LG 285 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The LG 285 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 18 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

Great phone

Reviewed on Monday August 31, 2015 by , St john's NL
Got this in May 2008. Still works, no problems. Same battery.
5 Stars out of 5

It will die after me..

Reviewed on Thursday February 26, 2015 by , Sudbury
I got my LG285 for free at TELUS office in Scarborough with $50 of usage on November 1, 2008.
It is now Feb. 2015. The phone works perfectly, just had replaced an original battery year ago.
5 Stars out of 5

LG 285

Reviewed on Friday November 28, 2014 by , Canada
Perfect phone for someone who wants to keep it simple! All I wanted from my phone was talking and texting. No apps or stuff like that. Got it. Even after 6 years of dropping it on the floor, on rocks, even in water a few times and texting like crazy! It got cracked, but still I have to charge it only every 6-7 days, for 1h-2h, and it's ready to go again! And still have a great sound quality! Amazing phone!
5 Stars out of 5

Amazing phone!

Reviewed on Sunday September 11, 2011 by , Alberta, Canada
I am really, really hard on phones. They take a beating.

My LG-285 lasted me for FOUR years. It got dropped thousands of times and kept on going. The hinge eventually cracked and the phone wouldn't stay open, but it still worked great. I repaired the crack with some crazy-glue and kept on going. It wasn't until the other side of the hinge cracked and the phone wasn't working quite right, that I replaced it.. and I wish I'd just bought another one of these instead of the piece of crap I ended up with.

Even now, I'm missing the 'menu' button at the top right and the phone is deactivated-- but this phone still works great! My son likes to play the games that I downloaded onto it.

The battery life of this phone is astounding. I can go a week without having to charge it. I love being able to choose from a list style or an icon-driven one for the menus. It was easy to retrieve my voicemail and the sound quality is really good.

The camera is merely OK, and the pictures are of average quality. However, this isn't a big deal for me, since I want a basic phone and don't want all those gadgets and gizmos.

Having both bluetooth and voice-activated dialing capabilities is the big seller for me, and is probably the biggest reason that I plan to buy another one-- IF I can find it!

This is an amazing phone considering its low price. If you don't want anything fancy, this is a must-have phone.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone!

Reviewed on Saturday January 15, 2011 by , Toronto, Canada
I have had this phone for 3.5 years and have had ZERO issues. It has survived many falls and only has a few external scratches to show for it. I've never bothered to transfer pictures from it, so I understand how not being able to could be annoying (use a real camera instead, people!)but for texting and calling this phone has given me ZERO grief. I DEFINITELY recommend this phone. Its very basic, but it works like a charm!
2 Stars out of 5

Never Again

Reviewed on Friday August 20, 2010 by , Canada
I bought this phone when I was pregnant with my twins, because my husband was out of town a lot and I wanted to know that I could get a hold of him if there was an emergency. I used the phone to take "belly shots" of my pregnancy and the phone holds the ONLY photo of my belly the day before I had the twins. I never thought about the fact that it didn't come with a data cable, and I'm not spending $50. to get one. I stopped using the phone soon after the kids were born, and have no intention of reactivating it just to get these photos. (Reactivation costs the same as a data cable!) And what sucks even more is that I've also lost the charger, so I have to also find another one of those!
If I knew then what I knew now, I would never have used the phone to take photos.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday July 9, 2009 by , Toronto
In actually love this phone and recently had the battery damaged :( trying to find a replacement has been awful...and I'm on a super tight budget so getting a replacement from telus for $70 is out of the question...love this phone and miss it like crazy!!!
2 Stars out of 5

bad phone

Reviewed on Monday June 8, 2009 by , toronto
piece of s***
battery sucks, vibrating isnt very noticeable, camera sucks, pay as you go service sucks,
i can go for about 6 or 7 hours of battery and thst if i barely text with no calling whatsoever.
i also had to end it in for repair for power cycling,
i think someting is wrong with the power performance?!
and the whole pay as you go service is terrible, offices are never open, argue with you, if you wnat something, dont take no fro an answer TELL THEM what you want.
1 Star out of 5

