LG 245 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 245 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 33 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

great cell phone

Reviewed on Sunday May 19, 2013 by , Lethbridge Alberta
I had this phone from the first time they came out and it still works like charm.
0 Stars out of 5

great cell phone

Reviewed on Sunday May 19, 2013 by , Lethbridge Alberta
I had this phone from the first time they came out and it still works like charm.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 28, 2011 by , Terrebonne
J'ai du echanger mon lg banter car il etait semi francais, semi espagnol , et fermais automatiquement lors de l'initialisation de la musique...Un coup echanger il fais la meme chose!!!
5 Stars out of 5

Great phone

Reviewed on Wednesday December 8, 2010 by , Canada
Had this phone for 5 years now
has never let me down
compared to other phones ive owned such as the samsung r500 which stopped working. completely telus fault
this phone is very well built and cannot be destroyed
my phone is i the worst condition ever but it still works somehow. recently it stopped receiving picture messages just a minor set back. the best investment ive ever made. LG IS THE BEST
1 Star out of 5

battery problem

Reviewed on Wednesday March 25, 2009 by , winnipeg,mtb
me and my mother have owned this phone 1.1/2 years and the battery started to burn and smoke out of where you put the battery it melted the plastic
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday August 14, 2008 by , Vancouver
I've had my cell for over a year. Just recently it rings and I get a sign a window that contains two boxes, "quiet" and "ignore". When I press answer key, the phone hangs up. What to do about this?
1 Star out of 5

LG 245

Reviewed on Monday August 4, 2008 by , Calgary
i've had this phone for 2 and a half years now and it wont work well anymore...i do not recomened this phone
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone!

Reviewed on Thursday July 17, 2008 by , bc, canada
I've had this phone for almost a year now and loved it! I had no problems with it. I've dropped it on cement alot of times but that didn't stop it from working. I got texts easily but sending them took a little longer than I wanted.
The camera on the phone always moved when it was done(I didn't mind it, sometimes it helps) One thing I must reccomend you NOT to do is drop it in the water!! I did that a week ago, let it dry, it turns on and the calling history flashes(Missed, Sent...) sometimes it goes blank! So now I have to get a new one.(e-mail me on what phone you would reccomend. So, over-all GREAT phone!!
1 Star out of 5

bad bad bad

Reviewed on Sunday June 15, 2008 by , BC, Canada
My phone is about 8 months old and it has broken twice on me already! first time around i had the white screen of death on the main lcd.. thank god its under warranty..4 weeks later, the main lcd started acting up again. a split screen and mirror images started appearing, off to repair again....
3 Stars out of 5

Good phone!

Reviewed on Monday May 12, 2008 by , Montreal
I've had this phone for 2 years now. It's the first phone i ever had. I dropped it a thousand times and it didnt cause damage at all, even my antenna is kinda moving but it works perfectly.

Pros: Solid phone, good batterie life, quality of the camera is ok, ringtones are very loud, good basic phone for someone that needs a simple phone

Cons: Can't transfer files on computer, no games, bluetooth doesnt work, Inbox can only carry a max. of 50 txt msgs, no zoom on camera, no video.

Overall, i would recommend this phone for anyone that is looking for a very basic phone.
3 Stars out of 5

Good little phone

Reviewed on Sunday May 11, 2008 by , Markham, North Bay
had this phone since November 2006 and its worked very well for me. Never had a problem with it freezing and the reception has been good wherever i have used the phone. I lived in North Bay for a year and always got great reception in the city, and all along the 400 highway back into Toronto. My girlfriends Rogers phone can't say the same thing. Here in the GTA i get at least 1 to 2 bars of reception in my basement apartment (which is surprising), so i almost never miss a call. Text and picture messaging works fine when i use these features, sometimes there are delays with recieving text messages but I think this is more a network issue than a phone issue. if i had to, i would definitely buy this phone again, it may not have all the bells and whistles i.e. mp3, tv. video messaging, etc, but it does what its suppose to do, it has decent reception and allows me to make phone calls. KISS principle at its best.
3 Stars out of 5

