Motorola V300 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Motorola V300 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 27 reviews.

4 Stars out of 5

Its Mixs

Reviewed on Sunday May 28, 2006 by , Toronto
I had V300 for year and half. It has give me the same problems that everyone has.
1 Star out of 5

Pile of $#!@!

Reviewed on Thursday September 1, 2005 by , Thunder Bay
ive had this phone over a year now and it is junk. it looks nice and has pretty good features and camera for its time but it gives LOTS of problems. so far the volume cuts out so u can hardly hear, next comes the constant freezing and after that is the fact that after u press the green button it takes 10 seconds after that to answer a call. add to that the fact some pictures get corrupted for no reason and u cant view them and also the thumb nail pic is diffrent than the actual fill size picture! argggg! DONT BUY... hopefully the v635 is better because i was intrested in buying that.. so far nokia's rule
4 Stars out of 5

Motorola 300 is great

Reviewed on Thursday September 1, 2005 by , Ontario
I have used this phone for over 1 year, and I really enjoy it. It keeps its charge well, the sound quality is good, and the camera has been very useful (I even used it at a wedding and sent the photos to the family by email) and fun.
It feels good in my hand and yet it is not too small in a man’s hand…
The voice activated dialling works well.
It is nice to have a flip phone! That means that I do not have to worry about locking it before I put it in my purse or pocket. (once, I forgot to lock my previous Nokia and as I put it in my purse I must have pressed a key that redialled the last number, then recorded nothing for two hours). From now on I will always choose a flip phone.

I used it in, Europe and Australia, and had no problems with it.

However, using it with a separate, Motorola ‘hands free’ earphone attachment, it does not provide as good a voice quality, and people have had trouble hearing me… … but this feature is useful while travelling. The only part I do not like is the sounds that came with it are all so similar, and many are ‘new age’ types…
I give the phone itself 4 stars.
1 Star out of 5

This phone is crap

Reviewed on Thursday August 25, 2005 by , Toronto
I've had the V300 for just over a year now and bought it on a President's Club upgrade on the recommendation of the Roger's sales "experts". The volume on the earpiece is nothing short of crap... you can't hear incoming calls or voicemail messages. I've had it in for repair on two occasions and the repair was temporary at best. This phone also drops calls with much more frequency than any of my previous 3 phones (all Nokia)What good is a phone if you can't hear the voice on the other end...I use this phone primarily for business and this is clearly unacceptable, therefore this phone gets a "crap only" designation. Prospective phone buyers should not waste their money or time on this phone. My contact with motorola customer service was also a waste of time. I'm biteing the bullet and going back to Nokia.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday July 14, 2005 by , canada
I have had my v300 for about a year and for the past month I have noticed that the earpiece was not working well. The volume would be non existance. People would try to call and there would be no sound on my end. I went to a Rogers wireless store and they said that there were similar problem with this phone. Now since I can not get any support (Thanks Rogers for helping their under contract Customers out) I have to fork up the cost of a new cell, with no help from Rogers or Motorola for a defect in the phone itself.
2 Stars out of 5

Not Impressed

Reviewed on Sunday July 10, 2005 by , Canada
I've had the phone for about a year. It was the first phone I've every purchased, so I was quite impressed with the look, functionality, and the fact that I could also use the phone to take pictures. The phone was purchases mainly for emergencies (i.e., car trouble). I'm not really a talker, so my phone is usually off. I did notice on a few occasions in the early periods of having the phone that calls would drop, as well as calls that I was trying to make would fail. I didn't see this as a problem at the time, for I wasn't on the phone allot. 6 months later the problems have gotten worse (I find myself now needing to be on the phone more frequent -business, work, etc...) and thus am experiencing this problem more regular. I have Nokia 6820 as well, which I've been using to gauge whether or not my problem is network or equipment related. So far the Nokia device is performing exceptionally well (except for the camera quality, due to the sub par display quality), it’s providing me with reliable service. Something that the Motorola doesn't V330 isn't providing.
4 Stars out of 5

Better than most...

Reviewed on Friday July 1, 2005 by , Winnipeg, MB, Canada
I bought this phone a year ago, and it's given me some trouble since. It had an issue with hanging up every 5 minutes, but I took it in to Rogers (and at the cost of a loner phone...) got it fixed. It's treated me fine since, however it has a weird buzz when you're using a headset, though it comes and goes.

The picture quality will never stack up to a digital camera, however it's as good or better than most of the newer camera phones on the marke right now! Even the samsung a680 video phone has the same quality photos!

