Samsung D807 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung D807 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 39 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Sync software

Reviewed on Wednesday October 7, 2009 by , Canada
This is horrible... i can't find drivers or software to sync this phone with my computer... got to the Samsung website, nothing there... Worst support EVER!!
5 Stars out of 5

Wonderful Phone!

Reviewed on Sunday May 17, 2009 by , Ajax
I cant say enough about this phone, its clear sounding ,amazing photo response,feels good in the hand.
Buttons are the perfect size.Always working perfectly.Battery has great talk time.Camera and recorder work amazing.Text messaging is easy.Blue tooth works great.I love the SD card slot to quickly transfer data over to my computer.And finally the easy to use manual.Well done Samsung!!
5 Stars out of 5

Best Phone of my Life

Reviewed on Wednesday August 13, 2008 by , Canada
I loved everything about this phone. The ringer was loud enough, the reception was great, and overall a great sturdy nice looking phone. Sadly it was dropped too many times the screen couldn't with stand it. I will only buy samsung from now on though thanks to this phone.
4 Stars out of 5

response to the ringtones guy

Reviewed on Monday January 28, 2008 by , thunder bay
hey dude i just got off the phone with a representative from rogers and he told me that there is an internal memory card inside the phone that lets you hold mp3's but to only a limited amount and length. You need to buy a memory card in order to hold lots of songs and play all of them. Also, I heard that the songs have to be small in order to be played as ringtones. I havn't tried it out yet because I just got my phone today. So far everythings workin out fine. We'll see...
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday January 23, 2008 by , Toronto, Ontario
So far I like the phone! My only prblem that I'm facing is I cannot use my music (on my playlists located under MP3's) as my ringtones. It gives me the option to "save as" however you cannot click on it. This is the only phone that I have ever had that will not allow me to use my music as a ringtone! Anyone else having this issue? ALSO ... what is the point of having MP3 on your phone when you cant even listen to all your music. Mine keeps telling me they are unable to play due to my tracks being to long. Im thinking about changing phones if I cant fix this ringtune issue! Anyone know how to get around it?
2 Stars out of 5

Another frozen phone

Reviewed on Saturday January 12, 2008 by , Calgary, Alberta
ive been through 2 of these already and its getting to the point where i dont even wanna go get it replaced again because after a week or 2 it is just frozen on the white screen again... i no people say it may be the memory card but the first phone was broken after 1 day and the next one lasted almost 3 weeks with the same memory card in
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone I have ever had!

Reviewed on Tuesday December 25, 2007 by , Kelowna, B.C.
After my last Motorola phone packed it in after countless years of reliable service, I thought I would treat myself to a "fancy" new phone. After waiting over 3 months for my phone to arrive from [service provider], I finally unboxed my new D807 Samsung. It quickly became apparent that I would eventually hate the phone, do to the design, but I was willing to accept all of the "poor designs" since I am not one to complain, or admit that I could make such a terrible decision to even get the phone in the first place. I am not a clumsy person, but after having the phone for less than 3 months, I was going through airport security, where I had to remove my belt, where my phone has been cradled since it's delivery, and the phone fell 3 feet to the carpet I was standing on. When I sat down to wait for my flight, I went to turn off my phone, and noticed the screen appeared to be completely shattered. One drop in the provided case was all it took to render my new phone useless! The worst part is that warranty does not cover this problem, nor was my local [service provider] store, or at customer service willing to help, other than suggest contacting Samsung directly. Again, I am not one to complain, but after spending $100/month for years, I thought I might be looked after better.
It should also be advised that the included software does not work with macs.
5 Stars out of 5

very nice pone

Reviewed on Saturday December 1, 2007 by , Richmond hill
its a beautiful after all i got it for free and lots of features sleek 11 days standby battery , i dont keep phones for more than 6 months so its all good
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 27, 2007 by , Toronto
This is so much better than expected.
Mine has NEVER frozen. I love the camera feature, it takes great pictures. I also love that you can you small mp3 file as ringtone.. that's like the best ever! Awesome sound system, too. And another cool thing: you can set it so that what you're doing doesn't stop even after you slide it down.
Almost perfect.
Just a few things i wish for:
-small slot for the cellphone charm
-keytones (it only sounds when you're actually dialing a number, it'd be awesome if it sounds when you're just pressing buttons ... like samsung SGH720)
-personlized message for the main display
(is it just because mine's rogers? it just says ROGERS and i can't change the message)