LG 245

Reviewed on Wednesday April 23, 2008 by , Chilliwack, British Columbia
i don't have a lot of problems with this phone, i've had mine since the christmas of '06. my phone doesnt freeze when i open picture messages, i've dropped it numerous times, but it still works completely fine. i'm thinking of upgrading soon though! :) long battery life also. but what i hate the most is the vibrate mode, its SOOO loud!
1 Star out of 5

Does anyone else had this problem

Reviewed on Friday April 4, 2008 by , Hamilton, ontario
I got an lg245 15 months ago and about 2 weeks ago it snapped in half, another family member of mine had the same phone and had the same problem. Is there anyone else out there with this same problem.


i just read some of the reviews and I had the same problems
the phone freezes when you receive pictures
sometimes its hard to turn on
cute little phone , bad design
2 Stars out of 5

Poor Signal

Reviewed on Tuesday March 25, 2008 by , British Columbia, Canada
This is my second LG 245 in 10 months. The first one I sent back on warranty, I got a replacement.

Signal strength is terrible, I've compared to other Telus users and they have superior strength. After speaking with Telus, they suggest I buy a different phone.

1 out of 10 calls will drop. Sometimes the phone won't ring, but I'll get a voicemail. Phone has a very difficult time working in buildings while other Telus users have no problems. If in a building, text messages will arrive a few hours late.

If someone sends me a picture message, I can't open it, my phone locks up when I try to open it. When you go out of service area, the time disappears on the phone after a few hours.

Web browsing is painfully slow, the basic web sites that Telus provides will take about 1 minute to load each page.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday March 17, 2008 by , Smithers B.C.
I got my phone about 2 years ago.
I love it, ive dropped it at least 10 times, my mom washed it while it was in my jeans, it fell out of my pocket onto a hot motor of the car i was working on, and my dog slobbered all over it and it still works perfectly.
The screen is a little messed up from when it got washed, and the outside is scratched to heck, but other wise its in ok shape.
The new phones they come out with probably would break within about 2 months if i got one, ill use my LG 245 until it wont work no more! Pefect reception in my small town, love having a camera, the clarity of my calls are awesome, and its a great first phone for a person like me that is clumbsy and drops things alot.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday March 9, 2008 by , Niagara Falls, Ontario
I know what you're thinking, every phone has its bad reviews which usually turns out to be just the person themelves being a bad phone owner, well this time, its the phone. I have had this phone since June 2007 and have hated it pretty much since then.
Every phone has its "honeymoon period" where for about two weeks you think its the greatest thing EVER. Then you find out what a real piece of crap it is.
First off, you cant change the time. Not that I have been able to find anyway. The last time we had a time change, I think it did it itself, this time around, it won't/hasn't changed and I cant find ANY WAY to physically change it myself.
When putting an appointment in the scheduler, it automaticaly assumes its one time, and if you dont change the AM/PM right away, it fudges up your end time. I use the scheduler to keep track of my work hours, and it can take almost 20 mins to do a week of hours. More time than I think is necessary really. Another really annoying thing about the scheduler, is the "alarm". At the starting time, the "alarm will go off incessently" until you shut it off, unless you go through day by day and shut it off. There's no "one stop" option to turn it off all the time.
Reception is also a HUGE problem with this model. On Lundy's Lane, one of Niagara Falls' main roads, you're lucky if you get 2 or 3 bars, in my house I get 3-4 on a good day. I've never once seen it at 5 bars. Plus sound quality is beyond poor. Its crackly and low and the speakerphone is even worse. You can barely hear anything when using the speakerphone, at full volume, you get more static and crackle than voice from the person on the other end.
The camera is okay...but when you take a pic, it isnt of just what you see on the screen when you take the pic, theres always extra you dont see on the screen for some reason, which makes it really hard to take a pic to use on your display. I will give some crdit to this phone though, I DO like how you can have personal pics for the internal and external displays, and they can be 2 different pics.
This phone doesnt come with any games on it either, which isnt really that big of a deal, but I have had cell phones in the past that come with at one game when you purchase it.
Like any other phone, it also comes with a really poor choice of preloaded ringtones. There is one that sounds like Tal Bachmans "Shes So High", which isnt too bad. You can download ringtones, but cant use them for anything other than incoming calls. You cant use it for the alarm clock or text messaging, which bugged me.

