Palm Treo 600 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Palm Treo 600 has an average user review score of 2 Stars out of 5 based on 14 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

Various Problems with Treo 600

Reviewed on Friday July 28, 2006 by , Fredericton
I have to say that I have been a big treo supporter. As a consultant and a software developer the palm OS was a big selling point for me and the fact that it seemed to offer better phone features.

However, without my willingness from the beginning to support the palm, it is a miracle that my attitude did not change right from day 1. Within a year, my screen developed large bright and dark spots. I had it replaced on warranty but not before having to deal with PalmOne's disgraceful call centre in Manilla where there was a significant communication barrier. The replacement phone has a faulty speaker so I was back on the phone for another terrible experience. Finally a replacement came in and this phone looses touchscreen calibration for the stylus everytime I use it so I am constantly having to recalibrate.

I do love the phone, but PalmOne has some significant challenges to overcome if they plan to keep me as a customer.
4 Stars out of 5

Good phone

Reviewed on Sunday July 16, 2006 by , Canada
...oh I see, a mac user has complaints about the device's functionality...heh.

This has proven to be a good, sturdy phone. If you can find one in good shape buy it cheap used and you will love it. Plus it's great for beaming/sharing info with other palm devices you may use. A breeze to set up. Complaints about the screen on this device are truly laughable. It looks and works great. The keypad takes 5 minutes to learn and there is no need whatsoever for JOT or Graffiti of any kind on a device like this. Nice stylus. Great functionality as an organizer/phone/sms device...recommended. If you don't need/want Bluetooth (don't really see why people feel the need to use Bluetooth anyway) then this phone has all you need. Uses SD cards for extra memory. Supports up to 4GB I think. One criticism: audio is in mono only. Requires super mini plug for audio (ie) smaller than 1/8" jack.
1 Star out of 5

Great from far, but far from great

Reviewed on Thursday September 22, 2005 by , Toronto, Canada
I have had my Treo 600 Smart Phones for nearly two years now. I say "Smart Phones" because this is currently the second replacment unit. The Rogers rep runs when he sees me coming in now and number three Treo 600 here is bombing again.

But first: A review.

One of the things I liked about my Palm V was the Grafitti function. That does not exist on the Treo, so that was disappointing, however not a show-stopper. The phone lookup is nice and you can dial directly from the contact list. The other functions are typical Palm, so if you like the Palm Pilot, you 'll probably like the Treo. The connectivity to the PC is typical Palm but the hardware seems almost "after thought" and I've broken two car chargers and the PC cables. They are very delicate and require kid-gloves. The desktop charger and the uplink work, but not together anymore. The case is not useful if you use the stylus because it has a thick plastic covering on it, so I cut it off and applied that Palm screen cover sticker on it instead. But now the case is lose and it wiggles around in it.

And lets finish with a complaint:

The first just stopped working. One day, about 3 months after getting it, the green light was flashing as usual, but nothing worked. The screen was black. I soft and hard rebooted it, but it was dead. So they gave me another one. Within 6 months, the "Orange Splotch" bacteria infected the screen and Palm sent me another one. Now, the screen is so dark under any setting that it cannot be read without straining. It appears to be a contrast problem that "brightness" cannot address.

There are numerous websites where the whiners complain about how inefective and inconvenient it is to use, but suffice it to say that if you really enjoy your Palm Pilot, keep it and get a regular boring phone until Palm figures this out. Or, of course, you could get a BlackBerry which is infinitely better anyway. Thats what I'm going to do.
1 Star out of 5

Never again

Reviewed on Saturday September 3, 2005 by , North Bay, ON
Pride made me keep quiet for such a long time. However, my patience is worn. This TREO 600 sucks! I am on my 2nd phone and it is in for repair. The phone is crap, it continually disconnects, when you receive text messages you must soft boot the phone to be able to make calls. The speaker is shot and the only way to hear the other caller is by speaker phone. This product is a great data manager, but as a smart phone it is rather dissappointing.
5 Stars out of 5

Totally disagree With Mr Mcdonald

Reviewed on Saturday August 20, 2005 by , Montreal, Quebec
Thats simply the best phn i ever had!!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Saturday July 16, 2005 by , Kingston Jamaica - West Indies
I own a Treo 600 for about 6 months. The telephone quality is poor and the unit freezes constantly. When that happens there you have two options (1) wait an eternity (20secs - 2 minutes) or reset it.
The speaker has been changed twice and sometimes only works on 'loudspeaker' mode.
Sometimes I get complaints that my party cannot hear me and visa versa.