HATE this phone

Reviewed on Thursday February 26, 2009 by , Oshawa
I have had two of these phones within six months! I have had the same problem with both,it turns off and doesn't come back on.When I am talking on it I hear the wind trhough it.When I talk I also hear myself.I can go one day without charging it though and I talk on it 24/7.It makes me think twice when buying an LG phone.Cheap isn't always the best road to take if you want a good phone you need to spend a little on it.
4 Stars out of 5

Great but Frustrating

Reviewed on Sunday January 11, 2009 by , Napanee, Ontario
I love my LG, but I am very frustrated by not being able to find a USB Data Cable (Chocolate) so that I can transfer my pictures from my phone to my computer, that is not a good thing! The instuctions and USB cord should be included in the package with the phone! Other then that it suits me just fine!
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday December 25, 2008 by , maple ridge B.C
this is by far the best phone ive gotten is small light weight its excallent i would recomend it to everyone
4 Stars out of 5

Nice basic phone

Reviewed on Saturday December 20, 2008 by , Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
We just got outfitted at work with the LG 285 (on Telus), and my few comments are:

1. Battery life is exceptional! I charged it fully last Thurs. and up until now (6 days later) it has only dropped to 3/4 battery bars. The phone is always on, and I spent a few hours programming in phone numbers, investigating all of the menus and features, took some pictures, and transferred some wallpaper images and MP3s! Really impressive battery performance.

2. T9 input for texting oddly defaults to OFF, so you have to constantly switch to T9 as your input method.

3. Transferring MP3s to this phone by bluetooth works fine, but you won't be allowed to use them as a ringtone. The built-in ringtones are terrible, so Telus is hoping you'll buy some decent ones from them.

4. Nice big buttons, and, overall, easy to use and carry around. The earpiece volume is clear and loud.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday October 2, 2008 by , Pontypool, ON
i bought this phone about 6 months ago a peice of a cigerette pack is holding my battery in because if i don't it will loose connection and turn off my calls go strait to voice mail and i don't recieve texts half the time it is a royal piece of s***
2 Stars out of 5

LG 285

Reviewed on Wednesday August 6, 2008 by , Canada
I just got this cell phone on pay and talk from Telus. It was good at first, but now I'm having problems with it. Most of the time I can't recieve incoming calls or texts or goes right to voice mail. This phone is junk and I would not recommand it to anyone. LG has a lot software bugs with there phones.

Good Battery
Light Weight

Coverage sucks
Bad Reception
Its LG
Camera Sucks
5 Stars out of 5

better than my last one

Reviewed on Wednesday June 11, 2008 by , calgary alberta
i got this LG285 about 5 days ago and i love it!!!so easy to use and i find the picture and sound quality excellent for it being a "low-end" cell...compared to my last cell which was $350 and not user friendly i give this one 2 thumbs up!!!and am thankful i lost my samsung schu540 evdo
5 Stars out of 5

Exellent phone, its worth buying

Reviewed on Saturday May 17, 2008 by , Fort Erie
for a medium quality phone, this one is packed with great features. Windows messenger, blue tooth, great sound quality, and really great picture quality. This is my first phone, and allot of my friends have more high end phones, like the LG shine, but i think this ones almost just as good, dont waste your money on some 300 dollar phone when you can ge a great one for $100 or less. The phone also looks great, but i wish it came in a few more colours....
4 Stars out of 5

Sound quality problem

Reviewed on Tuesday March 25, 2008 by , Drumheller
I am not at all impressed with this phone...it is going back tomorrow. I had the Lg 200 and it was an amazing phone, I put it to the test and it has survived the impossible and the sound quality is perfect better than my husbands 500.00 phone. This new one sucks, it sounds like I am listening through toilet paper rolls when I am talking on it. It is going back tomorrow. Terrible sound quality. The only reason I got it is becasue I thought it would have the same quality of the first, I did not get it for looks, the colors are not really great, way too bright.
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent for Value

Reviewed on Thursday March 13, 2008 by , Kitchener
This is my fourth phone, and the best yet. Picture quality is excellent, looks better than the higher megapixel phones, call quality excellent, easy organization, and it has the same quality as other phones that are 3x the price.