All in all, if you want a phone for JUST phone calls, this is perfect, as long as you dont demand high quality in the calls. Other than that, its not even worth getting for free.
3 Stars out of 5

Long Battery Life

Reviewed on Thursday February 14, 2008 by , Edmonton
it's basic.
GPS does not work with pay as you go.
sound is ok but not great.
no USB cable that i could find
so i had to email any photo's to myself.
payed $50 for it with a 50 dollar prepaid card so the phone was basically free.
durable phone with very long battery life.
4 Stars out of 5

My LG 245

Reviewed on Friday January 18, 2008 by , Canada
This Phone is a tough lil phone, ive had it for about a year now on Telus pay as you go although I wasent happy with the rate plan and skrewed me in the end the phone was really a good phone that i cant complane about i work as a janitor and i've droped it several times on pavment,desks,side walks,hard wood, and ive never had a problem with it, a lil scratched but thats my fault not the phones its easy to use simple set up has every thing could wanted for that price camera,voice recorder,bluetooth, and i even got MSN on my'n although i dont like using it to much $ per message i've upgraded to a LG 8700 ( Gold ) amd love it i'd recomend the LG 245 to anyone just buyying their first phone or need a durable phone.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday January 4, 2008 by , guelph
I want to use one of the sounds i recorded as a ringtone. Is there any way I could do that? Love the phone otherwise
2 Stars out of 5

Responses to reception and display

Reviewed on Monday November 5, 2007 by , Ontario, Canada
I've had this phone for about two months now and am not completely satisfied with it (had to switch from my previous phone, which I loved, because of contract obligations). The reception is very bad in my house (large urban area) where I get 1 bar most of the time, 2 bars if I'm lucky. Otherwise, I have 3 bars, but rarely does the reception goes all the way to 5 bars.

As to the outside display, it's always off and lights up only when a call comes through or you press one of the side buttons. It's a pain for me, because I use my phone as a clock, which I need to check in regular intervals during work, and so this is working very poorely for me. I've dug through the manual and it appears there is no way of turning that display on permanently.

Overall, I'm less than happy with this phone. The only redeeming feature is the speaker phone. Very basic, not well designed. Pick something else if you have a choice.
4 Stars out of 5

Transfert de photos

Reviewed on Monday October 22, 2007 by , 113 Martin Longueuil
Ce petit appareil est une vrai merveille !

Le seul hic est le suivant: Il semblerait que ce model LG 245 ne pourrait pas transferer les photos prisent mon ordi via un cable USB (que je me suis d'ailleur procurer pour la circonstance) Est-ce authentique ???
4 Stars out of 5

Ok i guess

Reviewed on Friday October 12, 2007 by , california
I suggest this cell to everyone who doesnt really care about video capability.. Im just wondering if it can use a USB port.. Its like really hard to find.
3 Stars out of 5

antenna bar?

Reviewed on Monday October 8, 2007 by , Toronto, Canada
does anyone else have a problem with reception with this phone? i used to own an LG200, and it had great reception, both inside my house and up at the cottage. i recently bought an LG245 and notice the antenna bar with only one or 2 bars inside my house, and about 3 bars when i'm sitting outside on my porch????

anyone else???
5 Stars out of 5

how good LG 245 is

Reviewed on Saturday September 1, 2007 by , Canada
I have an LG 245 and it is a very good product, its very easy to navigate everything, i've had my phone for 3 months and i've had no problems with it! so i'de suggest this product to everyone!
3 Stars out of 5

Charge for voice dialling?

Reviewed on Monday August 27, 2007 by , Surrey BC
First of all, I'm very pleased with the LG 245, especially when compared to my previous cell phone (an Audiovox). All features work well, particularly speed dial, and voice dial. Which brings me to my question: does [service provider] charge extra for a voice-dialled call as opposed to a manually-dialled or speed dialled outgoing call?

Has anyone figured out how to assign the opening/startup chime to a ringer setting? I like the [service provider] startup chime and I'd like it to be one of my ringtones!
1 Star out of 5

recieving picture messages

Reviewed on Tuesday July 31, 2007 by , north bay
i've had my phone for 2 months.. whenever i recieve a picture message..when i open the phone it freezes.. i do not dislike [service provider]..i just have a bit of problems with my phone!
4 Stars out of 5

seizes up?

