Samsung U510 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung U510 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 19 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

I wish I did some research before buying this one

Reviewed on Wednesday April 22, 2009 by , Newfoundland
I've had this phone a little while over a year now(unfortunately I'm tied into a 3 year contract) the phone looks nice, it's small, light and all that good stuff but I really hate it a lot. I'm big on texting ever since I moved, it's a way to keep in touch with friends, but the texting is ridiculous. T9Word doesnt save words, so you have to re do it everytime you type it(things like lol and allthat) and, I'm not sure if it's just my phone but it happens with my friends phone too(she has the same one), I randomly stop recieving texts, or else random texts of mine don't send out, I'm after sitting right next to someone and text them just to test it out, and they dont get it. I have to turn the phone on adn off to recieve a few texts, and it's extremely annoying. If you are a big texter, I don't recomend this phone.
2 Stars out of 5

:) .

Reviewed on Sunday February 22, 2009 by , Canada
i had this phone for a little over 3 months , and i am currently waiting for my samsung cleo to come in the mail ..
but this phone was okay .
it does scratch easily , which kinda sucked .
and the battery time never lasted to long ,
but its an alright phone .
i wouldnt recomend it though ..
get the samsumg cleo :) ha .
3 Stars out of 5

Quiet frankly, its a piece of ****.

Reviewed on Thursday January 22, 2009 by , Edmonton, AB
Ive had this phone for just over a year, and I wouldn't recommend it for "Ex blackberry addicts". First off I hate how it mysteriously calls people when it's in my pocket and what blew me away was once was I put the phone in my pocket, about 15min later I check for messages and its on MP3 mode! whatever, I also don't like the 15 second videos... If anyone knows how to extend that e-mail me. On the positive side, I find T9 perfect! I can type just as fast as I could on my old blackberry. BTW ABC mode is terrible and ude be outa' your mind to like that! I could finish the star wars trilogy by the time you could type a blasted message. Lastly ide like to ask if the default colors are changeable? IE. When you enter contact's menu, you see green and blue. Is that changeable?
Gracias & LATINO 4 LIFE
3 Stars out of 5

I'm satisfied but...

Reviewed on Monday January 19, 2009 by , Montreal,Qc
Well i bought my phone used from my friend (100 $)And during the first months it used to shut down by itself and getting low bat in 6 hours (without talking) so I changed the battery and it resolved everything. I find the Alpha Txt mode really good and I won't complain about it. But my only unresolvable problems are that the MP3 Player volume is not high enough and the screen scratch TOO easily (When i received this phone it was written Sam_ung and now it's __M (half S)___)
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 18, 2008 by , Canada
After you take the photo, when you go to put it as your wall paper the photo goes small, who do you get it to fit the full screen
5 Stars out of 5

awsome phone!!!!!!

Reviewed on Sunday November 2, 2008 by , Tucson,AZ
oh yeah! love the phone!!
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday October 18, 2008 by , canada
je pose la question concernant le u 510 est ce que c est un GSM car je veut l acheter pour l utiliser pour mon voyage en france et le maroc .
3 Stars out of 5

okay, but needs work

Reviewed on Monday September 22, 2008 by , toronto
Iv had this phone for about a year, althought i think its a good phone compared to the other slider phones, physically its falling apart. the back part holing in the battery is always falling off, and i have had to tape it shut, and the clip protecter where you plug in the charger/headphones is falling off, and its VERY EASY TO SCRATCh. that being said, i have never had any physical problems with any previous phones and i treat my phones well. I found it odd that it was falling apart and being scratched up so easily. the actually phone software isnt bad, but the personal settings could be imporved to change colour themes and such. Touch screen sometimes turns different wed apps on and the music player
overall not bad, reasonably priced, good casual phone. not for a big time cell user.
5 Stars out of 5

Sweetest Phone Ever ! !

Reviewed on Monday September 8, 2008 by , Port Alberni, BC
this is the best phone ever !
like mp3 player and a cellphone?
how cool is that?
well everyone should buy it and be cool like me,
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday September 6, 2008 by , Calgary
This phone is the best ive ever had, heres an answer to your question:
There is accually flash on the phone, while ur taking a picture, press the options button and the first thing on the list that pops up is flash. Cick on that and youll know from there.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday July 21, 2008 by , QC
There is a flash for camera and photo!?!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday May 15, 2008 by , Vancouver
I'd have to disagree with one of the reviews.
I find the text messaging on this phone to be extremely efficient. I don't see how it is different than any other phone. You can press 0 if the T9 function gives you another word, and, if it is the touch buttons you don't like, text messaging rarely requires the use of them.

Also, the touch buttons light up when you touch them to let you know that you have effectively pressed them. I'm not sure why that would be difficult.