anyway it's a great phone, sleek and stylish.
1 Star out of 5

This phone is no good

Reviewed on Thursday November 22, 2007 by , brampton
All i got to say is i have 4 of these phones over 3 weeks and all 4 of them have froze.
I would not recommend this phone at all.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2007 by , Toronto
Ok so a few things with this phone. One is Yes the phone will freeze if you use a memory card bigger then 512, I had it 2 days and returned it twice because of this. Changed to a 512 card and it works find now

Second is Yes you can use your mp3's as ring tones but the must be smaller then 600 kb in size or it wont work, i edited some of my songs and now they work fine

Third is the lcd will stay on when charging. there is nothing that i have found to fix that

All in all it is a good phone and I would recomend it.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday October 20, 2007 by , edmonton
best fricken phone iver ever had
nothing can compare worth every penny:)
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday September 27, 2007 by , Calgary
I had this phone for about 8 months and every once in a while it would freeze but always go back on.. well recently it just froze i sent it to samsung and they fixed it.. i got it back and within an hour it was doing the exact same thing again... so i sent it away.. this time it took 2 MONTHS! and when i got it back it worked for a half hour and froze AGAIN!... soo i called [service provider] and they sent me a new one.. worked great for about 4 days.. then froze again.. and the worst part is, [service provider] wont give me a new phone for free.. they say there is nothing they can do about it but send me another one.. why do i want another one when TWO of them i had had froze... it really makes me sad.. cuz its an awesome phone and i loved it soo much! now im on the hunt for another.. ARRggg phones!
3 Stars out of 5

Good phone with freezing bug problem

Reviewed on Friday September 21, 2007 by , Kingston, Ontario
I had this phone for about two months..just lastnight it froze permanately, this is the second time it happened. It won't go past the "Samsung D807x Model" screen, I read about the constant freezing problem on the net and I'm not sure if it's worth wild to continue with this phone. Other then the low volume and the freezing's a good phone.
1 Star out of 5

this is ****

Reviewed on Wednesday September 19, 2007 by , Toronto
i got the phone today, and it already permanently froze..
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday September 3, 2007 by , Canada
Very Good Phone. 1st all start with the basics, it has a tremendous amount of Features, more so then the Nokia 5300 but far less then the Sony Ericsson W580i. The compact and sleek design will please many costumers. and not to mention turn heads in public. A Good decision to buy if your on a budget. A nice alterntive to the LG Chocolate and RAZR. A bit old (about a half a year old now) but still can hold its own. when you charge the phone the light stays on which kind of annoys me. Still works fine though. about 200 minutes of talk time. great features, nice connections. a phone worth buying if your on a tight budget.

Pros: The Design - Sleek, Black, Blue LED on Dial Pad.
The Price - ($50-75)
The Build - Nice compact, durable Phone.
Good Reception.
Functionality - 50+ Features.
1000+ contacts in Phone book.

Cons: Backlight Stays on while Charging.
Camera is not great, nor is it bad. (No Flash)
Fingerprints clearly visible on phone.
Volume only goes to 5. (should go to 10)
"Internet Button" is in Wrong place.
Buttons bit to small for average Hand.

Overall: 8.5/10

Great phone, sleek and stylish, MP3 and Camera isnt too good, but you cant really expect fantastic music and photos from a cellphone. If your stuck in a loop of either getting a chocolate or this, id go for this. too many ppl have the chocolate =P.
1 Star out of 5

