Samsung Cleo Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Cleo has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 77 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday July 24, 2014 by , California
I bought this phone when I was in seventh grade and six years later it still works great. It isn't the most high tech phone, but for texting and calling it works perfectly. The charge still lasts for days which is great for how frequently I lose the charger, and it has never failed in anyway like others sometimes do (like random freezes or deletions of information). Half a decade later I am still finding cool new things here and there it can do and hope to keep it for as long as possible. I've also dropped it tons of times (once out a second story window) and it still works perfectly. Best phone I've ever encountered.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday July 23, 2011 by , Timmins ON
DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE. I had to pay full price for this phone in April 2009 because I was not far enough along in my contract and my old phone had broken. Within 10 days it started acting up: shutting itself off and on, txt messages not going thorough, calls not going through, phone would call number but when the person picked up there was no sound they couldn't hear me I couldn't hear them, a days worth of messages coming in at midnight, when you would answer a call the phone woudl shut itself off, the volume not staying set to vibrate, etc. I contacted my local Bell Mobility dealer (who sold me the phone) and they would not replace it, only send it out for a software upgrade. So after being sent off for a week for an "upgrade" it came back and within 2 weeks (14 days!) started acting up again. CALLED Bell Mobility and was told it wasn't a problem with their service it was a problem with the phone and the only thing they could do was send it off for another "upgrade". They DID NOT tell me about the 1 year manufacturer warranty through Samsung, they REFUSED to replace the phone with a new one, they did not offer to send it to Samsung for me to have them fix it under warranty. THEY DID NOTHING. Was told by the local dealer that they only thing they can and will do for me was continue to send it out for "upgrades", even though he personally told me they have had many complaints about this model. Bell and Samsung should be ashamed to sell such a piece of crap!!!
3 Stars out of 5

Camera Zoom

Reviewed on Saturday June 4, 2011 by , Ontario
I have the Samsung Cleo, and I don't know how the Zoom works on the camera. I have tried the navigation keys & they do nothing. I also don't know how to change the lighting for darker or lighter pictures.
As a phone, I like it. Took a while to get used to the size. I also can't get rid of the games that were installed on it. They are useless. I downloaded one new game. If I download 4 more, do they get rid of the old ones? The alarm works great. Use it a lot.
1 Star out of 5

Never again

Reviewed on Sunday May 1, 2011 by , Canada
Not even two years into a 3-year contract on this phone and it will not hold a charge for more than a few hours. This phone is now good only for emergency use in the car. Never again, Samsung.
1 Star out of 5

Crappy phone

Reviewed on Friday April 29, 2011 by , Moncton NB
I bought this phone April/2009. I don't use it much, just the odd time I'm on the road. It worked great until recently. I went to get into my contacts and it shut down on me and rebooted. Same problem as lots of owners of this phone. I brought it back to Bell and the warranty is over. They wanted me to pay to have it serviced. I feel I should not be paying for something I have never abused !!! I called Samsung and got the same response, have it serviced. I don't feel it really should be serviced after having owned it for only 2 years with very little use.

To the idiot who posted that you need to update firmware. Ummm mine is updated as I'm sure many others have done the same. There have not been any updates for this phone since I purchased it ! Had nothing to do with firmware, it's the cheap parts they are using to make their product. I WILL NEVER EVER WASTE MY MONEY ON A SAMSUNG PRODUCT. YOU CAN BET ON IT. I still have a year left on my Bell contract. When it's done.. good bye Bell, good bye Samsung
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday March 22, 2011 by , Ontario
I am with Solo Mobile and mine wont even turn on anymore. It's a crappy phone!!
2 Stars out of 5

Restart Cellphone When Presss Contact List

Reviewed on Sunday March 20, 2011 by , Toronto
It sucks , the phone restart when I press on Contact or Phonebook. Never buy it.
1 Star out of 5

This is a TERRIBLE phone!

Reviewed on Wednesday March 16, 2011 by , Markham
I loved this phone for the first few months and then the problems started. I've had the phone sent in for repair and now it's doing the same thing again. It just shuts down and restarts all the time. I can't check my missed calls, write text messages, or even answer calls without it shutting down. Bell is not willing to do anything about it even though they know that this phone has a history of the same problem. It's a crappy phone and I will never buy a samsung again. Too bad because it's pretty cute and has a QWERTY keyboard.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday January 12, 2011 by , Halifax, NS
I've had this phone for a year and a half and the batter doesn't last a day anymore. I don't use apps - I'm not s Smartphone girl but I like a Qwerty. The keyboard randomly inserts symbols instead of letters and vice-versa and if I touch the volume button at all the stupid thing restarts itself. Don't buy this phone. It's the glitchiest thing I've ever owned!!
1 Star out of 5

Too many tech problems

Reviewed on Sunday October 31, 2010 by , Hamilton
I don't know what to say, other then that this phone is a complete piece of crap. It keeps restarting after pressing the directional pad, and forget about putting the power save option on, because if you do the phone will never turn's been 7 days since my phone last turned on..All i get to see from this phone is a neverending loading bar...I ended up throwing this phone against a brick wall when I decided to change companys to a LG which has been phenomenal.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday August 11, 2010 by , Hamilton
Well people say that it randomly turns off,I have read so many reviews saying it is a piece of cra.p but it is not. That is only because you get it from bell,Solo mobile is the right choice!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday May 2, 2010 by , on tairio
i have mot got it yet but judging by the reviews i can't wait to get yah wooooooow
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday April 4, 2010 by , Toronto, ON
I think the Samsung Cleo is by far the nicest phone I've ever used! It works great, i love the keyboard, its easy to change settings,the camera works well (the quality of the pictures aren't great) i just love the design to! The only thing that bothered me is that if you want to put music onto it you need to buy a memory card (costs about $10) if your looking to buy a phone this is the one to get!! :D
4 Stars out of 5

Love It!

