ZTE N762 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The ZTE N762 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 26 reviews.

0 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday January 4, 2014 by , Hamilton
DO NOT BUY A PUBLIC MOBILE PHONE. This phone is a piece of crap. Does random stuff all the time. Won't let you make calls or send texts half the time. I take out the battery and restart five times and still won't work. So frustrated with it. Stay away from these phones.
0 Stars out of 5

So far pretty bad

Reviewed on Monday September 23, 2013 by , Montreal QC
I waited for almost 2 hours on saturday for the phone, it did not work, went again today to change it and waited for 2 hours, they gave me a new one and it is no working again. So far I am not very happy, it might be a coincidence but might be that it is just a piece of crap. I am with Public Mobile for the price of the plan but, if it is going to be that way I am switching back.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday July 19, 2013 by , Oakville
This phone sucks, its worthless, not worth a single penny. Its out dated, the camera sucks, you do not get good service with this phone however you get good service with other public mobile phones. You can't get certain apps with this. Sometimes, you'll try to call someone, it won't let you call them but an hour later it will start calling them along with 20 other people. You consistently have to take the battery out and restart the phone. I've been in situations where I really need to call someone but the phone won't let me. If you buy this phone, I pity you, you will hate yourself for buying this. Stay away from it! I'm giving this 0 out of 5 stars.
1 Star out of 5

terrible phone, don't buy!

Reviewed on Thursday July 4, 2013 by , Oakville
I got this phone for my daughter, son and friend it worked fine for the first few bit but then it started causing many issues such as not calling the person i want to talk to, signal continuously cutting off, really slow data; apps took forever to load, the internal memory is really low. I talked to one of public mobile representative and they did not help at all, all they said was to exchange the phone. Whats the point of exchanging the phones if all of them do not work properly? the battery life is also terrible; will run low after 2 hours.
4 Stars out of 5

Well worth the money

Reviewed on Friday June 7, 2013 by , Mississauga
I just bought this phone a week ago. Paid $74 with an unlimited talk, text & data plan for only $30/mo. No contract. Includes free voicemail and Canada wide calling. Internet and apps work just fine. You can check your email, watch videos on Youtube, post on Twitter/Facebook etc. Only issue I have is the battery barely lasts a day and when browsing you can accidentally click on a link while scrolling. Comes with a one year warranty in case you need to exchange it. Overall, it's a good phone to have if it's your first smartphone. Ask yourself this, would you rather pay $70-80 on a 2 or 3 year contract with Bell/Rogers or pay $30 with Public Mobile? I'll take the latter. Even if you only use it for a year, it'll be worth it.
4 Stars out of 5

13 months with the ZTE N762 and counting

Reviewed on Tuesday January 29, 2013 by , Montreal
I bought this phone in Dec 2011 and it is still going strong to this day. I use it in both Montreal and Toronto with roaming off with no additional charges... unlimited text, Canada long distance and data - anytime. Service could be better north of 407 but the pros far outweigh the cons. I still have the original 2Gb memory card and manage dozens of apps, 150 or so mp3s and a few hours video for work trips. I do not play games on my phone since the storage and screen size is small but the ones i did try worked fine. If you do not have a smartphone and you are in a city with Public Mobile you should check them out.
1 Star out of 5

Will self-destruct miserably after a few months

Reviewed on Tuesday January 1, 2013 by , Montreal
The phone seemed great when I got it... but...
I had two of this phone. I had to change the first one after a few months because the earphone broke. I was a blessing because the phone was doing random annoying things, such as not calling the person i selected, calling random people after hang up... or not calling at all! But the second one became just as bad after a few months.
First of all, if you just update all the installed aps on the phone, you will bust the internal memory. The processor is two generations behind and apps are running super slow when they run. and the longer you use it, the slower it gets.
0 Stars out of 5

Piece of junk

Reviewed on Monday December 24, 2012 by , Toronto
I bought this handset in end Sept for $110.The low charges may look attractive but neither phone nor network works as advertised.Overseas SMS never gets delivered 99% of the time,almost all voice calls gets abruptly cut off mid conversation,sound quality is abysmal,dialling takes an eternity etc... its endless. The handset itself is a bonafide piece of junk,do not buy it unless you have a masochistic attitude towards wasting money.The touch interface is poor,internet/games are slow & constantly hang. I only bought Public Mobile as a stopgap till I can get a Sony Ericsson.
5 Stars out of 5

Easy to fix

Reviewed on Monday September 24, 2012 by , Toronto
The problem you're experiencing is because Public Mobile has a retarded setup on the phone. Root the phone and install the Voltron build of Android (which version of Voltron will depend on your BIOS version) to fix any and all problems with this phone. It's not the phone's fault, the basic Android setup on the phone was developed for tech morons who don't bother with a lot of apps. Once I had installed Voltron, it was fast, smooth and far more functional. I no longer have storage issues either because I don't have apps like facebook installed in the ROM so when they update, they overwrite each other instead of just taking up double the space. The phone itself is quite competent, it's just that as usual, the basic OS sucks.
1 Star out of 5

Horrible Phone..