The menus are great, this phone lets you add multiple phone numbers for each contact, to arrange them, to sort them, to add pics, it's got their pic coming up when they call, it looks great, the phone has a rubberized exterior which means you grip it just fine, and it's a sturdy little guy. You can have it on ringer, vibe and ringer, or just vibe...or nothing at all. It's bright, though hard to read when the backlight turns off.

The battery life is awesome. I put on about 2500 minutes a month (EEK!), and the battery life is awesome still! 1 year, still on my first battery, and I can talk for 3 hours without needing the charger. The bonus? The charager just plugs in the bottom, so you can charge and talk at the same time from your home!

A great phone. Better than a lot of newer ones.
1 Star out of 5

i can't hear for the 2nd time

Reviewed on Wednesday June 22, 2005 by , cleveland, ohio
horrible phone its my second v300 i can't hear out of the ear piece, it is a Piece of junk and this is my second one since the first one had the same problem after 6months of use, now the second one has the exact same problem 3 months later, cna u belive it the same phone has the same problem! this phone has a defect in the ear piece since it has happened to me twice with the same model phone, ughh, im frustrated and t-mobile won't give me a diff one, motorola should recall this phone, how can a phone serve its purpose of u can't hear out of it after 6 months of use.
5 Stars out of 5

Amazing phone!!

Reviewed on Monday April 4, 2005 by , Wales
Well about 2 months ago i bought a new phone, the motorola v220, the phone had so many problems i decided to get a new one the v300.
This phone is amazing much better than my last phone, the camera is clear and crisp, the internal and external designs are stylish, sleek and original and the price wasn't bad either!!

2 Stars out of 5

Ear speaker

Reviewed on Sunday April 3, 2005 by , mpls
I've had the phone now 9 months and the only problem with the phone is the ear speaker, it does not work anymore and I have to use the external speaker with phone calls, not the best. Otherwise, it is a great phone. I'm giving it 2 stars because long term it's a 1 star short term it's a 4 star.
4 Stars out of 5

Nice fone

Reviewed on Thursday March 17, 2005 by , Washington DC
k i got this phone about 5 months ago. Let me just say that this fone is awesome most of the time. The blue monocrome screen on the outside is fine as it shows battery life, signal strength, the time and caller id. The fone has a blue slightly rubberized velvet covering. It also has a VGA camera w/ a mirror for self portraits. When you opne the fone up u see it's brilliant, bright and colorful 65,000 color screen. Some of the fone features include a 1000 name fone book, picture caller id, moto mixer, large 5mb enternal memory, nice VGA camera, and fun personalization features. The camera is pretty good and it includes 5 lighting condition settings, auto timer and 5 shutter tones. IT's web enabled. It has picture message cappabilities as well as the abilities to send your pictures online. Like other fones you can pay for ring tones, games. My only problem with the fone is that it can be slow sometimes and it occasionally freezes up. other than that the fone is terrific.
2 Stars out of 5

v300 can you hear me?

Reviewed on Monday March 7, 2005 by , toronto, canada
6 months later and I cant hear anyone via the earpiece, must use speakerphone. Not to mention many bad connections which may be service provider related - but I doubt it. Take a pass on this phone which looks good but is just a toy.
1 Star out of 5

Can't Hear!!!

Reviewed on Thursday January 27, 2005 by , Montreal, Quebec, Canada
I purchased my v300 cell phone approx. 6 months ago. For the longest time, the phone was fantastic! No problems, clear reception, good quality pictures, etc.
For the past month, at regular intervals, if someone was trying to call me, or I was calling them, I could not hear anthing, not even the ringing. I tried adjusting the volume, but with no luck.
I told my friend about this problem, as he also has the exact same phone, and he as well experienced the same problem. Defect?? Recall?? Who knows?
Now I went back to the store I bought the phone at, and they are now telling me that they can fix, not replace, my phone for no charge. As this is now an inconvenience, because it will take over a week, and they insisted that I bring the actual box the phone comes in (who keeps those boxes anyways???). Not to mention that all the games, and phone numbers stored in my phone will now be lost. Just the games cost approx 50 CAD.
My problem, is the phone worth it? Can I get an upgrade because I know I have a defective phone? Will this happen again? Who will reimburse my game purchases?
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone

Reviewed on Wednesday January 26, 2005 by , New Brunswick, Canada
Hey, let me start by saying this is a great phone. I've had other cell phones and by far this is the best I've had but it does have issues and bugs which are rather bothersome. I've read the other reviews on here and seen that some people have had problems with battery power. The more things you have running like if your connected to aim all the time, the more battery power your using even when the cellphone is closed and the display off. In the menu, there is a feature you can use to make battery power go farther. Make sure its enabled and you may get more life from your batteries (I have it enabled) Personally I haven't had any problems though and I use the phone quite often for all varietys of things and usually the battery lasts 2-3 days which I think isn't bad because its not hard to just plug it in before you go to bed and its ready for more in the morning. The only downfall I see (and aparently I'm not the only one) is that I have a hard time hearing the other party when talking to them. I think that they should have made the ear speaker a bit louder so you can talk in loud enviroments without problems. The picture part of the phone is a great gadget but the zoom degrades the quality of the picture if your sending it to your pc. The ringers are astonishing and have come a long way. I'm very impressed. All-in-all this cellphone is recomended if your just looking for a good cellphone jam packed with features to play with. Not recomended as a business cell though. Reception could be better. Enjoy!
4 Stars out of 5

Good buy!!!

Reviewed on Saturday January 1, 2005 by , Suffolk
I got this phone for Christmas and it is brilliant!!! The camera is of a good quality, easy to work and clear pictures. It is also digital, which means I can send pictures to far away friends and family!!! The ringtones are the best that I have ever heard for polyphonic tones and you can also get MP3 tones on here, which I have not tried yet. The phone comes with two installed games, Monopoly and Stuntman. For Christmas I also got a gaming package, which I could download free games from. Texting is simple on this phone, it is easier and quicker than any phone I have ever used. All in all, this phone is a good buy, I definately would recomend it to you!!!
3 Stars out of 5

Great phone, lousy battery life

Reviewed on Saturday November 13, 2004 by , Eustis, Fl
I have had this phone for about 2 months and think it is a wonderful phone and very easy to use with lots of features. The downside is the battery life. I have had 3 batteries replaced and no difference, only get about 24 hours stand by (got 12 hours the first time after charging the battery per Motorola for 12 hours, or about 40 minutes talk time and 20 hours stand by. This was a brand new phone, my carrier wants to send me a refurbished one but I hesitate as I have had very little luck with these in the past. Does anyone have any input into their experience with refurbished V300 phones? Would appreciate hearing any information available. This is a very fine phone, too bad the battery appears to make this a less than stellar phone at best.
5 Stars out of 5

Im surprised!

Reviewed on Monday November 8, 2004 by , kitchener, ontario
I bought the phone the first day it came out and man ppl were impresed! i went online and found soooooo many things u can do with this phone!
the Mp3 ringtones are a killer thing!
camera... ITS USEFULL
its great .. has minor bugs in software but nothing that cant be fixed ... all u need is a USB cable and some crazy programs!
2 Stars out of 5

I cant hear

Reviewed on Friday October 22, 2004 by , ottawa, on
I was really impressed when I first got the phone, but several months later I find that I cant hear very well through the headset.. I have to use my ear bud all the time.. and lets not open that can of worms.. who's ear canal is that big??.. I cant keep the thing in place! I had the V60 before this and lets just say, my next phone WONT be a motorola!
5 Stars out of 5

What's Not To Like?

Reviewed on Sunday October 3, 2004 by , Washington DC
The Motorola V300 is an awesome little phone. It's a fantastic value. I had to chose between the Samsung E-105 (also a great phone) and the Sony Ericsson T610 (another cool gadget) and i'm glad i chose the V300.
Design: I thought the funky keypad would make the phone harder to use, but u konw what, it really doesnt. The best thing about the phone is it's beautiful 65,000 color screen. It blew me away the first time i opened the phone and it still ceases to amaze me. You can see the camera lens with a small mirror for self portraits. The case has a velvety rubberised feel, which i think is pretty cool. Also on the outside is an non-color external screen that shows the time, singnal strength, battery life, caller ID and incoming messages.
Features: As far as the features go it has a VGA camera with 4x zoom. The camera is pretty good compared to other camera phones, i feel it is as good if not better than my mom's 3660. It comes with about 2 game demos (bejewled and Prince of Persia)and Stuntman. You can also download more games from T-Zones. It comes with AIM which is really fun. Moto Mixer is nothing special but it's nice to have. The menues cam be reordered to fit you style and preference which i really love. Speaker phone also works well expept u have to be in a convo in order to turn it on. One of the few downsides of the phone is that when you want the phone to vibrate and ring it vibrates THEN rings, but no biggie. Using the phone is a cinch!
Preformance: The call quality is fine, nothing special but it certainly gets the job done. It's very sturdy as well. Overall a great succes.
4 Stars out of 5

Great phone- but where is the battery life?