Reviewed on Wednesday March 17, 2010 by , Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
I have had this phone since December of 2008. I have never had any problem with it.
3 Stars out of 5

.. Ehhh

Reviewed on Sunday March 7, 2010 by , barriere
I have had this phone for almost a year now.. I have to say it only just started to act up! but its sh** now.. it always restarts like whenever it feels like it. ive droped it maybe a few too times and ive kicked it across the floor but that seemed to help sometimes
5 Stars out of 5

This one is One in a Million!

Reviewed on Wednesday January 20, 2010 by , Canada
I have been reading about all the troubles some people have been having about this phone, but I have never had a problem with the phone at all. Although my phone has been dropped numerous times, kicked, stepped on, stolen (which was later discovered on a roof made of tar 4 days after and through 2 heavy rainstorms in the middle of summer), dropped in puddles, basically beaten battered and bruised, it still works. There is no memory problems, no restarts, nothing. Either my phone is one in a million or you guys should kick the crap outta it to show it who's boss ;-)
I would recommend it to anyone.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday January 11, 2010 by , chicago
This phone is pathetic. I've had it for 9 months and during that time its gone for repairs 3 times and each time it takes 6 weeks to go to the manufacturers. At first it kept restarting when I would try to text my friends and then once that was fixed it would restart everytime i tried to access music on the sd card. Overall this is a horrible phone, with a lot of problems and bell does not help.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 9, 2010 by , Bowmanville, Ontario
I have had this phone for almost a year (feb 27 2009). I loved it at first, cause it is pink, which is my favourite colour and it is small. But today I bought a micro sd card. I uploaded pictures from my computer onto it and it worked fine on my phone, then i uploaded some songs onto it. This is where my problem began. After uploading the songs, i listened to the first one. I went to skip to the next song and it was fine. I decided i was going to change the design of the music player displayed in the background. After i did that, i went to play my music again and it just shut off and restarted itself. So i tried again and again and again and it kept doing the same thing. The pictures worked fine but the music would still make the phone restart. I now officially hate my phone and want to throw it against a wall. This is ridiculous. Im not even going to rate this phone.
4 Stars out of 5

Cumsie Cumsa

Reviewed on Monday January 4, 2010 by , Nova Scotia
Ive had the phone for almost a 14 months, At first it was AWESOME! I loved it, Some reasons because I had service were ever I was at, two I had Great Texting features and It Held ALOT Of pictures almost 400. But then about 5 months in I was getting text backs which I hated, and when I tryed to go on The internet It was so slow. Also so about 2 months ago my Internet and picture messaging stopped working, I was confused because This phone was so good. Over all Its a great phone Ive only ever dropped it a few times because its size, it fits in your pocket or purse great, and its not small enough so that you can find it! If your looking for a good reliable phone this is it.
1 Star out of 5

AWFUL Phone, Terrible Service from Both Bell and Samsung

Reviewed on Thursday December 31, 2009 by , Madoc Ontario
I have had my phone in for repairs 4 times for the same issues as everyone else. Phone resetting itself.. As well, the phone will not connect to my bluetooth car, a feature it was guarenteed to have. I was promised that after my fourth repair (each time the problem was NEVER solved) that I would ge a replacement phone - NOT. I recieved terrible service from both representatives on the phone and in the store with bell as well as frong samsung. I am very angry. Additionally I have tried to contact Bell exectuative office regarding my difficulties who promised to call me back within 3 business days - that was 21 days ago.
Please noone buy this phone - its awful and even though some do work fine, it's not worth the risk at all.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday December 15, 2009 by , Ontario
i have had this phone for 7 months now and for the past 2 months it has been restarting itself frequently. Any missed calls, going to check missed alerts, recieving more then one text message within a minute, sending multiple texts or simply pressing the talk button a certain times will make the phone shut off then turn back on again, unless it is charging then it simply shuts off and stays off! I would not advice anyone to buy this phone!!!! I spent an hour on the phone with tech support and they could only tell me that my version number for my phone was incorrect and needed to be update which the phone would of course not let me do!Even the tech support guy told me that it was weird and advised me to get a new phone....apparently this is a very frequent issue with this phone!
3 Stars out of 5

Changed my mind

Reviewed on Thursday November 26, 2009 by , Canada
Okay so the fix was're welcome to try the reset, but with my phone, it did not make a difference with regard to using the bluetooth in my car.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 24, 2009 by , Canada
I've had my Cleo for a week now. Been reading all your reviews, and I was experiencing many of the same problems. After speaking to my cell phone provider 5 times, all the problems are solved.

1) Update the firmware.
-to check if oyu need an update click settings, version, and the second item should be a bunch of letters and numbers. The most recent firmware is CD10
-To update go to tools, update phone, and update firmware
-Update until you see CD10 (you may have to do it 2 or 3 times)
2)Reset your phone
-updating on the phone is like having a software update on the computer. It will not register unless the system is reset. SIMPLY SHUTTING THE PHONE OFF AND ON WILL NOT SUFFICE
-this will restore the phone back to it's default settings, so I suggest typing all your contacts out so you don't lose any numbers if you don't have your whole contact book memorized
a) click settings
b) click more
c)click security (my code was the last four digits of my number, check with your cell phone provider what your code is)
d)click erase
e)click reset phone
3)After your phone has been reset, put your contacts back in, adjust your settings accordingly and all problems should be rectified.

Hope this helps.

