Sanyo 7300 10-4 capable Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sanyo 7300 10-4 capable has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 10 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Yes 10-4

Reviewed on Sunday April 30, 2006 by , Halifax
I work in Nova Scotia, and we did not have Mike, but I waited to get 10-4. I used 10-4 and found it great. 10-4 is also great. We now have most of the company on it and everyone loves it. No downsides yet. Only would like more types of phones to pick from.
Thats with north America full coverage, Mike I do not think come close. It really whatever you want I guess.
But I can't hide any more ;)
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Saturday September 10, 2005 by , Ottawa, Ontario
I have had my 7300 for 3 months now and love it, good reception comparable to my nokia and better then my last samsung. Excellent speaker phone and loud ringers for those of us who work outside. I highly recommend this phone.
2 Stars out of 5

Regular signal drops and poor headset placement

Reviewed on Wednesday July 6, 2005 by , Windsor, ON
I'm a fairly heavy business mobile phone user. This phone seems high quality and well put together. However two major flaws have caused me to return this phone after five days of use.
1) Frequent signal drops when travelling. i.e. calls ended due to lost signal 3 times driving from Mississauga to Windsor along the 401. This is the busiest corridor in Canada and has full digital coverage it's entire length. My Motorola phone NEVER had this problem.
2) Poor headset jack placement. It's at the bottom left hand side. i.e. exactly where your hand needs to be if you want to actually hold the phone while you use it. I constantly juggled the phone from left to right hand trying to find a comfortable spot... impossible. I find it hard to believe the phone designers ever tried using this phone with a headset jack.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday June 9, 2005 by , NY
Beware. The hinge on the phone developed a crack very easily. I wrote the manufacturer and the distibutor. I was told it was not covered under warranty. This is an expensive phone with poor customer backing . Beware!!
1 Star out of 5

do research...

Reviewed on Wednesday May 4, 2005 by , Hamilton
Just to let you that Telus also offers a CDMA push-to-talk service other than the Mike service. They also offer a better phone to use - Motorala V65p. As well there service can cost as little as $10/m for unlimited service across Canada. I have looked at both services and Telus's National Coverage is better. Outside of quebec and Ontario Bell has nothing. Over all Telus is suggested as being the winner in the CDMA PTT Market. AS for compairing to the Mike service, just dont have the users...

5 Stars out of 5

so far so good

Reviewed on Tuesday April 26, 2005 by , toronto
I just got these 10-4 phones and they work good so far, I am impressed with the service of the units and so far I have not run into any problems. It was hard at first to get going with the proper plan but I got that resloved and I am a happy user.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday April 26, 2005 by , Toronto
Well, to each his own I guess. My wife and I just recently purchased the Sanyo 7300 with Bell and got the 10-4 service. It was a bit more than I expected to pay really, but so far it's been fantastic. I haven't dropped a call yet and the 10-4 service is extremely convenient. I have several friends on the MIKE for either work or personal and they have no complaints. I was recently in Las Vegas where I was told the 10-4 service did not work but to my surprise, it did work and well I might add. My brother-in-law like the phone and service so much he bought one too and then so did two of his friends. When I brought my phone into work and told the guys that for $15 additional dollars a month, the 10-4 service was unlimited, coupled with an unlimited evenings and weekends depending on the plan you choose, it was starting to get popular and quick. I would imagine that by the end of the year, we'll be seeing a lot more of these phones and service around. It makes too much sense especially for on the go families. I also heard about a Bell/Telus merger of some sort so MIKE users, be prepared for better service and Bell users be ready for more 10-4 buddies.

I'm out!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday April 7, 2005 by , Montreal, Canada
Thanks for the follow-up Bob.

