Doro 824 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Doro 824 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 11 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

Factory Reset is Best

Reviewed on Friday November 30, 2018 by , Pinware, Labrador, Canada
After some frustrations with lack of space for applications, and reading a review on your site, I decided to follow its suggestion, and perform a Factory Reset. Indeed, it worked and left me with 3.56 Gb of spare storage. I found out that it had nothing to do with the phone, but with Google who pushed a whole bunch of apps that I did not use (and could not remove!).

Thanks for the suggestion, Tony (Ontario, Monday, October 23).
1 Star out of 5

Crap!

Reviewed on Wednesday August 8, 2018 by , Rochester, NY
This phone stinks. Can't send nor receive MMS pictures. Consumer support is useless. What a shame.
5 Stars out of 5

2018 Update Nicely Working And Great Phone To Have.

Reviewed on Tuesday July 3, 2018 by , Daleville, Al
8GB Plus 32GB' Expanded storage this phone was made for people who will truly understand this phone
NOT for people that don't understand to those who complain about this phone sorry for misunderstanding and not reading the manuals that came with''.. I have had mine for 2 Years already and it has never given me a hard or a bad time works great and it has been very good to me.

They are Actually still for sale on a great price if you like to have one search and you will find one that can be good to you for a long time''. just like mine has been to me.

((I love it.)) TY.
1 Star out of 5

JUNK

Reviewed on Friday June 29, 2018 by , Nj
1 week of use and it CONSTANTLY LOCKS UP! Wi-Fi Direct doesn't work! I have to remove and replace the battery just to make a phone call!
2 Stars out of 5

December to June !!

Reviewed on Wednesday June 27, 2018 by , Brookings Oregon
Very sad my phone is not working well now. ONly had it 6 months. Keeps shutting down on me. Wish I had seen these reviews before buying it. I do really like the phone but it has issues now.
3 Stars out of 5

Factory reset could help storage issues

Reviewed on Monday October 23, 2017 by , Ontario
I bought this phone from Bell Canada for my father and very quickly realized that the 4 GB of storage wasn't going to be enough. Just as other reviews have mentioned, there wasn't even enough storage to update the apps that were installed from the factory!

I eventually got fed up and decided to try doing a factory reset. Surprisingly, this actually solved the problem. The phone now has more than 3 GB of free space, even with all of the apps and the OS updated. I'm still not sure exactly what happened; maybe Bell had installed a bunch of software before selling the phone; maybe there were a lot of old installation files from old Android updates stored on the phone. Either way, the factory reset cleared out the phone.

I just wanted to write this for anyone who may be trying to solve the same problem. Please try the factory reset and maybe even write a review here about whether or not it worked.

Now that the phone's not bogged down, it's actually overall a decent phone. No major complaints except maybe the below average battery life.
1 Star out of 5

Doro 824 phone

Reviewed on Saturday July 15, 2017 by , Central Valley
This phone is the worst cell phone that I have ever come in contact with. Battery will not hold charge anymore... 8 months old. It only came with 4 gigs storage. It is just trouble. Not worth the money.
1 Star out of 5

Warning, Dont Get it!!!

Reviewed on Sunday July 2, 2017 by , Kingston, Ontario
3 big mistakes with the phone.
- the internal memory is so small it cant handle googles operating system that is on it (Can you CRASH all the time)
- stability the rom needs to hold your settings when you tell it to look or act a certain way it shouldn't reset on its own (can you say ANNOYING)
- everyone wants things like protection ie a case and screen protector (hint NOT FOR THIS PHONE)

If you want a phone that you cant get screen protectors or cases for, crashes and resets your settings continuously then this is the one for you.
0 Stars out of 5

Biggest piece of crap EVER

Reviewed on Wednesday March 29, 2017 by , USA
This was my first smart phone. Got it through Consumer Cellular. It was $200 in July 2016. ATT was carrier. since it was so much cheaper than the other androids or apples being sold then by CC, I thought i'd take the plunge. Lots of dropped calls in my house, texts in Japanese, wouldn't start after charging all night in cradle without taking battery out and putting back in, Had 8G storage, but half of that was taken up by apps. Didn't even have enough room to update the apps. Touch screen was insensitive when dialing..had to press a number 3 times before it registered. Couldn't find a case to fit it because it's such an oddball phone. Consumer Cellular should be ashamed of themselves. I changed to Metro PCS (T-Mobile) with no contract for $36/mo and 1G or data and got a new LG phone for $70. Never again CC.
1 Star out of 5

Stay away

Reviewed on Thursday November 24, 2016 by , Alabama
Stay away from this phone. To begin with the internal memory is only 4 gig and the installed apps take up 3 gig. You have to use an sd card to store downloaded apps.

The weather function is always a dsy off and can't be corrected.

If you create a music list the phone won't store the list if you turn the phone off or reboot.

Calling tech support is useless as they will only read from their support manual or reset your phone and if that doesn't work they will tell you they're escalating your issue and someone will call within 48 hours.

I've yet to ever receive that call. Now thst the phone is paid for consumer cellular won't let you swap phones and give you a credit for what you paid.
1 Star out of 5

Doro 824

Reviewed on Thursday November 10, 2016 by , Atlanta, Georgia
This is my first smartphone, and I thought all phones would be similar in quality. NOT SO. I am constantly checking to make sure that phone buttons are in correct positions. Getting software to follow direct commands is sometimes impossible without reboot. Google interface works well sometimes and then not. Phone is Unreliable at best. Unusable without constant attention most times.