Ericsson W35 Turbo Hub Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Ericsson W35 Turbo Hub has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 53 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

works great

Reviewed on Thursday April 23, 2015 by , RR1 Midhurst
I've been using the Erikson Rocket Hub for 4 years now and haven't experienced any major problems unless there is a power outage. it works great. I have worked as a virtual agent for a major telecommunications company and no customer was ever inconvenienced due to internet connectivity. it has also been able to handle many programs being run across long distances. for those of us unable to receive cable or DSL its a fabulous alternative.
0 Stars out of 5

You'll be Sorry

Reviewed on Friday September 26, 2014 by , Rural Niagara Falls Ont
Don't get one.
Drops Internet signal 10-12 times a day.
We also have hub wireless phone which goes out a few times a day.
Parents also have a hub that provides good Internet with Ethernet connection but they lose their Hub phone service at all hours.Small comfort when 83 yr old parents need 911. Bought them a cell phone but mother can't work the cell.
Rogers tech admitted Towers are overloaded and Internet users are kicked out when Cellular demands are up.
Don't even ask how slow download and upload speeds are... if you can hold the signal long enough for the
If Rogers actually has competent technicians I've never spoken to one.
Kudo's to Rogers sales and billing dept though !
4 Stars out of 5

Works well?

Reviewed on Tuesday April 9, 2013 by , Toronto
I have the W35 and have never had a disconnect, overheat, or issues with speed. I have a 40' tower with the 3G Plus Antenna Kit-75 which obviously must make a huge difference. However having read all the other people's bad reviews I'm not optimistic!
5 Stars out of 5

NetGear TurboHub

Reviewed on Friday September 28, 2012 by , Western Quebec
Two years ago bought the Ericsson TurboHub and had store sign statement "Weekend money back guarantee if not satisfied." Back home, laid it flat on desk. Started it up. Half-hour later noticed it was starting to scorch a piece of paper. Store gave me a hellova time: seemed I exceeded an small amount of mbytes. Said I was locked into a 3yr contact. TG for the signed money-back annotation! (Quebec now has a law aganst huge penalties.)
Six mos. later read about NetGear Hub. Rogers did not have it; Bell did. Again, got a "one week money back guarantee." No problems, no heat issue
Have the 7g hub with month to month service.
Due to hills reception is good but minimal. Installed Wilson signal boosted antenna, (6 foot pole attached to fence.) Steady high speed except for bad weather when reception continues but reduced.
Considering upgrading to 21g, connecting Hub to second in-house tel. line for Bell's VOIP service. Yep, will cost in net service and use, but will be less than our Bell land line's long distance plan.
We're retired. Normal puter use is between 35g and 45g per month on tiered flex plan. Normally no download time outs. We lost service onceafter an earthquake took the tower out of service for a few hours.
The hub powers the puter by ethernet and 2nd floor by wi-fi; also provides net by wi-fi to TV. And makes the printer available to everything. Very pleased with NetGear (2nd year now). Don't understand folks' problems unless they are nowhere near a communcation tower.
1 Star out of 5

Device fails unfailingly

Reviewed on Sunday September 2, 2012 by , Canada
This device overheated and failed after eleven months of spotty service. The warranty replacement lasted about four months before simply not working any longer. This second hub is a rebuild that does not have a warranty. I am now left holding a broken hub with no hope of internet service unless I spend money on a new hub, pay for internet without receiving internet, or renew a contract that will result in another likely faulty device. There must be much better devices on the market than this one, which has cost me money, time, energy and frustration.
1 Star out of 5

Rocket Hub Bites

Reviewed on Friday August 24, 2012 by , Simcoe Island, Ontario 10 km from Kingston
After 4-5 years of decent service with their outdoor portable modem Roy Rogers' Rocket Hub bites the proverbial big sausage. Totally unreliable. Totally unacceptable. Wasted about $500 of my valuable time (Hey, my time is worth at least $100/hour when I'm forced to waste it talking to a bunch of turkeys) being bounced about from Sales to Service to Tech support and back again. Can't wait for the Finance dept to call and tell me they're going to send my account to the Rogers deadbeat user society.

