Samsung Galaxy Nexus Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Galaxy Nexus has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 13 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

Name display does not work.

Reviewed on Tuesday March 12, 2013 by , Vancouver
I am on FIDO, pay for name disply, and caller ID.
My old LG phone display both caller phone number and NAME, even the caller is not on my own contact list.

Tried two to three Nexus. Rooted, or unrooted. FIDO original, or unlocked. none of them have NAMW display, or on caller log.

Cynogenmod plus some app. contact and dialer do work either. can't find proper patch to work. FIDO does not support it. they will jsut flash your system back to factory resset. Still don't work.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 30, 2013 by , Vancouver, BC
I bought this phone to replace my crappy Nokia C6 in December, 2012. After a month, I could not find any problems with it. I just love this phone.
1 Star out of 5

was good...

Reviewed on Monday December 24, 2012 by , canada bc
Bought the phone the day it came out. Within one year the USB charger would only work if you bent the cord up. The audio jack would only play one speaker or earphone . The phone would constantly think its charging one second and the next its not, causing the screen to be on 24/7.
I still have my old iPhone from years ago. I am not hard on my phones. I've been waiting for over a month for virgin to send me my box to send the phone back
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday December 21, 2012 by , Waterloo
Great phone for the price it's a bit dated but I love this phone. Picked up unlocked from Wind but use it with my Rogers SIM and it works amazing.
0 Stars out of 5

Big trouble to buy

Reviewed on Friday November 2, 2012 by , JAPAN
I have a Galaxy Nexus that I bought just 2 months back in Calgary, Canada. It was a special offer with Mobilcity for 3 months with advanced payment. Now, I am settled in Kyoto, Japan.The phone is unlocked.

The USB charger of my smart phone could not be detected in laptop. I can not charge the battery either by laptop or by wall plug, that means I can not use the phone now and it is basically dead. As the usb could not connect the PC, so it is obvious that the files could not be transferred at all. Anyway, first I need to have my mobile to wake up.The following message is coming up when I connect my phone to PC with usb
(provided by company obviously.

I contacted to Samsung Canada customer service. The answered me with some suggestions how to get rid of that. Finally, they advised me to contact to Japan customer service and I have to pay for that as mobile phones do not have the intl' warranty. The email ended like that " If you are not satisfied with the answer we
provided, please click here * if you have a question on another product,
click here" but unfortunately there were no links at all.

Their LIVE CHAT support is totally frustrating, I tried several times for that, it is just wasted of my valuable hours after hours.

As suggested, I contacted to Japan customer service and they said (in Japanese not in Eng, my Jap colleague helped me to read)they can not do it because this was bought in Canada.

So, I must say that these guys are not supportive at all and they do not bother about their valued customer. I am so frustrated about this product and overall Samsung for their bad treatment. I will advice not to buy this galaxy one (one of my friend also has some problem with nexus).

Thanks, Madhab
5 Stars out of 5

Don't listen to the negative Apple "Fanboy" reviews about this phone

Reviewed on Thursday October 11, 2012 by , Canada
What can I say... This phone is simply awesome! I,ve had this phone for 10 months now, and still just as happy as the day I opened the box. The 4.65" Super AMOLED 1280x720 HD screen puts every other device to shame! The only other smartphone that compares to this today is the Galaxy SIII, and even then, you would have to pay me to use "touchwiz". Received the latest update to Jelly Bean 4.1.1 almost instantly, so how many other people without a Nexus can say the same. Its lightning fast and with the 1.2GHZ duel core processor, there's nothing this phone can't handle. As for heat issues, yes, it can get a little hot, but nothing like what the other "winger" was on about. Also, I haven't had one dropped call, so again, i have no clue about the other negative comments as this simply hasn't happened. Overall, even with today's new smartphones, I wouldn't swap this phone for any of them. The fact I have stock android is the latest updates is enough for me. Oh, and the 5MP camera, takes perfectly good picture also! 5 stars all the way
4 Stars out of 5

Nexus i925...