Reviewed on Friday July 13, 2007 by , Saint John N.B, Canada
I was wondereing if anyone else has problems with recieving pictures from other ppl through texting? my phone will recieve them but as soon as i try to open them my phone freezes.is there anything i can do?is it a setting problem?
3 Stars out of 5

setting the clock time

Reviewed on Sunday March 11, 2007 by , victoria bc
On page 47 of the user guide (settings) "Time & Date",the instructions do not specifically explain how to actually set the clock time. All it tells you how to do is chose the format display. No where in the whole book does it tell you. I finally lucked out and changed it in the World Clock, by setting it to DST. Pretty poor leaving this important info out.
4 Stars out of 5

Love the 245

Reviewed on Monday March 5, 2007 by , Ontario
I got this phone yesterday (ya i know it is a bit early to be writing a review but i know other people who have had it) and i have to say i absolutely love it. This is my first phone so i am kind of new to this stuff but it is really easy to figure out. The buttons are very easy to use plus the camera picture is very clear. It is very easy to "thumb-flip" this phone up or down. I reccomend this phone to anyone. The colour is cranberry (the one i have) or silver another very nice colour. Hope this is help.

4 Stars out of 5

I need help with display

Reviewed on Friday January 26, 2007 by , Canada
I have had this phone for about 2.5 weeks now. I used to work for a cell phone company so I'm pretty familiar with how these things work. One thing I'm having troubles with is the external display. Is it just me or does the display on the outside of the phone not stay visible? My friend has an '06 model and she can always see the time and if she missed a call etc, but on this phone I can't seem to find that anywhere as an option. Can someone help me please. If it's not an option that's a total peeve. Thanks alot!
4 Stars out of 5

ringers but no ringers with vibrate

Reviewed on Saturday January 20, 2007 by , Chilliwack
I liked my other phones that had vibrate and then ringer mode. This phone does not have a loud ringer either which is a bit of a problem to me.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday November 20, 2006 by , Truro N.S
I have been using this phone for about 3 weeks and i would have to say it works awesome. Voices are heard nice and clear and the internet usage is easy. Text messaging is made fast and efficient which works well for me because i'm a high schiil student and thats what most of us use the phones for. Great piece of technology. ENJOY!!
5 Stars out of 5

Highly functional phone without the extra fluff (long review with updated comments)

Reviewed on Sunday October 8, 2006 by , New York
I was due for a New Every 2 upgrade with VerizonWireless and was interested in replacing my old LG VX4400 with a bluetooth phone (for wireless communication and connectivity). Being a bit oldschool, ...I do not care about video and music playback on my phone. As I often travel through areas with weak digital signal, I wanted to keep with a trimode phone for the analog fallback option. The two trimode bluetooth phones currently available for VZW were the LG VX5300 and the Samsung A870. As I had good luck with my previous LG phones, I decided to go with the VX5300. I got one for myself and another for my mom (replacing her old LG TM510).

FORM: While other phones go for flashy style, the VX5300 has a classic yet sleek silver appearance. Some might find it boring, but I prefer classic looks that don't go out of date in a few months. The unit is quite a bit lighter than the VX4400 and VX5200, but feels well built with tight hinges and no give at the seams. The outside OLED color screen displays quite a bit of information such as time, date, battery level, signal strength, current connections, messages/mail, missed calls, etc. The drawbacks to this screen is 1)it isn't as easy to see in sunlight as a black and white LCD, 2) the font might be a bit small for some people to read comfortably, 3)phone does not show picture caller ID on this screen although it can display wallpaper image. The internal screen is a rather bright 262K color TFT screen that I find easy to read even in bright sunlight. Both screens can be used as viewfinder for the VGA camera, and camera can be used even with phone closed. The antenna on this phone is external and does not extend. The stubby antenna might be a concern for people who pocket their phones or wear it on their front waistline while bending over. I personally haven't had an issue with the antenna poking me while I wear it in a holster even when phone rotated vertically. With the standard battery and cover, the VX5300 is roughly 2/3 the thickness of the VX4400 with standard battery.

