Google Pixel Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Google Pixel has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 33 reviews.


3 Stars out of 5

Google Pixel 2

Reviewed on Tuesday May 8, 2018 by , Seattle, WA
Over all it is a good solid phone. Great camera, easy compatibility, etc. Some small, but very annoying gripes: 1. The "squeeze feature--to activate the helper, you simply squeeze the phone and the help screen pops up. Great, except for when you are trying to put it in a phone holder in a car, turn down the volume, or any other time you might had the phone. 2. You get a call from a new friend, then go to save it to your contacts--but you can't. You have to write down the number, open contacts then type it all in. Neither of these are bad, just very annoying--it seems like for all the other bells and whistles on the phone, they would have recognized these operational issues.
1 Star out of 5

Completely junk

Reviewed on Sunday April 15, 2018 by , 4 LaPlata Place #3 Durango CO 81301
I have had my Google pixel phone for a year it is the worst cell phone I have ever had. It drops calls, deletes contacts all the time and the microphone doesn't work. Half the time it won't turn on it charge. anyone that buys one of these phones will be very sorry
1 Star out of 5

Unreliable and Shoddy Hardware After Less than a Year of Use

Reviewed on Saturday April 14, 2018 by , Canada
Initially, I had high hopes for this phone but the expectations we're cut short within a few months of buying it. One of the speakers were not working from the moment I pulled it out of the box, but I overlooked this with the notion that I mostly use external speakers/headphones/headsets anyway. Ironically enough, even that was eventually plagued by this phones poor hardware performance. Blue tooth wireless headphones/headsets will constantly disconnect despite the numerous "fixes" I have tried with Google's suggestions, as well as having the same issue with random WIFI interruptions. Furthermore, there are huge problems if you try to charge the phone whilst having any auxiliary cable hooked up - there is a constant noise/static if both are plugged in at the same time. For reference, I've used all the same hardware mentioned above against my company phone (an iPhone - of which I am not a fan of either), and all the equipment works fine under the same conditions.

This phone has been a nightmare from the get go. Do not be fooled by the sleek design, because whatever is inside this case is clearly not up to par. Wait out for future generations of the pixel if you must, but I would definitely recommend you go with the safer bets in the other and more reliable brands.
1 Star out of 5

Pixel and Project Fi

Reviewed on Friday March 30, 2018 by , Guam
Received the Pixel Phone and immediately encountered software and hardware problem. Slow SMS writing of up to a second between letters. Ultimately stopped charging, and returned to Google for exchange. This took two months. Google charges a deposit after sending out replacement phone and until old phone is received. Old Phone was received by Google but charged $826 anyway. Multiple shipping confirmations received. The Phone was the worst Phone I have had and the lousy phone was only exceeded by the lousy service. Now fighting the billing. A nightmare.
5 Stars out of 5

New phone after 10 years - Pixel 2

Reviewed on Tuesday March 6, 2018 by , United States
After 10 years of loyalty to the iPhone, I was finally persuaded to switch with the new release of Google's phone. Part of me just wanted to try something different, and the Pixels camera quality and cool design enticed me. I'm glad I did; I've never seen a more beautiful display with an array of vibrant colors. The phone operates flawlessly, the battery is great, it has quick charge which apple hasn't had. It's an all around amazing phone, best I've ever had !
1 Star out of 5

Continued problems, worst phone experience I've ever had

Reviewed on Wednesday February 28, 2018 by , Los Angeles
I bought the Pixel XL last year and was excited at first to get my hands on this new phone. Unfortunately the honeymoon period was short-lived, as very early on I experienced camera issues that, long story short, turned out to be a hardware issue. So, after a painful factory reset, it was determined that I needed to send the (new) phone back in to Google and have it replaced with a refurbished one. After that the camera worked very well, but soon thereafter the phone ringtone stopped working. I'm talking factory-installed ring tone. So, my phone only would give me missed calls or, if it were on my person, it would vibrate. Another factory reset and I'm ready to go back to iPhone and chalk up the hefty $1000 price tag of the Pixel XL as a very painful learning lesson. Avoid this phone!
2 Stars out of 5

Patchy at best

Reviewed on Tuesday February 27, 2018 by , United Kingdom
Took delivery of a replacement for my first Pixel today. After a range of problems the first one finally gave up with a broken microphone. When it worked it was OK but then to work it needs to connect to WiFi (it didn't reliably) and Bluetooth (it didn't work well with speakers or earphones). The first one gave me a miserable year. I'm stuck with this new one for another year. So far WiFi reception is better, the jury's out on Bluetooth. But the back up worked well. At best though I suspect it'll be tolerable. I won't be getting another.
1 Star out of 5

