Samsung A436 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung A436 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 8 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

Not So Rugged

Reviewed on Monday August 16, 2010 by , Edmonton
I was wondering if anyone has had problems with the hinges breaking ? I may have dropped the phone a couple of times , from 3ft or less . It's only 9mths old , everything else served its purpose . I'm waiting from Samsung to see if it is covered . Rogers say they have to determine if it was abuse or not . It should be covered the way they promote there phone ....tbc
1 Star out of 5

Turns off by itself

Reviewed on Friday June 12, 2009 by , langley, bc
I just got this phone within the last 15 minutes of the store closing (my previous phone broke) and I will be returning this phone the instant the store opens tomorrow morning!

As I've been setting up my options the phone has turned itself off for no apparent reason at least 5 different times within the last 20 minutes - once it was because I think I jostled it a bit. I'm afraid that it will do the same while I'm talking to someone so I'm not risking it and returning this piece of garbage ASAP.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday November 27, 2008 by , St. Marys, ON
I don't know where everyone is finding their problems with this phone!!!! Though it's definetly not really classy or anything, it works great! I've had mine for a few months, and my sister has owned one for a couple of years. We both really like them. Mine has never dropped a call, and is really clear when talking.The recorder and speaker are awesome, and the buttons never stick, and are easy to use, especially for really fast texting.It can be a bit stubborn sending messages at times, especially if you receive one right when you're trying to send one, but usually it works great. If you want a nice basic phone, this one is the way to go!!!!
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung A436

Reviewed on Monday May 5, 2008 by , Thunder Bay,ON
Got this phone free when I signed up for rogers. Since it was free, there was little room to complain. I also have a Sony Ericsson K750i(not availible in N.America), an extremely competent phone that beats the Samsung in every respect. Anyhow, the samsung is a simple phone, couple of trial games, standard ringtones, and nearly worthless camera.

However, it is very small, good looking, and the text is very nice and readable. I also like the features of deciding when the phone buttons light up (eg. only after 5pm etc)and the tip calculator.

In short, if you are looking for a no hassle, no frills phone, who uses the phone for what it is-to talk to people, look no further.
2 Stars out of 5

very weak

Reviewed on Monday February 4, 2008 by , canada
This phone has extremely poor reception (incoming and outgoing). The on screen menus are not users friendly and the earphone and the speaker phone are not loud enough. I paid 89$cdn. Once inside any building this phone becomes virtually inoperable.
2 Stars out of 5

what do u think?

Reviewed on Saturday December 1, 2007 by , edmonton
i have a chopise between the samsung a436 and the sony ericsson z310. i have bin trying to decide but im going back and forth what do u guys think?
2 Stars out of 5

Incoming audio problem..stumping Samsung service centre

Reviewed on Friday October 19, 2007 by , Edmonton, Alberta
I've had the phone for a few months now. Slim and sleek look is all I like about this phone.

It has had choppy incoming audio from day 1. Samsung service centre couldn't fix the problem.

No compatibility with Palm for bluetooth compatibility.

Composing text messages are time consuming.

Warranty is hardly worth your time when there's a problem with the phone unless you exchange it at [service provider] within the first 60 minutes of using it, i.e. the first day you have it.

And if you do buy this phone from [service provider], make sure you exchange it within the first 60 mins of use if your incoming calls are choppy or broken. Don't wait and see if it'll work itself out, don't settle for [service provider] resending the network or power cycling and then try it a little longer. Exchange it! Its the phone, not the network, and Samsung may not be able to fix it.

If you're looking for a cheap phone get something with a positive track record. Not this waste of time.

4 Stars out of 5

Great little phone

Reviewed on Tuesday September 25, 2007 by , Canada
Coming from using PDA's over the past year or so, I managed to get my hands on this little cell phone for around $20 from a [service provider] Store.

I was first impressed on how tiny this phone is. It has an okay camera, and has decent color screen. You can download select graphics and plenty of fun games from the [service provider]'s website.

This phone will take some time for me to get used to double typing as I am used to a blackberry style QWERTY keyboard. no worries as if you text alot you can setup many Canned messages or templates ie "Call me" etc.

It has very good reception and I have had maybe 1 dropped call with the [service provider]'s Network. It is Edge compatible for fast [service provider] internet service.

The only bad thing about this phone is the inability to sync the built in calendar to Outlook or a free software app called Bitpim.

I am going to keep trying this. but so far its been liberating carrying a very light phone ( you barely feel this thing in your pockets) for just plain old communication that carrying a bulky pda styled phone.

I did purchase a sync Cable off eBay and I am waiting to recieve it to try syncing with my computer. If that does not work, atleast i can power it when i am at my computer.

I found that some games ran very fast, sometimes too fast. This is probably a good thing as the a436 probably has a fast processor inside. This phone generates next to no heat when being used as well. Somthing I noticed with every phone I have used in the past.

All in all, this little cell phone is great for someone that wants the basics without the inconvenience of carry a small brick with them.