Controls: The keypad buttons are smooth, rounded, slightly raised, and give an affirmative click when pressed. The buttons are a bit more slippery than the rubbery buttons found on the VX4400, but I did not have any difficulty with the transition. A great improvement on the VX5300 is that all four shortcuts on the 4 way rocker can be customized (the VX4400 only allowed one direction/shorcut to be remapped). This is great as I can remap the shortcuts so I don't accidently trigger airtime using features like "GET IT NOW" or "Mobile Web" while quickly accessing frequently used features such as the calculator. A handy speakerphone button is centered between the keypad and rocker/call buttons. The volume buttons and a voicedial/cameraflash toggle button reside along the side of phone under a standard 2.5mm headset jack. The voicedial button does not switch between normal and vibrate mode when held down (preventing the accidental silencing of phone while it is in purse/pocket/etc experienced by the VX4400). The camera mode button resides on the other side of phone near antenna. Note that camera can be turned on (external screen as viewfinder) when phone is closed by holding down this button for a couple of seconds.

Reception: I have been using the VX5300 in the Chicagoland area and the San Francisco South Bay area over the past two weeks. I also tested out my mom's VX5300 when I was in SF area. I did not encounter any areas where I could not receive or initiate a call. There are some areas in southside Chicago where my VX4400 (as well as friends' VX4500 and Motorola V710) had problems initiating a call or occasionally dropped calls. I have not experienced this with the VX5300 in those areas.

Sound quality: There have been reports around the net about the VX5300 sounding muffled or echoing. I put both my mom's phone and mine through numerous phone call tests to landlines and friends on various wireless carriers around the country. Neither I or my mom heard any echoing and found the earpiece sound quality to be quite clear and of more than sufficient volume. People on other end of the line report very clear audio quality from phone's mic. The speakerphone sound quality is definitely less than earpiece and tends to distort at higher volumes. My mom's speakerphone sounded a bit less distorted at highest volume than my own. That said, I still found the speakerphone feature on mine absolutely usable in my slightly noisy car when my bluetooth headset ran out of battery power. I can confirm that the VX5300 speakerphone is full-duplex which means simultaneous transmission of incoming and outgoing audio. Think of full duplex as a two lane, two direction road while half-duplex is a one lane, one way road. This is essential in noisy environments because with half-duplex speakerphone the phone is constantly stuck in transmit mode and phone is not receiving audio from other person in quiet environment. Another complaint found on the net is that the volume of the 2.5mm headphone jack is too low. I do notice that the volume level is lower than my previous LG phones when using cheap Sanyo earbud/mic sets, but when used with my mom's Panasonic headset the volume is roughly the same. My mom is able to use her headset while driving without problems with volume level 2 steps below maximum. I think the autogain feature on the VX4400 was what cranked up volume so loud on the earbuds, and since VX5300 doesn't appear to have this feature...the earbuds are quieter. Mind you, that autogain feature on VX4400 made the earbuds so loud it hurt my ears and forced me to direct buds away from ear canal. I just now wear earbuds normally (directed toward ear canal) with VX5300 and find it usable in the car unless I'm driving at high speeds with windows down. It should be pointed out that neither my mom or I have any hearing impairments. People who regularly attend extremely loud rock concerts may have different opinion about volume level. At the same time, I really wished the VX5300 retained the autogain feature that increased volume in presence of background noise.

Battery life: The standard 1100mAh battery is rated by LG for 3 hours of talk time and up to 7 days standby. I find the talk time be actually better than 3 hours on a fully charged battery. I managed to squeeze close to 4 hours of talk time out despite using a bluetooth headset. I find if I talk about 30-60mins a day, a fully charged battery can last 3 days depending on area's signal strength. My mom uses a wired headset and gets longer standby time of 4-5 days with bluetooth turned off. There is a 1700mAh battery available from LG, but it is thicker and requires different battery cover. I am content with the talktime and sleeker look of standard battery. By accessing the services menu, the phone can be set to run only on digital, specifically on different revisions of CDMA digital, specific frequency, or forcing analog mode. When I'm in urban areas with great digital coverage, I force the phone to run digital only to save battery (preventing phone from switching to analog and burning more battery power). For more info on accessing services menu, read posted comments.