I do have one question: How do I save music files to a mini sd card from my Mac laptop?
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 24, 2009 by , Canada
I have had the cleo now for about a year, the first day i had the phone it started to malfunction. I would get some calls and it would not ring only vibrate and when i would go to answer the phone it was a complete silence on both ends of the conversation. i went in the next day of coarse i got a new phone a week later i had the same problem but bell would not replace it. in the past 10 months, my back button restarts my text, i can not text more than one person at once, my ringer dont always work, calls shut off my phone, and now all of a sudden today if i go into messaging then texts to read a text i have recieved once i hit the middle button it restarts it, so i have to go ito my missed alerts and view it that way, but then when i try to reply it will let me type the text but as soon as i hit send it restarts my phone once again. I know that when i go to bell this evening they are going to tell me it is not there problem, but i think there should be something done about this phone where everyone i know who has it or had it has had major troubles.
4 Stars out of 5

Bell made a s*** phone and should replace it!

Reviewed on Tuesday November 10, 2009 by , Ontario
Loved this phone....while it worked. I have had my phone for 5 months. It will not let me text shuts off when I touch the keyboard for texting, but I can be on the internet and it works fine. I took it in...and surprise they said it is water damaged and my warranty is void. They showed me the inside of the phone where and pink spot was and said this was how they knew it was water damaged....funny they didnt show this to me when I got it to see the colour then. This phone has been discontinued now...another surprise...and bell will not replace these phones with anything else. If Bell was a decent company they would replace all of them since they KNOW that they r s***!!! I wouldn't even give it one star!
1 Star out of 5

piece of yuckyness

Reviewed on Wednesday November 4, 2009 by , Toronto Ontario
I've had this phone since December 28th of 08
it has so... many problems at first ...
when i would send a text and receive one while in the middle of texting i'd hit the "back" button and it would shut off (january)
after a while it would shut off on its own when people would call me while charging.(march)
When I would connect my bluetooth to my GPS which had a bluetooth in it.. it would shut down soon as it would connect...(may)
i would get lots of calls and wouldn't be able to see who called me all the navigation keys would shut it off (may-august)
Just getting calls would shut off my phone.

it puts your text messages out of order.
its just a very yucky phone...

apparently.. there is a glitch in the phone when it comes to messages and the back button samsung has not figured it out... but they're working on it
2 Stars out of 5

Help, Please!

Reviewed on Tuesday November 3, 2009 by , Calgary
I've had this phone for about 6 months now and have had no major problems with it until today. I turned it off and it simply will not turn on again, I've plugged it in and not even the battery charging screen is appearing. Other than this I've had a few issues with the "O" not always appearing but that's it. The phone is in good conditions and hasn't been dropped or spilled on (which is an accomplishment when you have 3 kids running around). If anyone has any suggestions please let me know!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday October 14, 2009 by , Ontario
I have had this phone for about 40 days. I tried to return it 32 days after purchasing (didn't know there was a 30 day return on it) but was told it would have to be sent away from 2-6 weeks - if I didn't need a phone for that long I wouldn't have spent $125 on one!!! Anyway, this phone has a feature that I didn't plan on - it randomly shuts off for no reason at all. Even when talking on it, it will suddenly shut off, texting, closing it causes it to turn off, just sitting there causes it to turn off. I've read so many reviews with the same "feature", obviously the phone is a piece of junk and Samsung and/or Bell (where I purchased mine) should replace it or refund the money when a customer takes it back. Do yourself a $125 favour - do not purchase this phone.
1 Star out of 5

Please, Please Please Don't Buy This Phone

Reviewed on Friday October 2, 2009 by , In a house
This phone sucks. Save yourself the headache and don't bother buying it at all.
4 Stars out of 5

Help about Kanka MSN

Reviewed on Thursday September 24, 2009 by , Quebec

I just followed this guy's review in order to make my Cleo phone like a mini-laptop and everything went very well... Until I tried to connect on Kanka MSN... Each time I try to connect, it says my Windows Live ID doesn't exist or is incorrect... That's absurd since I only had one Windows Live ID since 2001. If that nice guy could follow my review and help me, please ? I would really appreciate it.
1 Star out of 5

Do not buy this phone!

Reviewed on Thursday September 10, 2009 by , Canada
This is by far the worst phone I've ever owned, in addition to possibly the worst customer service from both the provider and the manufacturer. I've had it for five months and these are the glitches so far (I haven't damaged it at all -- not even dropped it once):

1. Every half hour or so it turns itself off and on repeatedly about five times in a row. I had to mute the phone so the startup music didn't drive me crazy.
2. It turns itself off during calls.
3. It turns itself off when I try to text more than one person.
4. It alerts me to new messages that are impossible to find...because it turns out they are from weeks prior.

The provider said they could send the most they could do was send it in for repair (while I cover a deposit for the loaner) and insisted it wasn't their problem. The manufacturer told me the same. After ping-ponging back and forth with no help, I cancelled my contract at my own expense and intend to throw the phone off the nearest cliff as soon as I get around to it. That's how much I hate this phone. If there was lower than one star, that's how I would rate it.
2 Stars out of 5

Wierd glitch

Reviewed on Sunday September 6, 2009 by , B.C
Ok so I switched from the pink menu style to the colorful menu style, soon afterwards my phone would start powering down after I tried to text or open contacts. I reset my phone and updated firmware, my phone still kept shutting itself down. Then I tried switching back to the pink menu style, not issues at all. You would think this wouldn't matter but it did. Anyone else find the same thing?
3 Stars out of 5

media player problems

Reviewed on Sunday August 23, 2009 by , toronto
so far i've had the cleo for a few months, with problems with using bluetooth. i'm not sure if i am not doing it right or if its the phone. the more immediate problem is that whenever i try and use the media player any song that i click on to play, the phone restarts...its been happening for awhile but it usually stops restarting, now it just keeps restarting
4 Stars out of 5

Cleo tips and tricks

Reviewed on Tuesday August 18, 2009 by , Vancouver BC
I purchased this phone a few months ago from Bell as part of a Pre-Paid promotion (buy $50 worth of prepaid airtime and get the Cleo for $49 - so it came to $99 plus taxes). It was definitely a good deal, but I don't know if I'd pay $175+ for it... ;-)

I am writing this review to address some points I've read from other reviewers...