Samsung SGH-D807 freezes

Reviewed on Friday August 31, 2007 by , Moncton NB
I got this phone for my daughter. She had it just under 2 months when it froze at the Samsung SGH-D807 screen and would not do anything else. We tried taking out the battery, sim, memory etc.... Nothing helped. Took it to [service provider] and they sent it away for 2 weeks and gave her a crappy loaner phone. We picked her phone up today and it only worked for about 2 hours. Now it's froze again. Very frustrating. My daughter is not happy at all. If they are open tomorrow I am going to have to take it back again. Based on the number of people with the same problem I think I'll be asking for a different phone. My wife has the Motorola Razr V3t (blue one) and has not had any problems with it. Music, camera, and video work great on the razr and it has been very reliable.
4 Stars out of 5

samsung d807

Reviewed on Monday August 27, 2007 by , Halifax, Nova Scotia
I think its a great phone ,
got it last month and didn't have a problem yet !!
1 Star out of 5

Unreliable Samsung D807x

Reviewed on Sunday August 19, 2007 by , Cloverdale
Could be just the bad unit that I got but all of the sudden it will shut off and won't start again. The screen just shows SGH-D807 SAMSUNG and won't go past that. After few days it will start again, has happened twice, don't know exactly what the problem is, very frustrating.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday July 30, 2007 by , ottawa
real nice design and all that
only problem im having is setting my ringtones, i know its purposely done, but why can't i put my tracks transfered from my pc onto my ringtone
1 Star out of 5

sweetcutie its totallly righttttttttttt

Reviewed on Friday July 20, 2007 by , ottawa
i totally understand the review of sweet cuttie i had the same problem it happened 4 times to me .... finally they send me a new phone the same model samsung d807 n it just broke down the brand new phone .... it may look nice n classy but in reallity is a piece of ***** wouldnt recommend it at all .... if ya want mp3 get a sony walkman the best phones my gf has one n im ghetting 1 tomorrow
3 Stars out of 5

Pretty Good Phone

Reviewed on Monday July 9, 2007 by , toronto
Overall, this phone is pretty food in terms of the functions and its camera. Its just how some of the main funtions is put in the wrong place like the instant messaging is put 1st on the list. There's not much customizations also, only 3 skins for you to choose and some default wallpapers. You also cant get rid of the "mall" softkey, which i think sucks cause there raelly no need to put it there unless you frequently acces the internet.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday July 3, 2007 by , Seattle
I have had cell phones for years and I have found this one to be on of the smartest phones I have ever use. It was very user friendly, but my pas two cell phones were Samsungs. One of the amazing and fun features is the voice command dialing, I press my Bluetooth and it says "Say a command" you don't have to preprogram your voice to any name in your address book. Fantastic, it is especially safe and easy when driving! Thanks Samsung!
1 Star out of 5

Piece of junk

Reviewed on Sunday June 10, 2007 by , vancouver bc
I have had this phone for about 4 months now and it has frozen on me three separate times. Each time I have to take it in, get a crappy loaner phone for 2 weeks while they perform another 'software' upgrade. Shortly after that it will happen again. The phone will just come to the logon screen and not load up or turn on. The only thing I can do at that point is take the battery out and take it to be sent to the manufacturer yet again.

I constantly have to ensure I have uploaded my photos to my pc and backed up my phone numbers because everything on the phone is lost every time this happens.
I would not recommend this phone to anyone. I have switched back to my motorolla and will not be getting another samsung phone.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday June 6, 2007 by , Canada
it's wonderfull one, every thing working well, easy to learn, wonderful sound many many options. *****

I'm gonna buy anohther one for my wife
4 Stars out of 5

Don't like the volume

Reviewed on Tuesday April 10, 2007 by , Lethbridge
Just got the phone yesterday, love the look and the features, but I am having a hard time hearing people on the other end. I have the volume turned right up to 5, any suggestions?
2 Stars out of 5

Great phone... if it works

Reviewed on Monday April 9, 2007 by , Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Not sure who is at fault here. But long story short. I went through 3 of these. Bought it brand new, switched from Telus to rogers, Saturday. Broke by Sunday, froze and Samsung model screen. Replaced Monday, at noon. Broke by Monday night at 6. Replaced. Broke by Thursday early morning. Decided I no longer wanted that phone, switched to the new a706 by samsung. Love it.

Not sure if it was the store I went to or what it could be.

I loved the phone though, and I miss the slide. I was surprised I missed the phone, because I normally prefer a phone of the flip variety. But I really do miss this one. I just didn't like being nervous every time I turned it off, whether it would turn back on.