Reviewed on Saturday September 25, 2004 by , Eustis, Fl
I purchased this phone and even called Motorola to see what the best way to charge their battery was. They said to charge it for at least 12 hours and let it run completely down 3 times and than charge as needed. I did charge it for 12 hours. Turned it on and find it is a great phone and am very happy with the quality of workmanship and all the features, beats any phone I have ever had before. The only drawback is that after 12 hours the battery was dead. I used 1hour and 17 mintues of talk time and T-Zones twice and took 4 pictures which I discarded and did not send out as email. It seems to take 4 hours to charge it back up and I use this in my business so for the first three cycles it is not acceptable. Has anyone else had this type of battery problem or could reccommed certain setting that would extend battery life? Would appreciate any help or feedback I can get. I do like the phone but believe I may have a defective battery which my carrier refuses to discuss at this point.
4 Stars out of 5

A sleek and stylish phone packed with a punch!

Reviewed on Tuesday July 20, 2004 by , Courtenay, BC
If you are in the market to purchase a new cell phone or would like to upgrade your current one, the V300 should not go unnoticed.

I upgraded to this phone almost a month ago. I am very pleased that I did. The phone offers alot of useful features (datebook, calculator, alarm clock, etc) for which I utillize all the time. You can personalize the phone as much or as little as you want. The built-in camera takes awesome quality photos.

Everyday I am discovering new features and options. The only draw back is the "START HERE" guide that is included with the phone kit. It contains condensed information and does not list all topics, features and options. Although you can order a copy of the "MORE HERE" reference guide which contains detailed information and information on the topics not printed in the "START HERE" guide. Please don't let this deter you from buying this phone. To obtain the reference guide (free of charge) you can either call Motorola (Canada) at 1-800-461-4575 or download it from their website

Thanks Motorola, you have done it again with another cool phone!

RINGTUNES: If you are looking for high quality ringtunes for your V300, surf over to
5 Stars out of 5

They've found a combination!!!!!

Reviewed on Friday July 9, 2004 by , Halifax
To everyone who is currently looking for an upgrade or just to get a new phone: This phone rocks!!! I've done a lot of research on the different flip phones out there from all makes and models, and I've made the best choice yet! The V300 has great reception, easy to use, long battery life, and you can personalize it in so many ways......the camera is great too!! I really am impressed, especially when you are on the market for a new phone and really don't know what to get (what's good and what's not). So, anyone who chooses this phone will not be dissappointed!!! (ps> the memory space is unlimited!!!!)
4 Stars out of 5

Cool phone

Reviewed on Saturday July 3, 2004 by , Brampton Ontario
This phone is great! It has good reception, cool gadgets (especially the camera) and did you know you could change your ring tones to mp3 songs? It's amazing! Overall this phone is excellent!
5 Stars out of 5

Motorola is back on top

Reviewed on Sunday June 20, 2004 by , Orleans, On
This phone is the best i've ever had! It has all the features you could ever want in a phone. Motorola Has finally come up with a phone that will give others a run for their money. The camera is fun and the phone is great.
4 Stars out of 5

Best clamshell out there!

Reviewed on Thursday May 6, 2004 by , Laval
I've been using this phone for more than a month, and so far so good. The screen is one of the sharpest and brightest on the market, and that is particulary nice when pictures and games are concerned. The biggest selling point of this model is the camera, but people should look at the incredible reception and sound quality before any gadgets. The picture quality is on-par with webcams. The menus are simple and intuitive, they've required just a few hours and I was confortable with them. The only drawback I've spotted is that the battery turns incredibly hot after a couple of minutes of usage. But all-in-all, its the best clamshell phone you can get on the market and I highly recommend it!
4 Stars out of 5

A work of art... with connectivity issues

Reviewed on Thursday March 25, 2004 by , Vancouver
You can have it all - almost - with the V300. A huge whack of onboard RAM means plenty of space for photos and ringtones. The camera is surprisingly good for a cell phone (just don't expect *too* much from it, Rembrandt!) and the sound is wonderful. The menu system is really intuitive, except for the odd decision to put your call logs under "Settings." It's tiny but feels solid, and looks-wise, this is one gorgeous piece of machinery.

What do you sacrifice for art? Mainly connectivity. If your computer is a Mac, forget about synchronizing for now; this is a Windows-only phone unless and until Apple's iSync software starts supporting it. (There are workarounds out there, but users report mixed success.) And if you're hoping to connect it to a Bluetooth or infrared device, you'll have to try elsewhere; the V300 doesn't support either technology.
5 Stars out of 5

Number One, I ever had!!!

Reviewed on Saturday February 7, 2004 by , North Vancouver
This has been the most wonderful phone in world. Many tones to ring and sound it like music. I make my own tones with the mixer like a DJ. The camera allows me to zoom 4 more times than other phones. Good signal when talking to my friends in other country. I play the stuntman and I love it!!! great phone for everyone...motorola#1!!!!!