The Internet browser included with the phone, like most mobile browsers, is slow, often renders web pages incorrectly (or not at all) and the font, even on the "small" setting, is way too large - not much information can fit on the screen with a font so unnecessarily huge. I grew to hate the browser so much that I switched to using Opera Mini, a downloadable J2ME (Java) web browser. It is way faster, and actually renders web pages as they would appear on your computer's browser (albeit without Flash or Java).

You can get Opera Mini free from ... but make sure you download the "SIGNED" version. Unsigned apps on J2ME phones will prompt you with an annoying nag message asking permission to access the network every time you load a web page. Also, it's a good idea to pay a little more and get your service provider's "Unlimited" data plan.

At first glance, it looks like the only way to get ringtones and screen savers and other fun stuff on your Cleo is to buy them from Bell at ridiculous prices. Not so. You can use the phone's Web browser to navigate to places like to get applications, and use the Phone Uploader at to send ringtones and other stuff to your phone without paying Bell. As long as you have the Unlimited Web Browser on your plan, this is completely free per-use.

I was very impressed by Bell and Cleo including Windows Live Messenger on the phone. With computer-like savviness, my MSN contacts were all a keypress away, complete with sounds. It seemed too good to be true, and it was: You have to pay $5.00/month just for the priviledge of signing into Windows Live, plus a per-message charge, which quickly ate away my pre-paid balance. Luckily, I found an alternative. You can use the Rumkin Phone Uploader mentioned above to send Java apps to your phone, and there are at least half a dozen different Java MSN Messenger clients for phones. The best one that works with the Cleo is KankaMSN -
Of course, it's a good idea to have the Unlimited Browser plan with this. But even if you don't, KankaMSN is the least bandwidth-intensive java MSN client out there.

A must-have for the Cleo is a micro-SD card. You can put all your MP3 music files on the card and listen to them on the otherwise-useless Music Player. And you can set the Cleo's camera to auto-save pictures to the memory card for easy (and FREE) transfer to your PC. I found the Cleo quite painful to use without a micro-SD card... lol

So now my Cleo is more like a little Laptop on the go. I love it!! Opera Mini lets me load 95% of webpages on the Web properly and quickly, and sync my bookmarks with my PC; KankaMSN keeps me in touch with my MSN contacts without paying Bell an arm and a leg per message, my phone is loaded with ringtones and screen savers that I didn't pay Bell $3 each for, and since I'm a geek, I also have IRC, SSH and VNC clients on the phone... lol
3 Stars out of 5

Symbol Problems

Reviewed on Wednesday August 5, 2009 by , Nova Scotia
I just got my cleo today.. I love it, except for the texting. I read some of the manual and it says when you want to put a symbol to just go into options and select symbol instead of abc. I have done that while sending out texts and it will only give me one set of symbols, it will not go through the other pages. Also, when I was adding friends to my phonebook, when I would try to type their email in, I wanted the @ symbol. When I got on the right symbol page and clicked the button for the @ symbol to come up, it was giving me a completely different symbol.
Does anybody have any suggestions of what to do to fix this? Any help would be really appreciated!
5 Stars out of 5

Absolutely Love It

Reviewed on Friday July 31, 2009 by , Ontario
I too fell in love with the Samsung Cleo the minute i see it is absolutely the cutest phone i have ever seen. I have had my phone for 7 months and i am still completely in love with it. My battery can last up to three days if i am not texting nonstop. if i texting a lot my battery life only last a day and a half which doesnít bother me at all because its a habit to charge it every night. There hasnít been anything that upsets me about my cute little blue Cleo. Over a month after i got it i was discovering new amazing things about this phone. my friends kept receiving text messages that said "I Love This Phone!" And i still truly do. I canít think of any phone that compares to it. The full keyboard makes for easy texting and I love the layout of the text messages. Having the text inbox appear like a messenger makes it easy to keep more than one conversation flowing without having to scroll up and down the inbox and sent box to keep you on track. Overall this phone is awesome I would recommend it to anyone!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday July 28, 2009 by , Georgia
I am having the EXACT same problem with my cleo.
I've had it for 7 months with NO problems at all... but now it restarts ALL the time. I can't check my alerts or open a text from the alert screen without it restarting. If i miss a call it restarts. Also when I'm scrolling through the menu options it regularly sends me back to my main screen for no reason. I'm taking it in tomorrow to see if they can fix this problem for me!

I really enjoyed the phone the first 7 months but now i'm starting to HATE IT!
5 Stars out of 5

Alright....A Few Problems Though.