By comparison cell phone service here is acceptable in this area. Did not ask for the service, did not want it, and have paid my last nickel for it. Xplornet's new satellite service has been working just fine here for 2 months now, thank you very much. Have a nice day Mr. Rogers.
1 Star out of 5

Rocket hub is a disappointment

Reviewed on Wednesday August 8, 2012 by , Ontario
I have the rock hub, I had the old system and it worked fine, I have 3 roger iPhones and they all work fine. But he hub is well.......junk.
If you stay on one sight such as net flicks, it is fine but if you move from sight to sight it get slower and slower and then stops, requiring it to be reset again and again. The built in wifi is also weaker than my Mac system 2 generations short this system is not ready.
1 Star out of 5

Worst Internet.....EVER!!!!

Reviewed on Monday July 30, 2012 by , Canada
Anyone who has bought this garbage will agree with my its absolutely terrible,

Buy this is you want your internet to drop every 5minutes for 2-3minute periods of time. so frustrating.
Also don't expect to get speeds that are much better than dial up.

Rogers will lie through there teeth to sell this garbage.
0 Stars out of 5

overheating Hub causing me to overheat

Reviewed on Wednesday July 18, 2012 by , Alberta
we have ericsson with Bell - thing overheats, drops calls and causes problems with internet. Bell says I have to buy a new one as this is just out of warranty - 299.95 or 120 to pay out term - no other alternatives. Don't buy!!!
5 Stars out of 5

Hope they don't disappear...

Reviewed on Tuesday July 10, 2012 by , Ontario
I've used these hubs (4 now, 2 personal and 2 business) for over two years. Put two in last year at a remote kids summer camp on an island.(Read "essential communications"!) Separate external +9dBi antennas on 50' and 20'towers. Loved the service from Rogers so much we dropped the Bell radiophone and Xplornet sat data and used two Rockethubs. Two phone lines with good options (free LD+ local number etc.) @ great voice quality, excellent $ plans, 2 highspeed data networks, excellent service all while saving a TON of money. Unfortunately lost one this winter and had to replace with Netcomm. BAD choice Rogers! Drops connectivity, bad voice quality (echo and hiss). Just updated firmware for "better" quality but still not as good as the Ericssons. Only drawback is the hard to find N-MCX antenna adapter cable for external antennas, but those shouldn't be needed in good coverage areas.

BTW...A Bell Ericsson modem (Turbohub) works fine also on Bell, but their new Netgear modem is poor. Sure hope the Sony/Ericsson amalgamation doesn't drop these units for good.
0 Stars out of 5

Hate It!!!!

Reviewed on Friday July 6, 2012 by , Everett, ON
Only 5 months left on contract...come on Dec... DO NOT BUY. All communication companies are the same you will not get any better service from anyone else. Just bend over when you have to deal with them.
What companies besides Bell, Telus, Rogers etc... could stay in business when they can not provide the service customers paid for?? Sick of this crap.
5 Stars out of 5

Bell Turbo Hub - AOK

Reviewed on Friday May 4, 2012 by , Greely ON
I've had this Bell Turbo Hub in Greely ON for almost 2 years now. It supplies my house with Voice & Data. I have had absolutely no problems with it, strong signal, fast internet, great product. I recommend this to people all the time......
1 Star out of 5

Not a happy customer

Reviewed on Monday April 16, 2012 by , Kirkland Lake Ont.
Bought a Ericsson W35 Turbo Hub worked great for three months then nothing during the day. We had to get up at 3 a.m. in the morning and it worked great and fast. Just bought a rogers rocket hub works great. Not paying for the rest of my contract with Bell. See you in small claims court
1 Star out of 5

Power supply problem

Reviewed on Wednesday March 28, 2012 by , Ottawa Ontario Canada
Needless to say that I am not the only one to have suffered the woes of this HUB, which was "recommended" by Rogers.

My problem is the faulty, and bad design, of the ribbon cable leads to the power supply.