Reviewed on Sunday October 7, 2012 by , Toronto
Very good screen sensitivity & size, good resolution
OS never trips
Overall good value for ur money
CAmera flash is fantastic

Camera so easily spoils the foto even with a slightest hand movement.
Battery life is NO more than 45 minutes of continuous screen use
Has no radio
1 Star out of 5

Do not buy this phone!

Reviewed on Monday September 24, 2012 by , oakland, ca
Do not buy this phone!! I bought a brand new Galaxy Nexus on 9/1/12. That night I started having issues. When I made my first call and was on the phone for about 10 minutes, the phone got really hot, almost to the point I couldn't hold it. We had to take it into the store and have the SIM card replaced.

Then, over the next few days I had several dropped signals and dropped calls. I thought it was due to the phone carrier, but my boyfriend has the same carrier and he had a strong signal while I had no signal. It would fade in and out constantly, even in high traffic areas where the signal should be strong. Also, the battery died constantly, whether the phone was used or not.

I thought it may be a problem with a faulty phone, so I took it back 1 week later to exchange it for another Galaxy Nexus. On the drive home from the store the phone had no signal! Then, the phone got hot again when I made a call! I couldn't believe it. The next day I was on a very important phone call and the call dropped 2 times within approx 10 minutes. I was so embarrassed. The person had to call me back twice. I had had it. I went back to the store that night and exchanged it for a Motorola Droid Razr Maxx. I have had no problems with this phone, I love it! The battery stays charged forever and it works the way the Galaxy Nexus should have.

1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday April 25, 2012 by , Asheville, NC
Poor! Numerous dropped calls. Mostly stays in 1x mode rayher than 4G or even 3G. Keys not recognized to check voicemail. DO NOT BUY!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday April 3, 2012 by , Montreal
I've had this phone for almost 2 months and I can't be any happier with it. Had blackberrys and iphones but none better than the GN. Bigger screen, AMOLED screen, full 1080p video, dual core... and more. Only thing that sucks is the battery ( like.any other dual core smartphone) and the fact that it has an 5megapixel camera.
1 Star out of 5

Poor Stability

Reviewed on Tuesday March 27, 2012 by , Calgary, AB Canada
The easiest way to describe my experience with the Samsung Galaxy Nexus is disappointed. I have owned my Samsung GN for 2 months and have experienced loss of both 3g and Wi-Fi connections on a daily basis, specifically 7 to 10 times a day with no rhyme or reason for the loss (driving down the road, at home, in the office in the middle of conversations), the loss of the 3g network is almost always followed by a spontaneous reboot again occurring 7 - 10 times a day and at times a reboot is followed by yet another reboot. At first I was willing to chalk this up to a bad unit until I started browsing forums and found I was not unique. The Samsung Galaxy Nexus as a package is a great phone but the instability of the phone has made this by far the worst Samsung product I have owned.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday December 19, 2011 by , Vancouver
I bought the Galaxy Nexus on day one and couldn't be happier. I've been a BlackBerry since the original Bold and will never go back. After bashing my head against the wall with the Torch it's great to have a touchscreen that actually works.

I bought the phone through Bell and have ported it to WIND Mobile. So far no problems and am loving the low monthly cost.

My only con is that the battery can drain pretty fast. I think that will even out over time as I'm continually playing with it right now because it's new.

Highly recommend as the best Android phone out there.
1 Star out of 5

Avoid it like the plague

Reviewed on Friday November 25, 2011 by , Bath, England
I have akways had an iPhone before and was bored so decided to have a change. Worst decision I have made in a while, when trying to talk on it the volume keeps dropping dramatically. The flash only works with one in 5 videos, the vibration when texting is irritating and almost none of my favourite apps are available on the Ice Cream Sandwich thing. Oh and battery life is awful too barely lasts a work day with normal use. It is going up for sale and I am going back to Apple. I may be a sheep but at least it works.