Samsung a920 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung a920 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 16 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

I had to chime in. I loved this phone.

Reviewed on Saturday November 12, 2011 by , Vancouver, Canada
I saw the reviews in a search while waxing nostalgic for my old A920. It was a device that handled my construction working friends lifestyles while playing movies, web video and audio. It lived through bumps and dunks. It worked with Bluetooth. In it's day (2007-8) it was an amazing phone. Today it is a relic of the past. I'd still recommend this phone for a kid if they weren't already in love with iPhone or Android in 2011 and of course other countries around the world can still use the A920.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 11, 2008 by , Brockville
This phone sucks i would not get it...if you live close to the states or another tower that in not in canada then you will get charged for roaming you cannot turn it off... you set it to home only and if automatically switches back roaming...Do not get this phone!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Great had for 2 years

Reviewed on Wednesday September 10, 2008 by , Canada
A lot of people here complainging about this phone, I had Bell Canada service, never dropped a call great sound and everyone says they cant transfer their mp3's and pics to their pc and visa versa, well the phone comes with a microsd card and if you have a desktop pc you can just plug it straight in and transfer away. I bought a 4gB micro sd card for mine was awesome!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday March 24, 2008 by , Tillsonburg
I have had this phone for over a year and i have been thoroughly impressed by it. It almost always has good reception, good volume levels, great vibrant colours, easily able to hear others on the other end, etc. The only downside is that you are unable to download mp3's through the usb cable given, and the camera is very slow to take pictures so many pictures tend to be blurred unless the camera and object are completely still for 5 seconds. Other than that the phone is great and dependable and long lasting. The battery lasts over 3 days on power save mode with moderate usage, and even if its been on all night.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 21, 2008 by , mtl

J aimerais savoir avec quel logiciel je peux transferer mes donner sur mon ordinateur avec le cable usb inclu avec le cellulaire, j ai communiquer avec le service bell qui mon vendu le cellulaire et il ne peuvent meme pas me repondre alors j espere que vous pouvez merci!
3 Stars out of 5

Sonorité de boîte de conserve

Reviewed on Sunday January 28, 2007 by , Boucherville
Si au niveau de la réception et autres caractéristiques je n'ai rien à lui reprocher, la qualité du son vocal laisse grandement à désirer.

Il y a un manque évident au niveau de la clarté de la voix de la réception, on se croirait avec les appareils téléphoniques de très bas niveau de qualité.

J'ai même retourné l'appareil pour réparation - il a été un peu amélioré mais pas de façon satisfaisante.

À quoi servent tous les autres fonctionnalités si la fonctionnalité de base n'est pas adéquate.

Je l'ai acheté en août dernier - donc au gros prix et je comprends pourquoi son prix d'achat à si rapidement diminué - dans d'autres produits quand il y a des manquements, il y a des rappels. Pourquoi pas sur les téléphones portables également.
1 Star out of 5

Integrity vs Quality

Reviewed on Wednesday January 24, 2007 by , Parry Sound, Ontario
After expressing my displeasure with the quality of our service area, I was promised that if I upgraded from my two year old Samsung phone to the new A920, my reception would definately improve. Not only was this false, but the A920 is worse than the phone it replaced. It came with no software, is difficult to hear callers on, and has terrible reception. Up here in the North, we pay the same rates for our service plans as subscribers in any major center. Our service is absolutely terrible. I live less than one mile from the Bell Mobility cellular tower and cannot get two bars in my front yard. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
1 Star out of 5

No Volume & No Data Transfer

Reviewed on Friday November 3, 2006 by , Sask.
I have this for now and wish I didn't, its got no volume in ear piece and handsfree kit, which is also samsung. Can't transfer jack all to it but mp3's and pics. No data transfer unless you phone NASA engineers and get the correct software version and then find out that Sasktel is such a little customer they havent decided whether to make software for its access via the USB cord. All in all it will be better when Verizon comes north of the 49th and we can use the infastructure and have alot more phone for less.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday September 3, 2006 by , Edmonton
Yes, I hate this phone!
Here's my story, when I first saw on the ad, I thought, woo! TV, thats not too bad.