Does anyone have a working power supply for this
Ericsson W35 Rocket Hub?
1 Star out of 5

22 g of useage is $196/month

Reviewed on Wednesday March 21, 2012 by , Oro Station
Will be out of the contact at this rate per month it is easy to break contact for $240 . Rogers rate for the hub is a little cheaper but not enough to even consider moving. This what they do not tell you, every phone call uses data, every call to Bell for repair service causes you to use data my friend their help center is costly as they jump you from helper to helper as know one knows the answer hours of bouncing with phone on speaker so I could have a life got it waved when finally got help. W hat they do not tell you there is a 20 cent surcharge for picking up messages on top of the data used. So another statement made to me since you have no other choice I pretty much half to put up and pay. The government is supose to be make internet available to all and even us farmers and rural . Bell Ericson is not a affordable internet even for the rich and famous. Outraged that the government has not stepped in and set regulation to control this type of selfish greed. BUYER BEWARE
1 Star out of 5

Thanks Bill !

Reviewed on Wednesday February 15, 2012 by , Near Kamloops
One week after the warranty expired this pile of junk was only usable for very short periods before it had to disconnected to cool off. Bell was no help at all.
Found this site and read the review by Bill from Ottawa.
Took his advice and hard wired a wireless router to the Ericsson. I haven't had any problems all day. A first.
Also noticed a measurable increase in speed.
So thank you Bill you made my day and saved me from spending more money on Bell crap.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday February 14, 2012 by , Beckwith ON
We have had the Ericcson Turbo Hube for 18 months now.
It has been nothing but a headache since day one.
Bell is just soooooo helpful in addressing concerns
over this issue. I almost throttled the Clown at the Help Center they told me to take it to.
Can't wait for our contract to end on this useless piece of garbage!
Stay away and stay away from Bell altogether.
0 Stars out of 5

w35 vs Netcomm 3g25

Reviewed on Monday February 6, 2012 by , Caledon
I have a w35. Worked ok for about 20 months, but is now having connection issues. Rogers technical help is useless. Told me the modem has a 2 year shelf life so need to upgrade to the netcomm 3g 25 model. Has anyone had a positive experience with this modem? Thanks
1 Star out of 5

Ericsson W35 = stay away

Reviewed on Tuesday January 31, 2012 by , Ottawa
The W35 is a $5 cell phone paired with an even cheaper wireless g router. They are notorious for overheating. To be usable, you will need to disable the wireless router and hard wire it to your own router. I've owned mine for almost two years (contract is almost over), with rarely a day going by where I've not cursed it. If you do not have a strong signal, throughput will be marginal. If you have one already, sorry. If your thinking about getting one, stay away!
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 13, 2012 by , Savona near Kamloops BC
BEWARE PEOPLE - DO NOT BUY ONE. Rogers is horrible, they won't help and they won't let me out of the contract without a huge penalty. I don't understand how that is possible, to NOT provide service and not be able to fix it and at the same time not release a person from a contract which is written with the understanding you are paying them for a service that they should have to provide. THE PROBLEM(S) The hub runs incredibly hot, so hot one could nearly burn themselves on it. It drops connection all the time, completely unrealiable. So unreliable that we were never able to discontinue our Telus phone service in case of emergency. LATELY they have somehow blocked TD BANK, FACEBOOK, GMAIL, SCOTIABANK, TWITTER to name a few. Those sites will no longer load at all, they just time out. I am sure we have spent in excess of 50 hours on the phone with them and they basically told me to pound sand, and I am stuck with it. I have recorded many of the calls for all to hear. They said I had nobody else I could talk to in order to escalate. LIES, please note Rogers has an ombudsmen and a office of the president for complaints. She specifically told me their policy is to avoid telling anyone about that. RESOLUTION- SMALL CLAIMS COURT.. This is a very expensive proposition for the carriers to fight against as they have to show up and legal council is expensive. Since most if not all the people out there don't think of this, it's not used much BUT I am going to sue Nadir Mohammed the CEO of Rogers myself so that I can get some resolution. Wireless carriers would likely fear this greatly as it's a huge loss in revenue for them if people start standing up for what's right and wrong. I URGE everyone that is not getting satisfaction to sue them. They WILL have to change their ways and do the right thing. Please don't let it go don't let them walk away with your hard earned money !
1 Star out of 5

