Samsung A860 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung A860 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 15 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

It's alright.

Reviewed on Monday February 18, 2008 by , Toronto
to make it short..
it has crappy sound,
it cuts you out of your phone calls alot.
and after the 2nd year i had it, it began to crack and evantually the whole thing snapped in half
3 Stars out of 5

Does what it's meant to do

Reviewed on Sunday November 25, 2007 by , Manitoba
Not a bad phone, I got mine free on a 2 year contract, and it worked great for a year and a month.

Although the reception in the countryside is terrible, I used it once in the summer to call the city and it was horrible! Had a hard time calling in sick lol!

Then one day I took it out of my locker (no one else uses), and it was just messed up!

Screen was red, black, green, blue (every other colour aswell), flipping side to side and backwards, then sometimes it would cut out.

Took it to get repaired about a month later got it back and no problems yet.
2 Stars out of 5

Not impressed

Reviewed on Friday October 26, 2007 by , Winnipeg
I got my phone as part of my 2 year term. Now I know why it was free with the contract. Within a year and a couple of months my speaker on my phone gave out. I do not put as many miles on my phone as alot of my other friends or co workers do, and it is now done. The phone itself functioned fine otherwise.
4 Stars out of 5

Just Fine

Reviewed on Wednesday September 12, 2007 by , Turtleford
I have had my phone for 3 years in January and it has not once let me down. I use it all the time - talking, text and more. I don't know it does what i need it to do.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday November 12, 2006 by , Winnipeg
I have had my Samsung for a year and I am tired of the reception always cutting out I would never buy a Samsung phone again. I used to have a Panasonic phone and the signal was very strong even in basements. I am not satisfied with this phone it is horrible. My wife has a Samsung phone as well but a different model and the reception sucks on it as well. Never buy Samsung!
5 Stars out of 5

popularity wins here

Reviewed on Friday October 20, 2006 by , big river, saskatchewan
well me and all my friends each have this phone all 10 of us in a range of different colors like say 3 have pink, 3 have blue, and 4 have silver. This phone has never given any of us problems, it is a fabulous phone, it does what its suppose to and i couldn't ask for a better one not to mention it as i said is very popular
1 Star out of 5

LCD Screen Flaw

Reviewed on Tuesday October 17, 2006 by , Canada
Had this phone for just over 3 months..... never been dropped, not a single scratch on the case. Used the phone one day, put it on a shelf, went to use it 2 hrs later, opened it up and the screen was shattered..... Heard from a few people that I work with that they had similar experiences where they had never dropped their phone but noticed that the screen was starting to go after after 4 months or so. Tried to get it fixed under warranty..... good luck with that. Samsung states that the phone was misused and thats what caused the damage.... to get it fixed is stupid expensive.... roughtly 90% of the original cost... Not worth it one bit.
1 Star out of 5

many problems

Reviewed on Wednesday August 23, 2006 by , Calgary Canada
i only had that phone for a month before i returned it. The phone clipped almost every call ever made, and if it didnt cut out then the reception was so bad i could hardly understand what the person was saying due to static. Another problem was the battery life. i left it charging over night(8hours) and in the morning it only had one bar charged. needless to say it died within a couple hours. finally my last complaint would be the volume. i had the phone at its max volume and when its in my purse you couldnt even hear it, even when theres no background noise.
4 Stars out of 5

I LuV this phone!

Reviewed on Friday August 18, 2006 by , Manitoba Canada
This is a very popular phone at my high school and the clipping out i hear everyone talking about that is sooo bad.... I've heard the same kind of disturbance from those new Razr phones. Sorry, don't want to bash anyone's opinions, but I love this phone and even though it doesn't have a camera on it... this is a keeper! I love my phone!!
2 Stars out of 5

reception clipping out

Reviewed on Wednesday December 21, 2005 by , Toronto Cananda
I have had this phone about a week and have already brought it back to Wireless Wave. Every call I get the person's voice getts clipped. It seems as if the phone is trying to remove background noise because when no one talks it's as if the phone hung up. So, as the person speaks it clips out their voice especially in the begining and end of the word. I can hear clicking when it does this too. It's very annoying! I'm not too picky. The guy at WirelessWave said that they would swap it out as long as I have under 399 minutes, which I do. I'm thinking of the LG phone instead.

Just to let you know my experience
5 Stars out of 5

Best of class for RECEPTION!!

Reviewed on Friday November 11, 2005 by , Vancouver, BC
I have overviewed all the Bell phones extensively, and have found that the a860 really does the best for reception, in general. With the factors that affect reception, such as topography, traffic, set aside, this phone's performace is top notch. With 1.9GHz channel, distance from cell sites is never an issue. I travel extensively thru Surrey, B.C., where serivce is known to be weak, but this phone never fails to please! Clearly, in comparison to other models at the same pricing range (curr. approx. $200), this is the winner. It skips on the camera, but makes up for it in reception quality. Again, personal usage factors can affect signal strength, like how you hold the phone, battery level, etc., but on a per-case rating, this really is the best for reception. If you want to spend more, however, the Motorola e815 is slightly better. Again, all of this is very personal, so test out a friend's line if you can, so you can actually experience the excellence of the a860!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday October 16, 2005 by , toronto, ontario, canada
Horrible reception almost everywhere. Caller's voices cut out on every call even if the caller is on a land line. My brother works for Samsung and he says they have been swamped with complaints about this phone but its apparently a design flaw and can't be fixed with a software update so anyone who has one is out of luck.
5 Stars out of 5

I Like It!!

Reviewed on Friday October 14, 2005 by , Nova Scotia
I got my 860 about two weeks ago, I live in an area where coverage is iffy at best, but I find this phone is excellent. I have never had a problem with it, I find it is better than my Nokia I had a while ago. I understand everyone is entitled to their own opinion and I don't want to seem as if I am bashing anyone's opinions, but no matter what anyone says, I love my phone!!
1 Star out of 5

Very Bad reception

Reviewed on Saturday September 17, 2005 by , saskatoon,sk
I just got this phone two days ago and i am not impressed. Shure it looks and and has many cool features but the reception sucks. THe reception keeps cutting in making it hard to follow another persons conversation. I have owned a nokia and a kyocera cell phone and this phone does not even compare. For the price there are many other better phones out there.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday August 13, 2005 by , saguenay
je trouve que ceux qui me reçoive, m'entende bien mais pour ce qui est de la reception (entendre)ça sembe couper assez souvent, pour ce qui est de la reception dans le bon sens du mot, le signal baisse assez vite sur son icon

Mais cela ne fait pas longtemps que je l'ai je vais surement essayé de comparer avec d'autre