Terrible functionality

Reviewed on Monday February 26, 2018 by , United States
I was finally convinced to try something other than an Iphone and I fully regret the decision to try the Google Pixel 2. This phone operating system is clunky, not user friendly, and flat out just a terrible phone. The camera was nowhere near as good as what they said it was going to be. Updating or adding contacts is a pain in the a** and if you are currently using your phone and receive a phone call, the buttons on the screen don't work so you can't answer it. This is only a few of the glitches that I have encountered in my 5 months with this phone but I would STAY AWAY FROM GOOGLE PIXEL 2
1 Star out of 5

Lack of customer service, couldn’t make calls

Reviewed on Monday February 5, 2018 by , Nyc
I purchased the google pixel which was my first after several years of being fed up with Apple. Lots of the applications did not work properly or as well as they did with my iPhone. I also dropped the phone the first week and had a scratch on the screen. Approximately 4 months later my phone call application stopped working. My phone would restart if I answered a call. Finally it stopped restarting but I could not hear or speak to the person on the other end of the line. My texting, email, and other functions worked fine. Google told me they would not fix it and that it was caused by the physical damage. The call center in the Philippeans was not helpful and they hung up on me twice for saying shoot because they considered that profanity.
TL;DR. Stay with Apple
5 Stars out of 5

Google Pixel is really a 'smart' phone with an outstanding performance on various aspects

Reviewed on Sunday January 21, 2018 by , Belgium
* Very fast performance
* Enormeous internal storage (128GB)
* Excellent picture quality
* Very Nice google assistent providing answers on daily questions as 'what is the weather today', 'I want to go to place X, what's the fastest route for me?', ' I want to order a pizza X by the nearest pizzeria, ... (Just ask and Google assistant provides an excellent answer for 90-95% of the questions you ask).
* Very Good battery lifetime span
* Stereo OK to good, but space for improvement.

Somewhat expensive to buy, but price/quality ratio is very good.

In my opinion far undervalued and superior to a Samsung galaxy S 8 or Apple Iphone.
3 Stars out of 5

Great phone but unreliable

Reviewed on Wednesday January 3, 2018 by , Boulder, CO
Some problems do not crop up for a while. My Pixel has been a great phone since I purchased it in November 2016, but then on December 05, 2017 Google installed a security patch and the app that makes phone calls stopped working correctly. From numerous experiments and troubleshooting, I eventually figured out that the phone is only reliable with a Bluetooth device, which means that if you do not have a Bluetooth device on hand, you may not be able to make a call. Google has declined to help in this matter, either by replacing the update or replacing/fixing the phone due to the warranty expiring after one year. However, it is odd the phone stopped working one month after the warranty expired and immediately after the security patch. I am quite sure the problem is the security patch but have no way of proving that, which makes it a Google problem and not a warranty problem. The lack of resolution on Google's part is a severe breach of consumer confidence, and the only recourse I have is to decide that Google is not a company that stands behind its product, especially when issues become fuzzy. That is not the experience I have had with Apple during my ten years of owning their phone. I am switching back to Apple.
2 Stars out of 5

Don't trust professional reviews

Reviewed on Wednesday December 27, 2017 by , Rocky mountains
I have noticed a large difference in professional reviews versus consumer reviews. The professionals become hyped about features, then we get stuck with the poor performance. I would say at best the phone is a labor of love. When it running it is great, but with daily screen freezes, the daily restarts, the phone is not worth the money, the more you use it the worse it gets.
1 Star out of 5

this product is the WORST EVER

Reviewed on Wednesday December 20, 2017 by , Tuscaloosa AL
It is the night before we leave for 7 months in France and my THIRD replacement Google Pixel phone is not working. Google you have FAILED. I would like to tell everyone I know not to buy this product!!! The first phone lost microphone service at random times. The second one the same... and the third one is even worse. At least the other two had a period of service but this one is 3 days old!! I cannot even use this (!%^ phone. IT IS SIMPLY THE BIGGEST WASTE OF MONEY! Don't buy anything from Google.
1 Star out of 5