Very Unsatisfied

Reviewed on Monday January 9, 2012 by , Jersyshire
I am very unhappy with the turbo hub. It decreases in quality as time passes. The data caps are awful and I have no DSL cable provided in my area. Turbohub is an insult to the very existence of whoever manufactures, sells or provides it. I have important work to do and this system ruins it because it loses connection. The phone and internet can't be used simultaneously . This is an underhanded scam.
2 Stars out of 5

ditch your hub

Reviewed on Thursday December 8, 2011 by , atlantic
Hi All,

I have build my own wireless bridge on over a 3km stretch . I use to be like you very limited data . you think you have high speed but in fact you don't with a 10 gb monthly data cap you really can only maintain your pc health and that is about it . I am not putting down the bell wireless . In my opinion it is revolutionary and amazing the only problem is ridiculous data caps. If you know a friend or a community center (like me ) that will let you install a 2nd line to their house with a small tv tower your pretty much set . I now have 50 Mbs unlimited data directly to my house zeguine . c o m/media/speed/html (I only coded it for IE so it won't work with Mozilla or Firefox) I have heard allot of bell rep say (if you use more than 10 gig it means your downloading movies with is illegal .... So wrong I just bought battle field 3 on Stem it was 7.9 Gig downloaded it and now it on my cloud drive. If you on a hill Do it I was septic about it and it did it. Cost me about 2000$ with the towers, concrete, cat5, antenna . I used for hardware and am so pleased . 2G is nothing compared to people that loses about 10 g a year in buying new vehicles' that will be scrap in 6 years .

My inspirational 2 cents Free yourselves it is possible i literally live in the sticks and now have fiber optics speeds .

5 Stars out of 5

Ericson W35 beats Netcomm

Reviewed on Wednesday November 30, 2011 by , Trout Creek, ON
Purchased the Rocket Hub package through Rogers. The Netcomm hub would cause echos over the phone line. The Netcomm hub would also get crazy hot. The W35 causes no phone issues. The unit operates at half the temperature output of the Netcomm. The Netcomm required constant rebooting. The W35 has operated seamlessly. Would agree with all that cell tower coverage, and provider play biggest role in quality of service. I would only get the Rocket Hub package with the W35.
1 Star out of 5

comment about a review

Reviewed on Monday October 17, 2011 by , ottawa
This is replay to the person that said it is my area (and provider) that is the problem. If some many people are have huge problems with the devide the why would Bell or Rogers say they will work perfectly fine in my area. Then when I ask them why it does not work they give me the run around for months. I'm pay alot of money for something that is suppost to work well.
5 Stars out of 5

Connection Issues People have.

Reviewed on Saturday October 15, 2011 by , Shelburne, Ontario
If I purchased a bell hub I could write a review saying it is no good or I could realize the area I am in causes problems because the area is more controlled by Rogers tower. I realized this and purchased a Rogers Hub and the signal is 100% most days. The signal on the same unit under Bell was less than 15%. Please understand people it usually it's the unit you are using it is the area you live in and the stength of that provider signal. The Ericsson W35 Data & Voice Hub is a very reasonable working unit when used as directed and in a area with the correct provider.
1 Star out of 5

Buyer Beware

Reviewed on Wednesday September 7, 2011 by , West of Ottawa (Huntley)
Almost useless throughout the day - I suspect the cell phone tower is overloaded;if so,the NetGear wouldn't be any better. My signal yoyos up and down from 3 bars to 0. Sometimes, download speed is good, other times, dialup would be faster. Like another reviewer, when I bought this unit a year ago, I had really good connection up and down for about six weeks, then it dropped right off. At that point the trial period had passed and I was stuck with a 2-year contract. I downloaded the patch but it didn't make any difference in the long run.

Like other reviewers, my W35 will show a strong connection, yet you'll get the "unable to load page" error message.

Looks like I'm stuck with this piece of junk for another year unless I pay Bell's extortionate fee of $400 to get out of my contract.