The one on Saturday, all I had put on the phone were some wallpapers. Monday I was in the middle of some transfers when it turned off never to turn back on. Thursday I was just sending a text, and turning off my phone, because I was going somewhere I needed it off. When I turned it off, I noticed it had the keypad light stuck on, and that was a telltale sign it was screwed. No viruses or anything on my computer.

That being said, I know a friend who has had one problem free for some time now. So I have no clue. But when I got the replacement phone from another store, they said there HAS been problems with the d807. Software apparently she said. So...yea

Check out the a706 though. Very similar interface and everything, just slightly better at everything it does.
5 Stars out of 5

I love this phone

Reviewed on Thursday April 5, 2007 by , Ontario
First off, aly from Montreal. the way you use the speaker phone is when you are calling someone, you need to wait for the little picture of a loud speaker to come up, then press the centre button and it will say enable speakerphone? press yes.

i have had mine since christmas and i have never had any problems with it.

it has good reception all over my school in all of my classes, and i hardly ever have trouble finding reception anywhere else.

The photo qualiy is amazing. I just use it like a regular digital camera and saved myself like, $150.

It took a little while to get used to the keypad, only because the phone I had before had a much larger one.

The size of the screen is good, nice and big and i just love the total over all look of it.

If you are looking for a quality phone, this is a really great phone to get.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday March 12, 2007 by , Mississauga
I have been readin some of the reviews on this phone and to be honest those of you who are having problems with your are a little too judgemental. I've had the phone for a few months and its perfect so obviously its not a bad phone like some of you are saying. Yea you do get your lemons but honestly dont go telling people it sux just because u had a bad experience. As for the light when its charging, honestly its not that big of a deal, when your sleeping your eyes are closed so you dont even see the light so whats the big deal. And also for the mp3 its just fine, yea you do have to find a low bitrate but whats the big deal. And the phone itself is pretty sturdy, yeah it moves a bit but its not a big deal. You guys are just complaining cause your so lazy now a days that you cant even take the time to find a lower bitrate for the mp3. And are you that big of a girl that you cant stand the light when its charging, come on now its not that big of a deal. Grow up and stop being so spoiled.

The phone is awesome, if you like the look then go for it, but it is a good phone and everything on it is aweosme. This world has too high of expectations for a phone.
1 Star out of 5

Not What I Expected. Big Disappointment.

Reviewed on Saturday March 10, 2007 by , White Rock
After a week of studying the various phones and what I was looking for in a phone (mp3, quality, etc), this model was recommended and I made the purchase based on the specs listed as well as promotions for the model.

However it has been SIX DAYS since I bought the phone and I've already had to replace it ONCE. I bought it on Sunday, and by Wednesday night it had stopped working. It froze on the model number screen and would not turn off until I removed the battery.

It's now the early AM on Saturday and the second phone has done the EXACT SAME THING. Then I decided to look up online reviews, where I found at least 3 people who'd had the same problem.

As well, having 1 GB for music is useless when the phone refuses to play half of the tracks I have on it because the bit rate is too high.

And the volume doesn't go above 5. I almost didn't hear myself ringing once, and I had it in my outer pocket.
1 Star out of 5

No Goof

Reviewed on Tuesday February 13, 2007 by , Toronto, Ont
I think this phone is a waste of money to get i have only had this phone for a month and it has been consistently shutting down on me when i am on the phone sometimes when the phones dieing and i'm charging it when its on it just shuts on and off by it self, also sometimes it freezes for no reason just for me to slide down my phone it freezes, and the mp3 capability is not as great as i thought it would be, i was expecting the phone to have a speaker on it but every sound that runs on this phone comes throught the receptor, right now my phone is not working when i turn it on it only says samung d807 and thats all, overall this phone is a waste of time to get i wouldn't put my money on it.
4 Stars out of 5

nice phone...but

Reviewed on Saturday February 10, 2007 by , edmonton, ab
its a amazign phone. but with me it has to be perfect...
camera is nice and alll
its wiggly between the two layers
light stays on during charging...cant sleep and ruins the LCD
wt its a great phone
1 Star out of 5

