Sanyo Pro-700 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Sanyo Pro-700 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 30 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

Best phone I've ever had

Reviewed on Tuesday June 5, 2012 by , Dunham
Je n'ai jamis eu de telephone plus solide et performant.Acheté en mars 2009 et il fonctionne toujours très bien qouique passablement endommagé ( le cosmetique ) Dommage qu'il ne soit plus disponible
4 Stars out of 5

rugged indeed

Reviewed on Sunday May 6, 2012 by , canada
I actually ran over my phone with a semi tractor and it was unscathed ... very impressive thought it would have damaged screen or something
3 Stars out of 5

Info hard to come by

Reviewed on Tuesday January 31, 2012 by , Redvers,SK. Ca.
When I purchased my phone ,all I got was the phone. No charger of any kind, no driver to connect to P.C., no USB cord, and precious little help from the Sasktel rep.Now I'm trying to find a driver so my computer will recognize my phone. Any suggestions?
5 Stars out of 5

simply indestructable

Reviewed on Tuesday December 13, 2011 by , langley, bc, canada
awesome phone. have in coverall pocket all day everyday. been dropped hundreds of times rained on lots. even been through FULL wash cycle, then spin,then rinse, then spin again... thought it was a gonner. dried out for 24 hours on heat vents with battery out. that was a year ago and my phone is looking a little ragged but works great!
1 Star out of 5

Military specs indeed!!!

Reviewed on Saturday October 8, 2011 by , Regina Saskatchewan
375 days old,very light usage.Micro USB port comes out on charger plug (fell off)No warranty/non repairable,buy a new phone.Physical damage would not be covered anyway.(normal usage) Which military is this ? I don't feel safe anymore!. I know 6 or 7 people with these phones. 2 of them have also had this problem. First and last SANYO product I will ever buy.
1 Star out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday September 8, 2011 by , lac-mégantic
j,ai acheté sanyo pro 700,je travail a puvirnituq nord du québec ,mon cell labas ne fonctionne pas ,,,pourriez-vous m,expliqué comment sa ,j,ai 2 travailleur labas qui ont le même cell.sois sanyo pro 700 et il fonctionne labas,,,merci ghislain
5 Stars out of 5

tres satisfait

Reviewed on Saturday June 25, 2011 by , Laval
je possede un pro700 depuis bientot 2 ans et je suis tres fonctionne encore comme un neuf apres avoir tombé d'un 4 iemes étage, la pile dure longtemps.
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Sunday February 20, 2011 by , Canada
Je vien de lire les autres me dis que c juste des plainiare qui vien écrire sa moi j'ai eu aucun bris depuis que je l'ai acheter en mars il en prit des coups je vous jure!!!Tres solide et tres satisfait!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Love it

Reviewed on Sunday January 16, 2011 by , Roseisle
I live in an area where it is very hard to get reception. This phone has been fantastic. I love my Sanyo Pro-700. It is the best ever I can use it in alot of places where I live and I most of the time get my texts and calls. Other phones I had to go into one window in the kitchen or in the bedroom I can now sit in my reclining chair and text with my Little Sister. Woohoo best phone ever.
1 Star out of 5

un telephone de fille avec un amballage homme

Reviewed on Sunday December 26, 2010 by , degelis
moi aussi après seulement 6 mois l'écran extérieur bruler aucun coup et aucune garantie aussi.supposer le téléphone le plus robuste sur le marché mais s'est tout le contraire le pire achat électronique sur le marché
3 Stars out of 5

expensive but durable

Reviewed on Friday November 26, 2010 by , calgary
costs a lot of money for no bells and whistles, but the phone takes a beating. normally lucky if I get a year out of my phones. think just a little over 2 years on it and right now not sure if it will make 3 years as have problems with the charging receptacle on phone. It appears solder joints were used as the mechanical and electrical connection means for the socket and now have to set it just right for it to take a charge. Also the volume switch is on the verge of falling off and not being able to be placed back in. Web browser is difficult to use get used to and more and more mobile sites don't work well or at all on. Think will milk this one until the Samsung Rugby is available then make the switch.
4 Stars out of 5

Durable..but how durable?

