UTStarcom 860 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The UTStarcom 860 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 9 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Le Utstarcom 860

Reviewed on Friday September 14, 2007 by , charlemagne
Ce petit telephone cellulaire ma étonner.. Une bonne batterie dure assez longtemps. On peut lavoir en contrat d'un an alors sa en vos la peine .. Sauf que moi ce que je n'aime pas on ne peut pas downloader les sonneries oublier ca ce telephone la a des problemes avec cela et il gèle il faut enlever la batterie et la remettre.. Malgré c'est problemes, je l'aime bien bon petit telephone!
4 Stars out of 5

Thumbs up!

Reviewed on Monday November 6, 2006 by , Edmonton
This is my second cell phone from telus, my first phone was a joke, the starcom 860 was a very awsome phone still is, the only problem i have with it so far, is saving pictures friends gave me and that the camra isnt nice, the pictures arnt that good, but everything to me is great i love the style and all
3 Stars out of 5

Phone freezes

Reviewed on Thursday August 17, 2006 by , Quinte
it is not a bad phone, however i have had issues with it freezing all the time so i have to take the battery out and put it back in to get it working again...
anyone else had any issues like this?
4 Stars out of 5

Really good

Reviewed on Sunday August 6, 2006 by , Toronto
This is a really good phone and is also really cheap. I got it for 0$ on a 1 year contract. the only problem i've had is that it doesn't play real tones and telus doesn't have many polyphonic ringtones so it's hard to get a good ringtone. but other than that it's great.
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone for the price

Reviewed on Friday July 28, 2006 by , BC Canada
Pro good reception, good sound quality, small, Excellent voice dial system (read the instructions first). Phone is easy to use. Camera, Good Battery life. Bright screen. Good deal for the money.
Our 6th phone so far and the one we like the best!

Con. samll if you have big fingers.

Much better than the Samsungs we have.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday July 3, 2006 by , telus a quebec
Un vrai service a la clientele de merde s'il y a un probleme il se décharge de tout même lorsque le téléphone est neuf(2 mois)pensez-y avant d'acheter leur produit......Il dise que ce n'est pas leur probleme mais la compagnie même du téléphone qu'eux vente seulement le service de ligne de téléphone ....BRAVO Télus......
5 Stars out of 5

UT Starcom 860 = Overall Good Phone

Reviewed on Friday June 23, 2006 by , Toronto
I recently bought the Ut Starcom because it was free with a one year contract. This is my first cell phone and it is a great phone. lots of features as well as very small and compact. My friend got the Samsung phone that was also free and my phone is about the same width, a little thinner, and about one cm longer when the flip phone is closed.
The Ut has also presented no problems and the camera in it is surprisingly good. It's nothing close to a digital camera but there is actually a zoom on it.
The only drawback is that there are no normal ringtones on it and it's hard to find a case for it. Other than that I would recommend it to everyone I know.
4 Stars out of 5

UT Starcom 860

Reviewed on Thursday April 27, 2006 by , Edmonton AB
The UTStarcom 860 (CDM8460) is quite a small phone – entering my contact list was a painful experience, since the keypad is slightly larger than the first digit on my thumb. The phone’s small size and its button arrangement took some time to get used to. I would like a louder earpiece and the ability to turn off the shutter sound when snapping pictures, delete factory sounds, and set ringers as voice recordings (to make your own ringtones). The memory is sufficient since it is not an mp3 phone, and the picture quality is not the greatest, but it’s only .3MP. The battery lasts longer than I expected it would. Overall I am satisfied for what I paid ($0 with only a 1-yr contract) and it sure beats the nightmare I previously called a phone (LG 3200). Just be sure you try it on for size before buying it.
5 Stars out of 5

This Phone has THE BEST RF of all Telus phones!

Reviewed on Saturday July 2, 2005 by , Toronto
I have personally had every single Telus phone that has been sold in the last 4 years, and this phone is the best I have ever owned when it comes to 2 very important issues, battery life and RF (signal level). This phone is amazing for both. My RF or atenna level is steady at maximum in certain areas where other phones where barely one bar. Also, the battery life is incredible, the qualiy and size of the phone are fantastic as well.

For those of you looking for a phone like the LG535 (which is god awful and jammed with software bugs) which plays MP3s, and takes videos this is NOT the phone for you. However, if you are a heavy user who doesn't want to drop calls and likes taking the occasional snap shot I highly recommend this phone and will go so far as to say it is the BEST phone Telus has ever offered when it comes to quality and performance as an actual celullar device.