Samsung A516 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung A516 has an average user review score of 3 Stars out of 5 based on 17 reviews.

3 Stars out of 5

call display?

Reviewed on Saturday August 22, 2009 by , toronto
guys, i just ordered this phone, to replace another rogers nokia, that died, i forget to ask, is there call display?
im a dummy, i called back, they r so busy,
please help me? dave
i will even buy u a beer, bathurst /dundas
thanks, dave
3 Stars out of 5

does it

Reviewed on Wednesday July 15, 2009 by , edmonton
dose the phone come with the micro chip cause i didnt get one
3 Stars out of 5

Good, but could be better

Reviewed on Saturday March 21, 2009 by , Winnipeg, Manitoba
For this phone,
I love it but it has some big issues that really take away from it's greatness.

Like for example,
The phone sucks for service. You won't get good reception
Or the fact that the picture messaging is kinda wild, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't.

Otherwise this phone is pretty decent.
Good calling,
Texting is okay but the buttons feel kind of hard to push after a while,
And the battery gets crappy after 3 months of use
2 Stars out of 5

Not Recommended

Reviewed on Thursday March 19, 2009 by , Windsor
Had phone for about 7 months. Worked ok for the first 6 months. I hardly even used the phone bought it for emergency use only. It would not turn on or off properly. Had it sent for repair took them 3 months they said it was water damage and not repairable even with the expensive warranty I purchased. I never got it wet so the only thing that could have got it wet was sweat. I don't sweat a lot so other than the humidity in the air is the only thing I can think of. I was always kept in a case as well. I will not buy another Samsung product because of this. Now the company wants me to pay $250.00 for it and buy another phone.
1 Star out of 5

i ordered this phone

Reviewed on Monday March 2, 2009 by , st,johns newfoundland
Hi my name is jason and i currentley signed up for this phone and im getting it today.The things i read about this phone are good and bad,so could someone send me a e mail just to let me know if i am making a good decision or not.It would be greatley appericated.

Thank you; Jason
St, johns newfoundland
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday May 9, 2008 by , Victoria, BC
I've had this phone a couple of weeks now and am enjoying it tremendously. The call quality is probably the best I've had, and I've owned or used well over a dozen phones over the last few years. It looks great, it's slim, and the screen is bigger than I was previously used to.

There are some relatively minor gripes, however. The screen could be a bit easier to see in brighter conditions, for starters. Also, I'm not a big fan of the glossy front part which attracts fingerprints. In fact that's the first thing I noticed. I also find the number buttons could have been individualized better - perhaps recessed? - though it doesn't really cause problems.

I don't need much from the phone so I'm not the best reviewer, if you will, of some of the features newer phones have these days, but I'll tell you what I can. The camera and MP3 player work adequately for the odd time that I would use these features. The front music player buttons don't always function but maybe I'm not using it right. I'll have to play with that more. I've never previously owned/used an MP3 phone so I cannot compare in that sense, but compared to my three year old RCA MP3 player, the RCA is the better device. Finally, I find it interesting - not necessarily convenient - that this phone has the one universal port for power, earphones, and USB - but you can't do more that one thing at a time.

I could keep going but I think I've said enough of the basic impression I've had thus far. I like this phone and would recommend it to those who need a nice looking, basic phone with excellent call quality but can overcome the few minor glitches I and other reviewers have mentioned.
1 Star out of 5

Good Looks, Bad behavior

Reviewed on Monday April 28, 2008 by , Toronto, Ontario
This phone is quite small and looks good for the price. The actual workings and features of the phone are problematic though. The software it comes with does not work on Vista, which makes an external memory card and adapter for the computer absolutely necessary (add about $40 for this stuff). The buttons on the side are a nuisance if you carry the phone in your pocket or happen to grab it by the sides, as they end the call or shut it off, depending on what one you press. Most music features and ringtone features are locked out courtesy of Rogers to make you buy from their online store at about 3.99 per download. WORST OF ALL: The screen is really cheaply built; both my phone and one of my friend's have become distorted/fuzzy/streaky with huge white patches, making caller id useless and text messaging impossible. Get a Sony Ericsson if you want excellent build quality and reliability. STAY AWAY FROM THIS SAMSUNG!!
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent phone!