shady phone

Reviewed on Tuesday January 16, 2007 by , montreal, quebec
1rst the look it s amazing ,2nd the feature are good but cant hold that much song and when u using the player it's always freezing, i got 2 of those and the same issue was on it
if u wanna buy it feel free beside it's a good phone and by the way when u sending urs phone 4 repaire samsung taking too long to repaire it one my phone is now in repair since the 30th of semptember 2006 and going to send the other one also because same issue on it
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday January 11, 2007 by , Mississauga
I couldnt ask for a better phone. I love the look of the menu, resoluion is great. Although the battery life doesnt last as long as my previous phones, and the sound in the mp3 isnt as loud as I would like it to be, but its a phone so u cant expect too much from it. I love how the keypad locks when you slide it down and I really like it that you dont have to slide it up to answer it. The camera takes awesome pics and the video is pretty good too. Expandable memory is one of my favourite things on the phone, unlike the chocolate, this one has expandable memory up to 1 gig so you cant really go wrong.
If your torn between the chocolate and the samsung, I highly recommend the samsung.
3 Stars out of 5

over all good

Reviewed on Sunday January 7, 2007 by , vancouver
ive had this phone about 2 weeks now. nice design, awesome screen, good camera, mp3 is nice and sounds great (comes with headphones) the pc software is really easy to use and is simple to sync contacts. downside: u cant customize the menus, the backlight stays on while its charging and while ur on the phone too, and the biggest flaw is the voice recognition, it does not work that great and can be really annoying wen it doesnt understand wat ur saying, also its not very easy to switch between ringing options like 90% of motorola phones where u can change it from ring to vibrate to silent from the side buttons, on this u can only change the volume and go to its ONE silent mode (EITHER vibrate or all silent). good bang for ur buck tho.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday December 27, 2006 by , Markham
I've had this phone for about a month, the phone features are great, voice / sound quality is very good, mp3 player is much better than my v360. I got the 1GB card for the Rogers promo on a 3yr term which was sweet! I wish I can change how some of the features are displayed i.e. in Messaging, the first option is Instant messaging--I don't do. The right convenience key gives me the default option to access Mall. I agree with everyone that the directional keypad is too small. I'm not sure if anyone has noticed but if you remove the battery and gently press the keypad you can feel the entire keypad actually give way because what is holding the key pad firmly is the battery! The battery door is hard to open, I guess this is a good thing... In terms of signal strength, I've noticed that in some places (Newmarket, Ontario) I can't get any reception at all, but that was the same with the v360 and my v300 but the x426 was the only phone that I was able to get signal there (I'm sure it is tower related). What I'd really like to see is a slider case just like the Hot Chocolate from Telus for this phone, I know there is a similar case for the D800 but not this phone. Too bad as I've already dropped my phone and scratched it. Overall, good features, good phone, excellent display and sound.
4 Stars out of 5

Samsung D807x Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday December 5, 2006 by , Victoria, BC
Just got the phone yesterday. Pretty happy with it so far.

If you've had samsung phones in the past then you pretty mush know what to expect from the interface. Good amount of options a little light on the customization... haven't figured out how to change up my menus if at all possible.

Camera works great, bluetooth is easily accessable (way better than my razor).

Only thing I'm not liking so far is the navigation buttons little small and close together, often find myself pushing buttons I hadn't intended on. Probly won't be so bad once I've had the phone for a while.

Overall good phone, I like it, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend.
5 Stars out of 5

not bad

Reviewed on Wednesday November 29, 2006 by , toronto, ON
I like this phone. I've had many in the past and this seems to be one of the better. Camera takes great pics and the sound quality is quite clear.

I live in a basement apartment so a lot of phones don't have the best reception, some not at all. Good reception is important to me and this one works great everywhere I go.

It has a sleek and sexy design, great for guys or gals. Get a lot of compliments on the look, definitely recommend it to anyone.
5 Stars out of 5

its good!!

Reviewed on Sunday November 19, 2006 by , mississauga Canada
got the phone yesterday, i like it. it looks cool and sleek.