Samsung Galaxy S8 Reviews

Also known as the SM-G950W

Do you own, or have you used this product? Write a User Review and help other consumers make the right buying decision.

The Samsung Galaxy S8 has an average user review score of 1 Star out of 5 based on 8 reviews.

1 Star out of 5

BUYER BEWARE

Reviewed on Friday November 30, 2018 by , Oklahoma
First off don't trust review sites that tell you what users like & don't like. They are paid to write positive reviews so you'll buy a product. Listen to actual users, we aren't paid to lie for Samsung.

I upgraded my S5 with the Galaxy S8. BIG mistake! The S8 is NOT user-friendly, packed full of design flaws & useless junk nobody would want to contend with. Bixby is an irritating, useless feature shoved in your face. The photo editor makes the S5 look state-of-the-art. Tons of annoying surprises on this thing, guaranteed to increase your stress level & you can't change them.

Strange scroll arrows magically appear under your finger to throw you back to the top of the page you're trying to scroll down. Any information you find on how to disable these idiot-designed features, will not help you. I was certain I would just have to get used to it but after a month of trying & a LOT of effort, this thing is still tormenting me.

I've searched hour upon hour for hidden options to delete, disable & correct settings that NOBODY would choose as default. Samsung has gone out of their way to punish their customers for buying their product. This thing is deranged. I have had Nokia, Samsung, Motorola, go phones, flip ups, smart phones, tablets, etc, but I have never had any that made me angry & wanting to punch the designer - until now.

The speech-to-text is the deafest & dumbest of any yet. Autocorrect should have improved over time. It is insane on this version and can't be trusted at all. Manual editing stinks. You try to delete a letter, it deletes the whole word or sentence unless you're trying to, then it won't. The software on this phone is flaky and substandard. The rounded edges of the screen is a joke. Don't go near this phone or you will regret it. I've never hated a phone so bad in all my life.
1 Star out of 5

Never again!

Reviewed on Wednesday November 21, 2018 by , Alberta, Canada
Since going from Apple I phones to a Samsung 8 was a lesson! I hate this phone, itís been problematic right from the beginning! But with most new things, I had to learn it, and I learned Iím going back to Apple! A $1200 phone shouldnít have all the issues Iíve dealt with, like he charging! I was in Mexico when my phone started NOT getting charged! Bought new USB cable and no change. So I took it in, and about a month later I got it back ,all seemed fine, for approx. a month, now its doing it again! Of all the phones Iíve used over the years and this S8 sucks! Graphics are great, but I want more than good pics, or video, not happy, nor impressed, save your money!
2 Stars out of 5

Substandard equipment

Reviewed on Tuesday October 9, 2018 by , Ohio
While there are many things I like about my Galaxy S8, I would have to rate it as a seriously substandard product because of one glaring flaw alone: The charging/data interface is defective and inferior. I always have to cross my fingers that the phone is actually going to charge when I plug it in, and I can forget about data transfer -- it just doesn't work, no matter how many different cords I try. Really. This is such a simple and straightforward feature -- if Samsung can't get THIS right, what can they get right?
0 Stars out of 5

dont buy a s8

Reviewed on Saturday November 11, 2017 by , michigan
upgraded to new galaxy s8- first day notice much poorer internet onnection, returned and they put new sd in it ,no help. of course they said give it some time, time for what to ripen? still not any better. drop calls and poor interent. then the buttom at the bottom of the phone that constantly disappear are a real pain , wishing i had my 6 back.then many programs domt work with it that worked with all otjer galaxys. why why would u do this samsung. do not i say DO MOT BUY THIS GALAXY 8 unitl they make it at least as good as the past galaxys. any one want to trade their 6 or 7 for a slightly used 8
2 Stars out of 5

poor excuse for a samsung

Reviewed on Friday September 1, 2017 by , Florida
Wife has the 7 i had a 5 for 3 years and both phones were great. The S8 is not the same in reliability.
Have had one for 4 months and None of the tech people know anything about the phone. My first one went back after 45 days, kept freezing up, losing data getting hot dropping calls etc. Last worked better, most of the time, but recently fell out of my pocket and with a otterbox cover the edge of the screen cracked. $359.00 to fix. 1/2 the price of the phone. KNew it was a bad design, should have bought the 7.
1 Star out of 5

The worst phone ever made

Reviewed on Wednesday May 24, 2017 by , Colorado Mountains
I have had this real gem for 3 weeks. I have got over the fact that Samsung just beat me out of a bunch of money for what they call a top shelf phone. The battery life is less than one fourth what they boast about. I had to buy a car charger so I could use it a full day away from the home charger. The battery life is really that bad. I have a year old LG HBS750 blue tooth earbud head set I paired up to this s8 jewel. I can't clip the s8 to my belt or the music cuts out and skips as if the phone was 100 yards away. I need to put it in my shirt pocket 1 foot from the headset and it works fair, but nothing like my 3 year old LG with a bad battery. The phone has a weather app in it and the refresh indicator will not work no matter how many times you tap it. I have never been taken advantage of like I have been by buying this Samsung s8 piece of junk. I will buy a new iPhone 7 and use this Samsung junk as a target at the rifle range. I would never try to recover some of my money by selling it as a used phone on eBay. I just can't take advantage of anybody the way Samsung does!!! Please reconsider if you are thinking of buying the Samsung s8. It truly is a rip off. Learn from my mistake, don't buy this phone!!!
3 Stars out of 5

Stay away from curved edges

Reviewed on Thursday May 18, 2017 by , Lexington,KY
I am a big Samsung fan and will continue to purchase their products, however with the newest Galaxy phones (S8 & S8+), they only come with curved edges. I do not like the curved edges and have never owned one, however they are your only option if you want to purchase the newest Galaxy phone. I always purchase screen protectors, and with this particular phone, the screen protectors are terrible. They do not fully adhere to the entire screen leaving a bubble between the screen protector and your phone causing touch . Samsung should have made a flat screen as well as a curved screen for their newer phones just like they did for the S7 and S7+.
1 Star out of 5

Disappointed

Reviewed on Saturday April 22, 2017 by , Kansas
Big Samsung fan and I love the s8+ screen but it stops there. As someone who has to have security on the phone, The finger print on the back does not work when you are in a hurry to take a picture unless you want a blurry pic from finger print smudges. The face recognition is nice but doesn't work in low light. The iris works better in low light but takes to long. Worst of all as a person who uses a smart phone for everything from adjusting ac, watching business cameras and always have it at my side for something, it doesn't have IR. Now I have to go find a remote to turn the tv's from work to home. Very disappointed with phone. As a long time Samsung user I will be returning the phone and pay the stocking fee. I will go back to old s6 edge with IR.