Reviewed on Sunday April 27, 2008 by , Toronto
First of all, Samsung A516 does its primary job perfectly; i.e excellent reception with its internal antenna and the call/sound quality is probably best one I've ever used. I used to have 6 motorola phones previous to Samsung phones (I am on second Samsung phones now 'cause I lost my first one)and it definitely beats motorola phones on many aspects. Once again, one of the key strong points of this phone is its reception strength: for instance, I even receive signals now through elevator rides and underground parking lots where all my friends' phones are as good as dead.

My phone's music player never gave me any problems and prior to inserting my 2gb microSD, I've created a few folders titled Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, and so forth and I've never had problems of finding my songs nor my songs disappearing on me after power on and off.

Camera is descent but just don't expect it to take quality pictures like phones with 2mb or larger capacities (my previous phone which had 2mb and flash took excellent pictures). My previous Samsung phone also had flash light so it took excellent pictures indoors as well but this phone doesn't have flash, so turn all the lights on if you want to take pictures indoors.
Video quality is descent as well especially if you take it outdoors.

I haven't tried the blue tooth yet but I don't anticipate any problems if it's anything like my previous Samsung phone.

The phone is very light so it might give the wrong impression of being flimsy but it is definitely sturdy, well built phone.

I give it 9 out of 10 for its price range.
1 Star out of 5

No good for music

Reviewed on Tuesday January 29, 2008 by , Vancouver
The first issue I had with this phone was the music player. When I put songs on to the 2 gig memory card that I got when I got the phone using bluetooth (I have a mac and the software for this phone does not work with it). After the songs were on the memory card they did not show up in my rogers music player. I managed to fix this by moving the songs in to the folder titles 'music' on the memory card (the steps to do this were not logical in any way). After I got my songs in to the rogers music player it worked fine for the first little bit(with the exception of the buttons on the outside of the phone being easy to bump). When I turned on my phone the next time I used it all the songs I had put on it were gone and it said the memory card was empty. I put all the songs back on too it again(not a fast thing to do using bluetooth) and the phone deleted them all again!
I have also had the phone freeze on me a few times, mainly when loading rogers music played, but a few other times as well.
1 Star out of 5

samsung a516

Reviewed on Monday January 21, 2008 by ,
i got this phone because i could not find a lg chocolate but this was not my number one choice. i had some problems with my phone like text messages and the music player. i do not like this phone at all. i think it is flimsy and cheap. i am saying this so that people dont buy it to. and thank god i returned it and got the same model but a new phone and so far i have not had anyproblems but take my word dontbuy it
4 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday January 1, 2008 by , Canada
I bought this phone about 4 months ago, and have had up and downs with it. The overall design and functions of the phone are great, it came with a 2GB card which is alot easier to place songs on it and download your pictures then Motorola and Nokia, but lacks the features of actually hooking up to the PC can be difficult at times. The music player is great but you can't download ring tunes directly to the phone.

Design & Style
Reception, believe it or not
Screen is huge
Good pics and movies

Ring Tunes
PC connectivity
4 Stars out of 5

So and so...

Reviewed on Tuesday December 25, 2007 by , Canada
The phone itself is pretty cool, great hearing and such.The camera is great, clear shots and lots of cool effects and add-ons for your photos. The buttons can be problematic at times, though nothing truly devastating. The one issue I've had is it comes with a PC Studio program for your PC which isn't compatible with Windows Vista, so be sure to check you have the compatibility. Overall however, good sturdy phone.
1 Star out of 5

Keyboard problem no voice dial

Reviewed on Saturday November 24, 2007 by , Chilliwack BC Canada
The key pad is hit and miss for dialing. Constantly miss dialing dropped digits. Big hassel exchanging the phone. Razr works better but side buttons are problematic.
5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday November 23, 2007 by , beresord
I absoutely love this phone. I wear two hearing aids, and i can hear perfectly. The people i'm talking to hear me perfectly, the reception is awesome. It has a little camera, takes video, bluetooth works perfectly....This samsung blows me away.
1 Star out of 5

do not go [service provider]

Reviewed on Thursday November 22, 2007 by , Canada
[service provider], locked & screwed up all good features of this phone
5 Stars out of 5

Need info

Reviewed on Saturday October 27, 2007 by , Toronto
I want to purchase this phone but i need info write a review people!
3 Stars out of 5

comments please

Reviewed on Saturday October 6, 2007 by , canada
Can somebody please comment about this phone? I'm thinking about getting it and I want to know the pros and cons