Sierra Wireless 306 Mobile Internet Key Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sierra Wireless 306 Mobile Internet Key has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

0 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday August 12, 2013 by , alberta
Purchased the mobile internet key for work purposes while on holidays and it works like crap. I am so upset I wasted my money on this device. Very limited to no access to the internet, drops the signal all the time when you happen to get one or two bars. Did not connect the first time I used it, had to get Telus to install it and it took 40mins to install it (which they said was not typical). Skip this purchase and look for something different.
1 Star out of 5

Telus USB306 is like dialup

Reviewed on Wednesday June 19, 2013 by , Rocky Mountain House
I'm giving it 1 star as at least we got a little internet where Explornet was nil and would not even try to fix! We are using a borrowed Bell Mifi2 for the time being and wow...internet! Went to Telus in town to see if they have a model like this Mifi but of course they do not so guess I will have to go Bell next.
2 Stars out of 5

Telus is Crap

Reviewed on Monday October 17, 2011 by , Rural Alberta
Can not comment on the quality of the 306. Without Telus it may work great. When Telus was working, we could get 3Gb/s. More often than I would like be get less than dial-up. With my directional antenna I once got 5 bars(-68dB)lately I'm lucky to get 3 bars and less than -90dB. During evenings it is like a slug. Pages won't load and connection gets dropped. Impossible to email. Dial-up is more reliable. Telus technicians are no help and couldn't care less. We logged a ticket (complaint) 6 months ago and it still is unresolved. Apparently the issue is Alberta-wide. But six months with-out a repair? Rural customer... Telus doesn't care about you. for $50/mo you may or may not get service. Hard to achieve our 2GB limit. There are no guarantees. TEch guys have told me that often. Called them every week for a couple of months. They don't care. Telus is crap. I was with Shaw when I was in the city and would do it again if I could out here in the country. Waiting for the contract to end.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday July 16, 2011 by , Alberta
To all those who would like to get a 3g sierra 306 wireless aircard; Don't/// I have had nothing but trouble with mine, It just drops out with out any warning. It doesnt matter if it is sunny or cloudy, it shows full scale reception then your out. The worst
part is I have too restart my laptop and then reconnect. JUNK.... Oh buy the way, Ive been on the phone with so called tech's and we spend an hour or two to fix this issue but nothing good has become of this issue. there is no software upgrade I can use to help.. JUNK thanks SIERRA.
5 Stars out of 5

Good Telus Card

Reviewed on Monday May 16, 2011 by , Vernon B.C.
Gateway Portable Personal NV59
ATI Video Card
Windows 7, with every update to May 15 2011
This card is their best so far in our 3g.
Flawless. The 14 month old Huawei was not as efficient.
1 Star out of 5

telus 306

Reviewed on Sunday January 2, 2011 by , canada
poor. the stick is always disconnecting. Heats up boots me off. No help from Telus. I spent over $600.00 on booster antenna and it doesn't help with the heating and disconnecting. Very frustrating. Why cant they add a small fan or have ventilation holes to help. I use this unit as my full time Internet connection but would look and ANY others that this problem doesn't exist on. Don't waste your money on this one.
1 Star out of 5

306 sierra sucks

Reviewed on Wednesday November 24, 2010 by , Opal , AB
We have had the 306 for six months and every time I use it I have problems with it loosing connection or not being able to connect at all. We have another older telus air card that my wifes employer provided for her and it works fine but the 306 does not, and the tech support has been no help at all. If you live out of the city don't waste your money , as usual telus provdes sub par service....
5 Stars out of 5

Awesome air card

Reviewed on Friday June 25, 2010 by , Edson
We had the Huawei E182E it would not play you tube, the connection would always be terminated, I was told by a tech that it's not compatible with windows 7 64 bit, So I exchanged it for this sierra 306 which appears to be amazing! I only have 1 bar of service but it stays connected & gives me much faster speed than the Huawei & it doesn't disconnect even if it's on my floor, which is much better than the Huawei which I had to have sloped towards the sky to have any chance of connection & that had 2-3 bars of service.
5 Stars out of 5

Facile d'installation sur linux

Reviewed on Monday February 15, 2010 by , Quebec City
Super facile a installer sur ubuntu. Fonctionne sur 9.10 meme si le site dit que ce n'est pas supporté.
Downloader le fichier pour votre version de kernel.
detarrer le fichier
make install
apn de telus:

Une fois que vous etes connecté vous devez copier le fichier /etc/ppp/resolv.conf dans /etc

Pas plus compliqué que ca.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday February 2, 2010 by , Coaticook
Je vend ce produit en magasin pour les gens qui n'on pas accès à l'internet haute vitesse chez eux. La première chose que vous devez savoir, c'est que si la réception cellulaire est mauvaise, n'achetez pas ce produit sans avoir un booster de signal cellulaire (voir booster wilson). Une fois un bon signal,, cette carte peut atteindre 500 à 600k /sec en downloaad ! presque la vitesse du cable videotron.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday December 7, 2009 by , Wooler, Ontario
Telus states that they have full coverage in my area. With that info I purchased the USB 306, I couldn't wait to get home and finally enjoy High Speed. NO LUCK. There is no service and I live 10 minutes north of the 401. If you have limited cell phone service, don't believe Telus when they say that they have you covered, they don't.
1 Star out of 5

user review

Reviewed on Saturday December 5, 2009 by , Edmonton
Lots of problems. Hard to install. Telus technical support not much help. Waste of money.
4 Stars out of 5

USB 106

Reviewed on Wednesday November 11, 2009 by , Wabasca
Finally got my air card working. Now works like a hot diggidy dam.Extremely fast, even at only 2 bars
1 Star out of 5

USB 306 and Telus's imobility to fix by 1st call techs

Reviewed on Monday November 9, 2009 by , Wabasca AB.
I bought the 306 on Friday 6 of Nov. After installing the device, it would not work. I phoned *611. The advisor informed me that they had taken a quick repaire course but it was pay and go "per say".PAY now and maybe they can repair later. As of the evening of 09 it is still not working.Buyer beware as far as I am concerned