You're right, my last review on the new 10-4 was a little harsh. I waited approximately 1 week and went to see one of my Bell Mobility reps whom I have done business with since 1998. We sat down and reviewed what would be best for me. We spoke to about 7 SOS reps from bell as well as 4 customer service people. It took 4 hours to get everything straighened out (plan rates etc). You're right Bob, nothing beats Bell's coverage. It is for that reason that I have had it for so long and why I was so disappointed in the beginning. The 2 or 3 people from customer service with whom I had spoken to when I wrote my last comments, made a mistake with the prices and the details. They hadn't been properly informed. It's a new service so it is understandable. I therefore upgraded. I bought two phones and am planning on adding more phones to my contract. The phones are incredible -- tough, durable, clear and easy to use. I still invested in the leather pouches from sanyo(30$). They can either encase the whole phone or just act as a clip (the top half unbuttons and comes off leaving the back and the clip). The speaker infront allows for incredible hands free. As for the 10-4, it's a good service. I use it with the other phone. It allows you to page the person before blurting out a message. Remember though, the 10-4 works only were there is 1X digital network. For this reason, it might be a good idea to have an actual cell phone plan on it for when you are in ANALOG mode. Also, the walkie talkie option (10-4) also works when the phone is open (like a regular phone) so your conversation remains private. I am therefore very happy with the service.
Be sure that the Bell rep you speak to knows their stuff before making any changes!!! Speak to 3 or 4 of them before making any type of decision. This might be like this for a little longer seeing that a lot of people have purchased the units since my last e-mail. I will keep you posted on how the phone works out. All I can say is that they seem to work much better (better signal, longer battery life) than the digital CDMA (not GSM) Motorolas that used to be on the Bell network. Notice I said digital and not Analog like StarTacs or Microtacs. This in part is because the Sanyo's are fitted with Qualcom 1X chips. It is so clear people I speak to on the other end sometimes think that I have hung up if I don't say anything. I have ordered a data kit to send faxes and keep my phone-book up to date. I will gladly keep you posted.

Ringers are normal!! Vibration is great. The only phone I have ever been able to hear and feel while cutting down a tree with a 57CC Stihl MS290 chainsaw.

As for the guarantee, don't spend money on a 3 year. It only covers manufacturing defects. If it breaks (highy unlikely unless you run over it with your car) it's your fault and they won't do anything about it. Just buy a leather case for it if you plan on being mean to it or working were I work -- on construction sites and as a lumberjack on the weekends. No extra batteries needed. Just cig. adapter (real one always). Always put it in a Ziplock when you work in very humid conditions!!

All in all, great phone (durable, great reception, ergonomic A+) + BELL coverage = Reliable service.

5 Stars out of 5

Be realisitc Tony

Reviewed on Monday April 4, 2005 by , quebec
tony... try the mike coverage hehe! about 50% of the territory... compare to bell's 10-04 which is the regular network... meaning about 95% of the territory... yes your are paying a little bit more but you can use it all the time... Mike... Well if your not moving ever it can be ok... but dont go outside montreal, or quebec, or ottawa cuz thats where you'll find the mike limits... and guess what... if U have a mike... not possible to call a 10-04 phone with bell either. SO its a new service, just like mike was a few yearrs back. Give it a chance and be realistic.... u cant have 2 millions users in just 2 weeks!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 25, 2005 by , Montreal, Quebec, Canada
I have been waiting for bell to launch their push-to-talk service for a long time. I have been a customer with them since 1998. Before the launch, I imagined that the service would be the same as Mike (the telus version of push to talk). I anxiously awaited the same phones (MOTOROLA!!). Unfortunately, the service Bell ended up offering had nothing to do with the Mike serice which 99.999% of the people who have push to talk, posess. Even worse, Bell's 10-4 cannot communicate with a Mike phone. There's more... I presented myself at an Espace Bell. I have 2 phones on my contract. They offered me a great special: $150 for 2 Sanyo 7300. The catch: I would have to pay 15$ more on my main phone as well as 10$ more on the second phone PER Month!! That's a total of 25$ + tx more per month!! It's not worth it considering I would only be able to walkie-talkie with the other phone on my account (everybody else has MIKE). As for the phone, I tried it. Stick to Motorola.... it's much more sturdy. We use them all the time at work. I am waiting for my contract to terminate, and I will then go with 2 Mikes, where the Mike minutes are simply deducted from the minutes you have per month. It's 15$/month only if you want unlimited. By the way, there isn't any delay between message transfers in a Mike. 10-4 there is a 3-5 second delay. Way to go Bell!! For those shopping, SAVE YOUR MONEY OR GO WITH TELUS MIKE.