Motorola RAZR V3 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola RAZR V3 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 24 reviews.

1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Monday June 15, 2009 by , wherever
i have had my phone for a year and a half and i am sick and tired of it. at first it was cool and stuff and yeah but that was when i didn't use it much. now that i use it a lot it freezes up when it gets confused because cancel something i didn't mean to do. and the keypad-- IT'S PEALING OFF yes that's right i could peal it off right now if i wanted to! and the battery life?! it SUCKS i have to charge my phone every day! another thing- if your a frequent texter don't get this phone! the paint on the keypad gets worn off and the buttons get worn and parts of them come off, like the centre button for example.
oh sure it's durable it never really stops working but the quality is so poor. you wouldn't believe the number of scratches and dents. and the top part that you flip up gets all wobbley and loose after a while. i've already mentioned the keypad. my side buttons randomly stop working sometimes. also after a while you get a permanent imprint of scratches on the screen that match up exactly with the keypad!
the worst part-- everyone makes fun of me at school saying my phone is a piece of s**t or a piece of c**p! and bell won't let me get a new phone for another year! unless i pay full price! you know how much it is to get a good phone for FULL PRICE?! like up to $500!!!! OR MORE!
just don't get this phone kay?
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday October 2, 2007 by , Winnipeg
Even though I bought the black Razr, only cause I'm a girly girl, I was happy with the way the phone works. It's features. The only thing I found wrong were the buttons. I have long nails and would always type the next to letter.
1 Star out of 5

Un téléphone à transporter dans un Ziploc!!!

Reviewed on Wednesday August 29, 2007 by , montreal
Ce téléphone est superbe, mais de grâce ne l'exposez pas à l'air libre, il ne supporte pas l'humidité.
C'est en deux mots la conclusion à laquelle je suis arrivée suite au délai de réparation de 7 semaines. Sept semaines me direz-vous? C'est ça 10 jours ouvrable chez Rogers sans fils.
Une vrai partie de tennis, Rogers et Rogers sans fils vs Cellulab et Motorola en double sur le court central du stade Jarry se disputant la coupe Rogers!
Et moi là dedans, je suis le coureur de balle.
Et croyez moi, c'est moi qui cours, car il ne savent même pas jouer ensemble.
Mais que voulez-vous, comme disait l'autre, c'est pas moi c'est l'autre!!!
5 Stars out of 5

awesome phone!

Reviewed on Monday March 12, 2007 by , british columbia
omg hot pink razor cell is so good. i've had it for 2 years and its perfect. it works perfectly. i love this cellphone and im sure others will love it to my friend has a a razor blue for 5 years and its perfect shes never had to repair it or anything i think this is a really phnominal cell phone !!!! LOVE MOTOROLA RAZOR
5 Stars out of 5

Very nice phone!

Reviewed on Monday March 5, 2007 by , Halifax, NS
I've had my pink V3 for over ten months now, and I love it. The battery life is phenomenal and there are loads of great functions. The reception is very good. The only drawback to this phone is the limited memory. It is surprisingly durable, and I've never had any problems or complaints against the phone. Overall a very nice cell phone!
5 Stars out of 5

Razor Rocks!!!

Reviewed on Saturday January 20, 2007 by , Gravenhurst
I have had my razor for about a year and a half and it has taken a swim twice and has had quite a few falls and is still kickin'!! Buttons don't wear it's easy to clean and come on its cool, just about everybody who's seen it wants one :)
1 Star out of 5

Too Fragile; Require Too Much Maintenance

Reviewed on Thursday November 30, 2006 by , Vancouver, BC
Don't buy a V3. Lots of people do because of its slim design and look. But the V3 phone is not robust enough. I have had many cell phones and this is the only model that has failed repetitively in less than a year.

After 5 months, I lost use of phone for 2 months due to keyboard not being operational, uncontrollable random scrolling through menus and the phone randonmly activating keyboard buttons during calls, making it impossible to continue conversation. The phone was sent to Motorola with a work order instructing Motorola to save contacts, photos, etc. stored on phone because the inoperable keyboard did not allow contacts to be transferred to the SIM card.

Several weeks later Motorola returned phone with many new parts. Motorola ignored the work order instructions to save contacts, photos, etc. The inoperable keyboard, uncontrolable scrolling through menues and uncontrollable repetitive dialing of a digit during calls was not fixed. It was just intermittent instead of constant. The phone was inoperable again by the second call.

After 2 months of loss of use of phone and incompetent customer service, Motorola eventually replaced the phone with another V3 that I suspect will be just as unreliable.

The service technician said he has more V3 phones in for service than other models because they are too fragile and require frequent repair.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 28, 2006 by , Canada
This phone is garbage, all motorola phones are garbage. Guys if you want to bye a phone, buy anything but Motorola, I have nothing but problems wiht motorola phones. They sure make em look nice, but quality wise, and working wise, they are horrible. I bought a razor not even 6 months ago, and it has'nt even been a whole year yet, and it freakin stoped working, and Rogers won't even replace it. I had a same problem with V300.
Thats all I have to say, Have a nice day people.