Reviewed on Monday July 13, 2009 by , Calgary
I first saw this phone when my friend got it. I thought it was perfect for my texting habits and it was super cute. Thats until a few months later...
The phone firsted started randomly turning off when I was texting later on at night, but then proceeded to randomly turn off whenever I tried to send a text. Another problem with texting is when I tried to send a text to more than one person, the phone turned off too.
I f you think thats it, heres another problem I had with the Cleo...When I would try to go into my inbox for texting, it would just turn off. I could recieve text, but not send.
Overall, this phone may seem very cute, but it is not very good quality. My phone provider said if I sent in my Cleo, they would fix the problem with the turning off and stuff. I'll see if it really gets fixed when I get it back...
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday July 12, 2009 by , Yukon
This Is The worst phone ive ever had!! It restarts all the time and sends me my own messages? alothough i did get things to download on it.. also NOW its not charging at all this Bull Sh*t!! I hate just about everything about this phone it has cra**y service and battery life it also doesnt take videos! I lost SOoooooo Much Respect for Samsung Oh and if you want to put your music as a ring tone forget about it! you have to buy a ring tone but they dont download all the time! I give this phone negitive 8 trillion out of 10 stars i would NEVER reccomend this phone to anyone id rather reccomend eating worms!
1 Star out of 5

HAD the upgrade... still sucks

Reviewed on Tuesday June 30, 2009 by , Calgary AB
I am on my 2nd Cleo of the week. Just got it on the 24th, and returned the 1st one on the 28th. Problems with the text messaging included alerts not going off (YES I have the alerts ON) on all texts... some do, some don't. After a certain point in the day, my phone tells me that the incoming messages are from the NEXT day... a day that hasn't happened yet. It will also alert me to OLD messages that I have already opened (NOT overwritten messages... this is a separate issue). Also, the overwriting is kind of annoying to have to search for the message way down the convo to get to it. My phone will ALSO receive messages that I cannot find ANYWHERE in the convos. It will alert me to a message that someone sent, but I cannot retrieve it. To have this fixed, the Bell rep I saw ran a firmware upgrade on it but it STILL has all these problems.

All in all, I would NOT recommend this phone to people. It is NOT worth the $300 I paid for it.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 26, 2009 by , Ontario
I got my Samsung Cleo in February 2009 and I was completely satisfied with it. Although a few minor things bothered me like the fact that the phone didnít have video recording. Since then things have started to go wrong with the phone.
1. I canít check my missed alerts and whenever I try to the phone restarts.
2. The phone restarts randomly when Iím in the middle of texting or calling someone, and when people call me and I miss it; my phone shuts off on its own.
3. I canít check my ďall callsĒ feature of the phone, or it restarts.
4. I canít turn my volume past 7 or else my phone will restart.
5. I canít click the back button or the phone restarts.

Doing the Firmware updates doesnít affect my phone either. Overall I am completely unsatisfied with this phone and I am stuck with it for another 3 years.
1 Star out of 5

cleo is the worst phone I've ever had

Reviewed on Friday June 26, 2009 by , vancouver, bc
I thought this phone was cute and loved the fact that it came in blue and had a full qwerty keyboard. I had nothing but problems with it and could not download anything. Bell had no idea what the problem was and even after updating the firmware, no luck. They racked up my browser usage and I have to pay for several purchases while they tried to get it working, we will see if they credit me back when my bill comes. Bell sent the problem to their next level and I am not going to wait forever. I did some research and there are hardware issues with the Cleo that stem from Samsung....the downloads, turning itself off, etc and there is no fix in the forseable future. The service/antenna was also crappy....I barely got a signal in my house while all of my other phones were just fine. I ended up taking it back and trading it in for an LG Reveal which I love. Of course the store told me when I brought it back, not when I bought it, that they were having nothing but problems with the Cleo's and had a lot of unhappy customers. I have had several LG phones with no problems and will not choose a Samsung again.I don't reccomend wasting your time and money on this phone.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday June 25, 2009 by , BC
Maybe it's just me, but people need to learn that you have to actually keep up with the firmware updates from the manufacturer. It is no different then updates and upgrades that come out for any other technology. This phone works fine as soon as you do the firmware upgrade for it. As for the battery life, if you run it is power saver mode, the phone will last up to 3 days.

Take care to pay attention to the updates that come down!! Don't slam a product until you do all that you need to do as an owner to take care of it.
1 Star out of 5

ripped off

Reviewed on Tuesday June 9, 2009 by , hamilton
this cell is garbage n i feel sooo ripped off of my hard earned money, cant use the net as it does'nt work properly as i have read most of the complaints of this garbage cell i to am not alone now n have the same prob's issues, i also sent cell in to be repaired for it to come back with same issues, i demanded my money back or to haver brand cell with solo n was told no sry for my luck, i purchased this cell Jan 27th 09 n will never get another samsung product again n will prob get rid of my solo accounts as well .... gd luck ppl with ur garbage phone n if theres any one else that is lookin .... stay clear from the cleo.... treated like s*** soon to be excoustomer unless i get my money back ..... mad mom
5 Stars out of 5

cool phone

Reviewed on Sunday May 24, 2009 by , Welland , Ontario
When I used it to text my friend the phone was awsome because: the size was perfect,how the display/layout to me was perfect.!!!!The bottom line that it was AWSOME!!!!!! I LOVED IT!!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday May 23, 2009 by , Toronto, Ontario
When I first saw the phone... I thought it was the cutest thing I had ever seen. Nothing else like it on the market. I'm a big texter, and I refuse to go Blackberry. So I immediately bought it. I am TOTALLY dissappointed with it. I have had many Samsung phones over the years, loving everything about them, especially their durability and dependability, thats why I was so happy when I found out it was Samsung, I thought it would be just as awesome. But with the Cleo, from day one, I have had nothing but problems with it. The biggest one? The battery life is completely LAUGHABLE, a charge lasts you a day AT THE MOST(and I am NOT exaggerating) You have to charge that phone at least once a day. I already sent it out for repair, and they told me that that is "just the life of the battery". The dates on the text messages are wrong all the time, sometimes I dont even recieve any messages. The Bluetooth is strictly for a headset and nothing else. (Including data) So if you have any rintones or anything on another phone that u wanna Bluetooth to ur Cleo.... FORGET IT! I am actually in the process of getting rid of the phone. I lost a TON of respect for Samsung since owning this phone, and I will most likely never buy another Samsung phone ever.
5 Stars out of 5

for mp3ss

Reviewed on Monday May 18, 2009 by , canada
to get mp3s you need to buy a mini sd card, load it up on your computer then put the mini in your phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Samsung Cleo

