Samsung A540 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung A540 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 8 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

not impressed

Reviewed on Wednesday July 28, 2004 by , Newfoundland
I have owned this phone for nearly 10 months. I had to get it replaced once because it was getting a weak signal. This 2nd phone doesn't work a whole lot better. I miss calls daily. It often takes a long time to pick up a signal when out of range compared to other digital phones. It tends to cut out any background noise well, but in the process cuts out my voice also. I have it on a 3 year plan through Telus. I will definitely be changing it soon. The look of the phone is nice and all of the features are ok, but I don't need all the bells and whistles. I just want a phone that is digital, has a good constant signal, and just works well as a phone!
4 Stars out of 5

For a first cell phone, it's awesome!

Reviewed on Tuesday July 13, 2004 by , Vancouver
I'm loving my new phone, I didn't want anything with all the bells and whistles, however, I am enjoying this phone. I got it on a Telus plan and the reception has been awesome, I've only lost service one so far, and that was on the skytrain between Burrard and Granville (of course, it's underground). I especially like the dial pad on the phone, the numbers aren't tiny and it's easy to use, I've been text messaging and find that easy as well! And it seems to be keeping the charge well so far (but, then again, it is a new phone). Good all around phone for the first time for sure!
4 Stars out of 5

It's Ok

Reviewed on Saturday June 26, 2004 by , Toronto
this phone is an ok phone. its simple to use and it has a design thats not to over the edge but yet it doesnt have that boring look to it. Personally to me this phone is the great phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Samsung A540

Reviewed on Monday April 5, 2004 by , Victoria, BC
I shoped around before I bought this phone and for the most part I am thrilled with it! I travel alot and although it is not quite as good in the reception department as my old Motorola StarTac it is pretty good! I travel alot between Sidney and Duncan and there are only about two spots where you'll lose a signal between the two points...maybe three. My old StarTac seemed to do a bit better, but maybe it was just my imagination.

The Display is awesome and the batter life is incredible. Even using $4.96US after market batteries I bought off of Ebay I can still talk for over 2 hours with no problem!!

The ringtones take a bit of gettin used to but I guess all new phones have them now. Voice dialing is very nice and works most of the time and is very convenient.

It's easy to navigate around the phone and it is by far the best looking phone around in my opinion.

I'd buy another one tomorrow!!

Oh, and whoever it was that said in a previous review that you can adjust the volume of the ringer when the phone is closed was reviewing a different phone. When the A540 is closed the volume buttons on the side do not work (unless you have a headset plugged in and you have a call in progress) otherwise you cannot accidentally turn the volume up or down unless you first open the phone.
3 Stars out of 5

response to HELP

Reviewed on Saturday February 21, 2004 by , vancouver
I work for a Telus Dealer in Vancouver. I don't know how things are done in Montreal, but out here if you have a problem with the handset dont call CS as they don't deal with handset issues. You would need to go back to where you purchased the phone. There is a 1 year warranty but it doesn't cover PHYSICAL OR LIQUID DAMAGE. As long as it is a manufactuerers defect Samsung would have to fix it. Hope that helps.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Monday August 4, 2003 by , New Westminster British Columbia
When I first bought this phone I was curious how the spring would hold out (flip spring). Ten months later it still works like it did when I first bought it. It's a great light phone that you don't know it's in your pocket. I get lot's of compliments on the quality of the audio and graphics. Great quality phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Samsung A540

Reviewed on Friday May 30, 2003 by , Mill Bay, B.C.
I have two of these units and they work very well. Absolutely free of problems and the phone is envied by my friends. However, the external ringer volume/receive volume buttons are easily pressed by accident and a person may not realize he has turned the ringer volume too low.
The manual doesn't explain some functions clearly but in all other ways, the A540 is a very good unit.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday May 25, 2003 by , Montreal
Less than 2 mths after acquiring this handset from Telus, the screen kept freezing up. The outside screen is blank and when I open the phone I have to hit the screen before anything appears. Call CS, they will not replace the handset, so I am stuck with it. Can someone help me with some advice, otherwise this is not good for Telus