Samsung u740 Reviews

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung u740 has an average user review score of 4 Stars out of 5 based on 12 reviews.

5 Stars out of 5

Love it

Reviewed on Monday August 29, 2011 by , BC
I've had my phone for about 5 yrs.. never a problem.. great service.. love the double flip.. battery life is alright.. have lost it on hwy and found it full of sand an snow.. put it in a vat of rice, which supposedly sucks up all the moisture.. NO PROB.. works wonderful other than I had to get a new memory card.. got an attachment for the headphones which dont work so great, have to insert it partially or it dont work.. I think with the newer version you can go online horizontally.. I bought mine in 2007 and can only go online an play games with it flipped vertically.. that sucks.. but other than that.. Lov my phone.. lookin for a newer one tho.. one with 3g..jus learned about that.. :P
3 Stars out of 5

its an OKAY phone

Reviewed on Tuesday April 6, 2010 by , s4x1x8
I've had my phone for about a year and its okay. sometimes when i go to take a picture or video the color is messed up! last night it was pink blue red and purple!sometimes it randomly shuts off! But its a pretty good phone for everything else. It has lousy web service and sometimes when someone calls it goes onto speaker phone randomly! but then again its a phone not a laptop. Its a pretty good phone!
3 Stars out of 5

Its a pretty good phone!!

Reviewed on Monday April 5, 2010 by , s4x1x9
I like my phone. You can open two ways and text one way and the others for phoning. The two things i dont like about it is the internet is lousy and when somebody calls you if your phone is open the texting way it will be on speaker phone and its annoying. But other than that its an awesome phone!!!!!
4 Stars out of 5

Great Phone

Reviewed on Friday December 18, 2009 by , Winnipeg, MB, CAN
I've had this phone for 2 years now and nothing has gone wrong. I have dropped it tons of times. Best feature is to open the phone normally ( not on the side ) and you can spin it on the table for hours! The only thing I can said bad about my experience with it is the carrier's service and coverage, but that has nothing to do with the phone. I would recommend this phone to all users.
4 Stars out of 5

Great Phone!

Reviewed on Thursday July 23, 2009 by , B.C.
I have had this phone for almost 2 years now and have had no problems at all. When my friends and family have no service, I do. There are only a couple of places I don't have service.
I have no problem with hearing conversations and find myself turning the volume down because it can be too loud. The only thing I would like to see is the ability to adjust the base and treble of it as I am getting harder of hearing and adjusting the sound would be a good thing. Great for texting. Other than that it is a great phone.
1 Star out of 5

accessoires impossible a trouver

Reviewed on Friday April 3, 2009 by , quebec
Je me suis rendus chez le dépositaire bell du tel samsung U740 pour acheter une batterie longue durée . La réponse allez sur le site de samsung. Sur le site de samsung impossible d'acheter cet item. Je suis écoeurer de checher un simple accessoires comme une batteries.
3 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Tuesday November 4, 2008 by , Vancouver, BC
How can I change the theme? Its only black in the options. Is there a way to change it? Please help.

2 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday October 3, 2008 by , Hamilton Ontario
i HATTEEEE this phone
im on my third one of it because it keeps breaking on me currently. my third one is broken. first the screen wouldnt show when i flipped to to the side then when i texted it was delayed then today when i flip it up to call. that screen too is now all black and not visible.
do not buy it
others i know who have it have had the same problems
3 Stars out of 5

it was alright

Reviewed on Thursday October 2, 2008 by , lasalle
i got my phone back in march sometime and i really liked it because it was really easy to text w/, but after having it a couple months.. things went south.. when i hung up the phone it was restart and go all wierd. the camera isnt the best of quality and the reception was terrible. i got my phone wet a couple of days ago and i have no idea what i did to it, the clerk salesman said it has water damage, so i no longer have the u740!

5 Stars out of 5

Amazing phone

Reviewed on Sunday August 24, 2008 by , Canada
omg i just got my new Samsung U740 20 mins ago, And i love it already <33!! all of the features are easy to use and it's a very cute little phone =). If you're tired or using an old 3 letter per key texting keypad then this is the phone for you.

5 Stars out of 5


Reviewed on Friday March 21, 2008 by , toronto
This phone is the BEST phone i have so far and trust me i go throught alot of phones. There are alot of good features on the phone that made me switch from buying motorolas and in the end I say it was worth it.
-It has great sound when talking to someone and in large crowds u can hear people perfectlly.
-It's pictures are great quality and even better with the built in flash.
-It is obviouslly made for texting and is great at it.
-I found I have almost full bars in all places i go.
I could go on and on about how great this phone is but overall if your looking to buy a new phone the samsund u740 is the BEST!!
5 Stars out of 5

Excellent Phone

Reviewed on Monday September 10, 2007 by , Toronto
I purchased the u740 last week and have zero complaints so far. I spent some time figuring out all of the menu paths (since Samsung is structured quite differently than my prior Motorolas). All in all, excellent phone. Some main points:
- Very clear sound (compared to cell phones that I have had in the past, I am actually turning the call volume down when talking to people rather than turning it up as loud as possible)
- Easy to text using regular T9 method on regular number keys, even easier texting when using the QWERTY flip side of the phone
- Contact organization is great, easy to navigate through contacts (multiple numbers and email addresses, etc.)
- Camera takes clear photos, with flash, even better
- Video is okay, I don't have much of an opinion on this because it is a feature I won't really ever use.
- Web browsing is fast and easy to use. A couple times I had to reload sites a few times, but that's more of a network issue than the phone itself
- Downside is the lack of ringtones and display pictures included in the phone. Not much to choose from so expect to download something that is more to your liking.

I think I could go on for a while about all of the features, but that sums up most of the features I feel are most important in a phone. Two thumbs up from me (so far!).