PS: I would give 0 for rating, but since I have no other choice, I have to give it 1 star. Poor costumer service Rogers.
3 Stars out of 5

Not very good

Reviewed on Tuesday September 12, 2006 by , toronto
I got the razor about 10 months ago and i really liked it .. liek the style. but the funtions arnt that good. it kept going out of service and then it wouldnt charge so i took it in to get fixed and they told me 3 weeks later that it had water damage wen ive never gotten it wet.. so i guess it got water damage from steam in the bathroom .. for being in there for about 3 minutes... well i wasnt very happy cuz its away right now and i have a crappy loner phone and i have to wait 2 more weeks to see if it actually has water damaga or its just screwed up!
4 Stars out of 5

pretty dang good!

Reviewed on Wednesday June 21, 2006 by , billings, OK
i think it is a wonderful phone, i live in a very small town, and every day i hear people whining about how they get no signal, well i get very good signal! plus my volume is great... i love this phone and i would not switch it for any other phone!

and anoter thing.. why do ppl always say to me that razrs break easy, cuz i have had my phone for about 3 months and i have dropped it so many time! it hasnt broken 1 time... i all i think its great!!!!! if u are lookiong for a phone this phone is the one to choose!
5 Stars out of 5

Very good phone

Reviewed on Monday February 27, 2006 by , Miramichi
Just thought a posting from another Rogers Representitive might be useful. I have the V3 RAZR and have no problem with it. Battery life is very good unless used for a lot of text messaging or internet usage. Reception is excellent. I live in a basement apartment and have full coverage. Volume levels are excellent as well. Have not a chance to test Bluetooth yet but from other colleauges that have this phone as well with headsets seems to work well.

In my opinion, excellent phone, even for the price.
4 Stars out of 5

Pretty good phone

Reviewed on Tuesday January 17, 2006 by , Edmonton, AB
I've been using my Razr for a few weeks now, and it's been pretty good. I wanted to note some pros and cons I have found.
- Great battery life: after much abuse of the 6 months free local calling, the battery has shown impressive life
- Great signal strength: there's no antenna, but the Razr has better signal strength than my old Samsung with the antenna up
- Sleek: thin design fits nicely into my jeans
- The predictive text input is surprisingly smart
- You can't store your contacts on your SIM if you want to assign them pictures for caller ID
- Every number you add to the contacts creates a new entry; you can't assign a primary number and just store secondary numbers
- The outside buttons are cheap and flimsy, which is a shame since the rest of the phone is so nicely designed
- The camera isn't that great, but I had expected that
- Fingerprints all over the screen and buttons!
4 Stars out of 5

So far, so good

Reviewed on Tuesday January 10, 2006 by , St-Laurent, Montreal
Got this phone 3 days ago and so far so good. Most pros and cons have only been listed here. However I give 1 of each:

1.PRO) Signal quality is amzing. I live in a bachelor, and NEVER got any reception with any cell phone/carrier before. Until now that is. Now I average 3 bars, most the norm is 4 out of 5.

2.CON) Battery life is not good at all. After a full charge and 10 hours of stand-by, I got maybe 15-20% left. If I make a couple of calls, forget it. Not sure if it's the battery or the phone itself (bluetooth is always on, but not always used).

I'd recommend this phone, especially at the $99 price tag now!
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday December 2, 2005 by , Miramichi
what a great phone, I bought this phone about 3 days ago, and I just love it, It doesnt have all the features that the 635 has, but if you have a camera and a MP3 player then its just wasted technology..... Great sound, great battery life, love the bluetooth tech. and I dont know what the stir is on the video, mine will capture video with no problems... I mean you cant have a 7.1 mega pixel camera in a phone.... It would just not be economical. The phone would be 1000000000 bucks... So if you want a nice phone with basic features, that looks AWSOME, this is your best bet
5 Stars out of 5

A question

Reviewed on Wednesday November 30, 2005 by , Vancouver, BC
Anybody have the black motorola V3 from rogers?? I was wondering does your phone make a sound when you turn it on and off? It's a great phone....
3 Stars out of 5

$$$$$$ for flashing

Reviewed on Saturday October 8, 2005 by , Montreal
I'm a Rogers Representative. The motorola V3 is a good phone, it works good and the signal is ok. But it is TOO MUCH expensive. Realy, it doesn't take videos, not an mp3 reader, no special features. You don't care about features on a cell phone??? Ok but the motorola V3 is not better than the motorola V551. The V551 is 50% less expansive and tkaes videos, read mp3, and the signal, quality... are similar. If you want a GOOD phone from Motorola buy the V635. It is not expansive and has a lot of feture and good and solid construction with better quality.

If you want pay for flashing, buy this V3
5 Stars out of 5

Best phone (2 many pros 2 cons)

Reviewed on Sunday September 25, 2005 by , Vancouver B.C.
i've had the Razr V3 for about a month now and i cant be happier with the phone, it soo sleek and stylish, reception is awesome... I was affraid to switch from the telus network to the rogers network because i had heard that the telus network is far better than all other networks. Well i can now tell that that is just a rumour, because with rogers i get better reception at work and at home, even though telus does have better coverage in my province (that means that telus covers more middle of nowhere towns).