Reviewed on Friday May 1, 2009 by , Bobcaygeon
I have the random restarts aswell, usually on texts and internet..kinda do you block calls on this phone?
2 Stars out of 5

random restarts

Reviewed on Wednesday April 29, 2009 by , edmonton
the cleo is really unique and everything about it is awesome except for the random restarts. ive had mine for 5 months and it restarts probably about 5-10 times a day, and i use my phone a lot so when im in the middle of texting someone or about to phone someone or use the internet or really just anything having to deal with texts and calls (which is the primary function of a phone)... its a little annoying. not to mention i cant check my missed calls because it will restart if i try to check my alerts. it also restarts when i hit the back button and other random combinations of buttons. so far, not impressed. it seems theyre making phones worse and worse these days so that consumers will have to buy mobile phones more often. its working.
4 Stars out of 5

Hope this helps :)

Reviewed on Sunday March 29, 2009 by , Nova Scotia
"Great phone, best one I've ever had...user friendly, awesome for texting..I would recommend this phone to anyone. I'm just having one problem, how do I clear the message recipient list?"

I dont think you can. I've tried multiple times. But this might work (my phone needs to be charged & doesnt have minutes so its resting upstairs (: ) Delete all your text messages from that person. Im not sure if that will work.
But i've tried to figure that out too and no luck.Its not a huge issue for me just something i noticed awhile back.
I dont mind it much though.
I have to say im in love with my phone:) Alot of people i know have this phone too and they have 0 problems with it .
But alot of people have problems with there Rumors.
I would recommend this phone over a Rumor any day .
4 Stars out of 5

Its pretty good.

Reviewed on Sunday March 29, 2009 by , Nova Scotia
I got my phone about four months ago. Its not a bad phone really. Its my first phone so its great for that. Its pretty durable. I dropped it down a flight of stairs while texting so the screen was open but it only got one non-noticible scratch. But I do also have some compliants .
1. When its like 11 at night and somebody sends a text message to me it comes in as the next day , but when i send one back it comes as today .
2. Sometimes when im low on minutes or battery when i get a text message it comes up as the last one i sent. It gets kinda annoying espically in class.

But other then that its a pretty good phone. Those problems only accure once in awhile so I still love my phone :)
4 Stars out of 5

love my Cleo

Reviewed on Sunday March 22, 2009 by , Durham
I can now text easily and love the features...having a hard time getting new ringtones to work but overall it is a great phone.
4 Stars out of 5

great, but 1 problem...

Reviewed on Thursday March 12, 2009 by , london, canada?
ok, so i got my pink samsung cleo for christmas, and my twin sister got the blue one, we both got the same bundle thing with unlimeted txting and internet with a whole bunch of other c**p....and we loved the internet.well after about a week, we were having problems with the would eithter:
restart my phone
say "unsufficient memory"
freeze up

and it sux, my sister went in to get a new phone, then her internet worked fine, untill about a week later
so i thing this is with all cleos or something...
i love it though
eccept for the internet...

also i want to know how to get music onto my SD card from my computer,
anybody want to help?
if so...thanx
3 Stars out of 5

Power Down

Reviewed on Wednesday March 11, 2009 by , Brampton
Okay the overall look of this phone and everything is great. I mean its good design and all.

I' m just having some software issues. I got mine in the end of November and this is the second time I'm having issues with the whole power down thing. It has been sent out to fix and it came back and worked fine for the first two weeks and then the same problems started happening again. For one, any type of alert I get that I miss I can't check because it restarts all the time. Even if I'm in a call and miss a call it restarts. When using the media player it restarts. I can't go through my call history and go near a missed call without it restarting. It's just software problems and frankly I'm beginning to get annoyed. I tried to overlook these issues and still use the phone but its getting difficult. I have approx. 15 missed alerts that I cannot check. This phone has been malfunctioning for 90% of the time that I've had it.
4 Stars out of 5

personal ringtones?

Reviewed on Monday March 9, 2009 by , Canada
hehe, i LOVE this phone. . But i was wondering, if you have music on your musicplayer,can you get it as your ringtone? Because personally i find the ringtones boring. and i have all this music on it and i want them as my ringtone.. Help ? :)
3 Stars out of 5

It's Okay..

Reviewed on Wednesday March 4, 2009 by , Ontario
It's an awesome phone for texting, and I love the look of it. However, some complaints, from least to most annoying.

1. Sometimes when you are typing, it will randomly pick the symbol or number attached to that key instead of the letter.

2. Usually when I recieve a text, and press the back button, the phone will randomly restart.

3. If someone sends me a text, for example, a smiley face, and later on in our conversation they send the same thing, I get the new message notification, but then it's just basically a clone of the last message I sent, and I have to scroll through the message history to find the message, as it 'saves' it with the first time they sent said message.
3 Stars out of 5