Reviewed on Tuesday September 18, 2012 by , Toronto
Of course all of these reviews start with "hey, i just bought this phone yesterday, it's amazing!" haha. Wait a month and you'll want to throw your phone against a wall. It glitches like mad. I can hardly use it due to it glitching every time your finger touches the screen, but not even that! you can just sit there and watch it glitch and go hay wire. Public Mobile is a s****y service also. I went to change my phone because I was going mad. They ordered my receipt saying they will call me in 3 days when the receipt comes... 3 weeks later they finally call and in that time my screen broke! (my fault), but now i can't exchange it.. All in all this is a horrible phone, and so are all by public mobile..I tell you, don't be fooled by Public's cheap prices, they are absolutely horrible and you're just going to waste your time, energy and money.
5 Stars out of 5

ZTE N762 awesome deal awesome phone for its value

Reviewed on Wednesday September 5, 2012 by , Mississauga
I bought this phone last week and i love it. The deal I got was the phone cost 79 dollars, unlimited everything, unlimited calling in canada and usa, unlimited intl calling, unlimited data, unlimited airtime mins, all for 30 for the first year n 55 dollars after... love it also have call forwarding, call waiting,call display,3 way calling, unlimited province wide calling, and voice mail----- no company can beat this deal.. and this android is wiorth 79 dollars.. Public mobile has a great deal.... my only problem i have is the camara is poor quality and i need to buy a bigger memory card as it comes with 2gb of memory... other than that this deals awesome
5 Stars out of 5

Incredible Value Smart Phone

Reviewed on Monday September 3, 2012 by , Montreal
Like a few others posting here, I have to agree this is incredible value for a smart phone.

I went to Public Mobile yesterday and they had a deal where I got the phone for $59, the first month of service free and unlimited calling in Canada to Canada and the USA, unlimited international text messages, unlimited 3G Data, voice mail, caller display etc for $30 a month for 12 months. To top it off, no contract.

Now try getting somewhere even close that deal anywhere else.

It is my first smart phone and while I know it is not a quad core Galaxy S3, it does what I want it to do, it goes online, I can download apps, the phone is responsive and the screen is accurate.

Honestly, what more could you want? An absolutely incredible deal.
5 Stars out of 5

You really can't go wrong for $79 for the phone and $35/month for unlimited service.!

Reviewed on Monday July 9, 2012 by , Canada
It's a real Android 2.3.5 smartphone for $79! That alone should be enough because most "feature phones" are more expensive than that and none of them can compare to the N762. Having said that, I don't like the fact that it doesn't support flash and it can't tether but Public Mobile doesn't allow tethering anyway. The screen is 3.5" which is the same as an iPhone so visibility isn't an issue but the resolution can't match the iPhone's although it still looks damn good to me. Let's again remember what this is. This is an Android smartphone for $79! The only other things you'll find in that price category are high-level feature phones that cannot even come CLOSE to comparing with this little gem! With the exception of Flash, everything made for Android JUST WORKS. I've installed Avast virus protection, Zedge, Swype, tons of music and a few games. Conversations with this phone are just fine and the speakerphone works really well in the car. It has bluetooth and a GPS which you won't find on any other phone for less than double the price. Is it comparable to a Samsung Galaxy? That's a matter of opinion and what you want the phone to do. One thing is for sure, the N762 is far closer to the Galaxy than any feature-phone in its own price range. This is the ultimate starter phone for anyone who has never had a smartphone before because it will blow you away without breaking the bank. It's my first smartphone and it sure blew me away! Just like the title says.. You really can't go wrong for $79 for the phone and $35/month for unlimited service. BTW, I do NOT work for Public Mobile, I am REALLY that satisfied with my purchase. I still can't believe what an incredible deal this is.
5 Stars out of 5

Quality about.

Reviewed on Saturday July 7, 2012 by , St Jérôme
Well about this phone, it exellent, but make sure you
install Zoner AntiVirus... if you don't abuse-it it a exellent phone... So much you can do with that phone
it incredible for the price, Am telling you it worth it
but remember clean the phone for virus avery single day
also password very important
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday June 30, 2012 by , toronto
so crap, supposed to be a smart phone. hmph
3 Stars out of 5

Trouble downloading applications on the memory card.

Reviewed on Friday June 8, 2012 by , Montréal, Canada
Trouble downloading applications on the memory card. Some but not all of the applications I want them to be installed on the SD card, these applications are installed on the internal memory of my cell. I want all the applications are installed on the SD memory card, because the memory of my cell is filled and not allow more new downloads. How can I do to manage all downloads are installed on the SD memory card?
3 Stars out of 5

N762 sceen resolution sucks

Reviewed on Sunday May 6, 2012 by , Canada
I bought this android phone for the plan use to have a IPod touch crisp and bright screen. This one the caracter seem to be pixalized.