I sign up with 3 year contact, I used for 2 weeks, I hate it.
- TV steaming is very expersive, 5 minutes of watching tv with out signing up a plan will COST YOU over hundreds dollars. I pay 200 dollar for the first month, thats almost e the actual cost of the phone!
- If you like hacking your phone, FORGOT about it! This phone is not for hacker, is for beginners. Everything, EVERYTHING is blocked. You can not access your phone on your computer just to transfer photos or mp3.
- They say is a MP3 phone, but it doesnt mean is easy to play mp3 ringtones, I have to goto one site on the phone download the mp3 "ringtones" on my phone. Which takes around 5 minutes per ringtones to load on my phone.
- So far this is all I can write, because I used the 2 weeks, and I sell it on eBay, cause I could bare the phone anymore, now I am stuck with a 3 year contract and a nokia 2115i (which at least allows me to change my midi ringtones ON COMPUTER)
5 Stars out of 5

A great, full-featured phone

Reviewed on Friday July 14, 2006 by , Calgary, Alberta
I've been a Samsung fan for a while now, and with the exception of the a660, they have all been great. The Samsung a920 is no exception. Although it is a great phone, it isn't perfect. Here's my review.

The Samsung a920 has been build to take advantage of the new EVDO network (which right now is only available in major centres). Streaming video, the music store, and wireless web all work very fast on this network. The a920 still works well outside of the EVDO centres as a 1x phone. I've also been able to download a driver from (the american provider of this phone), and have connected it to my laptop for wireless high speed internet via the USB cable that's provided. However, this is costly, and it is reccommended that you buy into a data plan to avoid paying 'per use' charges (for packet data).

Since I've "cut the cord" and use my mobile as my only phone, call quality and reception are of the utmost importance. The samsung a920 has EXCELLENT call quality. When I'm using it, it is on par with a land line, and when I ask how I sound on the other end, people say its as good as a land line. The speaker phone (as well as the headset that is provided in the box) are also excellent. It is a full duplex speaker phone so there's no cutting in or out or chopped voice.

If you're like me, and like to use the features of this phone to their fullest, than I reccommend subscribing to a FuelMe Bundle (Bell Mobility subscribers only). These bundles allow for unlimited mobile browser, TV, text/picture messaging and much more. Otherwise, the pay-per-use charges could begin to be outrageous. If you're not into the bells and whistles, this is a great phone, with great reception and call quality.

-voice dialing is efficent and works great
-great display (both inside and out. It is bright and colour rich.
-2 stereo speakers make speaker phone calls, ringers, and MP3's all sound great
-great feel and layout to the keypad (excellent for text messaging.
-ringers are nice and loud - you can also turn on the vibrate function at any level of audio ringer.
-many ways to customize your phone (ringers, wallpapers, screen savers, menu styles, menu backgrounds) can even shoot a video and have that play as your screen saver.
-video functions (Streaming Video, web browsing, etc) work well).
-camera quality at 1.3M is pretty good, better than previous phones and it even has a flash! If you're going to take alot of photos, I reccommend sigining up for picture messaging, as you're internal memory will fill up quite quickly. With Picture Messaging you can immediately upload the photo to you Picture Messaging account for storage (easily retrievable).
-Text message has improved becuase you have the option to sending to someone in your recent list. This avoids typing in their number all the time or searching through your phone book.

Although this phone is great, there are some imperfections...
-you can't transfer MP3's to your phone via the USB cable. You actually have to take out the transflash card, put it in an adapter, and then place that new card into the card reader in your computer (or some secondary adapter)
-the 32MB card can only hold a few songs. They say it can hold up to 10, I've found it can hold 5 or 6.
-the embedded ringers could be better (but that is the case with samsung in general).
-I wish it were about 20% smaller/thinner.
-battery life is not the great is you're using the TV or MP3 player. (May only last a day or two with moderate to heavy usage). However, if you're only using it to make the occasional call, the battery is fine.
5 Stars out of 5

*Thanx* ;)

Reviewed on Monday July 3, 2006 by , Regina Sk
I don't have much to say accept thanx to David from alberta ;).. i was just browsing better pictures of that phone i was about to purchase and after i read your review i asked more questions about it and realized it wasn't for me.. i bought the motorola:P.!!
2 Stars out of 5

Not a great phone..

Reviewed on Sunday June 25, 2006 by , Edmonton, AB
I've used this phone for a couple of months now, and the longer I use it the less satisfied I am with it.I wish I had done some research before going phone shopping instead of listening to the Bell sales guy, but, cest la vie I suppose.

Ok, good things first:

1: Big beautiful display.
Seriously, it looks great. The screen is very large and the colors are very vibrant and sharp.

2: Very User Friendly Interface.
However, I have found that this is very standard on Samsung phones, so this should come as no surprise.

3: Speakerphone very clear.
The huge speakers probably have something to do with that.

4: Voice Commands Don't Suck.
I use voice commands on this phone constantly, and unless I am very drunk it's always done what I told it to.

