Motorola W385 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola W385 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 21 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday January 8, 2012 by , ontario
bulletproof phone. had this phone for going on 6 years now. its been chucked out of moving vehicles, ran over with farm equipment, spent the night at the bottom of the lake, has been in the lake at least 14 times total and the only thing that doesn't work is the camera. Amazing reception. only replaced one battery and thats it.
5 Stars out of 5

RIP W385, you will be missed.

Reviewed on Tuesday July 19, 2011 by , Vancouver, BC
It was a good 3 years. A lot of talking. Sometimes for hours on end. Didn't burn my ear off. Some texting. Reminders for birthdays, set to go off yearly. My morning alarm. Oh, I will miss my beloved W385. Solid. Took quite the beating. But always worked. Until its heart(battery) finally failed.

Solid handset for the talker and light texter. And the flip makes it feel like you're on a real phone, old-school style.

I'd buy another but I've decided to (see: got a great deal) join the big kids. Spice-y Android here I come.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 28, 2011 by , Fort Saskatchewan
Had nothing but troubles before getting this phone 3 1/2 years ago which had been refurbished by Telus in Montreal. Never had a problem since. Doesn't have all the bells & whistles but sure serves my purpose
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday January 20, 2010 by , edmonton
Ive had this phone for a bit better than 2 years. All I use it for is talking and calender. I still get 5 days out of the battery and its on 24/7. I use it at industrial sites, around town and at the lake, in rain and snow or nice weather. Its never needed to be fixed or any parts replaced. It gets better reception than any of the other phones in the out of the way places I end up. I would recommend this for anyone that just wants a phone that works well
5 Stars out of 5

saving to buy this phone

Reviewed on Friday October 30, 2009 by , hamiltion
I will save all want i have to buy this phone cause i never had a phone like this
4 Stars out of 5

transfert de photo

Reviewed on Saturday March 14, 2009 by , St-Raymond
transfert de photo ne fonctionne pas , j`ai achetée leur cd motorola phone tools et j`ai fait les updates , je suis en suite aller telecharger mobile phone et active sync, la encore ca ne marche pas , j ài passée 2 heure avec motorola au telephone et il croyait que c`etais mon fils usb qui avait un probleme . Je suis retourner chez koodoo et il mon dit que sur ce modele on ne peut transferer les photos sur pc .ce que je ne comprend pas ces que dans le livret il disent que nous pouvont transferée??????
excepter ce probleme le telephone va tres bien .
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday March 12, 2009 by , Honolulu, Hawaii
I luv dis fone except 4 wen I download ringtones from a site without a PC. It says copy successful but, I can't seem 2 find it. Where did it go? PLEASE HELP ME!!
1 Star out of 5

interruption de mon téléphone

Reviewed on Friday January 9, 2009 by , Léry
Je ne sais pas si c'est mon téléphone ou si c'est réseau ou j'habite qui bug,j'habite Léry, quand je suis sur la ligne, des fois, mon téléphone interrompt la communication toute seule. J'aimerai bien savoir si d'autre personne on le même problème que moi, je suis avec la compagnie Koodo mobile!
5 Stars out of 5

Pink One

Reviewed on Thursday November 13, 2008 by , Quebec city
Hey does someone have the Pink Motorola W385 !?!?

If so, is the color good lookin??
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday July 29, 2008 by , Toronto
Okay this has been my 4th phone from telus. I had a nokia 6265i which broke i had that from feb07-nov-07, then samsung u540 that i lost nov07-jan08, then a samsung u410 which i only paid 100$ for cause i lost my other one but i hated it so i got my parents to return it jan08-feb08. And finally i got this one for my birthday.

I love it outta all my phones i hated the layout, stupid white green and purple colours, but this ones different! it has themes and does not look like a telus phone. also it doesnt have its telus logo writen all over it, cept for the screen when open.

Its features are limited but okay if you want a camera

Also ive dropped thrown and hurt this thing so bad, yet it still works. feb08-july08
3 Stars out of 5

A good low-end phone

Reviewed on Monday July 21, 2008 by , Texas
If you want a reliable basic phone without fancy features, this is worth a look. The case is slim and elegant in a restrained way, and the rubberized surfaces give it a secure, "grippy" feeling--you're not likely to drop this one.