Reviewed on Monday August 30, 2010 by , cabri
I have see many people with this phone and almost all them had a broken front screen. But its a good simple phone.
4 Stars out of 5

transfer de donner

Reviewed on Sunday August 22, 2010 by , quebec
comment tranferer les contact du tell au portable
5 Stars out of 5

good phone

Reviewed on Monday August 9, 2010 by , winnipeg
this is a tough good phone buttons work great too. i dropped in water and still works
4 Stars out of 5

Defines toughness in cell phones!

Reviewed on Monday June 7, 2010 by , Saskatchewan
If you need a phone for practical uses as opposed to entertainment, this is the one to have. Texting isn't the greatest on it but you get used to it. A guy I know had one fall out of his pocket and get run over by a combine, and the only thing wrong with it was a cracked screen. I think that speaks for itself.
1 Star out of 5

Negatif! Citron!

Reviewed on Friday April 23, 2010 by , Montreal
J'ai achete ce telephone cellulaire depuis moins de 10 mois. L'ecran externe est brule et cela, sans choc,...Citron!! Comme ca couleur!! Les commercant vous disent que c est le plus robuste en sa categorie,... un "Tank"! Pour 450$, ??? Sans parler de la mauvaise qualite sonore, tres tres mediocre compare a mon ancien Cell. Deplus, ont vous chargera 35$ pour l expedition pour vous faire dire en conclusion que s est vous qu il l avez endommage! Pour vous plaindre, rien de plus simple, : San Diego!. La Californie, c'est magnifique!...
1 Star out of 5

pire que LADA

Reviewed on Thursday March 18, 2010 by , Thetford-Mines
je n'ai jamais eu aussi pire telephone que le pro 700 en plus que la compagnie est probablement plus pauvre que ces clients Sanyo ne veut pas honorer sa garantie alors qu'elle nous assure d'un grade millitaire pour son telephone que la prise du chargeur se brise a rien... puisque le telephone ne recoit plus de signal en charge on me facture $500.00 pour la reparation no-way.!!&*/##
excessivement decu je ne recommanderai pas cette compagnie a qui que ce soit.
2 Stars out of 5

GPS won't work

Reviewed on Wednesday January 13, 2010 by , Ottawa
Great phone if you do not want any bells and whistles. The web browser is VERY limited. And i also subscribe to the GPS feature that is built in the phone.
Unfortunately the GPS does not work, barely. It either can't connect or when it does it stays on for 5 minutes then disconnects.
Brought in twice now to get fixed without any luck.
If you need a cell only to call and use text, it's great. For anything more forget it!
2 Stars out of 5

Poor reception

Reviewed on Sunday December 20, 2009 by , sasktel
Company bought me this phone to replace razor, 700 has poor signal strength and I can't put ringtones on it with a cable and phone tools software, not as user friendly, but I had moto for a long time, 700 battery life is better.
4 Stars out of 5

the right phone for the right job.

Reviewed on Tuesday October 20, 2009 by , saskatoon
I couldn't agree more. I have an older model sanyo much like this and it's great. These phones are made for people who work in construction or in the oil fields,(or just drop their phone a lot). Very tough and have a very loud ring. If you are needing something that will provide you with entertainment there are better choices. If you need something that will survive a drop off a 30 foot ladder onto concrete and survive, this is the phone for you.
3 Stars out of 5

Terrible Voice Communicator!

Reviewed on Monday October 12, 2009 by , Edmonton
Note to reviewer/poster: Please delete the previous review I posted (or 2 if you received double). I'm back in the city and my wireless's performance is more consistent now.
1 Star out of 5

Don't do it.