Disapointing

Reviewed on Thursday November 23, 2017 by , London
I expected a lot more from the pixel. It's very expensive yet after less than a year it's already playing up. It restarts itself at random times and then gets stuck on the start up screen for ages. I take it with me on holiday and my last holiday in the state was a revelation as the shortcomings of this phone. Didn't get network coverage even though it's supposed to go onto the local one. Couldn't make phone calls, connect to the internet when I had WiFi or send texts. If I wasn't still paying for it on my monthly contract I would have smashed it to pieces in anger and frustration. Many features are missing particularly in the settings. Very simple things that make life easier. Non existent here.
The camera is also temperamental and takes blurry photos whenever it wants to. Zoom not great. Nothing about this phone is as good as Google pretends. I regularly loose the sound so can't speak to my son and he can't hear me. The earphone jack works intermittently sometimes just stops mid song. I feel stupid for buying into it. I guess when you're such a big company you can buy any advertising you want. Overrated and underwhelming as far as I'm concerned. I'm going back to carphone Warehouse to tell them that it's faulty. If not faulty then it's definitely not fit for purpose and Google should refund. No way a phone lasts so little time. I even have my very first mobile and not a scratch on it, none of my previous phones performed so badly. Never again. I'm going back to the overall better performance of Samsung.
1 Star out of 5

Google Pixel

Reviewed on Tuesday November 14, 2017 by , New Jersey USA
It's a good idea. But very poorly executed. I've had several dropped calls and texts that just never got to me. It won't play videos smoothly even when hooked up to the best WiFi. It shuts off on it's own for no reason and even with the best unlimited plan it runs slow anytime I'm off WiFi. Come on Google. You've got all that money and you couldn't put a better phone together?
1 Star out of 5

Toy phone

Reviewed on Monday October 16, 2017 by , Ponce Inlet
I'm Regretting purchasing the Google pixel. The battery performance is terrible - half a day - them the phone shuts down WITH NO WARNING. After charging the phone does not automatically restart.
No bells & whistles AND no battery? Horrible phone
1 Star out of 5

The Worst

Reviewed on Wednesday October 11, 2017 by , Cambridge
This phone has caused me more headache than any other phone I have ever had. I have had problems with it since I purchased it. The first problem I encountered with the pixel was the wireless connection. The pixel did not connect to the wireless properly in which I had no idea and wasted my entire 2gb in two days. I looked past it and blamed it being my own fault for not realizing. Although this phone does this consistently and switches to data when it fails to connect to the wireless even in your own home. The next issue I had with the pixel was the consistent glitches it has while on apps and even on the phone. I also looked past this and blamed it on being the first google phone has made so obviously I will run into minor problems. Now here we are a few months later; I can no longer even use this phone because I'm consistently hitting the restart button. I make phone calls and no one can hear me on the other end. The head phone jack decides when it wants to work and when it does not. Last but not least this phone is currently not even turning on although it was fully charged and working this morning. I have ever written a review before but I had to for this phone because I cannot wait to get rid of it.
1 Star out of 5

Do not buy this phone

Reviewed on Monday September 25, 2017 by , Washington DC
Do NOT buy this phone. It has so many issues. I got a new phone sent to me and it is refurbished and has the same exact issues, and I had to pay 150$. It doesn't have sound or play or record video. The battery sometimes decides not to charge and it randomly restarts constantly. Do NOT buy this phone I would do anything to go back to Samsung but I am trapped in my contract :(
5 Stars out of 5

Easy Straightforward & Simple

Reviewed on Tuesday September 5, 2017 by , Cleveland Ohio
Had and iPhone and Android phones this is my favorite phone I've ever owned it's sleek and durable and I can access my email easily for work.love the unlimited storage takes it comes with and the trial of Google play music. amazing photos I sell on eBay so I can run my entire store and keep and take all my product photos with this device and even access them on my computer. So simple and easy to use and set up everything syncs with the programs I use on my computer. This phone makes everything a breeze and makes my life so much easier. When I had an iPhone I found myself downloading so many Google apps and not using the apple ones. Doesn't continually Lock me out of stuff like my iPhone did. Battery life is great apps run smoothly phone charges extremely quickly
5 Stars out of 5

Amazing phone

Reviewed on Saturday August 5, 2017 by , Duluth
Amazing phone, easy to use, best camera ever, and compatible with almost anything. I came to leave a review for one main reason though, I just dropped mine in a lake for about 20minutes and didn't know; went and pulled it out and in I'm absolutely in awe with how it's still working completely fine. I'm leaving the review right now using it less than 15min after pulling it out. Damn this thing is very reliable.
5 Stars out of 5

Love it! Best purchase!