1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday August 15, 2011 by , Barrie, On
This is absolutely the worst mistake bar none, that I have made in a purchase.
I does not connect half the tyme, it discconects frequently and after you use it for a short time it is not returnable and yes I paid for the Hub in full.
Do yourself a favor, find any other way to get your internet, this thing is just a bad option.
You will be unhappy and stuck with it.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday August 10, 2011 by , Little Brition
piece of crap. typical Bell service...none.
only use this as a last resort, anything is better than this. all bell services suck except their billing department.
1 Star out of 5

garbage unit

Reviewed on Friday July 8, 2011 by , calgary
Turbo hub can not be used for VPN, online gaming or anything else! Overheats shuts off. Bell service is horrible, I paid 257.45 for the unit, tried to return it, it was over the 30 days so I could not. Had to cancel my contract, charged 400.00 cancellation fee. So 657.45 for no service! Way to screw your costomers BELL! Way to go! Do not purchase this piece of garbage and do not deal with BELL EVER!!!!!! I have to give a rating, there are no minus ratings or a zero rating so I guess 1 out of 5, just rememeber, should be -100!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
1 Star out of 5

Defective Ericsson W35 Turbo Hub

Reviewed on Wednesday June 29, 2011 by , Guelph
Here is my recent Email to John Watson, VP, Bell
His email address is:

Dear Mr. Watson –

I want to request that our defective Ericsson Turbo Hub be replaced with a Netgear hub. Bell has done this for other customers and we want the same treatment.

My business has been without reliable internet service from Bell for more than a week. I spoke to your technical service group again this morning (Jen, Employee Number ABX) and she admitted that the Ericsson Hub is the cause of the problem (Ticket xyz). She indicated that we can get it replaced with another Ericsson Turbo Hub. This is an unacceptable solution. The Ericsson Hubs are defective and we don’t want to go through this again.

I have research this problem and the Ericsson Turbo Hub has a history of failure. I understand that there is a Master Ticket within Bell on this problem. Bell’s customers also say that the replacement Hubs are also failing. I understand Bell’s reluctance to initiate a recall on this product because it will be costly and generate much bad press. However, at the very least you should NOT be asking us to accept the same defective product again. I cannot afford to go through the same disruption to my business in a few months.

We are a good (although reluctant) customer of Bell. Our telephone, TV satellite, my Cell phone and our internet service are all supplied by Bell. We probably spend $ 500/month on Bell services. We are not happy with the current situation. I cannot afford to be without internet service for one more second.

Please resolve this situation immediately! We do not want another Ericsson Turbo Hub we want more reliable equipment.

I look forward to hearing from you.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday June 28, 2011 by , GTA
Had the Ericsson turbo hub for about a year (Rogers before that). Recently it keeps overheating and dropping connections. As the heat climbs the signal strength drops. Unplug and rest for an hour or in the fridge for 30 minutes then will work great again. Better type faster cuz it is getting hot. Don't have the energy to fight will Bell - get the wife to do that as she has more patience.
Living rural is great except for lack of high speed.
Give it 5 stars now and 1 star in 20 minutes.
1 Star out of 5

Ericson turbo hub

Reviewed on Wednesday June 22, 2011 by , Kirkland Lake Ontario
it worked great at first, i have been complaning to BELL for the last two months and they say they are working on it. It works great between the hours of 10:45Pm and 7:00am after that its garbage do not buy one yet. Our neighbhors are having same problem
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday May 16, 2011 by , Fenelon Falls, Ont.
I have read the reviews about the Turbo Hub.
I must say that as most of the reviews are negative and indicate problems with the Hub and with Bell Help i have decided that i am going to wait for a year or two.
Also not crazy about being locked in for 2 years on something with which a lot of people are having problems.
Have to agree with the guy who said that '' if you're not having problems with dial up, then dont switch''. I am going to do exactly that - not switch.
1 Star out of 5

Drops Signal Frequently

Reviewed on Saturday May 14, 2011 by , Bancroft, Ontario
My Ericsson W35 turbo hub works for about 15 minutes, then loses the connection to my computer. I have to unplug the turbo hub and plug it in again to regain the signal. Bell claims there is a "master ticket" in on this problem. They have no idea when it will be fixed. They suggested I connect my laptop and my wife's iPad to the hub with Ethernet cables. (iPads do not have Ethernet connections.) I am only rating this as one star because there is no lower rating.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday May 13, 2011 by , Cambridge, Ontario
Crap as per all reviews below. My son also has one and it does exactly the same thing. Bell is of no help whatsoever and refuses to rectify the problem.
1 Star out of 5

