Nokia 3586i Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Nokia 3586i has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Saturday February 17, 2007 by , Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia
I am very pleased with my Nokia phone. I bought the phone in December 2004 and it still works like a charm. I just hope when it is time for me to purchase another phone I will still be able to buy a block phone with all the great features that my Nokia 3586i already has but with more updated phone qualities. Since I am only able to use one hand, using a flip or slide phone would be more difficult.
I am still old fashion though, as I do not want a phone which has a camera or a MP3 player. I just want a cell phone with great options and easy to use. The Nokia 3586i is all of that and as long as the phone is working I have no plans of buying another one.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday May 4, 2005 by , Newfoundland Canada
Now for me I can't really relate to any other cell phones because this is my first phone and my father owned a Motorola star-tac 3000, a micro-tac 650e while the star-tac was in repair, and now he owns a samsung a660 which i am not really fond of. This phone i bought about 3 months ago and it works just like it came out of the box except i have tweeked with it a bit. People are saying that the phone's battery is no good well here's a tip for you: when the phone says "battery low", thats when you charge it and wait until it is FULLY charged before taking it off!. This phone is perfect for business or personal use. if you drop stuff constantly, this phone won't crack until like the 20th drop but then you can still make calls like usual. the key-lock feature (menu+*)can save you a fortune if you keep your phone in your pocket. I bought my phone with Aliant (the only cell phone company outside St. John's) I got the prepaid plan where in which i buy cards when ever i run out of minutes.
5 Stars out of 5

Extremely tough phone

Reviewed on Saturday April 30, 2005 by , Winnipeg
I have owned this phone for 2 years and have had no problems in that time, the battery life is exceptional and only maybe 1 in 30 calls get dropped. It is an extremely durable. I am very hard on phones, I have dropped it on cement 20+ times and its never been damaged. I am only replacing it, because I ran it over with my truck and the dog got a hold of it and made it his new chew toy. Despite the screen/half the phone being crunched, the phone still works and still sends/receives calls! Unreal. The reception is good and the ring volume on 5 is very loud, a welcome site in a noisy enviroment. A nice feature is that if you set the alarm, you can shut the phone off and the alarm will still come on at the time you set it for. Nice if you want to save your battery power. If you looking for a very durable phone this is the phone for you!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday October 31, 2004 by , moose jaw, sask
I have owned several cell phones and this is by far the best. I am in remote areas most of the time and have had no problem with reception or dropped calls. I have converted many of my co workers over to this model of phone and have not heard a complaint yet. Mine has been dropped countless times and has even been wet a few times and it has never failed. The last drop it took broke the screen and believe it or not the phone still works fine but will be getting a replacement.
As far as battery life goes I have not found it to be a big issue. I talk on the phone about an hour a day and it sits on standby 24 hours a day and needs charging every 2 or 3 days not a big deal to plug it in at night.
I have heard many people think Nokia phones are clunky and not as stylish as other brands of phones. I suppose if your looking for a fashion show maybe this is not the phone for you but if you want a good phone with usable features this is a good choice.
And to that other review who says the back of the phone were the battery is located is hard to get off is that not a good thing? I do not want my phone's case to be falling apart all the time. Its not that hard to take apart if you do it properly, and really what do you need to get inside your phone for anyways?
4 Stars out of 5

Best reception ever, but get a phone charger

Reviewed on Monday October 18, 2004 by , Toronto GTA
I've been with Mike Telus, Bell and Rogers, tried many phones. This Nokia has been my best phone, mostly because I use it for business and can't afford to drop a call... this phone has NEVER dropped a call, and I've been in some deep dark basements answering calls! True, the battery life sucks because the screen is so bright, so get a car kit to keep your phone charged, and plug in the phone at night every night. That's worth it for such a great phone.

Minor things missing: the ring tones are good but the polyphonics aren't the best. The ear volume is loud enough but again I've heard better sounding tones. The games are better on other phones, but get yourself a Gameboy if you want games.

Bottom line is that you use the phone to talk, and this phone rocks in the RF zone!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday August 30, 2004 by , Prince Albert, Sk
Hi....I can honestly say this is the best phone I've had. I was advised to purchase a nokia bar phone as the new flip phones have a harder time with reception. I travel a lot and have had the phone for a few weeks now. I love it. I think the battery life is reasonable..... those who dont must remember how long they talk for! also... I think the colored screen is awesome. The reception on this phone is even better than my old nokia... It's good with receiving text messages as well. In my opinion this is a good, reasonable priced phone. Definitly it has my recommondation.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday August 18, 2004 by , Ottawa Ontario
This is the best phone going for reception not alot of frills but works great everywhere. I do alot of travelling where this phone will have reception, compared to the Samsung a660 i had for 3days and took it back because the the reception was terrible and full of static at many places in and outdoors. This is a great phone with Nokia reliability and a cheap price.
3 Stars out of 5

Not Bad

Reviewed on Sunday June 13, 2004 by , Melfort, Sk
I like everything about this phone exept the battery sucks. I have to recharge it every 2 days, and that's pretty bad considering I don't talk that much on it.
4 Stars out of 5

A good phone

Reviewed on Thursday May 20, 2004 by , Ottawa
I can't review most features... I just want a phone.
I can say the sound is good, the reception is good, battery life is good. And, look up on the top left of the picture.
That's a 2.5mm jack for a standard headset! Yes!

Only bad thing is that the display is hard to read unless the backlight is on.

4 Stars out of 5

Good Low-Cost Phone.

Reviewed on Saturday May 15, 2004 by , Clarksburg
I've had very good reception and battery life with this phone. Since I use it for work it is on 14 - 16 hours per day, and I average 30 - 60 minutes of call time per day.

I've had exceptional battery life, averaging 3 - 5 days use before I have to recharge. Seems to pull in weak signals well. It compares favorably with my Motorola V60 phone, but has more features.
5 Stars out of 5

Awesome phone

Reviewed on Monday May 10, 2004 by , Vancouver
I personally don't think some people should be allowed to own cell phones. These other negative reviews are ridiculous....for example: the back is easy to remove, there is just a very simple technique to it. Secondly, this is the ONLY phone that actually works in my building that i have ever used, i've been a telus customer, i've been a rogers customer, and now i am in my 3rd year with bell, i've had 2 samsungs with bell...and this is the most simple phone i've used, and it has the best reception.

Honestly, I think these negative reviews are from imposter disgruntled telus and rogers employees.

Buy this phone!!!!
1 Star out of 5

stupid phone

Reviewed on Friday May 7, 2004 by , newmarket ont
This phone is sooo horrible even my old 3390 with fido had better reception in Toronto's downtown core it was saying service is unavalible how stupid never go for this phone and don't go for bell canada there service is ver very shoddy!
4 Stars out of 5

so far so good

Reviewed on Monday February 16, 2004 by , richmond, b.c.
I have had other Nokia models and this one compares favourably with them and features like the highly visible and well backlit display make it the best so far. My eyes are not so young anymore and I really appreciate this feature. My brother has a cell phone that is nearly useless to him because the display is small and monochrome, making it next to impossible to read in all but the brightest locations.
2 Stars out of 5

Tricky Back

Reviewed on Wednesday October 1, 2003 by , Ottawa, Ontario
It is difficult to reinstall the removable back. You must remove almost the entire back of the phone to get at the battery. The back has a hole that the antenna must pass thru to remove or reattach the back. A user can easily become frustrated trying to reattach the back and break it.