The Camera on this phone is a piece of ... wel might as well not put one....

Otherwise phone is fast put it a 32gb sdhc card recognize it and with good android kill apps porcess the phone is responsive.

For gaming this single core phone is slow, Angry Bird load time is as much as twice the Ipod Touch...

Nice FM radio.
5 Stars out of 5

good phone

Reviewed on Sunday April 22, 2012 by , toronto
first i give 5 star for this phone, it works greatttt for the Price, touch screen works perfect and accurate also screen so clear , i never had any issues with it , i even droped this phone 20 times badly allready still not even a littol trouble with it,. Only problem with it is you canot download many apps to the phone memory, like there is a user said downloading too much apps slows down the phone yes it does a bit other than that this phone is amazing for the price , compare to i phone or galaxy google nexus = this phone does everyhing all aps works = well iphone and google nexas camera are powerfull for the price :) im happy with the Amazing phone ZTE N762
5 Stars out of 5

Darn Good For $99!!!!!!!

Reviewed on Thursday April 12, 2012 by , Toronto
When I was looking for a phone, I wanted access to all the apps everyone was gabbing about, plus not a rinky dink unit either.
Well....This thing is pretty SWEET!!!!
The phone runs on Android 2.3.5 Gingerbread, I have numerous apps, Free, and they run beautifully. The 3D processing isn't the greatest, but most games available are 2D based anyway and run smoothly.
The best part is that I was able to watch Game 1 Philidelphia v. Pittsburgh off the phone!!!
Times like that, I'm glad I got Unlimited Data!!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Decent phone, but.....

Reviewed on Thursday March 22, 2012 by , Toronto
I've had this phone now for 2 months. I've installed a 8GB mSD card for music and videos. Here are the problems I am finding after installing numerous apps I find that the phone response has slowed down. Annoying when hanging up a call. Video quality is terrible. Photos are good for a 99$ phone. Battery life is short. The 3G network fails to appear (maybe the network) Biggest problem, the phone overheats. This sucker is almost hot at times. Needs fixing. I can see this being a problem during hot summer days. Overall good camera.
4 Stars out of 5

Pretty Good

Reviewed on Friday March 16, 2012 by , Toronto, Ontario, Canada
I was about skeptical about this phone as it seemed too plastic looking. I read other reviews, but couldn't find many. I only got this phone because it seemed like one of the cheapest phones out there with an unlimited plan. When I got it, it was amazing! The graphics may not have been the best like the Galaxy Nexus, but that didn't ruin any of the features. The internet is actually fast,the apps run fine with no freeze, and plus it's cheap for only $35 (unlimited talk, text, data). The only concern I had with it, was who sometimes when I try to scroll down a page, it would turn into another command such as a click. The camera may not be the best, but I don't usually use cellphone cameras often. Overall, I think this is a great phone and affordable for an Android.
4 Stars out of 5

Great Value

Reviewed on Wednesday January 4, 2012 by , Montreal
My iPhone-addicted friends bug me about this Chinese knockoff, but you know what? At the end of the year I'll have an extra $300 in my pocket, as it's costing me $45/mo with Public Mobile, instead of $80/mo for an iPhone with Rogers. Plus no contract! The N762 actually performs better than I expected. It's quick, screen and speaker are decent, and calls sound good. I'm not an intense user so I'm charging it about every 2nd day. Camera isn't great and no flash. Internal memory is low at 160MB, so I keep the phone running lean and install as many apps as possible on the SD card. Overall I'm very satisfied with the value of the plan and phone.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 29, 2011 by , Toronto
Just got this phone last week with public mobile.. great phone, fast browsing and just as good if not better than my blackberry bold. Very easy to navigate thru menus and options. Overall greatly impressed.. deducted one star due to battery life.
4 Stars out of 5

great phone!

Reviewed on Thursday December 29, 2011 by , montreal
At first, i was skeptical about that new phone from public mobile. But the price is so cheap that i had to give it a try. So far, the phone is great being under 3g network..Good job public mobile.
4 Stars out of 5

Does what I want it to

Reviewed on Sunday December 18, 2011 by , Montreal/Toronto
This is my first android so I am without a comparison. That said, it was cheap, and I find it fast enough and stable if I don't start fiddling too much. I haven't yet seen whether the phone can be rooted, but I figure it is mostly stock parts so that ought to be possible.

Nitpicks: It is kind of chunky and the battery barely lasts a day with heavy 3G, but it's well within my tolerable limits. The touch screen is sometimes not responsive enough, and there are occasions where a swipe turns into a click on an undesired app. Camera is junk, but that's not really what I care about.

Verdict: You get what you pay for, and this is nevertheless decent value.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday December 9, 2011 by , Toronto
Great phone superfast on 3g network. Good job Public mobile.