All basic functions work well, voice recognition is as good as any I've used (including Motorola's much more expensive E815), and battery life is good: I can easily get two days on a charge.

My only gripes:

* Very small text and icons, which make the small screen seem even smaller. But I'm 58, so my eyes aren't as good as those of a younger person. ;-)

* Cannot sync with Mac address book or calendar (iSync doesn't recognize the phone, at least as of July 2008).
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone for so many reasons

Reviewed on Monday July 14, 2008 by , ottawa,Canada
I've had this phone for 10 months and I love it.
Great battery life
great feel
reception is amazing even in rural areas
feels good in the palm
can charge on your pc (awesome)
and can take a shi%$$ kicking! Have dropped it several times.
As long as you don't need all the digital bells and whistles this is a great phone.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday July 8, 2008 by , Nova Scotia
I just bought this phone , and after i Download a ringtone i Have no idea where it is and How to find it ;S Can someone help ?
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday May 13, 2008 by , Grande Prairie
This is an excellent phone, I would rate it one of the best on the market. It is economically priced, has excellent service in places other phones don't. Recommended to all..
4 Stars out of 5

get it!!

Reviewed on Monday March 17, 2008 by , B.C.
i got this phone four days ago and i love it soo much!!! it fits nice in your palm, it looks kool and it has a clear voice talking on it. the caller id kinda sux, u hav to look at it sideways and i dont reely like the keypad... but other than that it is a great phone!!!:D :)
3 Stars out of 5

awsum phone!!

Reviewed on Saturday March 15, 2008 by , B.C.
this is a good phone, wen u put it up to ur ear it is comfterble and the rubberized skin is nice. the only thing im not so keen on is the keypad it seems hard to get ur fingers around!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday February 20, 2008 by , canada
so i got this phone for christmas about 2 months ago and i hate it soo much! thi is my second phone and it is so much crappier then my first. i left my old one in my pants and it went through the washer and got stuck with this piece of junk!
at first i thoughtit was cute and looked a lot like RAZR's but its very slow. as i typewhen texting it cant even keep up with me . i was very disappointed with this phone and i will be goin to buy a new one within the week!
dont waste your money on this phone!!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday February 17, 2008 by , Sidney Bc
Ok heres how it goes I need a little help i was Activating my Husbands Phone And i did tha dumbest thing i didnt wright any of the information on the summary part and before i know it i am stuck up all night trying to figure out the numbers i am so confused and tired! Someone PLEASE HELP ME!
5 Stars out of 5

Sturdy, stylish, well-priced camera phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 30, 2008 by , Victoria, BC
I've only had my W385 for a little while but so far I'm really impressed with its features and high quality look & feel.

It feels solid in the palm of your hand, like it was made to last, yet it doesn't feel clunky at all. It's not as slick-looking as a KRZR, but if you're not into playing "look at me" while talking on your cell phone in your car or at a club then this probably isn't a concern.

The W385 is a very attractive phone with clean styling, and the price makes it even better. I got mine for $99 on a Pay & Talk plan which includes $50 calling credit, so essentially the phone cost $49. Not bad for a good quality camera phone on Pay & Talk.

The sound quality and calling features are excellent, and the keypad and menus are easy to use. The only negative things I've noticed so far are that the display is on the small side (it's not tiny but it might be a concern if you're visually impaired), and the camera is pretty basic with no extra features.

For the price the W385 is an excellent phone. I can't attest to its long-term durability at this point, but the last Motorola I owned went through hell & back and never quit once. Based on that, plus the quality feel of the W385, I feel very comfortable recommending it!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 25, 2008 by , Lloydminster
this phone is awsome i've only had it for a whle and i think it is great. A couple of my friends have krazers and we compared them and we all agreed that mine was better and its like 150$ cheaper so over all it is a great phone
4 Stars out of 5

Mot W385 Like!

Reviewed on Friday September 14, 2007 by , White Rock, BC
I have decided to do away with all the fancy toys on my cell phone. I have been getting huge bills for music, ringtones, images, games, etc. I thought I would go back to the basics and did some research. My research led me to the new Motorola W385. It is a SOLID, slim, very functional phone. It has excellent sound quality. I love talking to folks on it. It is so much more clear than my recent Samsung model. I think this phone was built for a basic user who wants a lengthly talk time as well. It also feels great to hang on to. The rubberized skin makes it stay in your hand. So far I like!