They have changed the unit once and has repaired it (3) or (4) times.
As I write this review it is with the suppliers (cannot make or receive calls) who promised to exchange it for a new one.

I have asked for an upgrade to a 650 but the local distributors are themselves unhapply with the numerous complaints and are loathe to start selling the 650.

Amazingly I still the functionality of the device and the easy sync with my PC.
I hope they get it right because when it works its a great unit
1 Star out of 5

A ne pas acheter

Reviewed on Wednesday June 22, 2005 by , france
Ce téléphone vendu en France par Orange est une arnaque totale. Je l'ai depuis un an et j'en suis à mon 5ème.
Or mis la fonction Palm tout ce qui a trait à la partie téléhone ne fonctionne pas correctement.
L'appareil photo est de très mauvaise qualité.
2 Stars out of 5

Forget it...

Reviewed on Monday May 9, 2005 by , Montreal
update...palm one updater download does NOT work...stay away from this product! I already sold my unit, blackberry here I come! Went from 2 stars to 4 and down to 2...
1 Star out of 5

The ******est piece of junk I've ever bought

Reviewed on Wednesday May 4, 2005 by , Montréal
This terrible object turned out to be a real pain in the...

The screen isn't bright enough in dailight and too bright at night.

The buttons are so small it's a real assle to try to write anything.

The functions structure, the way the whole thing is set up is absolutely terrible to get used too, overcomplicated and makes you want to throw it in the garbage.

The mac software that comes with itg is even harder to use, complicated, restrictive... some of the data like you type in your computer won't even transfer to your handheld.

Doesn't offer voice dialing.

People, do yourself a favor: if you want to preserve your sanity, stay far away from that terrible thing.
4 Stars out of 5

yes it is true!

Reviewed on Friday April 15, 2005 by , Montreal
for all the comments shared by our friend from Sweden! they are true but once you get the treo 600 updater download (from your carrier's web site or palm one) and sync it all those problems are resolved. The major problem about the palm treo is the customer service hotline for palm now that's a major turn off, because the carries do not assist users in need, calls are directed back to palm one customer service, to that I say good luck. Myself I did the updater, before it was a 2 stars review now I am happy to report 4 stars because nothing in this world is perfect.
1 Star out of 5

Treo 600 update

Reviewed on Sunday February 27, 2005 by , Sweden
As an update to my previous review:
I have stopped using the Treo 600, since my colleagues complain constantly that they cannot hear me properly and my wife complains of an echo. I have tried everything I can think of to improve this situation, but nothing works. I will try to sell it.

I think the following is relevant:

The microphone is on the back, just in the right place to be covered by the soft part of your hand. This is a foolish design. I can't get used to holding the thing with my fingertips.

The speaker vibrations cause feedback into the microphone. This interferes with the "vox" noise reduction methods in use in cellphone systems. In systems that don't have noise reduction, there is an echo. Short of a complete redesign, this can't be fixed.

The screen quality is poor for such an expensive device. MS Office compatible word docs and spreadsheets are difficult to read.

The handwriting software available is poor. I have to repeat 50% of my input letters -- and I have good handwriting.

Zero stars again, I'm afraid.

4 Stars out of 5

First Look at Treo 600

Reviewed on Tuesday October 12, 2004 by , Ottawa, ON
Received the TREO 600 on Friday and got it up and running within minutes. Install / Sync seems pretty reasonable - the screen quality is poor (160x160) compared to my Tungsten T.

Had some problems with applications - JOT being the most important as there is no grafitti area. Any usage of JOT caused the TREO to reboot - there have been quite a few of those todate. I uninstalled JOT reinstalled a TRIAL version and seem to have had better results so far.

Inbox to Go Wireless EMAIL works great - although trying to figure out what your 1XRTT / Data password is can be a challenge. Call the 1888 # in the handout and they can verify it for you.

Currently for email/SMS and Calendar the TREO is great. You can make calls while looking at NOTES or contact info. You need to jump back to the PHONE application bundled with it to press more keys or tones. The FAVORITES bundled with PHONE allows you to do quick dial, or quick app or quick URL based on a KEYPRESS which is nice. Similar to holding 1 for voicemail - you can use keys or 5 pages of soft buttons to launch a phone number/application. This coupled with the 5 way navivation makes the quick launch pretty good.