I would definitely recommend this phone. The only thing that bothers me is how pictures you take won't go full screen. But that isn't really too big of a deal. It's tiny, compact and stylish.
4 Stars out of 5

BEST phone

Reviewed on Monday March 10, 2008 by , quebec
my brother has a lg choclate flip and i have u510.i have told him he has a girl phone and mine is a guy phone and it's true so im going to compare the 2 phones as i am a cell rater for canada,i work at cell reviews canada.

u-510-style-4.5/5 lg-3/5
texting-4/5 4/5
camera-5/5 2/5-to complicated
durability-4/5 5/5
guys-5/5 1/5
girls-1/5 5/5

overall-17/20 14/20

this review was on the u510.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 20, 2007 by , Grande Priaire
I have had this phone for a while and i really like it.
It is small enough to fit nicly into a picket without falling out and you can set the ringer off and still have texts set to vibrate......
to clear up some of the problems from reviews before this one.
they say that:
you cannot hang up the phone using buttons and that you have to slide it down and back up to hang up.
You can hang up the phone by using the power button(on the right side above the camera botton)
they say that:
you have to wait while texting ABC( excample 4, wait, 44, wait, 444) which takes up time.
Actually: instead of pushing the sideways botton when waiting to move to the next letter like most phones you just have to down instead. not much of an problem.
The only thing that really bothers me with this phone is that you have to download MP3s and that with T9Word it has no memory( ex. you have to create things like lol and <3) but you can just put things used a lot on quick texts and use that.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday November 28, 2007 by , Vancouver
I like the phone, I've had it for 6 months, and it works pretty well there is nothing to protect the screen (I don't like cases so I guess It's my fault) so the screen is very scratched
however you can make an image full screen you need a computer with bluetooth though
if you open up the picture in photoshop, or another program that can change the size: change the image size to make it tall instead of wide, and bluetooth it to your phone, I have a nice full-screen picture that I took myself, and didn't pay a penny for.
4 Stars out of 5

Samsung U510

Reviewed on Wednesday August 1, 2007 by , Vancouver
RE: Eli from Vancouver.

When sending a text message, and you want to do the sequense ghi or w.e all you have to do is hit the down key on the arrows... it takes a little while to get used to cuz most phone you hit the right arrow, but it definately saves time.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday June 13, 2007 by , bc
pros-nice & small fits in your pocket, bright screen,long battery life.
cons- touch screen keeps navigating you on line. slider does not always hang up when you close it,dwn loading is the only way to get music, $$$,
2 Stars out of 5

Decent hardware, poor programming.

Reviewed on Monday June 11, 2007 by , Vancouver,BC
The first thing you'll notice about the Samsung u510 is its size. It's very small and pocket-friendly, it's also fairly light. Unfortunately that's about the end of the desirable features.

If you want a small phone and you don't txt message, this is an excellent choice. If you plan on using this phone for any type of txt message/email, chose something else.

Look: 5/5
Feel: 4/5
Usability: 1/5
Txt messaging: 0.5/5
Price 1.5/5

-Size (Thinner than the LG Chocolate - this thing really is small - shoulder-holders beware)
-Expandable to 2GB with memory card

-Touch buttons. I'm not sure who decided that touch-buttons were good or useful in any way. For Pete's sake, stick with mechanical buttons, there's a reason for the *click* feeling when pressing them - it's so you know they've been pressed. Other than preventing any possible dirt from getting in the front of the phone, I see absolutely no point. I challenge any provider to justify this.
-No slide lock/bump. There is nothing to keep this phone open or closed - normally the slide should get tight at either extremity to keep it open or closed - no such luck here. I would LOVE to see a slide lock on this phone that involves manual intervention to keep it open or closed.
-Interface. [service provider] has a poor interface, there's really no getting around that. I actually had to go back to the store to figure out where my save-to-memory-card pictures had gone and how to access them.

-You can't take a photo and set it to be fullscreen wallpaper. What gives? This is just a stupid decision.
-The reception is only OK on this phone. Too bad, considering what phones are for.
-Txt messaging on this phone is hideous, the forward/back buttons are the insanity-inspiring touch-buttons. In Alpha mode, there is no way to indicate that you're finished with a letter, e.g. if you want to type 'ghi' the sequence should be 4,forward,44,forward,444, unfortunately the only way to do this is 4,wait,44,wait,444 which takes about 5 times as long.
4 Stars out of 5

good phone but no customization without paying

Reviewed on Sunday May 6, 2007 by , toronto
Its a good phone but the unruly things ******* has put it through make it very undesirable!! Im talking about the customization feature that severely lacks due to this and the crappy accessories that you get with it as well...
sleek design
so far very reliable
bright screen
nice camera
long lasting battery
user music cannot be set as a ringtone
pictures cannot be set as FULL wallpapers, u can only download full wallpapers costing $$
The headphones provided only has one button (lg chocolate has it all from music to volume and its free)
flash is not that bright
the touch sensitive buttons tend to aggravate you sometimes
Finally you cannot hang up the phone by pressing any buttons, u have to slide it down and up again!!
Its a great phone but looking at the competitors and what they have to offer right now, this is not a phone you should get right away! wait until they release a package of some sort with memory and stuff in it.. So right now its not worth buying just wait until the price goes down.. The phone is not that revolutionary...