Power Problems with Multiple Recipients

Reviewed on Monday February 23, 2009 by , Alberta
We have had this phone for only 2 months and already it seems there is a problem with the upper left button. We do not have Web so it only gets used when sending text. Up until a week ago it was working fine. Now, whenever you want to send a text message to multiple recipients, the phone reboots upon pressing the send button. The message does not go out. I see that Sandra also has the same problem but with the Web instead. i.e. depending on your function it is the same key on the phone that is having this problem. Sandra, if you read this - please e-mail to discuss.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday February 21, 2009 by , atwood
i think this is a really good phone, for a young teen for the fist phone! i washed this phone and it is still working!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday February 19, 2009 by , valleyview.
This phone is a great phone, other than the fact that every internet page i go to it says "insufficent memory cannot shot page completely go home" and when i go to my home page it does the very same thing. Can Anyone help here?
2 Stars out of 5

power down upon internet startup

Reviewed on Monday February 16, 2009 by , Canada
Does anyone else have this problem, whenever I want to go onto the internet... it freezes and restarts my phone?
2 Stars out of 5

web browser

Reviewed on Thursday February 12, 2009 by , british columbia
If you are sick of accidently going on Mobile Browser you can contact Bell Customer Service and ask them to block Mobile Browser for you. Then you won't have to worry about your phone bill having charges for accidently going on there. Remember you wont be able to access Mobile Browser after this.. duh. hahaha! But you can reverse it at anytime.
3 Stars out of 5

Cleo plays .mp3 s

Reviewed on Friday February 6, 2009 by , Vancouver
To get your song.mp3 file onto your micro SD card connecting to your computer , you may have a problem with your computers old usb system. Use a different computer and see if your card reads in that one***. If it does then your original pc that wouldn't read it probably has an old usb system. You can get add on PCI cards that have fast USB2 ports that are fairly simple to install into an XP machine. As a computer technician i have found the NEC chipset on USB cards to be the most compatible with different things you might plug into it. ie cameras,microSD cards, scanners etc. So get a $20 PCI USB 2.0 add-on card with NEC chip, turn off your computer and unplug it (UNPLUG IT) , remove side panel to access main board, make room for new USB card by removing any screw or cover plate that would be in the way, insert new pci usb2 card in available white PCI slot, screw down and reattach main case side panel, replug in, power up the computer and the first boot will take an extra minute or two while xp installs automatically the new PCI USB 2 card. Try your micro SD card now plugged into one of the new usb2 port - it should read and write fine as it did on the *** test xp machine.

itunes can easily make .mp3 files from your cd collection, just change itunes Preferences, importing to .mp3.
--from then until you change it back any CD you put in your PC to import into itunes will automatically be converted to .mp3 files into your Music\itunes\itunes Music folder. Apples default would only make .m4a files that only play - you guessed it - in an ipod.

if you already have songs.m4a files there are time consuming utilities to convert but you lose sound quality.

one other possibility i recently had one guy could not read his new compact flash card until he tried a third NEW card reader that specifically said it suported both compact flash 1 and compact flash 2. Maybe your SD card reader is too old for your new micro SD card. hmmm
good luck hope this helps getting your computer .mp3 files to play in your Cleo.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 30, 2009 by , Ontario
I really like the phone, got it yesterday. Except when I get new messages it says they are from the next day.
Like if I got the message right now, 7:45 on January 30th, it would say I recieved it January 31st.. If that makes any sense. But then it says the ones I sent, were sent "Today". Any help?
3 Stars out of 5

Buyer beware - not user friendly for email set up and pay extra for msn and email!!!

Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , Alberta
Ok so I finally got my cleo, cute phone, but it is a big change from the my htc touch... I mentioned in an earlier thread that you could only buy music from the bell music store,to store and play music on the mp3 player, well I was wrong and disappointed about this fact. So whatever songs I had downloaded previously on my old phone,does not work on my cleo. There is no such thing as the java powered bell music store,so there is no point in ever getting the music fun bundle as I had suggested. However, the plus side is that I found some songs that I had managed to download from my pc (mp3 files) onto my micro sd card and had no problem playing them on the cleo.
The cleo is NOT user friendly when setting up your work email account, plus you have to pay an extra $8 a month extra on top of your data plan to access your account and send email. Not only that, but if you want msn messenger you have to pay another $5 a month. It does not allow you to stay on msn while checking out other things on your phone, like searching a name in your contacts. It logs you off of msn, if you leave your phone down and have not been using it. On my old phone, I used to be able to stay on msn for as long as I wanted, chat with a friend, while going on the web or listening to the mp3 player; all without getting logged off unless I purposefully logged out. On the cleo, you can only do one thing at a time, so no multi-tasking.
I knew that I was downgrading to a much simpler, less sophisticated phone, don't get me wrong I love the design,the feel,the keyboard, etc., but I'm disappointed that the email, and msn features cost so much more extra than what I had on the htc touch where all those features were part of my data plan. I don't like that the songs I previously purchased is incompatible with the cleo music player. You can't download full track music at all. And I can't seem to get onto my work email at all. It's ok, I'll manage, but what an attractive looking phone!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , Brantford
I am still waiting to see how to get RID of the web browser. I will never use it and have also clicked it. No bill yet so I hope that I will not be charged. I really like my new phone particulary the keyboard.
4 Stars out of 5

Clear Msg Recipient List

Reviewed on Sunday January 18, 2009 by , Windsor, Ontario
Great phone, best one I've ever had...user friendly, awesome for texting..I would recommend this phone to anyone. I'm just having one problem, how do I clear the message recipient list?
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 17, 2009 by ,
in order to get music on the samsung cleo, you have to go buy a micri SD card for it....they come with addpters so it can work as a mem card for a camera....all you do is put the micro sd card into one of the larger adapters to fit into a camera and hook the camera up to the computer and you can go through my computer to find the mass storage device...and start loading mp3's on to the card as well as pictures, because you can make them as backgrounds..then switch the SD card back to the phone and you have music on the phone as wel as pitures or what ever...thats how i have music on mine and it worked great
4 Stars out of 5

i like it

Reviewed on Saturday January 17, 2009 by , sydney
I got mine a few days ago and i really enjoy it. the keyboard is fairly easy to use and i like that it can play music.

