Nokia 5300 XpressMusic Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Nokia 5300 XpressMusic has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Be careful with the phone; music player not a prob

Reviewed on Sunday January 4, 2009 by , Toronto, Canada
The phone is great, although breaks and scratches quite easily. As far as you are careful with it, it should not be a problem. If you use Rogers it seems that the side keys for switching tracks have been disabled, but the navigation keys can be used just the same, and do not create a problem.
The solution to letting it play music is to set your application tones in the profile settings to on! And yes, it only takes mp3s but at least that helps you with space!
2 Stars out of 5

Am very disappointed

Reviewed on Tuesday July 15, 2008 by , Montreal
Am a fan of Nokia phones and always buy them. this one has been a huge disappointment.
- Reception is terrible
- Can't download ringtones. Yes, I've tried to get the techs from Rogers to fix the problem and it didn't work.
- The sound quality is inconsistent
- The phone periodically shuts itself off after I check text messages and then open the slider. It then turns itself back on, but it's quite irksome.
1 Star out of 5

How flimsy is this phone?

Reviewed on Tuesday February 19, 2008 by , Toronto

I notice this phone seems to be mainly plastic. How flimsy is it compare to a flip phone like the Razor? I am afraid the slider would pop too easily and end up with a broken phone.

Thank you!
4 Stars out of 5

Say bye to useless player

Reviewed on Sunday January 27, 2008 by , canada
Unbrand your Nokia 5300

1. Download NSS (Nemesis Service Suite) from and have PC Suite installed on your PC.

2.Then follow this video

3.Enjoy your phone the way Nokia intended.

This was very easy and done in 5-10 min.
I can't believe ****** would cripple their phones like this.
4 Stars out of 5

Love this phone!

Reviewed on Wednesday December 19, 2007 by , Ontario, Canada
Well to start off... Urm "AngrywithRogers", have you tried to make a new playlist of all your songs, then sav ethe playlist, go to Window's Media Player and add the list there? Then press the sync button located on the right side on the top. It shuld say connect ur device then get ur list to the sync, and sync all ur music in to the Rogers Music Player. When i first got my phone i was soo pissed becuase all my songs didn't work on the player. BUT my friend told me that method works soo justy like to share it for those who have trouble still!
4 Stars out of 5

Nokia is back...

Reviewed on Wednesday October 3, 2007 by , Montreal, Quebec
If my memory still working good, the last time i sow a nokia in my hands was in 1998, i hope you remember those cellphones, all black, big as a chunky chocolate bar that wont fit in your pocket, and you needed a flash light to see the screen. Now i bought the 5300 cause i wanted to give a chance to Nokia to impress me. and i am not disapointed. It has a real zoom when taking pictures, the mp3 player its perfect just drag songs from my conputer and play them instantly. I love the slide concept, never had one before. the only thing that's missing is the 900mhz band, so it could work in others countries wile you are travelling. So... i give it 4 on 5.
5 Stars out of 5

killer phone

Reviewed on Sunday September 2, 2007 by , amherst
This is one of the best phones I have bought hands down.
Yes it does suck that you have to buy mp3's from [service provider] site but believe me there is a way around this and all the buttons on the side work flawless, and you do have fast forward and rewind dispute what the other reviewer said.
You can also use mp3's as ring tones well almost any tone, message, alarm, ect.... not just ring tone.
I have about 150 mp3's on my phone and use it all the time. the [service provider] music player does suck so why not just get rid of it? what are you waiting for google is your friend remember.

The reception on this phone is excellent I have owned plenty of phones and this one will stand there with the big boys no problem. I have never had a dropped call or never not been able to make a call due to no service. and my area is not the best far from a city.

I would recommend this phone hands down not a question.
If you want help getting normal mp3's to work not just the ones you bought from [service provider] remember google.
2 Stars out of 5

Problems with Nokia 5300 phones

Reviewed on Sunday July 29, 2007 by , Nepean, Ontario, Canada
[service provider] - Nokia combination has crippled this phone. Music player is worst I ever seen. No FF/RW, audio is being lost from time to time, plays MP3 format only, audio level is too low ( cannot use it on the plane), you cannot set any mp3 song as ring tone, etc. etc. Any other music format plays choppy! Waste of money! Big disappointment. Next time I am going with Samsung.
1 Star out of 5

Poor match

Reviewed on Wednesday May 23, 2007 by , Montreal
It's seems that the match "service provider"-"phone manufacturer" as killed the product. [service provider] is not providing a valid, tested music player with this phone while worldwide, elsewhere, the Nokia 5300 including its original Nokia developed music player only have good critics. If the application would have been tested properly, the flight mode would not interfere with the player and the side buttons would be operationnal with the music player.
Next time I'll renew my Wireless provider contract, I'll select a phone that has been tested and is working properly.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday April 1, 2007 by , thunder bay
this phone is amazing... ive love that i keep on finding out news fun thing to explore. The rececption is great. before this i had a samsung and being a nokia man i did not like the samsung phones but i gave it a try and didnt like it. I lost reception many time throughtout the days...but with this NEVER EVER> one downfall is i cannot put my mp3s as a ringtune
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 6, 2007 by , BC
I am having problems playing songs with the music player. Nokia has told me that my service provider has done something to their player so that only music bought from their music store can be played successfully on it. So any music from CD's or songs I have already bought from Itunes play choppy from the phone. Has anyone else encountered this problem?