Ericsson W35, an expensive, unreliable, overheating loser

Reviewed on Sunday May 8, 2011 by , Terrebonne Québec
First W35 lasted one day, replacement was no better.Bell admitted that the W35 was flawed with shut down issues with no fix in sight.
They proposed me to nreplace the W35 hub by their Netgear hub + a discounted cellular phone package. We'll try that and report back later. My concern is that the Netgear also bears the name Ericsson !!!
1 Star out of 5

Don't Go There

Reviewed on Saturday May 7, 2011 by , Blenheim On
Have had the rocket hub for one year now...nothing but trouble. Daily no internet connection. They say not enough band width from the server towers and can't say when there will be. For the amount of use I get it is a wonder I am not way over my monthly contract. The only satisfaction I get is the customer service does give me credits for the non service. Hub has been replaced, moved around and reset, problem still exists. Can't wait till contract ends.
1 Star out of 5

Rocket Hub

Reviewed on Friday April 15, 2011 by , Montreal
This is one useless piece of expensive crap. For 2 years now I have had it replaced. Moved it around every corner of the town and still end up with less than 54 kbps which is slower than my dial up connection I had while living above the 60th parelle.I constantly dies out while I am on line which increases my down load quota since I must re-load If it were not for the danble 3 year contract I would toss it in the nearest river.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday April 9, 2011 by , high prairie alberta canada
i am experiencing a night mare with the turbo hub everything everybody else describes
1 Star out of 5

Lack of technical support

Reviewed on Thursday March 31, 2011 by , Erin, Ontario
A couple of months ago I purchased a W35. Aside from having to purchase an external antenna, the unit was acceptable.
According to the manuals, the W35 supports three external USB devices when using a USB Hub. (There is only one USB slot).
On my unit, as soon as I connect a Hub, the unit does not recognize the existence of any attached device connected to the hub.
I contacted Bell, from whom I bought the unit, who in turn contacted Ericsson through channels of their on explaining my problem. That was exactly 8 weeks ago.
During that time I contacted Ericsson a number of times through e-mail, hoping to get some kind of resolution. They don't even acknowledge my request for help. Bell state that they are only responsible for the working of the Internet portion of the device.
I am stuck with a dud and neither Bell (the seller) nor Ericsson (the manufacturer) is willing to take responsibility to rectify the problem.
Buyer beware
4 Stars out of 5

Ericsson W-35 Turbo-Hub

Reviewed on Sunday March 6, 2011 by , Rockwood, ON
We live an a rural situation and, until recently, dial-up was the only access to the net. We purchased a Bell Turbo-Hub about a month ago and all-in-all it has worked very well(with an external antenna). It does show an interesting quirk which I don't understand. Occasionally, perhaps once a week, the computer fails to connect with it. The display on the router indicates that it is connected to the net and the signal is good. The solution seems to be to unplug the router, wait ten seconds and power it up again. Now the computer will connect to it! Go figure! We are pleased with the hub.
1 Star out of 5

Not Happy

Reviewed on Saturday February 19, 2011 by , Claremont, On
Too bad I can't give less than 1 star because it's not even worth 1 star.

I bought my first hub in July 2010 and it worked really well for a few months. I was really happy. I noticed it was very hot to the touch, I was worried about a fire hazard. It finally stopped working, I think it fried itself. Bell sent me a replcement (refurbished). It worked for a couple of months, then stopped. They told me I needed to update the software. How can you do that without the internet? Drive 20 minutes to a wifi location to download the software file. New software solves nothing. Sent out another refurbished unit with power cords that didn't work and no updated software. (Amazing that they made such a big deal out of the new software and then send out a replacement with the 2 year old software.) New one barely functioning again, feeling really frustrated. Not looking forward to an hour long conversation with Bell while they make me jump through a lot of hoops to give the illusion they are doing something.
5 Stars out of 5

I'm Still Sailing Along! Unlike Others...