Of course like everything the phone has pros and cons:

After one month of having the razr v3 i can only come up with two cons wich are: No video recording and the earpiece. Sometimes it's not loud enough and i have a hard time hearing ppl. That doesnt bother me that much... i mean it's not all the time that the phone does that and most of the time i'm able to hear by covering my other ear.

Now pros... there are way 2 many 2 list!!! But i'll mention a few, the phone has very good reception, solid phone, the video playback has sooo good quality and the sound is even better, i'm amazed by how fast the battery charges, the camera takes great quality pictures i really like it that it does pretty well in low light conditions (the camera is not a 1.3 mega pixel but after all megapixels are only size not nesesarily quality), the screen is huge!!!, the keypad has a nice feel and this nice lay out that many of my friends like to call "futuristic".

I strongly believe that i got what i payed for. Many ppl would say that for the same money u can buy a much better phone with way more features, well if u want features buy that other phone with the features... but if u want a thin stlysh phone that is gonna get alot of looks and it's definitively gonna be noticed the razr v3 is your best choice.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday August 25, 2005 by , Montreal
Hey I've had my v3 for months and I love it. I dropped it in waterand it still works beautifully... I wouldn'tcahnge it for anything else on the market right now. I have video on it with the new software and its great. It would be nice if i had edge but its the price i'm willing to pay to have such a sleek, thin phone that works well and has no problems.
2 Stars out of 5

Motorola V3

Reviewed on Saturday July 16, 2005 by , Toronto
This phone is beautiful, but beyond that it's just average. My major issue is my earpiece volume varies from really great to really poor. If servicing doesn't correct problem I have no choice but to get something else ... and it definitely WON'T be a Motorola. What good is a phone that can't perform the basic function of making calls, no matter how good it looks?
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday June 24, 2005 by , rabt
c'est le portable le plus sexy que j'ai vue de ma vie !!!! il est tout simplement magnifique !!! texture extraordinaire !!!
seul petit probleme c'est qu'il n'offre pas autant d'options que les NOKIA !!!!! mais si on est pour la beauté achetez le vous n'allez pas le regretter !!!
qualité photo superbe ....
1 Star out of 5

Poor Sound Quality

Reviewed on Saturday June 11, 2005 by , Ottawa

Bought and returned 2 different V3. The first one was defective. The second one seemed normal, but the sound quality was too variable, from good to really awful, and the volume was always too low at best on the Rogers network.

I am trying to find a phone to replace my old and trusted Motorola Star-Tac on the Bell network. I figured a high end phone would give best sound quality. Apparently not. I had first tried what the Bell sales rep said what the best one for sound quality, the Samsung a-660. It's a horrible phone for sound quality, as many reviewers wrote here, so I returned it. Then I went to Rogers and tried the V3, but returned it. Still looking. Reviews here are helpful. Looks like Nokia 6585 or 6225 will be my next purchase.
4 Stars out of 5

Good but the same as V600

Reviewed on Friday April 15, 2005 by , Calgary
I got the V3 about a month ago and am very happy with the phone it could have a few more features like Edge or Video but overall really good phone
3 Stars out of 5

The V70 for a new generation!

Reviewed on Thursday March 31, 2005 by , Laval, Quebec
Motorola has always been known for their designs when it comes to cellular phones. We've had the V70, the first one that rotates instead of flip, the V600, wich was so hyped, even though it was a good phone, it could never have lived to the expectations. And now comes the much-awaited RAZR V3.

Pros : The first thing to see in this model is its design and its revolutionnary! The phone is (forget the pun) razor thin when seen from the side. The screen is large, crisp and very clear, its the best I've ever seen on a cellular phone (and I've used quite a lot!). The keypad is worth mentioning, it's very smooth, but still you feel it well when you press a button. The starting kit, which includes a Bluetooth headset and a belt clip, is more generous than the average. The reception on that model is fantastic, so for the first time, style doesn't win over substance!

Cons : First of all, that model is WAY overpriced. Its a rich man's toy. The external screen is mediocre, almost impossible to read in direct sunlight and near worthless when taking self-portraits with camera. Speaking of which, the camera could be better that 0,3 MP (VGA), the pictures are washed-out and the video mode is very choppy. Lastly, Motorola could have included EDGE data speed on a model of that price, technically speaking, this model is inferior to the V551...

Conclusion : If you have the money and you really want to make heads turn, than by all means, take this phone! But for the average user, you can find much more bang for your bucks than this gorgeous but over-priced cell phone.
3 Stars out of 5

V3- too pricy for modest features

Reviewed on Sunday March 20, 2005 by , Ontario
I picked one up and now regret the money I spent it. Its ok, but the camera can be better. So can the battery life. Surprised motorola did not include edge technology for a phone in this price range.