Reviewed on Friday August 4, 2017 by , Canada
I recently switched from Samsung S4 to the Google pixel. My S4 was so glitchy I couldn't even use it anymore. The phone deleted things like my contacts and apps. Even deleted the play store so nothing would update! Sick of Samsung issues, I am trying the Pixel. I love it so much! So many great features. There are also a lot of cool hidden features that you can access. Camera quality is so great makes me cry tears of joy. I love the appearance, very similar to iPhone. Google assistant very helpful. Keyboard took some getting used to. The jujube emojis were weird at first but I am slowly getting used to it. Can't stop playing around on my phone! Highly recommend!
1 Star out of 5

Google Pixel

Reviewed on Monday July 31, 2017 by , Oregon
I have never hated a phone so much in my life as I do the Google Pixel! I want my iPhone back!!!! Unfortunately I'm stuck with this for another year and a half!!
1 Star out of 5

Google made me an Apple Believer

Reviewed on Tuesday July 18, 2017 by , Waterford
Three years ago I began dating a software engineer who codes for a living. He is obviously tech savvy so when he suggested that Android was superior to Apple, and I was in the market for a new phone, I decided to switch last year after 6 loyal years.We both bought Nexus5x. Well, I was one of the lucky many who's hardware system exploded. Right outside the warranty period too. So I upgraded to Pixel. It was well reviewed. Supposedly the flagship. After5 months my first Pixel just straight up died. It had many symptoms including crashing when attempting to make a phone call. Google was nice enough to send me a (refurbished) replacement. Well ladies and gentlemen I kid you not this one has a broken mic. A common problem if you Google the Pixel. So after spending over a grand on Google phones in the last year, I will be gladly returning to my reliable IPhone.
2 Stars out of 5

Google Pixel isn't anything special, iPhone is better

Reviewed on Thursday June 8, 2017 by , Utah
I used an iPhone from 2007 until the end of last year, 2016, at which time I purchased a Google Pixel XL. It was so hyped up, and I was excited to try it; I paid in full for it. I've had it less than six months, and I'm ready to sell it and switch to just a basic iPhone SE.

The Pixel XL is clunky. It's big, and the OS doesn't compare to Apple. I'm not a huge Apple fan either. I switched because their hubris and constant bragging about user experience and such an elegant user interface (UI) was obnoxious. Now I'm going to eat my words because the fact is, their UI is MUCH MUCH better than Google Pixel's. Example: to turn off blue tooth on the pixel requires tapping the bluetooth icon and then having to manually slide the button to off, rather than just allowing you to hit it once to turn it on and off. This is one small example of MANY that make the Pixel clunky to use.

Supposedly if you tap the screen when it's asleep a certain number of times or quickly hold it up, the screen will illuminate to show you the time and if you have any notifications. This is SO inconsistent, it boggles the mind. It doesn't work half the time.

It's key feature - Google Assistant - is annoying to people like me who don't appreciate constantly being bombarded with your phone/Google trying to access every nook and cranny in your life and foist their AI features on you. It's not very intuitive turning these things off either, a testament to the poor UI.

I am frankly surprised at how clunky the OS and UI are. I worked for Google for 4 years, and love many of their other products and always thought they did a good job with user experience and interface. The Google Pixel stands in stark comparison to that.
1 Star out of 5

Google Pixel

Reviewed on Thursday May 4, 2017 by , Virginia
Absolutely terrible!!!! I have had nothing but problems with this phone ever since I bought it 2 months ago. I am kicking myself for trading in my Galaxy note. Worst phone I have ever owned. It freezes every day!!! All my apps quit working every day!!! It deletes new contacts, front camera is absolutely the worst, I had to turn off Google Assistant because when I made phone calls people complained I had a robot voice, dropped the phone once (with phone case on) and it cracked the glass on the back of the phone (who puts a random piece of glass on a phone?!?) And that automatically voided my warranty and when my phone just randomly turned off while I was taking a video and didn't turn back on, I was unable to replace it because of the crack in the glass!!! I could go on. Not having a external home button is a big issue. The phone over heats and freezes up so much, that if you try to back out or close an app, the phone won't recognize that you are clicking the home button because it's always *bleeping* frozen!! It also never registeres when you click anything.. there is always a 1/2 second delay when clicking anything!!! Worst decision I have ever made.. I miss my Galaxy so much!
1 Star out of 5

Worst phone i Have ever HAD!!!!