Reviewed on Thursday February 17, 2011 by , Desbarats Ontario
Well, I thought I'd update my story here so I'm happy to say that my Rocket Hub (yes with Rogers High Speed) I've not had 1 disconnect since I last posted here.
Wow is all I can say about that after reading these posts! Actually Bell just installed a brand new tower outside my farm window and from a few people that signed on with Bell they are getting not bad service however I have a computer in my basement that was returned to me (yea I build computers) because the user who has the Turbo Hub with Bell complained that her internet LAN connection keeps disconnecting. Hmmmm go figure!
This woman wants me to now rip apart her computer and send the motherboard back out West where I bought it in thinking that the LAN adapter on the motherboard is defective...Ummmm NOT.

Anyhow, I'm linking this post for her...and would recommend her to Rogers but she is now in the contract!
1 Star out of 5

Not satisfied

Reviewed on Saturday January 15, 2011 by , Verona
I purchased the W35 in late August. For the first 30 days it worked great. (warranty 30 days).I started then losing the connection half of the time taking sometimes hours to re-connect. I called Bell numerous times & was told they were aware of it & was working on a solution. They thought the problem was the simm card. We live 30 miles from the city, so we made a special trip to Kingston to purchase a new card. Still had the same problem & became worse. Bell then said they thought the problem was the Hub & they replaced it which took 6 weeks to come. Another 30 mile trip in & out of Kingston to exchange it. When I went to hook the new hub up they had sent the transmitter but no power cord. When I took the original hub back I had returned all the cables with it. So then & couldn't connect it to a power source.The following day & then made another trip to Kingston to get the power cord from my original hub back. That was then 3 trips in & out making it a total of 180 miles plus the ware & tear on the vehicle.Still having the same problem with the new hub. Bell had sent me a update download but, for some reason Windows cannot open the file. I have been waiting for years to get a better
internet connection than dial up. I thought I would be getting the best by waiting for Bell. Boy, was & mistaken. Since the 30 day warranty had expired Bell
would not return my money.It is very frustrating to be in the middle of sending an email or trying to receive a download (ect) & lose the connection & have to start all over again when I finally get a connection again. I hope Bell gets this issue resolved. I am paying a monthly fee & only receiving half a service. They should be reimbursing people that are having this problem but, they won't. I wish now I had stayed with the dial up.
It was slow but, I didn't lose the connection. I am really disappointed in Bell.

Carol Marlow
1 Star out of 5

Not much better than dialup, but a lot more expensive

Reviewed on Wednesday January 5, 2011 by , Ottawa ON
I purchased my W35 in late August, at which time I had a good steady (green) signal. A month later, signal quality degraded and I began experiencing frequent timeouts. After I installed Bell's patch, nothing improved. It's still timing out, sometimes dropping connection entirely for minutes at a time. This is a major issue if you have a device such as a PND or ereader than requires updating. If the W35 disconnects during an update, you'll likely brick the device you're updating. Bell acknowledges there's an ongoing problem, but holds you to a 2-year contract that will cost you $400 to buy your way out of.

Unless you're really fed up with dialup, save your money until this technology is improved.
1 Star out of 5

Ericsson W35 give a bad conection to internet

Reviewed on Sunday December 26, 2010 by , Quebec
i have a sigal 4/4 3G+ on the Ericsson W35 and the internet cut for a minimum 10 times in hrs.
the sony Ericsson is not redy
i give -0 star
p.s. i have a f@!$&*% contract to respect with Bell !!!
2 Stars out of 5

loses internet iconnection

Reviewed on Thursday December 9, 2010 by , kenora ont.
I find the turbo hub, inconsistent as it loses the internet tho it shows connected. This is too frequent and very frustrating when I am trying to complete tasks.
1 Star out of 5

500+ Complaints So Far (with Bell)

Reviewed on Wednesday December 8, 2010 by , Hillsdale, ON
Living and working in a rural area I was looking for a reliable hi-speed connection alternative to the expensive local wireless solution that I currently have. The W35 looked like it would be the winner, it was fast and reliable,...for a few days. After a few days it started dropping connection and continued to get worse as time went on. Spoke with Bell to find out that they are aware of the issue and have a 'master ticket' open with over 500 customers awaiting resolution to the problem. After months of waiting,..... exactly....
2 Stars out of 5