To the 12 yro who's having problems with music: I bought a microSD card with an adapter. I plugged them into the computer, and opened it as a mass storage device. Then i dragged music into the mass storage device file. then i put the microSD card in my phone and i had no problem playing the music. BUT some people have been saying if you download music with Itunes it won't work.
4 Stars out of 5

Mobile Browser

Reviewed on Thursday January 8, 2009 by , Ontario
I love the new Samsung Cleo but I'm having problems trying to figure out how to get rid of the "Web" shortcut key. I just received my bill and even though I haven't actually used the mobile browser, I was charged about $6.74 simply from hitting this key by mistake, thereby activating the browser. As soon as I realize what I've done, I hit the "end" button but the charges must be high for this. I'm on a monthly plan but it's limited to text messages and phone minutes. Anybody know of a way to get rid of the "Web"??
4 Stars out of 5

MP3 player for cleo

Reviewed on Tuesday January 6, 2009 by , Alberta
This is a response to the 12 yr old who was having problems with her mp3 player on her Cleo.

I don't think it is possible to transfer music files from your computer to the phone. Although I don't have the Cleo yet, mine is in the mail, but currently I have the HTC Touch and before that, I've had a Samsung phone with mp3 capabilities and I have never been able to transfer music from the computer using a usb cable on any phone. I think in order to play muusic, you need you to purchase music from the bell music store so just go on your mobile browser. I've only been able to play music if I purchased it from the online Bell Music Store. I would advise to get a fun music bundle because you get unlimited downloading for a monthly fee.

Hope that helps. I'm excited to get my Cleo!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Samsung Cleo, Great Phone! ..just one problem

Reviewed on Sunday January 4, 2009 by , Ontario
The Samsung Cleo is incredible! I love texting so its a great phone for me, or anyone else that loves texting infact. I got it in gold, its very cute and very very easy to use. My favorite part is the QWERTY keyboard of course.
Its a brilliant little phone, but im having one problem :S
I cant get music on it no matter how hard I try, at first I was thinking, hm.. maybe its just me. Due to the fact that im only 12 years old, and not that great with electronics but than my Mom tried and my Dad Tried and a few of my moms friends even tried but nothing. See the thing is that it doesnt use a USB cord that attaches to it and plugs into the computer you have to go and buy a Usb Mass Storage Device and the memory card for the cellphone goes into that and the storage device goes into the computer. But all that pops up is a box that says "Safely remove Hardware And we go to "my computer" and it shows up there but it just says Removeable Disk (E:) and when we right click it and click open it just says " Please Insert a disk into Drive E:." But it doesnt come with a disk and We have been searching everywhere for a Normal Usb cord but none.... When we ask people about it they just say it should pop up and you drag your music into it. But that doesnt help very much.

Can anyone Help me with this problem i would really like to use the Mp3 in the Cellphone, sorry this is so long, reply on here if you know what to do, thanks :)

In Conclusion, this is a fantastic phone, but right now for me not so much a fantastic Mp3. :p I am probably the only person having a problem with it but thats why im trying to fix it. Well thats all, "Finally!" I no lol
5 Stars out of 5

so far great!

Reviewed on Sunday December 28, 2008 by , ontario
i got my cleo for christmas so i have only had it for a few days and i love it it is so cute and easy to use the only thing i noticed was that the battery doesn't last very long only about a day but i use it a lot but other then that it has been perfect! i hve even dropped it a few times and its still good :)
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday December 28, 2008 by , Nunavut
I TOTALLY RECOMEND THIS PHONE IT IS SO FREAKIN AWESOME ITS CRAZY.sorry about that, i just love it. it has nice, easy to use keys, and features if you are looking for a samsung, buy this one
3 Stars out of 5

Samasung SH-U440 Cleo

Reviewed on Wednesday December 24, 2008 by , Toronto, Canada
I recently got a Samsung cleo with Solo mobile. So far it's a pretty good phone. The phone itself is very cute (though maybe too girlie for some) and the design is different from the other cellular phones I've had in the past. The only problem I have is with the camera. The picture quality is not that great. I often find many of my pictures too dark and blurry, even when the room is brightly lit. Other than that it's a pretty decent phone.
5 Stars out of 5

super cute, totally LOVE it!

Reviewed on Thursday December 18, 2008 by , ontario
i just got my Cleo yesterday and i absolutely LOVE it! not only is it super cute and sleek, but it is really fun to use. i am a textaholic and it sure is a treat to be able to text so quickly and efficiently.

i am still learning the ins and outs of the phone as i read through the manual, but so far i love all of the features and have nothing bad to say about this phone. call quality is superb, way better than the LG Fusic that i replaced it with (and i loved my Fusic too).

i got the gold - very sexy!

i highly recommend this phone. great features, fun to use, funky design - i don't see how anyone wouldn't love it.
5 Stars out of 5

So far GREAT!!

Reviewed on Friday November 21, 2008 by , Ontario
ive had the phone since Monday (this being friday) and im in love with it. Coming from a HTC Smart peice of *&^%% to this is a big change but everything is great about this little compact phone. Calls are clear its fairly easy to use. Only a few down sets but im sure its mainly me doing it. Typing sometimes it puts a symbol rather then a letter once again prolly me and using the mp3 you must leave it to use the rest of your phone, and one last minor point you cant use your songs as ringers unless you can but i havent found out how yet.. All things are livable.. I would DEFINITLY!!!! recommened this phone to EVERYONE i know!!!

A must buy!!
4 Stars out of 5

Cute and Unique Design

Reviewed on Friday November 21, 2008 by , Toronto
I'm loving my new Samsung Cleo so far. I have one beef about it. When caller ID comes up on the phone, the photograph is tiny despite a large LCD. Why couldn't they just expand the photo to cover the LCD?!
But that's about it really. NO other complaints.