of 5

Picture ID

Reviewed on Saturday December 11, 2004 by , California
The V220 stores the address book on either the SIM or on the phone itself. When you store to the SIM, you lose photo-id. Store the address book on the phone and you'll have picture-id, voice selected dialing, and some added features.

3 Stars out of 5

Can't lock ringer volume buttons

Reviewed on Saturday December 4, 2004 by , Toronto
Recently purchased my second Motorola phone. My biggest complaint thus far is the fact that you can not lock the ringer volume buttons. They can unknowingly be adjusted when the phone is in your pocket or case. If I have set the ringer volume on high and like it that way, I don't want to miss a call becsuse the volume was accidently lowered. I went to a Rogers store, they are aware of problem, but nothing can be done. By the way, you could lock everything on my first Motorola, including the ring volume. I don't like the vibrate mode.

When the phone goes to "hibernate" (ie the screen goes dark), is there a way to bring the screen back by hitting a certain key without going to another menu?
4 Stars out of 5

v220 vs v300

Reviewed on Wednesday December 1, 2004 by , vancouver
I've purchased both phones and found that it's true as some of you say. The v220 speaker phone has interference from signals. Anyone knows if this can be fixed? Because the v220 is newer, i find it to be better designed and easier to use but they really cut corners on this phone except the speaker sounds better than the v300. You can feel the bass more on the v220. The V300 is made with better quality materials. I prefer the v300 because the screen is bigger and more clear. Size do matter in this case.
2 Stars out of 5

Nice looking phone - poor construction

Reviewed on Thursday October 14, 2004 by , Calgary
I purchased this phone at the begining of Sept and nearly immediately noticed the antenna wasn't very tight. After three weeks the antenna was falling out constantly so I took in for a warranty repair. Motorola states all problems with the antenna are physical damage and not covered by warranty. I guarantee there is no physical damage whatsoever. The problem lies with garbage plastic threads in the phone which stripped in a number of weeks. The saga continues with motorola as they have now sent my unit to 4 service centers and they have had my phone almost as long as I had it.

Careful with this phone.

Another minor issue is the lack of any data metering on the phone. According to the manual there is a menu item which will tell you how much data has been sent and received by the phone. In the version of firmware that I had the was no such menu item.
3 Stars out of 5

Re: picture id??

Reviewed on Friday October 1, 2004 by , BC
You assign pictures for caller ID through your phonebook (though not for entries stored in your SIM card). Try the Motorola user guide (they have it on this site) - page 45 & 70 tell you how... good luck.
5 Stars out of 5

picture id??

Reviewed on Thursday September 30, 2004 by , toronto
i got this phone couple of weeks ago and i love it! but on problem i had with it picture id. everywhere, even on this website, it says it has picture id...but i have yet to find it. and im pretty sure it does not have it..just something i find stupid. why advertise something it doesnt have.
3 Stars out of 5

my battery keeps undressing

Reviewed on Wednesday September 15, 2004 by , Kelowna BC
The piece on the back of my phone that covers the battery won't lock into place. Im getting a new phone but it is a hassle having to go back and forth from the store for the third time now. Especially having to bus.

hope my speaker phone works on my new phone...
1 Star out of 5

Stupid power adapter

Reviewed on Thursday September 9, 2004 by , Ottawa
This is a quad band phone which only comes with a 110volt power adapter. Why create a phone that is quad band and will work anywhere but not support 220volts so that you can charge it while away ?
1 Star out of 5

speaker phone

Reviewed on Sunday August 22, 2004 by , toronto
i bought a v220 motorola, big problem with the speaker phone, when i use the speaker phone, there is an interference between the antenna and speakerphone so that my friend can not hear me. please be aware of that.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday August 15, 2004 by , toronto
i bought a v220 motorola, but one thing i dont like this phone is when you turn on the speaker phone you hear a interference sound right on the speaker , so you partner can not hear what you say ,i dont know if motorola know this problem. thanks
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday July 14, 2004 by , miramichi
heck, i just take a pic of something off tv, pc, my cat, or whatever, its cheaper than going online and get charge for data+downloading
4 Stars out of 5

v220 a sweet phone

Reviewed on Wednesday July 14, 2004 by , miramichi
well, begining, i was not very fond of moto phone, after sewing c333, c332, t720(in some areas) having bad remarks, reviews, and complaints(as being csr for rogers wireless). the nokia phones i wanted aren't being release here in cda, at least for now. Initialy, i wanted the v300, but price went up. So i took a chance on the v220, as it was a sweet deal(good price(same as v300 was the wk before), instant rebate and hands free headset). So far, it is an excelent phone. Better coverage than my nk3595(gave2girlfriend) and due to the fact its a quad mode i should have no prob with cov for awhile, other options are the basic like any other phone, games suck, but who cares. As for camera, its pretty fun even if their not the best quality pics but alright. One thing i really like is the fact that it can use mp3s as ring tones. BUT, you got to buy the usb cable which is about 40-50bucks to do it. give 4stars out of 5, be back in awhile to see if its a five
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday July 10, 2004 by , Port Credit, Mississauga
I just bought a v220 with rogers and after not really knowing how a GSM phone would work in my area, I am very pleased with how it's working, crystal clear reception, nice features, could use more wallpapers though.