Motorola 120e Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola 120e has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 15 reviews.

2 Stars out of 5

Well could be worse

Reviewed on Tuesday June 28, 2005 by , Miramichi NB
Other then my phone having no fun features and boring annoying ring tones its not bad, it has pretty good reception, in my basement and where other phones don't have any. But one major problem is that is calls people at random. One of my friends listened to me talk at work because I layed the phone down and started working. This has happened a few times. I also had to send it away because it wouldn't charge anymore, other then that ok phone.
1 Star out of 5

Motorola 120e

Reviewed on Thursday June 23, 2005 by , North Dakota
This phone has weird problems.
When put into a pocket or purse it shuts off, Even with the keypad locked. I have to turn it back on several times a day.
This must be why it was FREE. Next time I'll spend the money and get a real phone.
I wouldn't recommend this phone to anyone.

2 cans and a string would be better.

I rate this with 1 star because the option for 1/2 star is not offered.
1 Star out of 5

This phone absolutely blows!

Reviewed on Sunday June 19, 2005 by , Winnipeg
I absolutely hate this phone. What a piece of garbage... menu system is junk. Looking up a contact takes ten keystrokes. Don't go traveling with this phone either. When you are out of town and need to prepend your contacts with a '1' then you cannot use the phonebook. You have to either program a seperate number (i.e. 1-204-555-1234) or you have to look up the contact, exit the phonebook, and manually dial the whole number. What total junk design is that?!

I had a kyocera (can't remember model). That was a great phone. I could look up contacts with just typing the first characters (i.e. BOB type '262'). That was super convienent.

This 120e has totally turned me off of Motorola. Oh, the other thing... this stupid phone has some sort of 'magnify' feature where all the text becomes large and bold. It no longer fits on the screen. I put the damn phone in my pocket for two seconds, take it out and it is in this magnify mode. I spent 2 days mashing keys together to get it out of this mode. This mode cannot be accessed in the menu. Anyway... put it back in my pocket and by end of that day, it was out of magnify mode. Stupid design...

I give it a zero star rating. (zero stars would actually imply it almost has a value... I would like to give it 6 turds but I see 'turds' is not an option in the rating system!)
3 Stars out of 5

Any other Ring Tones

Reviewed on Thursday May 19, 2005 by , Montana
Hi everyone,

So we all know that we can't download new ringtones for this, so does anyone know any customize ones for "My Tones" that actually sound pretty good? I've been looking all over for this!

2 Stars out of 5

Flakey fone

Reviewed on Saturday April 23, 2005 by , Raleigh NC
We got 4 of these free with a new contract. They get confused while charging, turn themselves on and off at the strangest times, and hang up so that you have to remove the battery to get them to mind the keypad again. Looks like buggy software to me, so depending on S/W release yours could act differently, hopefully better.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday March 13, 2005 by , Va
This phone is not that good. Honestly I would not recommend it to anyone, although if it comes free then take it. I have absolutely so many problems with the phone that it has been very frustrating. I had the phone for less than a year now and it completely does not respond to phone calls that I am receiving. Anyway if you want to invest in a good phone I don't suggest this model. Look around and you will find something much better. Good luck.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday March 10, 2005 by , Regina SK
I have overall found this to be a very reliable phone. The charging system is a little difficult though. I would say because of the prong system that motorola uses for these types of phones. I have had the phone for 2 years now and have experienced where the phone just would not turn off a handful of times. I have very good reception in Saskatchewan, in fact, where some others phones could not pick up a signal at all. No complaints all through the united states, everytime I turned on the phone I had a signal.

For an inexpensive phone, this is a good value.
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday February 25, 2005 by , North Corolina
The motorola 120e is alright but i wish it was better such as better ringtones beccause the other ones blow they are soo boring or annoying they jsut suck end of discussion. But yes i do agree with that when you talk on the phone for more than an hour it does indeed get very hot and it annoys me. i also find that mine hardly has service in some places and that it turns off on me sometimes. it also freezes up and you cant do anything about it jsut turn it off and hopefully for it to work after that. i also find that my phone breaks up very easily and it is hard for me to hear what people are saying. So i think this is a crap phone in the long run but if your jsut replacing your pohne or not use it that much then it should be an alright phone to use
3 Stars out of 5

Its ok for a freebie

Reviewed on Sunday February 6, 2005 by , Fayetteville NC
Alltel gave me this phone for free. It worked great, until my one year service contract was up at least. Now it drops calls and sends them directly to my voicemail. I'd say at least half of them do that. The phone is good for someone who doesn't need a lot of bells and whistles, just a phone and the occasional text message. One other thing I have noticed is that the phone gets really hot when you talk for about an hour, but I think most phones do that. Just thought I'd mention it.
1 Star out of 5

anything but the best cell phone

Reviewed on Wednesday February 2, 2005 by , newfoundland
i got this 120e july 20 04 at aliant dlr.took it back it wasn't working, the dlr told me it may be due to the union workers being off. so i waited untill they were back to work went back again, O now the 30 days were up and they could not exc. it for another model. the dlr. aliant or motorola out to lunch on customer service. how ever the dlr. sent it to some repair shop took 2 months {no loaner }still no good.i will be going with another carrier but i have to pay aliant 20.$ per mt. fot the balance of the two yr. term.
not very pleased
this is my 6 cell phone the only one with a problem
thanks for reading my problem
1 Star out of 5

Motorola 120e

Reviewed on Monday January 24, 2005 by , United States
I have had simply no luck with the Motorola 120e. Its backlight is pretty much the only thing that works. After 4 months of basically no trouble, it will freeze up on you, and wont let you enter or exit the phone. The menu will keep scrolling, and you can not receive calls, or make calls. If it finally does turn on for you, and looks as if it has the appearance of "working", it will not let you enter the menu, or press any buttons. It basically just freezes up. I do not recommend this phone. The phones ringtones are boring, and the games are no fun. I would recommend this phone ONLY if you were going to use it for a short while, and not sign on to a contract. If you sign onto a contract with this phone, it will not last your contract.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Monday August 9, 2004 by , the pas, MB
I've had this phone for over a year now, i've never had problems about missing a call like how people have said in other reviews. But everyone has to remember that it's not necessarily the *phone*, but the type of area u're in. When I was in winnipeg in a certain area, the phone was *junk*, but only cause MTS had to fix some broken lines, which they've fixed and now my phone works everywhere, and very well... lasts long, looks cute, and its small. I totally suggest others buying it.
5 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Tuesday August 3, 2004 by , Winnipeg
This phone is great! Great reception, never misses a call and MTS gave it to me for free! It charges quick, has a cool blue backlight, and fun ring tones. Locking the keyboard involves pressing the menu button and the "*" key so you never dial by mistake. It has some excellent games like blackjack, falling numbers, and poker. The menu took me 5 minutes to figure out (2nd cell I have ever owned) Awesome phone!!!
1 Star out of 5

bad phone

Reviewed on Friday May 14, 2004 by , winnipeg
i have had over 4 diferent cell phones, this phone misses calls and shuts off and doesnt charge properly, its only a month old and mts refuses to give me a new phone. This phone is terrible and i dont advise getting it. service is alright but you miss alot of calls and your voice mail still gets them but you dont.
5 Stars out of 5

great for a teens first phone

Reviewed on Friday April 16, 2004 by , Norway house, manitoba
i am 14 year old student of norway house. this phone is great it has a good signal cool features very good reception rings on time and has all the features of a expensive phone for only 150. dollars