Reviewed on Monday May 1, 2017 by , Anon
1st of all the phone has major issues with the microphone making it impossible to conduct a phone call or do anything involving the mic! It is an intermittent problem, meaning the phone works fine one day and the next day it wont. I paid almost $1000 for this device because it was a google product! NEVER AGAIN. APPLE IT IS! btw my pixel is under warranty. I have been messaging, emailing etc for weeks now. there is no google store to do a swap. the only way they will send a replacement is if you buy another pixel and then get the reimbursement after the damaged device is received! What kind of customer service is that!!! why should I have a spare $1k in my account just incase google makes a mistake???
1 Star out of 5

Weak Battery

Reviewed on Friday March 31, 2017 by , Stickney, IL
If you are an intermodal truck driver like me, and use your phone a lot to scan your QR Codes into the kiosks at the rail terminals, then this phone is NOT for you. The battery drains in NO TIME. At least the. IPhone 5s that when it was brand new the battery lasted a couple'a DAYS not hours. What I should'a done is check on average battery life, so I don't have to keep the "portable" android cell phone plugged into my truck the whole day when I'm not using it.
1 Star out of 5

Poor Battery Life

Reviewed on Friday March 10, 2017 by , Colorado Springs, CO
The battery on this phone keeps running down. I have to keep it on the charger even during the day. I'm still wondering why I switched from the Motorola Maxx. The features on this phone are satisfactory but the battery life gives it a low rating with me.
0 Stars out of 5

DONOT BUY GOOGLE PIXEL

Reviewed on Monday February 6, 2017 by , New Delhi
Dear All Friends,

I bought google pixel 32 GB with lot of hope and having a very good image of this product approx one month back. Yesterday the whole touch screen stopped working , i went to the service center today and they say that google don't have policy of replacement so they will repair it. What the hell is this? For this is what i bought this phone , Friends think 10 times before buying this phone from google.

Note: It was never brought in contact with water or fallen since i bought it.

BEWARE OF GOOGLE PIXEL & THEIR POLICY.
1 Star out of 5

Pixel phone

Reviewed on Saturday January 28, 2017 by , Canada
Very dissapointed on the Google pixel phone. January 27 2017 my phone was charging next to me, I rolled over and burn my back from the phone. For some reason it was so hot! I unplugged it, let cold it down use it again and then it startes to warm up again. The battery dies quickly and when I charge it again it get hot again. I'm very caution my life from this phone :( very disappointed.
1 Star out of 5

Google pixel

Reviewed on Sunday December 25, 2016 by , Ottawa Canada
Very slow phone. Barely able to connect to Wi-Fi. Has an ultra rare charger cord..... Very disappointed for the $700.00++ dollars I spent on it......
I miss my Samsung
4 Stars out of 5

Likes and dislikes

Reviewed on Saturday December 17, 2016 by , Tallahassee
First off I think I should let me known I switch from an iPhone to the Pixel. That being said the Pixel seems to be the best Android forms to try first. There are features that would make things better tho.

1) Adding badges on apps installed on the phone. I've missed messages and missed calls because I didn't see I has missed anything.
2) Being able to add text shortcut would make texting much easier. Allowing users to add things like ty for thank you.
3) The back button being next to the send button ensures I send messages with too many errors.
4) the HD camera turns out pics with either great quality or back lighting.
5) having the battery percentage show right by the battery would a nice luxury.

1) The headphone jack being located on the top is too smart. It makes plugging aux cords less frustrating.
2) Talk to text is pretty spot on. Definitely a pro when it comes to times you can't dedicated time to proofreading before you send.
1 Star out of 5

zippy and nice cam but dissapointed overall

Reviewed on Sunday October 23, 2016 by , NH
I was excited to get the Pixel. It has a really great camera. It's pretty fast functioning. I REALLY wanted this to be my next cell phone but it's not as I'm returning it. It's an EXPENSIVE cell phone. I paid $749.99 for the 128 GB Pixel. It's got ergonomics with using that I do not like. It takes more clicks to do a function that other, less costly droids, can do in one click. For example, to close all open apps, not only is that option top left screen, which is a pain but you have to swipe the multi-app down, which exposes the option to close all, THEN can close all, which is an extra step. Also, you can NOT hide apps at all and you can NOT hide photos/videos at all. If I'm going to pay TOP DOLLAR for a cell phone, I want cutting-edge stuff but, these things I'm writing about are just BASIC things. In some ways, I like the simplicity but it's TOO simple at the high cost. One positive thing is that it's easy to toggle between the two most recently used apps by double-clicking the multi-app button. I was surprised that there's actually Google support chat right on the cell but, it didn't do me any good b/c simple functions like hiding an app and photo just isn't a function the cell has. There are very few ring tones and they're frankly lame, and I can NOT differentiate ring tones for different messaging apps vs email, etc... Again, these things are BASIC things I would expect fro a cell that cost &750.00. I'm sadly returning it.