Reviewed on Wednesday September 2, 2009 by , Grande Prairie, AB
Bad reception around town, cant preview rings before selecting, for some reason I cant recive pictures. The cheapest phone in the store will make you happier.
4 Stars out of 5

Love this phone

Reviewed on Tuesday August 25, 2009 by , Saskatchewan
I can't believe someone gave this phone a bad review because it does not play music - didn't he read the specs before buying it? I bet he complains about his Tim Hortons coffee being too hot! This is a great basic phone that has great reception and is very durable. If all you want is a phone I recommend it.
1 Star out of 5

Terrible Phone

Reviewed on Monday July 20, 2009 by , Regina
This phone is terrible don't buy one! No MP3 player, and it doesn't let you bluetooth ringtunes from other phones!
2 Stars out of 5

let down

Reviewed on Monday July 13, 2009 by , earl grey saskatchewan canada
i'm hard on phones like the majority of people out the past two years i've had quite a few phones looking for that "magic" phone out there that rarely drops a call and can take some degree of punishment.And i'll say this, the pro 700 that i had was not even close to being as durable as my old motorola razor and the 700 has dropped more calls than i care to remember.I bought it thinking it would be as good as the previous military spec phone they had out (scp 7050) and surprise surprise it's bro has the 7050 and we can stand two feet away from eachother and my 700 has no service and his 7050 shows at least two bars and can call out no prob.My front display warped,when the charger is plugged in the phone has no service and just the other day it quit working all together.I sent it away for warranty and brought out my old smashed up razor and when the 700 comes back it will be used for no more than a back up i'm hearing from the dealer i bought it from that the 700 IS becoming a problematic phone and service can very greatly differ from phone to phone.I wouldn't recommend this phone to anybody period!
2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Wednesday July 8, 2009 by , Montreal Qc
Telephone acheté le 6 juin 2009 supposément tres robuste 25 juin ecran extérieure brouiller, aucun coup recu, toujours dans son etui qui est en plastique rigide avec ecran a l'interieure, pour ajouter au ridicule on me demande $165 pour la reparation

Tres decu
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Thursday June 25, 2009 by , edmonton
i use this phone as a company phone,i swear this phone is a tank,ive droped it 1000s of times ran over it with a fully 3/4 truck and everthing stills works,and iver only had it for less then 3 months,for anyone that wants a tank that keeps on going with no cam phone this phone is for you.
5 Stars out of 5

Not Bad

Reviewed on Monday June 1, 2009 by , NB Canada
I've had it a few months now and enjoy it. However the vibration feature did stop working. I've had a few problems with the screen glitching up, but nothing major. I'm very hard on phones (went thru 15 with my last carrier in a year and a half) and I've had this one since January and its still ticking lol. Mines Actually bent right now, yet it works great...thing thats a good beating lol
4 Stars out of 5

Good phone

Reviewed on Wednesday March 25, 2009 by , Castlegar BC
Good solid phone. Rubber grip is a plus. I went back to this flip style phone and think it's great, got tired of pictures being taken etc. when my other phone was in my pocket. You can of course lock out the side buttons but I don't and have not had any problems with unwanted program starts. Keypad lights up nicely. Very loud speaker phone and ringers. Decent audio clarity when answering calls,good signal reception, web is fast and GPS is fast. The GPS does drop fairly easily and I returned my first phone (reluctantly) to see if another would be better. It is slightly better but it still can drop GPS, I must add that when it does drop you can restart it fast and then simply go to recent to reconnect. i would stongly recommend this phone to someone who wants a tough phone and isn't in need of a phone camera.
3 Stars out of 5

Voice Communication a Priority??

Reviewed on Monday March 16, 2009 by , Edmonton
Haven't bought the Pro-700 yet.
To users out there, is this one any good?
Never mind texting (no QWERTY) or the browser, does it drop calls like many of the kid's phones out there? Also, how about the side buttons? Do they trigger undesirable behaviour when you simply want to pick it up?
If this is not the serious phone like they say, I might as well splurge for the least worst kid's phone with the gadgets.