5: Expandable Memory.
If you are thinking of buying an MP3 playing phone that does not have expandable memory, you should probably buy an iPod instead. Another unexpected bonus of the card is you can import images of your choosing for wallpapers and such right onto the transflash card with the provided adpater and a card reader. Also makes it exteremly easy to move pictures from the camera to your PC, provided you tell the phone to save the pictures onto the card in the first place.

Now, the things that tick me off:

1: 99% of Downloaded Polyphonic Ringtones Simply Don't Play.
Considering how much Bell charges for data transfer if you don't have a download plan, the damn things better well work. This is a known issue, don't let the Bell sales guys tell you anything different. Which brings me to point number 2.

2: Cannot Play MP3s As Ringtones.
I only asked for one thing when buying this phone. When asked if this phone played MP3s as ringtones, i got an enthusiastic yes. I guess he must have seen me coming. It does no such thing, and when you pair that with the fact that it won't play most of the downloaded ringtones either, you are basically stuck with the 20 or so presets. Yuck.

3: No Open Source Whatsoever.
If you LOVE to hack your phone, don't buy this one. Every point of access has been completely locked out. When I saw that the phone came with a USB adapter I thought "this is going to be all too easy". Quite the opposite! You've been warned.. Far as I can tell the USB adapter is used primarily for Pictbridge.

4: Media player Sounds Kinda Crap.
Ok, bear in mind that I'm very VERY picky about audio quality, so you might not notice what I'm talking about. I find the music playback is very tinny and has no bass whatsoever. I dunno, if you are going to market a product as "the ultimate multimedia cell phone", you should PROBABLY try and make the audio sounds less like it is coming from a tin can.

5: Call Audio Quality Is lacking Also.
Hard to understand what anyone is saying on the other end of the phone, find myself asking people who I am talking to to repeat themselves a lot, even with the volume maxed.

Overall, very gimmicky phone. Easy to impress your pals with, but lacking for day to day use. If not for the ability to set wallpapers from images you import onto the memory card (mine right now is Astroboy :P), impossible to customize.
1 Star out of 5

soutient technic nul

Reviewed on Saturday March 18, 2006 by , Québec
Pour ce qui est du soutient technique de samsung et meme bell et bien bonne chance ......... c est nul
j ai jamais été capable de faire fonctionner le lecteur MP3 il me branche automatiquement sur internet et meme la compagnie Samsung qui fabrique ce produit n ont pas les réponses nécessaires
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday March 13, 2006 by , Toronto
Can anyone tell me what color the keypad backlight is? Is it Blue or another color?

5 Stars out of 5

Samsung does it again.

Reviewed on Wednesday March 8, 2006 by , Toronto,Ont
This is the best phone I have ever used.
build quality
camera,video,mp3,the list goes on and on

believe it or not NONE.
please note I have had this phone now for 3 months.
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung A920 - 2 month experience

Reviewed on Thursday February 9, 2006 by , BC
I've had the samsung A920 for 2 months now and I can pretty much judge a phone in that time, considering how much I use cell phones. I travel across Canada alot have used this phone in BC, Alberta and Saskatchewan already. I am really impressed with this phone.

Here are the good and bad points:

1 - Graphics and colours are amazing. Many options to setting up your screensaver and menu screens to your liking.

2 - MP3 player sounds good with or without headphones. Speakers work well. Easy access to Bell Groove store to download full tracks directly to MP3 player and/or download your music from PC to transflash card to put in phone

3 - Internal screen has a decent size screen to view.

4 - Battery appears to hold a pretty good charge. Just make sure you fully discharge battery and fully charge it up a couple of times when you first get it.

5 - TV looks good, considering it is a phone.

6 - Menus are user friendly.

7 - For what you get with the phone, it's pretty reasonably priced. $99 on a 3 year plan with Bell.

8 - Camcorder and Camera seem to work just fine. I don't really use it too much but when I have, it's been good.


1 - The reception doesn't seem to be as good as some of my other phones I've had with Bell. I've had a few more dropped calls than usual from areas I usually use my phone, especially indoors. Didn't have that problem with other Bell phones

2 - Phone only comes with 32 MB transflash card. With Rogers, their MP3 phones come with 512 MB cards, which is pretty much the maximum size card currently available.

In general, I would rate this 4.5 stars out of 5 and I'm not an easy person to please when it comes to cell phones. Unlike Rogers and Telus, you pretty much get what you pay for in this phone. I've been both a Rogers and Telus client and I am so glad I decided to switch to Bell. Nicer phones and better plans.