I suspect PALM / Bell will lag behind in OS support given the CDMA port of the TREO but that said it is a great device to own - especially if your primary use of the palm pilot is for for phone numbers and calendar and you continue to always re enter numbers on your cell.
1 Star out of 5

Treo 600

Reviewed on Sunday September 26, 2004 by , Sweden
This is a combination of a good Palm handheld organiser and a standard telephone. If you like Palm (and I do) you will find a very good implementation that will do everything an advanced Palm will do. No complaints. I have installed several small enhancements, and Jot for handwriting recognition, so the Palm works well. I might add that the jot application is light years behind the Pocket PC handwriting recognition application, which (note, PalmOne) is free.

The telephone is, to put it mildly, very poor. If this is the usual standard of American telephones, then I am not surprised that there has been such a slow uptake of mobile in the US.

When you switch on "wireless mode" (why call it that? what else is there for the telephone?) there is a long delay with a completely useless and superfluous picture of the Palm acting like a telephone -- except that it doesn't. Somehow, it seems to wait for 15 seconds before deciding to try to connect to the operator.

When it tries to connect, it it takes a very long time -- maybe 15 seconds instead of the usual 3. It says "searching..." Why? The operator is pre-programmed by me. In a nutshell, it is very slow to connect. Nokia solved that complaint 5 years ago. The phone is also suspiciously bad at call quality, several of my colleagues have complained about me dropping out.

When you are connected, you can sometimes dial a number in error. When you press disconnect, it doesn't. This means that you have to wait a long time for the phone to connect itself, then you still have to disconnect. It is surprisingly easy to dial a number you just happened to be looking at, or were changing details, or deleting from the log.

All this is OK. You can get used to it and you can wait for it to couple up. But you can't help getting very, very angry when you switch the wireless mode off -- i.e. switch off the telephone -- and it goes through the same 15-second picture of a treo and a long waiting period before it decides to switch off. If you interrupt it by switching off the Treo, it doesn't switch off, it goes into a long sulk, taking up to one minute!! to switch off the phone.

These are serious shortcomings that need to be addressed. This is supposed to be a business tool. Phones have advanced a long way recently, so PalmOne might like to consider rebuilding the 1999 phone OS to something like 2004 standard and getting rid of the irritating delays and non-functionality. It is also possible to get rid of the external antenna. A small Palm profile with an antenna is just a larger Palm profile, so why not build in the antenna?

Also (and I find this very strange) why not access the address book from the Palm? Why do you have to go to telephone first? Not intuitive. Not Logical. Poor integration. Three out of five, and all the points for the Palm. Less one for the lack of address book access without invoking the phone, minus one for a primitive antenna and one for the waiting for telephone service. Darn it! No zero stars vote. So it gets one star.
4 Stars out of 5

Feature-packed in a small design

Reviewed on Friday August 6, 2004 by , Laval, Quebec
I was really looking forward for this model to come out (as well as a LOT of my customers!). Finally, a PalmOne PDA combined with a cell phone, all in a design not too far from a conventional phone. I will write a separate review for the PDA and data aspect and one for the cell phone.

PDA : If you've ever used a Palm PDA, you know what to expect from this model. It contains all the same features, an organizer, contacts list, To-Do list, etc. all compatible with Microsoft Outlook. The high-resolution colour screen is nice, but not that impressive, outside, you don't see much. The Graffiti option is sorely missed, but you can download it from the net, but with a fee. The keyboard works well, but I've found the keys to be too small, but you can't have such a small phone with a full QWERTY keyboard without making some sacrifices. The Internet works fairly well, it can shows normal HTML web pages, not just WAP pages, but most of the time, the pages show up quite messed up. However, the e-mail software is fast and easy to use.

Cell phone: The good news is at least they've made a cell phone out of a PDA! I've been using the Tugsten W for quite some time, and what was pissing me off was that I had to use a handsfree to make a call (don't talk about the cover that poses as a speaker/microphone, you can't hear a thing out of this junk!). The sound quality is excellent, and so is the coverage, as good as any GSM 850MHz phone can be.

Lastly, the camera on this device is the WORST I've ever seen! The colours are all washed out and the resolution is awfull. But all-in-all, this is one very impressive device and I highly recommend it to any people who needs their e-mail on the go!