Rocket Hub imperfections

Reviewed on Sunday August 29, 2010 by , Haldimand County, Ontario
The Rogers Rocket Hub is a less than perfect device but you might be lucky. It took me a lot of frustration and an extra $150 in hardware before finding a satisfactory work-around for mine. I recommend checking out the Rogers Community Forum for the Rocket Hub at Forums dot Rogershelp dot com for reports on user experiences before purchasing.
5 Stars out of 5

Yes..Another Router Works

Reviewed on Thursday August 5, 2010 by , Desbarats Ontario
I am writing that with this Rocket Hub (I have the Rogers Hub) I can hook up an external router and disable the wireless on the Hub. I found the wireless on the Hub not stable on my network.
What you do is run an ethernet cable from the Hub into a LAN port (not WAN port) on the router...then disable DHCP on either the HUB or the Router....

I disabled DHCP on each and have given all my PC's static IP's....very stable now...and I have my Gigabit internal back now...and wireless N speed internally.

My speed with the Hub is average 3.5Megs down and 1Meg Up....with 2 to 3 night I get 5Meg.
3 Stars out of 5

Strong Modem/Weak WiFI Router

Reviewed on Sunday July 4, 2010 by , Ormstown, Qc, Canada
Just purchased this 3 days ago, easily installed truly plug and play. Some Issues with the writing of the Bell user guide (Specifically lack of windows 7 guide for wireless connection) Though the speeds are great even for the middle of no where Quebec. The Wireless router seem to be fairly unreliable for streaming TCP as you will get hit with the deadly "de-authenticated due to local deauth request" after a few minutes, but ethernet connections seem to run with no issues. I highly recommend this product for LAN users (I'm still waiting on response if WLAN can be turned of and replaced by a more stable router)
5 Stars out of 5

ericsson w35 turbo hub test

Reviewed on Thursday July 1, 2010 by , eastern Quebec
got that modem about 2 days ago and doing test on my trip to Gaspesie (eastern Canada). Did many speed test, internet browse and downloads and it's great. Here tonight, i'm in Matane QC, getting HSPA signal from a Telus site located about 4.5km from me. Many hills from my location to the site. Receiving -91dbm with EcNo of -5 on Scrambling code # 101. Speed is 5.6MB down and 1.2MB up with no external antenna. When i hook up a log-periodic antenna (700 to 3500mhz) and a 50' LMR-400 cable, i get -57dbm with EcNo of -2, it's goes up to near 7MB down and 3MB up. Latency is quite good at 100ms mostly. Set-up is easy and i have a phone jack (rj-11) on it with a Wireless 6.0ghz phone hooked to it. Wireless phone tx-rx does not affect my speed as long as i keep at leat 4ft distance from base to hub. Also tried to power it with 12vdc battery, and it still work great. I did that 12vdc test for users that wish to hook that hub in they summer homes with no AC voltage. To finish, my only complaints are the location of the 4 ethernet jacks (difficul to connect) and the plastic stand that comes with it (it falls off if you move the hub).
3 Stars out of 5

Rocket Hub Gaming/PS3/Xbox360

Reviewed on Monday January 18, 2010 by , Putnam, Ont. Canada
Well the Rocket Hub I found to be an excellent product it actually boosts the signal unlike the Rogers Rocket Stick , I live in a rural area and can,t get internet any other way except for dial-up, as soon as I had recieved my product it went straight online with my xbox no lag no problem. A week later mind you I unhooked the power cable and something went wrong so now I have to change my apn name to and back to the original and back to ,everytime I turn my xbox on to get online. So in short ver. I'm not sure if its the Hub or If is Rogers blocking it. But Rogers says its not supposed to connect ,but it does. Anyhow if your in to just surf the net its great but if your into gaming you may have to yell at your ISP for a while for them to correct this issue, rather than keeping there pockets lined they should be upgrading their systems to handle the Rural Gamers and heavy surfers