Bluetooth Headsets used: Motorola H500, Motorola H850, Plantronics M2500, Plantronics Voyager 510 v.G (greenish gray version with separate windsock), Plantronics Voyager 510 with Windsmart (silver and black version with built-in windsock). Two people reported hearing very slight echo (which they said they only noticed when I specifically asked them if they heard an echo) with Motorola H500 that was eliminated by turning volume down one bar. The H500 mic seemed to pick up background noise quite a bit which made using voice commands difficult to use in the car, but did not hinder actual phone conversation. The H850 had lower max earpiece volume than H500. The Plantronics M2500, and both versions of the 510 had higher maximum volume than the Motorolas. The Plantronics M2500 battery only lasted a bit over an hour of talktime and seemed to have a shorter range than the other headsets I used. Both versions of the 510 had the best outgoing clarity and least amount of background noise. Older 510 vG seemed more prone to incoming audio clipping and static from 802.11b/g networks than the newer 510. Experienced one unexplained dropped bluetooth connection with 510 vG. No drops with the other headsets despite often being connected for a couple of days straight. Generally the VX5300 seems pretty tolerant and functional with the headsets I've tried.

Bluetooth Data: I used my old VX4400 as an internet modem connection for my laptops via USB cable quite a lot when I'm in middle of nowhere without any other net access. I was happy to find that the VX5300 supports this DUN (dialup networking) feature via bluetooth connection. Once paired with my laptops and PDAs, I just choose the Bluetooth Dialup Modem using my previous connection configuration and it worked like a charm with an average of 80-90kbps throughput. Very convenient to pull out my laptop/PDA and access the internet for email/browsing while my phone remains wherever it is (corner of room charging or in my holster). This feature only uses up my plan minutes without added cost(which means unlimited night and weekend time). *I have noticed a quirk that happened a couple of times where the VX5300 reconfigured DUN feature from bluetooth to USB after disconnecting from a headset. I found that turning the bluetooth off and then back on fixed this and prevented this from happening again. I recommend turning bluetooth off and back on when you first turn phone on (or after phone reset) to ensure the phone doesn't reconfigure DUN from bluetooth to USB. If you don't use DUN, you don't need to bother with this as other bluetooth functions aren't affected.*

Misc: The voice command feature of this phone can be quite useful for visually impaired people as it can be set to read out menu/onscreen activity/numbers entered/etc. Heck, it can be helpful for those who don't have their reading glasses(although my mom can read the numbers she dials without her reading glasses just fine with large font option switched on). I have successfully uploaded my own wallpapers and mp3 ringtones using bitpim via bluetooth serial connection. Bitpim doesn't currently have VX5300 officially supported, but I just manually choose VX8300 phone in Bitpim which works fine. The phone has 28MB memory which should be plenty for wallpapers, 640x480 pictures from built-in flash camera, and mp3 ringers. I like the fact that I can choose to have phone vibrate simultaneously with ringing (VX4400 would vibrate first, then ring...which often made me miss a call if I wasn't wearing my phone). Another nice feature is to only have the alarm clock be audible while calls do not ring. This allows use of phone as alarm clock without risk of people calling and interrupting you while you sleep.

Conclusion: After more than 2 weeks of extensive use and testing of two VX5300 phones, I find the model to be a very capable bluetooth trimode phone. It does not have a megapixel camera or fancy multimedia features for anyone looking for that in a phone. For people looking for a dependable communication device with analog and bluetooth capability, the VX5300 should fill the role nicely.

Addendum 09-25-2006: I've been using the VX5300 extensively for about a month now, and here's some additional information that might be helpful. The Plantronics Voyager 510 voice command takes about a second to connect to VX5300 which means first voice command is often not recognized by phone. When the phone asks me to repeat command, the second attempt is recognized perfectly every time even when I'm flying down the road at high speed with windows rolled down about halfway. I think this quirk might have to do with the PLT510 noise cancelling mic taking a couple of seconds to start filtering out background noise, but I am not sure. The VX5300 is definitely not to blame for this, as other headsets do not exhibit this behavior. Despite this, the PLT510 is still currently my BT headset of choice while in the car. I'd rather wait an extra few seconds and have voice commands work. The Motorola H500 which has instant connection but does not work with voice commands while my car is going above 30mph. My new Cardo Scala-700 is currently charging up, and I'll post my experiences using it with the phone when I have a chance.